Japan trip - where to go

annelise

Hi zhuzhu

Thanks for the no.! The japan guide.com site posted by Simone is very useful! I checked the ANA & JAL websites and they have different types of discount air tickets other than the Yokoso pass - e.g. if you are travelling within 7 days plus/ minus your birthday, you & 3 other companions get special rates as well etc.

zhuzhu

Hi Annelise
Ya..I checked both ANA & JAL site..but i think the yokoso pass is the cheapest...

Anyone find any better rates for the Yen other than 1.56?

mashybrainz

Zhu Zhu

took the Hakone free pass before. Very worth it. Includes all kinds of transport over there, so u can take ropeway, cable car, ferry, train.

Just buy at the tickets at Shinjuku Odakyu Counter. The staff can speak simple English.

nnyl

hi zhuzhu! shift in to new hm? nvr get to see u yet. :p

My hubby just exchange yen @1.575 last wkend, money exchanger is the bldg beside peninsula plaza, i think it's capitol centre. it's at corner, facing the main road.

mashybrainz

Hi Zhu zhu

It'll be very rushed if u just go for 1 day. I think it's still worth it if you're ultimately going to have to take the trains back to Shinjuku.
Coz' you'll want to visit Owakudani (u can see Mt fuji from there) and take the ferry round the lake.

If you're staying in an onsen hotel, you can rent a private onsen for about 3000yen. Mine was free when I stayed at Kinokuniya.

Most places won't rent a private onsen. Most are public ones. There's day entry for many onsens. You can try that. It's not too bad if you stay in an off peak season. However, if you want private time with your hb in onsen... I don't know, you'll have to ask them. Kinokuniya's day onsen is 1000yen.

Kinokuniya

Wow, yen so expensive now. I changed mine in Chinatown. Still one of the most competitive rates. Go to this Indian money changer (near bus stop) facing the road.

mashybrainz

If you have any queries, you can email them. They understand very simple English.

BTW, they've offers which are written in Japanese which are not reflected on the English page.

Their service is excellent, really treat you like kings & queens. Free massage chairs around that you can use. Food is great too. my hb broke a cup there and when we told them, they said they'll replace it! Not other hotels who will definitely want u to pay for it! Hakone sights are just a "by the way" thing. The onsen is the true highlight and what really made the trip memorable.

zhuzhu

Hi Mashy Brainz

Will check out their website...how much u paid for ur per nite stay there?

Hi Lynn
errr....I know u from somewhere?? *scratch head*
I got a better exchange rate..change with my sis frend who is working in a bank

mashybrainz

The last time I went there, I think i paid about 11500yen per pax for rooms with attached bathrooms/toilets. I think they're having better rates now. But I found that other than the toilet, I never use the bathroom at all. Coz' in onsen all the time. Those without attached baths are cheaper. I think they're having a promo with only 8800y +(can't remember exact figure)

It includes dinner and breakfast. Kaiseikis, so very sumptuous. Definitely worth it. Yummy, thought of it also makes my mouth water. :p
You can save on everything, but don't save on onsen stays. Best experience ever. Now, whenever we go to Japan, we make it a point to visit an onsen ryokan.

magix

mashy brainz, do u noe which webbie got room rates that r more affordable than those offered by agencies? the min is $200/room/nite by them. so far the cheapest i found on my own was a $140/room/nite near Ikeburo.. think its sala spelling. hahaha

mashybrainz

You can try this website:

Japan

or

Tokyo

From what i've experienced, it's better to book thru internet. Rates are better if you know how to read Japanese coz' there's several sites only in Japanese. Discounts are also in Japanese.

Other than the super hotel chain, you can try kimi ryokan or House of Ikebukuro in Tokyo. It's rather difficult to book House of Ikebukuro coz' it's very popular. Kimi ryokan is not too bad too, but my sis in law hates it after being too pampered in Superhotel.

magix

yah, i juz browse thru asiarooms, and i was so surprised that the same hotel that my agency quoted was cheaper if i booked via internet. anyway cant book yet, coz my 2 nites extension still on pending.

i think there is a very slim chance that i can extend, given that alot of pple r going to view the sakura this season. really hope can extend.

magix

btw mashy, this House of Ikebukuro, izzit the Chang Tee hotel?

one of the gals in this thread booked there when she was there, and i checked the rates, its ~$140/nite. but after i went into asisrooms, realised got cheaper rates.

i wan to try the ryokan... izzit exp?

mashybrainz

Hi magix

No, it's not Chang Tee. I think there's a direct website link at the Welcome Inn link I sent.

Really depends on what you want. It's actually not that expensive if you consider the fact that you're having a full kaiseki dinner & breakfast. It's about 11500 yen per pax, so that'll be about $170-$190 per person. If you go outside to have a separate kaiseki dinner/breakfast, it'll also cost you a bomb. And you get to enjoy the onsens.

To tell you the truth, it's very worth it. I didn't regret a single bit on slurging on this. Wonderful experience and I will definitely explore more onsen ryokans when I'm there again.

