Japan trip - where to go

ht

anybody know the exact location of that 5 storey high 100 yen building in Shibuya? eg which st.

what are the must see for Osaka?

jasminetea

Hi Lollipop,

My hubby and I decided to go Australia this time round.
Just booked our package with Chan Brothers. We felt tt we should go to a western country to take a look at different culture and season as we just went to Korea in winter last Dec.

Hopefully can go Japan some other times.

lollipop

Hi HT,

Sorry, dun think we went to Shibuya.

As for Osaka, we went to Nara Deer Park, Osaka Castle and Universal Studios. Shinsaibashi is a must. Lots of shops there!

Hi Jasminetea,
Ah, so you were at the Chan Bros fair last weekend. Read frm the newspapers tt it was really packed with ppl. For how long are you going to Australia? Which part of Australia will you be going? I've never been to Australia myself.. but yeah, you're right, I guess there are always chances for us to go to Japan.

jasminetea

Hi Lollipop,

I'll be going to Melbourne and Sydney for 8 days trip. It is very relaxing trip with quite a lot of F&E activity which my hubby and I like very much.

If going Japan next time, I will make sure I budget and save more!

lollipop

Hi Jasminetea,

Yeah, for countries tt speak English, it is best if you travel F&E. You get to do things at ure own pace, wake up as and when you like! One thing about guided tours is tt you have to wake up very early! When we were in Japan, we had to wake up at 7am (6am Singapore time) everyday. But by then the skies were already bright. Can you imagine at 7am, it is like the afternoon in Singapore? And at 5pm, it is like 8pm in Singapore.

Anyways, glad to have chatted with you in this thread. Should you need more info on Japan in future, perhaps you could visit us again.

I can't wait for Durian to be back frm her trip and share her experience!

jasminetea

HI Lollipop,

Yes! I knew 'cos it was also like in Korea. We got to wake up at 6am (which is Singapore's time 5am). Every morning, very unwilling to wake up
Actually after each day, I will feel so tired and the moment I hit the bed, I'm fast asleep.

That is possibly the most important factor why my hubby wanted to go Australia 'cos he said the last trip to Korea was a bit stressful.

I'm glad to chat with u too! We can also share more via email? My email :- [email protected].

Yes, I'm waiting for Durian to share her experience too!

lollipop

Hi Jasminetea,

So, Korea's very much like Japan, not only in terms of weather but also they fall in the same timezone.

Sure, we can continue to keep in touch
You can click on my nick for my e-mail addy. Bear in mind it is an underscore and not a space, okie dokie?

Yay! I'm going home now!!! Woohoo!

sincere

I have just signed up for the 7 Days Central Japan from SA Tour. Will be extending 2 days in Tokyo. Any recommendations for affordable hotels for my extension?

Many Thanks.

lollipop

Hey Sincere,

I think you signed up the same package as I did last year. Is the code JOSA or JOSU?

As for the extension, mebbe you can check with SA, see if they can advise you the hotels.

sincere

Mine is JJSA (w/o the Universal Studio excursion). I'm looking for budget hotel < SGD150 per nite. Those recommended by SA are more than SGD200 which are outa my budget.

Wondering is there any discounted tix like the JR pass, but for 2 days?

sincere

Hi lollipop,

May I know how much u spent for the entire trip. Trying to estimate how much $$ shd I bring. HOw's the usage of credit card there?

folic

Hi sincere,

you can try going to this website: http://www.jcha.or.jp/english/

I have not used any of the hotels but came across this during my search for my Japan trip. Some of the hotels are very near train stations etc and cost less than 10000 Yen (about $150).

Hope you enjoy your holiday!

folic

seagal

Hi Sincere,
31470.gif

My hubby and I stayed in this pretty new ryokan about 10 mins walk from JR Nippori station. You can check it out at http://www.jpinn.com/inn/4-11.html.

The room is quite big and very clean. They also provide yutaka - japanese robe. Their futons are the thickest and most comfortable of the hotels we have stayed!

