Japan trip - where to go

zhuzhu

Hi Mashy Brainz
Me stay in Shinjuku washington hotel in tokyo...expected it to be small lar..but not dat small...but a consolation was that the room had free internet access...so we can still check the website if need to change plan or weather.

Yes, I did go to Hakone...Mt Fuji was been blocked by clouds..so cannot see too clear..sigh~

Agreed with Simone that disneysea was not as fun as disneyland..but it was REAL freezing when we went there..i rushed to buy a pair of gloves..and it wasn't enuff...geee my nose almost drop off from the coldness

But I like to frequent their drugstore...got lots of stuff..even though I duno how to read lar..just agar agar lor..

blueberry

Just want to check if anyone stay at the Disney hotel before?
I am planning to stay to stay a night there, spending two days at Disneyland and sea.

bluegrapes

Sorry for my ignorance. Wouldn't the road sign be in Jap? Very tempted to F&E to Hokkaido and Tokyo but wonder if it is feasible.

zhuzhu

Hi Bluegrapes
There will be some english sign...esp if u take the train..they will tell you this exit is heading for where..and they had plenty of maps in their train station..so not an issue..

Hi Pleasance
U going to tokyo? did not really discover any good shoppin places there..but if you going to Osaka..check out shinsaibashi..things there are not too expensive as compare to their shopping mall

zhuzhu

oh..one more thing...

their strawberry there is delicious...big,fat,juicy & sweet...can get from their supermarket..but not cheap thou..it cost about yen700..

blueberry

Hi ZhuZhu,

Never stay at the hotel before.
I went there and spent only one day at the DisneyLand but din have enough fun there. So thinking of going again this Aug. planning to stay there for a night.

Pleasance,
The shopping belts are at Shinjuku, Harajuku and Shibuya. Things there are not cheap. esp in the shopping area. More like a sighseeing experience for us.
Toyku hands are one crafts shops which I like a lot there. You can find all sorts of funny things there.
But check out the supermarkets at the shopping centres. you will love all the cakes and bakery items and also the fruits. The fruits are very fresh and sweet there.
We bought back big perssimons..
Which part you plan to go?

mashybrainz

Yah, I love their drug stores too. Always can't help wondering in. I always go to the ones at Ameyoko coz' cheaper.

Disneyland is fun but all in Japanese lor. So can be quite sao sing if you don't understand.
Imagine watching 'Honey I shrunk the kids' in Japanese. Kekekeke

Accommodation there is tai lang one. Very very expensive. But if you can afford it, then stay lor. You get to use mickey mouse water taps.

My ex-colleague drove in Hokkaido before. She doesn't know Japanese, so I guess it should be alright to drive around.

Anyway, in the main cities, no need to drive. Public transport is very convenient. At least no need to stress yourself up trying to figure out directions and read the signs.

Zhuzhu

What a pity! Nevermind, can go again. :p

Winter is the best time to see Mt Fuji. They say, even if you manage to see it, you might not be able to capture it on film. Somehow she disappears if you take photo with her... Very shy.

I didn't have problems when I was there in winter, the sky's very clear, so it's still alright.

How's the sakuras? I've always wanted to see them but so far haven't been able to.

zhuzhu

Hi KK
Disneysea wasn't as crowded as disneyland..the Q at disneyland was crazy...should have use their fast pass system..why not consider HK disneyland..since its opening in Sept?

Actually i went to shinjuku and harajuku..but also nothing much to shop also..;(

Hi Mashy Brainz
Sakuras is really pretty..but places like Ueno park is packed with ppl..pretty interesting to see thse Japs having their BBQ there..wanna steal some sakuras back..but it cannot last..

mashybrainz

Heard HK disneyland won't have so many attractions. & altho it's opening on 12 Sep, only open to public on 13 Sep.
I'm going HK then. Still thinking whether to go Disney or not....

hayashi

The signboard is in Japanese but there are English translation as well sometimes. But if you know Chinese then shouldn't be a problem.

MashyBrainz, haha also watch 'Honey I shrunk the kids' in Tokyo Disneyland but in English!!! haha! cos the last 2 rows have headset with Chinese and English translation.

zhuzhu

Me also planning to go HK disneyland..but maybe not this yr lar...cos the rate now is considered their peak rate...