And very interesting, they'll put your name at the entrance of the hotel to welcome you. You'll see your name outside your room too.

okie

Please give me some advise. Me and hubby just booked a tour package to central Japan via CTC. The traveling date is end of July, tot of celebrating our wedding anniversary there. After we booked the tour, then only we realised it would be a super hot season in end of July. We was thinking of changing it to end of May or early June. But the travel agency said there is an admin charge of S$25/person. Kindly advise which period would be good to travel in central Japan. The other reason why we wanted to change the date is our package also cover Disneyland and we scared it would be a long Q under the hot sun.
Appreciate your advise on this.

mashybrainz

I guess if you're celebrating your wedding anniversary, you can't really change the date right?

July's a bad time. It's typhoon time. Not only hot, you get typhoons. But well, if you travel up north to Hokkaido, you can probably see beautiful lavender and sunflower fields. That's if typhoon doesn't land on Hokkaido.

Or choose all the wet, watery fun places to go. Like Izu which is a popular place with the locals during summer coz' it's near the sea. But I think it's a good idea to just pay that $25 if you don't mind bringing forward your celebration. May's springtime, so more flowers. But bear in mind to avoid the Japanese Golden Week, coz' you'll not get to enjoy Disneyland very much with the crowd. Early June is not too hot yet, it's just dry and hot in the daytime. Night time is cool. Must bring umbrella, may have unexpected showers/typhoons. Will still need a sweater sometimes. If can push further, autumn is a beautiful time to visit Japan too.

magix

hi mashy brainz, thks 4 the advice. well, i cnt book now even if i wanted to. gotta wait 4 confirmation from the airline 1st before i do anything. i hope they can at least let me noe soon, so i can plan my leave. now its neither there nor here, dunno how.

hope to b able to extend for 2 days, really. keeping fingers cross real hard...

magix

ohh btw mashy, does a meal outside cost so much?
appreciate any fugures given coz i really hv no idea how much is it there.

i juz changed my $$$ yest. rate was quite gd. SG$1=64.1 yen

most hotels dun provide breakfast? mine is a packaged tour, i think breakfasts r provided. cant rem.

hayashi

Hi Magix,
I change at the money changer at Suntec. Think their rate is always quite good. the exhchange rate is getting better and better. aiyo.. think if change today the rate will be even better than yesterday.... sob sob change already!!

Hi Zhu Zhu,
Oh well, the JTB agent did not sell overnite express bus ticket so have to buy it from the Midori window in JR station.

mashybrainz

Hi magix

A normal meal costs at least 500yen. But can get 100y-300y ramen/udon/soba if you can find it. Those fast food chains like Yoshinoya is cheaper. Sushi meals about 1000y-2000y for special lunch set. Unagi meals 1000y to 2500y. So you see, really depends on where you eat and what you eat. A kaiseki is very expensive. From 3000y onwards. The food at most places in Japan are delicious. Just follow the locals. If you see a long queue from the locals, it's gotta be good.

Breakfast is optional for most hotels/ryokans. So you'll have to check whether it's included. Of course it'll be more expensive than to just hop outside to take your bf. Superhotels' breakfast is a variety of buns & drinks. I think since you're on package tour, bf should be included.

okie

Hi mashy,

Thanks for the wonderful advise. I called the travel agency and they suggest 10 May. Is that fall into the Jap Golden Week?

magix

simone, the rates getting better and better? wah... serious ah?
i am quite happy wif my exchg rate liao. dun wan to ask anymore in case i end up cursing myself 4 changing early.

hi mashy, thks, will follow ur advice.
yah, heard loads abt the food in japan. they say its anytime better than those served in SG!
really hope will enjoy this trip.

hayashi

Hi Zhu Zhu,
Me also very excited, it's a pity that we are leaving in the same day but not the same flight... Oh the overnite bus is abt 15000 yen for 2 way. BTW how u going to Osaka/Kyoto? U are going rite? By domestic plane?

Anyone knows the electricity in Japan is it the same as Singapore?? Very impt lei cos need to charge battery for digital cam.

mashybrainz

They use different plug, so you'll have to bring your own adaptor. Usually the electrical items like camera & digi cam will come with the flat head plug. So don't need to buy.

hayashi

Hi Mashy_brainz, Thanks for your advice. I will be leaving tonite and think Zhu Zhu is already in the way... see u guys when i'm back...

okie

Hi Mashy,

Thanks for the info wrt Golden Week. I have change the date to 10 May. The officer willing to change it for us FOC :)

magix

My extension is being confirmed!!!! SO happy!!!

can anyone tell me how to go abt bkg hotels from the internet? i pay via credit card and juz proceed straight to the hotel wif my bkg number on the actual day? appreciate any advise here!

mashybrainz

Congrats magix!

No lah, depends on which site. Certain hotel bookings pay upon arrival. Cash only for most budget hotels/ryokans. Only large hotels accept credit cards. Coz' a lot of places don't accept credit card, end up gotta bring a lot of cash around... Thank God Japan is a relatively safe country.