Although it's quite a distance from the JR station, we really enjoyed walking passed the row of shops much like a morning marketplace on the way to the hotel. Alternatively, there is a nearer subway station about 5 mins walk from the hotel but this means you'll have to take the subway instead.

lollipop

Hi Sincere,

I dunno about JR pass.. so doubt I could help much. Gomenasai. We knew the Universal Studios is a new attraction in Japan, so we decided to add it into our itenary. Last night after watching Pirates of the Carribean, my husband and I were recalling what were the rides we took in Disneyland and Universal Studios. Still brings back fond memories.
Girls, if you are going to Disneyland, which I think you would, you should take the Pirates of the Carribean ride. There are some scenes which are put into the movie. Really cool. Just wondering if ure tourguide is Alex. Dun think you'd know until the actual day.. he specialises in Japan tourgroups.

Tickets alone cost less than $1.8K. We had about 35000 Yen, and I still had money left when I came back. 1000 Yen is equivalent to $14.40. Think we must all convert $500.. didn't use credit card much too, though my husband spent it on a pullover at Universal.

sincere

Thanks lollipop! How's the weather there end of September? Any specialty or souveniour which you think is worth buying there? I know a lot of stuff there that are KAWAII... worry it will burn my pockets. May I ask is the 35000 Yen you mentioned is per pax or for 2?

Hmm.. was thinking that if we slot in the Universal Studios means we'll have less time spent visiting around Osaka, and since that Disneyland is already in our itenary list, we opt that out loh.

durian

I am back.
the weather there is HOT. I am sun burned, with my skin itching and peeling now. It is the rainy season now.. so one minute I get burned, few hours later get drenched.

The Japanese are really polite and nice people. So even though we do not speak Jap and they dun speak english, I did not really have a problem aksing help. The TICs provide excellent maps, and i found them easy to navigate.

When lost, just point and ask! There was one incident that we thought we had irritated an "uncle". he looked like he was swearing! But he was so kind, that he got down the train with us, brought us to the correct platform, waited for the train with us, (we thought at first that he was going the same way)shooed us onto the train and showed us how many more statiions to go with his fingers. Then he waved us good bye and left AFTER the train started moving. (still showing the number of stations to go with his fingers) We were really stunned.

If you gals ask me what struck me about the trip, i would say it is the kindness that people had shown us. I can go on and on with the examples.

Ok here is a sunmmary of places that i went and loved!

KOBE!!
Beautiful city, beautiful people. Too bad we did not have the time to got to the Rokko mountains. When Japanese think of hot springs, Arima Onsen at Rokko mountains come up tops. I will definitely go to Kobe again with my hubby.

The guys and gals fr Kbe are the best looking! Street performances outside train stations were really good! Pastry was
yummy

OSAKA
must try okonomiyaki... yummy yummy.

I found Namba area and america mura interesting-- lots of "in" youngsters trying to behave and look american(?)

Try to walk in the back streets on your way fr Namba station to Dotombori.... you will see "lovey dovey" uncle aunties and young couples hunting for love hotels. How to spot a love hotel? The car plates in their carparks are covered. After 10, this area has many good looking guys talking to men.. (we wondered what they were doing at first.. till we realised that they are usually located outside "Night Magazines" outlets)

Oh ya.. saw the best looking male that i have seen so far in Dotombori. God.. he was really really good looking. My friend and I were tempted to take his photo.

Yupp ladies, you can shop till you drop at shisaibashi and namba walk. If you really intend to shop, it might take you at least two days to cover this area.

Kyoto
traditional city. Beautiful temples.Really interesting place. So many things to see.
GO to Ohara as Monica suggested. Charming village just 10 km north of kyoto.

Another place i loved was Otsu, just 10 minutes by train fr JR kyoto. Beautiful view at sunset/night. Must go with your darling.

For passes, there are many to chose fr. JR Railpass is only worth it is you need to travel between regions, for example between Kyoto and Tokyo. If not, I suggest to get the area pass. For example, JR west pass which covers Kyoto Osaka Kobe cost is only 2000 per day and covers the trip to and from airport as well. So much cheaper. There are some passes which cover bus, train and subways too. Do your research first.

:D

lollipop

<font color="0000ff">Hi Sincere,

As Durian mentioned, end September could be hot. We went there from 26th Oct to 01st Nov last year, weather was quite chilling. When we were at Mount Fuj, it dipped to 2C! On normal days, in Osaka, it was between 15C-17C while in Tokyo, it was colder. About 12C-13C? Can't remember.

