Japan trip - where to go

ducky

Hi blur blur,

Have send you the phtos for viewing liao... Enjoy!

Magix,

okie... will wait patiently to see your photos...hehe!

ublur

ger, i will b going wif SA tour agency... er.. enjoy life at the expense of my money... play hard..

ducky, nice photos.. i will definately visit japan during spring time.. i wan c sukura...

magix

skybebe,

mine not uploaded yet... hehehe...

ah ger,

i was planning a trip to aussie but hor yest the news reported huge tax increase over there! dampen my mood liao...

blur,

we were all so happy to see sakura but hor after 2 days, got so sick of them liao! hahahaa

zhuzhu

Hi Skybebe
Me also haven u/l the pic...waiting for hubby to do..;)

Blurblur
me also same as magix wand...see too much sakura until sian liao..everywhere also got..

littlegirl

is it? High taxes? Oh........... effective when? Imm?

Oh, then cham, ware can I go? Maybe take Jetstar to Taipei then use the vouchers for hotel stays.

magix

blur, dun need to drool, ducky's pix alrdy got alot of sakura!

ah ger, think the taxes r effective since 6 may or sthg... cant rem exact date, but its very soon...

zhuzhu

Hi blur blur

dun worry..u will get the chance..

now hubby is doing some foto editing...duno when he will finished..

ublur

magix, ahhaha.. ya lor.. so many sakura tt's y i drool mah.. haven seen it myself personally...

zhuzhu, doing foto editing? on ur trip photos or wedding photos..

giggler

Hi all, I'm planning to go both Osaka and Tokyo next mth. May I know which tour agency did your book your package with? Also, what are the tour packages that you booked? Thanks in advance.

littlegirl

yest was telling hb abt the vouchers again, he said if I can sell off then sell off. We wanna let go at $1500 for a value of $1800 vouchers. They r from Safe Travel, I heard their hotel prices are rather reasonable.

If u gals knw of anybody who wanna buy, let me know hor.

Hb doesn't really feel like travelling leh....... I wanna go Taipei he dun want.

milo66

hi anyone taken any packages to hokaaido before? any recommendation on which is good? saw the ana one which is mostly scenary sightings whereas for chan brothers and ctc they bring you to farm and factory

ppgroom

the thorn among the roses is back
i also LOOOOOONG time din visit SB Forum liaozzzz...

ah ger, how are you! you also intend to go Australia sometime in Sep??? me too leh!!! so qiao

but me and my wife will be going there free and easy cos i used to study at in Melbourne for 3 years, so intend to visit Melbourne again... you leh? which city you intend to visit?

skybebe

Hi, just read some discussion in this thread about an increase in tax dissuading some of you from visiting Australia.

I'm in Australia now (migrated here since Feb this yr) and have not heard of a tax affecting tourists. Could it be talking abt Australia's high income tax rates instead?

I hope to be able to help clarify it as much as possible so it doesn't dissuade you from visiting Australia.

magix

skybebe,

it was announced in the news beginning of this mth leh. i think its confirmed. they even interviewed the tour agencies, so i dun think its on income taxes.

btw do u noe how much is aussie tax, based on ur knowledge. i hv some frens visiting aussie soon, and they said taxes r ard S$170+.

twinstar3393

hv been visiting this thread and find lots of helpful pple around. Would like to check if anyone has visited the factory outlets during their trips to Japan particularly the following:

1) Gotemba
2) Karuizawa
3) Marine Bay (at Yokohama)

Any info on the discount scheme, brands or other info that you could share with me? Thks.

Am going to Japan on the 2nd week of June. Now planning itinerary, thus not sure which one to choose.

skybebe

hi magix_wand, in terms of taxes, do you mean airport taxes or is it GST?

The only case I now remember I heard was that Qantas was going to increase their surcharge. That's all I heard about with regards to increase in travel costs.

magix

i think its airport taxes leh... dun think it was ever on the GST. i rem it v clearly coz they still reported it had apprarently increased by a substantial %.

Qantas? i heard its not a gd way to fly. heard alot of bad comments abt this carrier. if i am going aussie, i dun wan to take qantas.

skybebe

I'll try and ask my fiance and let you know. He's more in touch with news than I am.

As for Qantas, I have had good and bad experiences with them but I still feel SIA is much better than the carriers I fly with. They really take care of you and make sure you're ok. Most other carriers just serve you a drink, your meals and then they disappear. At least with SIA, can tell they're hardworking and always on standby.

skybebe

Hi magix, i've spoken to my fiance and he said he don't recall any news that will cause an increase in cost for travellers into Australia, except for Qantas increasing their fuel surcharge, that's abt it.

Unless we're not getting that news....

littlegirl

If any of you are planning to take up ANA Japan package, can let me know? Because I have Safe Travel vouchers to let go, total value $1.8k, bt I m willing to sell off at $1.5k. Safe Travel is also one of the appointed agts to help sell the ANA pkg.

Reason for selling is rather inconvenient to post on the forum.

Those vouchers can be used to offset for any trips, and reservations like car rental, air tickets, free & easy pkgs available, or tour packages they sell.

Please let me know via PM. Thks.

littlegirl

I called up and chk on the airfare. They told me the current price for:
1) NW - S$818 excl taxes
2) JAL - $1200 excl taxes

Not sure how much outside is selling at, but if you are thinking of going F&E, and the fare quoted by Safe is reasonable to you, please let me know.

vinmei

I am planning for my HM in Japan (F&E). And want to catch Sakura as well. :p

Anyone have information to share with me?
Like how many days to go is the best? Are cheap & nice place to stay. Cos we are there for HM so want to have nice place to stay and not so ex as well.