Do you know they've this ruling, I thot Singapore should also adopt. If they pick up something (eg wallet/bag/cash) and give to the police, after a certain number of days and nobody came to claim it, the item will be theirs legitimately. This actually encourages pp to be more honest.

So where are you extending? In Tokyo?

magix

hi mashy,

yes i am extending in tokyo. me & hb r now all frantic coz we hv less than a wk to our trip and we gotta cfm our hotel bkg soon.

do u noe wats the diff b/w a std and a semi dbl rm? they had explained but i cant really understd. hahahaha..

think we r choosing the shinjuku area. its quite exp but guess we will save on transport.

so looking fwd to the trip. am busy getting ready and pkg!

oh they hv this ruling? i wasnt aware.... yah, it actually encourages them to b more honest but then there will still b some black sheep lor.

mashybrainz

Hi magix

Semi double is kind of like 1.5 of a single bed. So it's usually a cheaper option than a normal double room. If you & your hb are big size, better don't take this option. It'll be quite a squeeze.

Don't know what's their std room, think they've different definition. Could be a single room/double room. Most hotels there charge by per person instead of per room.

magix

now i am stumped trying to book a room, coz i simply do not noe which one i shld b bkg!

think to play safe, book a std room? at least even if we dun hv a queen/king bed, at least got 2 single beds to sleep rather than squeezing?

we r used to a king size bed at home and still can fight 4 space at times.

skybebe

hi everyone, i just want to ask for those who've been on tours to Japan, were your tours in English or Chinese and which are your tour agencies?

My parents helped my fiance and I sign up for the CTC (Commonwealth Travel) Central Japan tour at the recent NATAS fair but they recently told us its a chinese guided tour which put us into a quandry since my fiance is non-Chinese. And my parents were also told that the Chinese guides they have are usually Taiwanese students in Japan. I guess the quality of the guided tours won't be that great then. We're now thinking whether to cancel the tour and go for other tours.

Does anyone have any experience with CTC tours to Japan or any comments on your guided tours to Japan?

Thanks v much.

magix

mashy,

its shinjuku new city... really got me all confused with the room names!
not sure if their std room is wif 2 sgl beds anot... and i posted in the Q&A... not v helpful answers either...

skybebe,

i will b going on guided tour and spending a few days F&E... a fren of mine, using the same tour agency as me says her guide is from HK and is good.. they r bilingual.

dun judge the guide so fast... CTC is quite reputable, so i guess they wun compromise on their guides as well? check wif the agency if there is anything they can do abt it.

skybebe

Thanks, magix_wand.

CTC was the one who told my parents that their Chinese guides are usually Taiwanese students living in Japan. I don't mean they're no good but prob in a different class from professional tour guides, if I'm putting this through correctly.

May I know which agency you are with and how many days you're on the tour and how much? Just curious.....

magix

hi mashy, i booked thru the internet. anyway i had settled on another hotel. its cfm and done.

hi skybebe,
i am with Hong Thai. Taking their central japan tours and extending a few days thereafter. total 7 days.

hayashi

I'm back from Japan, a very nice trip. Get to see Sakura. Really nice place to shop also. Bought a lot of skin care pdts, not too expensive for local brands like Shiseido and Kose.

zhuzhu

Me also just came back from my Honeymoon...going F&E wasn't that difficult in Japan...just that the hotel room was kinda of disappointment..;( Bought alot of cutie stuffs...can't afford the clothing, shoes and handbag there...geee they are SUPER expensive

hayashi

oh... there are a lot of sub-brands under Kose and Shiseido. The price can range from abt $10 to more than $50 for a bottle of moisturizer. So will depend on ur budget.

Yes I agree with Zhuzhu that F&E is not difficult in Japan. There are a lot of signboards and maps along the way. So we can move around even without bring around a map. Just have to know where u want to go and u will be able to find it. Think even if u dont know where to go just walking around u will have a lot of things to see already. Everywhere is so happening. Went to Tokyo, Osaka and Yokohama, think that Tokyo is more fun compared to Osaka and Yokohama.

Disneysea is really not as fun as Disneyland. Cos there are less rides and the theme is not very "disney" as the theme is more like those adventure stories like journey to the centre of the earth. Will not see those castles and colorful houses of Mickey and Minnie. However,
I saw some construction work and they are adding more attactions to Disneysea.

Think although Japan is an expensive city there are still things to buy. Like Japanese cakes and cookies are much cheaper compared to those selling in Taka. Japanese Magazines are cheaper by more than half compared to Kino. 100 Yen shops sell food stuff that is 2-3 times cheaper than those selling in our supermarkets. Skin care pdts have more choice at reasonable price. In short, dont expect to buy things that is very cheap like Malaysia and Thailand, but you can expect much better quality by paying a bit more. Clothings, shoes and bags are expensive but still can find some cheap deals if u really know how to dig...and compare prices.. haha...
BTW Japan also need to compare price. For skincare pdts some shops will have special discount for some of the items. Can be up to 50% cheaper. I always buy things that is on discount.