Souvenirs? Lots! If you are very much into kawaii stuff, then be prepared. If you are going to Mount Fuji and have the chance to go to the highest (5th) stn, then there are lotsa things to buy. Their almond biscuits are quite tasty, a little sweet though. They have lotsa pins and badges featuring Mount Fuji, and Hello Kitty. I bought some handphone straps from them. Really cute. Handiwork very extricate. We bought 2 pairs of neko (cat) chopsticks. It's got names in Japanese, but since we do not recognise the Japanese characters, we just chose the colors which we liked
Most of my money I spent on food! Food for my colleagues and my relatives! Simply oishii.

35000 Yen per person. I think the tour agency mentioned something about exchanging 500SGD to Yen. Get the best exchange rate.

I guess if you really like Japan, you can consider going back! And if you do, you can go to Universal then.
Oh, and in Osaka, there's this aquarium, supposed to be the biggest. Didn't go there cos we were at Universal Studios.

<font color="aa00aa">Welcome back Durian! Seems like you had a whale of a time!

The Japanese are really, really cultured. Did you get a culture shock? Heh heh.. comparing their services to our dear salesmen :p I'm not surprised tt the gracious old man brought you to the correct platform. In a TAR4 episode, the airline staff also showed one team to the correct platform. Their services are really something!

Did you manage to see a geisha in Kyoto?</font>

cassie

hi lollipop,

i did! see a few maikos (trainee geisha) in kyoto i mean

we were in tokyo, fuji, hakone, kyoto.
hakone: i guess it can be beautiful (from the brochures) but unfortunately we were there on a wet day and all we could see was mist and more mist. so before going i would suggest to check out the weather first - go somewhere else if it's drizzley!

kyoto's great if you like temples and shrines, and the shopping street up to kiyomizu temple has pretty good stuff! made the mistake of not buying some cute bags, etc, which i couldn't find back in tokyo
oh, and asakusa in tokyo's really a tourist trap; so if you want to buy anything, get it in kyoto! asakusa prices can be anything like 30-60% higher. we didn't get to see ohara though...

don't forget to check out department store basements, like sogo/takashimaya. they have very interesting finger food (yum!) and pretty items which the japanese tend to buy as gifts (but which i think look better than they taste).

lollipop

Hi Cassie,

Did you take pictures with them? Their kimonos are really pretty and extricate.

I dun remember if we were at Hakone, but we went on a cruise to Lake Aishi. It was a pretty sight, could see Fuji-san peeping out from behind the mountains. Really magnificent. Tour guide said our group was lucky cos we were able to see Fuji-san on such a clear day. We went to this small eatery, tatami style.. the shops sell preserved strawberries. Oishii!

Yeah, the shops in Kyoto sell neat stuff. But their fans are really expensive! I bought some peanut candies from Asakusa. Were you swamped by the pigeons? They were coming my way! Oh those fat pigeons!

Daimaru sells ciga biscuits. Loveletters actually. Very nice. Boxes also very nice, but alas they are expensive. We bought the butter flavour.
Oh did you girls notice? If you buy more than two items, the Japanese will give you individual bags, together with a big bag? I've got some paperbags which I keep as souvenirs

durian

HI lollipop,

I have been told countless times how nice they are, but it was a differnt thing to experience it. We could not help comparing.

I did manage to see geishas. We were hanging around at the backstreets of Gion, and manage to see a big group of them waiting and escorting their "customers"! If you wnat to see geishas, just follow the instructions in lonely planet.

lollipop

Yeah Durian. It is a totally different experience meeting Japanese than to hear about them.

Oh you are lucky! I only managed to see two Geishas.

If I have a chance to, not only would I love to see the sakura (have only seen the trees *roll eyes*) I also want to visit their shrines, and be there for some of their festivals. There's this festival where girls at the age of 21 I think, will dress up in their finest garb... can't remember offhand what tt festival's known as. My husband's colleague was there during this fest, and said there were many kimono-clad girls riding on a roller-coaster shouting.
Oh, did you go to Odaiba?

cassie

hi lollipop, nope didn't take photos with them cos they seemed to be hurrying off for appointments... maybe i should have asked

oh yes - the pigeons. they only seem to harrass us when we have food! lol!

lollipop

Hi Cassie,

There were so many on the rooftops! When we passed, they flew. We had to duck and cover our heads!