Agreed with simone that if you know chinese, shouldn't be a problem. I can even make up some of the news in their news paper..;)

mashybrainz

Hi Simone

That's the problem! Only 2 rows. Didn't have enough to go round, so have to sacrifice myself for my family. I'm the only one in my family who understands a little bit.

Reading is not a problem. It's hearing & understanding...

ducky

I also just came back from japan... sakura very nice... also experience the earth quarke ( I tink wrongly spell) for few min in tokyo in the early morning, quite scary... I tot i'm having nightmare..hehe!

Remember to try the cream puff at Ueno station (central exit)... it really nice... much better than papa beard. Price ok.. 130yen each!

The ramen is yummy also... the food there is so nice but really expensive... put on 2kg after the trip... sighed...

Have fun.....

magix

wow, seems like alot of us juz returned from japan. me too.

enjoyed the trip v much except 4 a nite's stay in lake kawaguchi that wasnt pleasant coz the place, according to one of the member, is haunted.

overall the things r exp, but i managed to find some cheap clothes ard S$16. the fruits are horribly exp, dunno if u all noticed, but i realised one durian costs S$45!

the sakura was in full bloom, and initially everyone was so happy and and enthusiastic abt the sakura until later, we all got so sick of it coz everywhere oso blooming! hahahaa

too bad tokyo was so cold the few days we were there. it only cleared up on the last day when we were leaving. it was always raining and the wind that blew at u juz made u feel so cold!!! brrrgggg

the hotel rooms were small, but i liked it coz its cosy! no complaints!

ducky! i oso gained weight liao... i ate non-stop there! hahahaaha..
esp the cold weather, i cld eat up to 6 meals a day! hahaha

zhuzhu

Hi magix_wand

I agreed with you that their durian is ridiculously expensive...better eat in s'pore....me also managed to find cheap clothes less than yen 1000...and it was their sale items..

Hi duckyduck
I missed their earthquake...was it really scary?

magix

zhuzhu, that explains why their fruits were always MIA at meal times mah... i was so deprived of veggies and fruits, i gorged on them when i come back and thk goodness SG has all these items cheap, cheap, cheap!

but i simply loved their rice! i can finish at least 2 servings at one time when i hardly finish a bowl locally during dinner!

yah, i went to their 100 yen shop and kept buying socks! hahaha...
intially i bought coz i was short of a few pairs, but later i returned coz i found the quality to b quite gd and since its only 100yen, no harm!
managed to found a few other gd buys in the shop as well. din feel guilty coz it was so cheap! hahaa..

and yes, the few clothes i bought were actually on sale! owise how to afford a ridiculously priced nice piece of their spaghetti strap at ~S$150???

actually my hb felt the slight tremors and he told me. i thot he had lacked sleep and was dreaming and i laffed at him. it was only later when the guide told us there was a minor quake then i knew it was true. i din feel anything though.

disneyland was absolutely fun, if only it wasnt so cold and it was raining the whole day when we visited!
so sad really...

ducky

Hi zhuzhu,

We could feel the hotel room swaying, maybe becos we stay at higher floor ( 25th storey). Actually I don't really feel it as I tot I'm dreaming until my hubby wake me up... if not I still sleep thru... hehe! Quite a experience loh!

Hi magix_wand,

Ya the rice is nice... the foods is all nice... right now trying hard to lose tat 2kg...hehe!
Disneyland is ok only cos we have just went to the paris one last Nov... actually quite bored cos not really excited about it... but quite happy cos I manage to take photo with donald and daisy this time which I miss in Paris...hehe... feel like a kid again snatching with kids to take photograph...hehe!

Hey all,

Did you all manage to catch some of their TV show... they have the karaoke challenge and another one sport challenge... quite nice although can't understand... hehe!