What are the places we can visit? Toyko, Osaka, Hokkaido? If I am going there for 10 days, how many places to visit is advisable?

I also want to visit their Disneyland.

Anyone have been there can let me know how much they spend in Japan for about 10days?

Me also thinking of going Japan/Taiwan. Is there any Airline which flies this way.

Tks! :p

suishi

Hi tweetywee,

Me too going to Japan for my honeymoon, going to catch Sakura then proceed to Taiwan for a short shopping trip.

I havn't start gather info on yet but plan to go Japan for abt 7-9 days. Wish to visit Toyko, Osaka... & most important their Disneyland.

R u going in tour or F&E?

vinmei

Hi suishi,

Such an coincidence leh... We are planning for the same huh. :p

Did u check out if the airlines provide aittix to Japan/taiwan? I know they have for Japan/HK lor. :p

Me also want to visit Disney leh... :p Seem like we have the same place in mind huh.

Me hope to go for F&E lor. More relaxed and OTOT lor. :p But if tour is economical, we can take that and extend F&E ourselves.

Till now, still open for options. :p Now busy with exams & preparing of Wedding so have not really plan for HM yet.

What about u? F&E or tour? When is ur AD?

suishi

Hi tweetytwee,

MY AD is 16 Jan 2006, abt 3 mths to go so very busy with my wedding preparation. HM itinerary will only start sourcing after jan.

We prefer tour cos expenses in japan very high but also might extend a few F&E days, then proceed to taiwan. Still open for options too.

Seem like we can go japan 2gether.

When is your AD?

vinmei

Hi suishi,

Yeah... Think we can go together leh...
Not sure if agency provides Japan tour for Honeymooners like us. :p

My AD is on 25Feb06. Me also want to plan after my AD but afraid not enough time. But my frens recommend us to go Natas fair in Mar06 to check out the package leh. :p

Think we can share info when we go for agency search.

suishi

hi tweetywee,

mi also waiting for the natas fair.

no problem...to share info.

where is yr banquet? Mine is @ Brillant Garden restaurant in west

Can exchange email address to keep in-touch. mine: [email protected]

suishi

Hi tweetytwee,

My BS is Bridal concept @ bugis. how abt u?

Ya, this thread is very inactive. Lucky got u. Nowdays, most newly wed couples will prefer to go Korea.

Do u have a msn account. I'm in every day,might be we can chat there.

vinmei

Hi suishi,

My BS is Yvonne Creative. :p

Ya lor. Korea seem a popular place. Taiwan also leh. heheee

Me email u my MSN id. U add me k. :p

hapi_jace

hi suishi & tweetytwee!

My AD is in early march 06, plannin to go tokyo & hokaido in mar also! lets share info here!

Heard that ana japan travel package not bad as it includes most meals. Have chked out their website.. seems quite ok.

My aunt who has been to japan told me that its a nice plc with GOOD FOOD! But everything is very expensive.

Maybe we can all go together & ask for discount from the same agency! hee :p

suishi

hi hapi_jace,

Weclome, finally another person having the same HM location.It will be fun going together.

Can share the info you have search so far? Any idea the estimate cost to Japan?

ribenaberry

Heard from my colleague that better dun waste time and $ to visit Japan Disney as you wont be able to understand their introduction as they are in Japanese. Better visit Florida Disney. Not sure how true.

cottoncandy

hi ribena

hmm... depends on how u look at it bah.. it is an experience even though u might not understand... i went japan disneyland some 10 yrs ago and i m going again next week even though i dun understand jap
... LA's disney also not bad

vinmei

Hi hapi_jace,

Yohooo... Another bride to be going Japan for HM during the same period leh.

If we can find more hor, then we can all go to the agency and asked to plan for a Japan trip for Honeymooners like us leh...

It will be very lovely hor.

So Hapi, any info u found which is good? I heard from my frens that next year Mar06 will have promo at Natas fair lor. Wonder if anyone booked b4. Perhaps can share with us. Tks!

Me really cant wait to go for holiday leh. Stress mann! So far, this year only go to Bangkok leh. Sian mann!

suishi

hi tweetytwee,

i'm looking forward for holiday too....

At least bangkok for u, singapore is the only place...hee..hee..

zhuzhu

Hi Ribena
Its true that the introduction in disneyland are in japanese..but then not knowing the language..then u see their body language is also another experience...

Hi suishi
Me went to tokyo n osaka this apr...for 2 wks...spend about slightly more than $10k for 2 pax...i went F&E

dear99

hi zhuzhu:

i wanna go japan for HM next yr 1st apr 06, is it e sakura season already? can u recommend some places muz go to mi? ;) thks!

zhuzhu

Hi deardear

Should be the sakura season already lar..if not you can check this website....
http://www.japan-guide.com/
they will give a guide like when is the sakura season...i remember this yr the sakura started like kinda late...

hmmm must got places ah...let me go back and think it tonite...u intend to go there for how long?

zhuzhu

Hi deardear

I am trying to recall the places I had been.

Tokyo
-Meiji Shrine
-Asakusa temple (I prefer Meiji Shrine, its not as crowded as Asakusa)
-Imperial Palace Garden
-Disneyland & disneysea (of cos must go!)
-Hakone (supposed to be able to see Mt Fuji from a distance..but it was too cloudy that day)
-Kawagoe (they had a candy alley..can buy some tibits for souvenir)
-Akiharbara (I bought a canon video camera there)

Osaka
-Shinsaibaishi (good place for shopping)
-Osaka Aquarium (errr..i dun find it very interesting..its supposed to be one of the biggest aquarium)
-Universal Studio

I think thats about all lar...