There was this old man, he was feeding the pigeons. (No wonder they are so fat!) Anyways, he was throwing the breadcrumbs towards me, and the pigeons flew at my direction! Eeeks... fat pigeons.

Japan also has lots of mandarin ducks!

sincere

Hi lollipop,

I just got a call fr Alex from SA. Our tour guide will be him. Is he good? but he said the tour will be a mandarin speaking tour??? oops...

lollipop

Hi Sincere,

Yeah, he was our tourguide too. And yeah, he spoke mainly Mandarin.

Even though ours was a guided tour, he would tell us where and what time to gather, and let us have our time to roam..

He's ok.. dun worry. But if you want a double bed, make sure you inform him when you meet him at the airport.

sincere

Hi lollipop,

I'm departing for my Japan Tour trip this coming thursday and guess what, they still unable to confirm on my 2 days extension today. sob sob
hope they will give me good news early next week.

Anyway, they had briefing 2 weeks ago when I was back to M'sia. Did you attend briefing b4 u went last year? What did they tell during the briefing? So, I presume Alex will be holding both our return tix till the day we meet b4 departure?

Oh ya, and the exchange rate is more expensive now, is 100 yen to SDG 1.51.

Thanks !

nibnew

I just book the sa tours for a 7 days japan trip. Heard that the last night will most probably be at the airport hotel and that i will have to travel all the way back to the city if i wanna do extension. Any advice?

sincere

Hi Karen,

When are u flying? Which package did u take. Mine is the JOSA tour. The last night is at Sunshine Prince Hotel, is a city hotel from what i know.

breeze

hi lollipop, it's nice reading abt ur posts abt ur jpn trip. I am so excited abt my coming trip to Tokyo in Nov. is there any particular souvenirs worth getting in Tokyo? Should I bring wintercoat for Mt Fuji? wanted to just bring sweaters only. I m havin 2 days free n easy @ DisneyLand and DisneySea.

nibnew

Hi Sincere,

I be departing on the 7th dec. Still a long way to go...... Mine is the JOSA packages too! So when you departing

tingting

I'm also keen to travel to Japan in mid Dec. H/w, I'm exploring the free n easy option, as I find the packaged tour itenary rather rushed. Has anyone considered F&amp;E vs packaged? would like to know what made you choose the latter. Thanks!

lollipop

Hi Sincere,

Sorry, I didn't realise you posted until now. :p I haven't been able to surf frequently.. bosses here very stringent.

Hi Breeze,
Are you going to Tokyo only? Hmm, you should be able to go to the 5th station in Mount Fuji during tt period. Once there, you can find lots of Mount Fuji tag pins, key chains, lotsa food (got sampling, the almond biscuits are not bad if you have a sweet tooth), some handphone accessories... ppl there are very friendly. One old man actually offered us buns, but we couldn't understand him, so all we said was, "wakarimasen" Heh heh.. Oh, Mount Fuji is very cold! When we were there in late Oct, the temp dipped to 2C! Practically freezing our butts off! Dun think a sweater is enough. Ah, are you going to Odaiba Park?

Hi Tingting,
If you know the language well, perhaps it is advisable to go f&amp;e. The maps of the railway stations only can drive you nuts. :p

Sigh.. so envious of all of you..

angph38

when we go to the local agents to get the JR pass, do u mean we can purchase "on the spot" or need some processing days?

cos i'm flying this Thursday night to Osaka, &amp; planned to get the JR Pass so that can go Tokyo as well

and any cheap hotel or what is a good &amp; convenient place to get a cheap hotel in Tokyo city? don't wanna waste too much time travelling cos only spending a nite in Tokyo &amp; planned to include trip to Mt Fuji.

thanks in advance.

folic

Hi angelia,

usually they will need bout 2 working days. The other time when I bought, I noticed that the pas was issued by Diners World Travel. So maybe if you go there directly, it will be faster.