Want to exchange photos for viewing?
My email: [email protected]

magix

hi ducky,

yah, most of their food is nice. when i was there, i missed the sun in SG coz japan was so cold. now that i am back, i missed the cooling weather!

sigh, it was drizzling the whole day when we went disney and the outdoor show was cxl coz of that. i was so disappointed.
managed to snap pix wif life-sized Goofy and some other characters though, but i juz felt it wld hv been better if it was a sunny day.

i haven figured out how to load up the photos coz i snapped close to 800 pix and each one is appx 4 megapix... how abt u gals? how many pix did u all snap?

if i am going to load up all, i think even wif broadband, i need at least 2 days?
GOSH!
kao_scared.gif

ducky

Hi magic_wand,

Wow... you really can take pictures... I only take the most 600+ for my europe trip leh! For Japan, we only take 300+... I have finish downloading my photos liao. I only downloaded 200+. It took me 3hrs+ using broadband...
Download at night while you sleep lah... save time, when you wake up, the photos are ready.

magix

hi ducky,

heee, i am v gd at snapping alot of pic... esp using digicam, no limits mah... and we bought extra memory cards in case not enuff. hahaha..
luckily 1GB was more than enuff to use.

if u dun mind sharing the photos, can email to me? [email protected]

as my pc is in the bedrm, if i leave it to run overnite, it will disturb my sleep coz i am a light sleeper.

think i might hv to really chose one day when i am real free to upload. hahaha

wah if i go europe, think i will go crazy snapping the scenery! hahahaha

zhuzhu

Hi magix_wand
Ya lor..even during the breakfast buffet..the fruits selection is pathetic...i only see some orange..some banana..other than that nothing else...

I only managed to find the 100yen shop in osaka..din know where are they in Tokyo...also went back to that shop twice..bought alot of "no use" stuff...but can keep some for x'mas gift..;P

Hi duckyduck
We took more than 1k shoots leh!..but alot are duplicate lar..we bought a canon video cam in tokyo...think we save about $400 compare to if we were to buy in s'pore.. I too lazy to u/l them...must filtered out then can download..

magix

hi zhuzhu,

the 100 yen shop in tokyo is juz under the Shinjuku Prince Hotel that is v nearby to the Shinjuku stn. I find the variety amazing!

in fact when i went to the 100 yen shop in Ueno, it was much smaller and i cldnt find the things i saw in the Shinjuku Prince branch. i was v happy coz i bought some useful things that i cant get at the same price in SG.

hahaha, agree that can easily juz get alot of "no use" stuff coz its so cheap, juz grab 1st! hahaha
4 me, there was a limited space as my hubby bought quite a lot of clothes and some other stuff, i had to limit myself.

huh? u best! took over 1K+ photos! how many days did u go?
i thot i was champion enuff, turned out u r the queen ah!

was their electronics really cheaper? i din check out coz after seeing their local pdts only a bit cheaper as compared to SG, there was no neccessity to check more. hahaha..

agreed that i am oso super lazy to filter and upload... it will take ages!!!

zhuzhu

Hi Magix_wand
Geee...I was staying at shinjuku washington hotel..yet i missed the 100 yen shop...me also cannot buy too much...I went back to the shop twice..my hubby asked me if i wan to go back the 3rd time...lucky din go..otherwise sure had to pay overweight charges..;)

*bow* me went for 2 wks...aiyah since using digital cam...anyhow shoot lor...

you had to compare the prices for their electronics...so happen that the day b4 we went to aikihabara..my hubby was checking out the price of the video cam..and then we realised it was a couple of hundred cheaper..so just buy lor..just now lar..can take video in disneyland..;)

ducky

Hi zhuzhu,

Wow... you really super leh... But you and magic better start filtering or else you will be very lazy to do it when times goes by... Really feel like going on tour again... but need to save money again....

Hi magic_wand,

Have send you my photos liao... happy viewing! Hope to receive yours and zhuzhu one soon....

mashybrainz

Hahaha!

You guys haven't seen the price of a honeydew, have you?
It costs about $80-$100! We bought strawberries when we were there coz' it's still cheaper than in Singapore.

Next time you are there, you can check out Uniqlo. They're like Giordano.

magix

hi ladies...

zhuzhu, u bought so much stuff till u almost exceeded the overweight baggage charge? hahahaa... but well, u were there for 2 wks lah, so i can understd.

i like the disneyland v much but too bad we din get it enjoy it fully. i am still feeling its such a shame...

ducky, u r very correct! whenever i view my pix, i really feel like going on holiday again. though i like japan v much, think i wun wan to spend $$$ to go back there again as there r still many places i wanna visit.

thks 4 the photos, i go view after i post this msg.
hahaha, i hope i will upload soon as well lor.. keep fingers crossed hor!

mashy, i thot the durian is the "king" liao, at S$50! now u said honeydew....
its simply crazy!!!

i din notice their strawberries though i did eat them. some tour members bought and i ate some.

yes, we spent the bulk of $$$ in UNIGLO.. thats the only shop i can really afford to buy clothes w/o being cautious... i bought a few nice camisoles back. when i went back on the 2nd day, the design was out of stock. checked a few branches to no avail..

zhuzhu

Wow...thats a golden honeydew..

where is uniglo? Don't think I came across this shop leh

Magix_wand, you din noticed that they had very nicely deco strawberry cakes in the supermarket? all soo pretty and tasty..dat when I decide to try the strawberry..and it did not disappoint me...yummy....

magix

zhuzhu, got! this chain store is like our Giordano, Bossini... their prices is ard 500 yen for camisoles and 1000 yen for tee-shirts (guys & ladies) and ard 2000 yen for bottoms.

too bad u missed out...

yes! i noticed their strawberries cakes!!!! NICE NICE!
i still missed their cakes even till now. its so delicious, dun think i ever tasted that in SG. but the cakes and soft cream r exp, not cheap.

magix

ducky,

we went to nakamise street as well! and the temple! hehehe... several same poses!

hey ur food looks more delicious than mine leh..

where is this indoor push cart u went to? looks nice.. (photo sequence 23 of 222)

was it v cold when u were there? coz the sun is so bright!

hey we r very similar, i loved snapping pix of flowers, be it roadside ones, or at the buildings, or push carts etc. hehehee

and we got similar hand pose! i like to point backwards or upwards when i snap pix! hahahahaha...

i find ur photos much nicer than mine leh!!!

u went into universal studios & sanrio land?

where is this plc u went that looks so cold and with snow? very nice scenery!

aiyoh, the more i view ur pix, the more i feel its so well taken than mine.

and hey, i got the same grey and navy blue Mango sweater as u!
hahaha, i brought along 4 the trip but did not wear in there.

did u go to lake kawaguchi as well?

eh sthg wrong wif the link after i viewed #130 onwards...

and another similarity, i always upload my pix using photoworks as well! hahahaha... but when there is too much photos, it will get cranky..

hahaha, sorry 4 so many qns here!

magix

oh juz finished the 2nd half of the photos...

i so envy!!!! ur disney photos so nice! it was raining when we went there... wah, i dun dare to show u my pix coz it all looked so pathetic..

and the mt fuji ones looked so pathetic coz it was so faint when we snapped.. my frens were scrutinising 4 the mt view when i showed them the pix..

ducky

Hi magic_wand,

Oh I didn't come across or notice uniglo also, I think its becos after seen quite a few expensive shop I stop looking for clothing... sighed!

I think all tour group go to similar places of interest lah... I must have those hand pose than I will smile more naturally lah... haha!
But I must really say that I am very satisfied with the food that the tour agency provided...

The push cart thing is inside a shopping mall at Odaiba park... very nice! Those nice pic are all taken by my hubby... if you notice, got 1 over expose pic of my hubby at the shinjuku national park is taken badly by me... haha!

No we didn't go to universal studio but 2 tour mates signed up for that so we have to drop them there so we get to snap the outside of the universal studio then... as for sanrio land, we did not go also... just that we snap quite a few hello kitty and friends shop in those shopping centre near Ginza...

Oh that snow place is near a toilet stop along the way to Hida folk village.Hmm... I don't think we went to lake kawaguchi ... so maybe you can show me your photos...hehe!

We are lucky that the weather is great when we go to disney...very sunny in the day but at night it was very cold...

Actually for the Mt Fuji.. I think you need to focus on the mountain than on the ppl then its will more obvious, of course the ppls will not be that clear then... ours is also not that great becos of the weather...