Sorry I cannot recall the name of the agency I bought the Rail Pass. It is located in Amoy Street, near the kah soh fish head noodle.

folic

folic

Hi Angelia,

here is a list of places where you can buy JR Pass:

SINGAPORE Creative Tours (Singapore) Pte. Ltd.
Singapore Office 16 Raffles Quay #01-01 Hong Leong Building, Singapore, 048581, SINGAPORE TEL 65-62272188
FAX 65-62274572

JAL SINGAPORE 16 Raffles Quay #03-01, Hong Leong Bldg., SINGAPORE 048581 TEL 2210522

ANA SINGAPORE 80 Robinson Road, #18-01, Singapore, 068898, SINGAPORE TEL 323-4333

JTB Pte. Ltd. (Singapore) 79 Robinson Road, #22-01 CPF Bldg.,Singapore 068897 TEL 6320-5300
FAX 6223-8301
SINGAPORE JTB Pte. Ltd. (TAKASHIMAYA-Travelsloon) 391 Orchard Road #04-02, Takashimaya S.C. Singapore 0922 TEL 735-2345
FAX 735-7871
SINGAPORE JTB Pte. Ltd.(Daimaru Travel Saloon ) 177, River Valley Road, Singapore 179030 TEL 338-7639
FAX 338-7682
PRIME TRANSPORTATION PTE LTD. (Singapore) 16 Raffles Quay #B1-14D Hong Leong Building, SINGAPORE 048581 TEL 6221-4250
FAX 6226-7293
BIGS Holiday Private Ltd. (Singapore) No.1 Rochor Canal Road #03-22 Sim Lim Square, SINGAPORE 0718 TEL 6338-1333
FAX 6338-8729

and this is the website where i found the list.

http://www.jreast.co.jp/eastpass/agt_list/asia/index.html

Hope you enjoy yourself in Japan!!

Folic

angph38

folic,
thanks. i oso found that site and made a few calls yesterday. but the JAL offices only sell to passenger of JAL, so i assume ANA oso the same.

called up a couple of others, Creative gave me an ex-rate of 1.61, the other 2 quoted me 1.6, and i did asked 1 of them, the lady told me can get on the spot.

think will go down to buy today, so that if need 2 days processing, at least i still in time to get it on Thursday?!

folic

Hi Angelia,

yah, I think if you go down today, it should be ok. Especially if you do it in the morning, they can probably give it to you by end of day tomorrow.

Hope you have fun in Japan. I have gone on 3 Japan holidays in the last 2 years.. a bit too many but I still enjoyed it very much. It's good that my hubby speaks Japanese... I get to eat food that I donno how to order otherwise
When in Tokyo, if you are willing to splurge and eat really good sushi, there is sushi buffet at Takayshimaya Time Square 11th floor. But that will set you back by about 3000 yen :p... we did it for our anniversary dinner.. felt heartache but then, it was really memorable!

folic

apple77

Be sure to go down to the Tsukiji Market... you'll find the best sushi there... go early, cos you can queue up to 2hrs just to get into the better sushi restaurants if u're there late, plus they close early... be there before 9am, if can ealier, then better.

folic

Hi Apple, yah.. I saw the sushi at Tsukiji mkt on Japan hour.. yummy!! I am sure it would be cheaper than eating at Taka
Must go and try next time!

folic

apple77

Also... If going Mt Fuji... tryda stay 1 nite there.. the resort is superb and you can use the hot spring... love the view up there too. Go to Harajuku, ueno, Shibuya for shopping... if you prefer high fashion, go Ginza or Shinjuku.

apple77

Hi folic,

Ya, there's a few very good ones.... pretty famous there.. if you need info let me know, i can email them to u

angph38

folic,
i juz went to collect my JR Pass exchange order. don't need to wait 2 days
can get on the spot.

I went to BIG S' Holiday P/L @ Sim Lim SQ. they quoted me the best ex-rate

Apple,
cannot stay 1 nite there lah. schedule don't allow
hmmm.. maybe i bring my mum there &amp; we go 1 day earlier

hubby &amp; mum not sushi lover (actually me too), so maybe can give them a miss. but thx for the info

<font color="0000ff">me now looking for cheap &amp; good location hotel for 3 pax in Tokyo

apple77

Hi angelia,

What's ur budget? I check if i have any info on them... did some research the last few times i went.. kekeke