Awaiting for your photos then.... Cheers!

ducky

Magix_wand,

When I flip thru my photo, I realise that the lake near Mt fuji is lake kawaguchi ... me even take a picture with a signboard that write lake kawaguchi... me very blur... hehe!

magix

hi ducky,

yah i realised u went lake kawaguchi after i asked u then i saw ur pix.

which tour agency did u go to? ur food seemed better than mine leh.. how many days u went ah?

oh same case lor... we juz snap pix outside universal studios, din go in.

hahaha, i muz hv sounded like a mad woman last nite, so many qns to ask u and ranting on and on! haha

oh when did u go jpn? i saw sakura at alot of ur pix, meaning its juz shortly b4 my trip, but ur trip seemed more fun!

ok, i will try not to b lazy and upload some photos to show u, but it wun b all lah, since i got so many photos...

ducky

Hi magix_wand,

I joined chanbrothers 7 days Japan Scenic Delight tour package and I extended another 2 days!I went on 4th April... very lucky cos we get to see sakura at its full bloom...

Ya quite satisfied with the tour, and actually becos chanbrothers have group leaving on the last days of our tour so they help us to contact the other group tour guide and arrange for us sit their coach back to airport and this save us almost $100... The local guide there also help us on direction on where we want to go when we are free & easy the last 2 days...

The last europe tour that we went also from chanbrothers... Chanbrothers indeed not bad...

magix

ducky, then how much did u pay 4 the trip? and where did u stay 4 the extension? i had 2 days extension in tokyo as well and i booked thru the internet.

i asked chan brothers 4 the japan trip too, but found their prices more exp. if i had taken up CB, i think we would b travelling together!

wow, they so nice ah, help u arranged free transport to the airport. yah can help u save quite a bit. 4 us, we took the cheapest way to the airport using their trains and cost us ~S$16 each. well, thats the cheapest we can find there...

zhuzhu, haha, lazy me as well!

ducky

Hi magix_wand,

The 7 days package cost $1788 ( w/o the tax), I extended in their last hotel which is Sunshine City Prince hotel, 1 nite is $280 with breakfast, quite expensive but convenience cos no need to move to other hotel and easy to move around.

Take care and cheers!

magix

hi ducky,

i juz flipped thru my research file on japan, and yes, i rem them quoting me $1818 for 7D scenic japan... hmm, yours a bit cheaper.

oh the last hotel i stayed with Hong Thai tours was at City Prince as well!
but thereafter we moved to Shinjuku area as it was near shopping area and also v accessible.

hey can i kpo which camera u using?

zhuzhu

Hi duckyduck
Is the sunshine city prince hotel big? $280 is pretty expensive..

Hi Magix_wand
U took their tain to airport ah?? troublesome o not?

magix

zhuzhu,

when i stayed in city prince, i was allocated higher floors, and yes, the room is big... but frankly speaking, we dun need the big room. i prefer sthg small and cosy.

nope, it wasnt troublesome to take the train to the airport. in fact, we checked out at 11am, took train to Ueno Park, shopped a bit and ate lunch there (in our 2 big lugguges!)
and then took train and went to the airport. it was on the way and we cld enjoy the scenery during the ride.

oh boy, i am still dreaming abt japan and its been almost 2 wks since i came back...

littlegirl

din realise tis thread is stilla ctive. Sorry haben bn in lately, even post also post ware I m needed.

Change of new boss then gotta adapt to his style + got things to do, nt so eng like las time liao.

Try catch up again soon.

I hear pics, which part of Japan? Sorry I din follow well. Can I view them also? [email protected]. Thks in advance. If u are nt conv to send me then it's ok, can understand.

ublur

hihi.. long long time i din come in too..

ger, how's life?? keke.. i will b going to korea next month.. so happie..

ducky, can send to me ur photos too? [email protected] I had been to japan last nov... it was great right? i will definately go back again..

magix

hi ducky, sorry din realised that u left me a msg...

nope, haven upload my photos lah. i am now trying to reduce the resolution b4 i upload. If i do load up, will email u k.

wah blur, going korea next mth... so nice! oso F&E? hv a gd trip!

ublur

magix, wow, still rem those days when we were here discussing abt japan trip...
yuppie, i will b going to korea after my ROM.. but not F&E though.. This is a last min decision, but think dun have time to read up.. also, think korea is not easy to nagivate compared to japan.. so decided to go on a tour package...

littlegirl

Ducky, I've replied you already. Nice pics!

blur blur - wah u very enjoy life hor? Which tour agency r u gng w/ tis time?

I wanna go Australia sometime in Aug/ Sep bah, if not I m thinking of gng to Taipei. Cos I hv these vouchers to utilise so gotta use them fast lor.