Japan trip - where to go

hayashi

Hi ZhuZhu,

Something to share. For Airport transport u can take the Keisei Line (Skyliner) abt 50 Mins to either Ueno station or Nippori Station from there can transfer to the Yamanote line and then from there u can go to places like Shinjuku, harajuku , shibuya area...
The journey to Nippori Station cost 1000 yen only. This will save half of the price as compared to taking the Limousine Bus or the Narita Express.

BTW anyone knows if JTB sell overnight expressway bus to Osaka?? Anyone had taken the night bus before is it safe??

vinmei

Hi blur blur & Ppgroom,

Thanks. Since my AD is in feb, most likely I would go after this and the nearest will be to see sakura. However, if I dun want to see sakura or maple leaves, is it advisable to go in Feb? How is the weather like during that time?

And besides shopping, is there any "MUST GO" place which I cannot miss... :p

Will there be any prob in F&E in Japan?

zhuzhu

Hi Simone
I got the tix at the JTB office at Taka..but I am travelling in the morning..me comin back on the 13th Apr...so u going F&E also lar? I haven decide whether to buy the JR pass o not... So what is ur itineary like? Actually I think i rather take the limo bus...I purposely pick the hotel the limo bus stops..;)

Hi Blur Blur
Catch a glimpse fo your pic...sooo lovey dovey..;)

Hi Magic Wand
I check with ananda travel when they had their travel fair a couple wk ago..think they quoted me the sunshine city hotel is $300+ per nite leh...not worth it..u can go online and book..cheaper

ppgroom

Hi vinmei,

Feb's temperature shd be still cold, in fact i heard from my guide that Feb sometimes has the coldest temperature for Japan!

magix

hi zhuzhu,

according to Hong Thai list, Sunshine City is $208/nite only... how come Ananda's so much difference? its a 4* hotel lah, but i was wondering if can save a bit by staying in 3*, why not? and some are nearer to the JR leh.

ublur

magix, well, there are trains to Narita airport. They have the normal trains which stops by every station, and the naria express train which is faster. However, tt time we only took normal train (cheaper) as our 7 day JR pass expires already. take about 1hr from tokyo to narita airport! s for u, since u only free n easy for 2 days, no need JR pass lah.. JR pass are for those travel around tokyo, osaka, kyotos nara etc.. In tokyo, guess ur tour sure include disneyland which is a must go... rem to stay till late at night, they do have fireworks which last for at least 15 mins.. very beautiful.
Other places must go are Shinjuku( their red light district and got lots of shopping till late night), harajuku where the big big "pasar malam" lcoated.. many youngsters will dress up when they are there shopping. Another happening place is Shinbuya where the famous "101" building situated. Gals are dress up very very pretty. pple might tell you to go to tokyo tower, but seriously, nothing much to see there.. dun ever go up to the tower, have to pay a lot for entrance.
If u like electronic stuff, Akibara(spelling not sure) is a good place to shop. if u can wake up early, do go down to fish market near Ginza and have your breakfast there..yummy sushimi, Of cos, Ginza is also a must go, jus like orchard in singapore. However the things there are DAMM expensive! Well, that is about all.. guess ur 2 days will b more or less be occupied..
Maps are available in narita airport. I suggest you get a copy from your travel agency. esp for tokyo which u wil b going for free n easy for last 2 days. easy to nagivate, dun worry... pple are very friendly.

bride to be, dun worry, as wat i say, it might quite lost on the first day, but as soon as u r used to the transport system, it should b ok.. feel free to approach anyone on the street if u r missing, some of them still can speak a little english. when u taking the trains, approach the station personal and tell them ur destination, they will direct u to ur respective train lane.

zhuzhu, thanks for compliment.

btw, i stayed in tokyo business hotel in Shinjuku. It's not bad, and i think it cost me abt 100 pernight. It's not a love hotel though.. hahahha... reason y i get there is cos i want to go out even at late night to enjoy the night life... it's abt 15 mins walk from shinjuku station. U all may wan to consider if interested!

magix

hi blur,

thks 4 providing so much info.

do u noe how much is the normal train ticket?

ok will rem ur advice to stay in disneyland till late, but not sure coz we r following tour, wonder if they will rush us and we will miss out the nite scenes like MTDT.

yup, i read abt Shinjuku and Shibuya. i was thinking hor, if we go there and dressed as per normal, wun we look very plain when mixed with the crowd? hahahaha

i read abt the fish mkt as well... might wanna try visiting there if we wake up in time! hahahaa... but we dun eat anything raw, so its a waste! hahaha...

these few places u mentioned, Shinjuku, Shibuya, Ginza & thr fish mkt, easily accessible and nearby?

as 4 airport transfer, how did u arrange 4 urs? coz to me, its still a headache now...

ublur

bride to b, welcome

magix, normal train tick within central tokyo alone wll cost abt a few bucks only.. it's only if u use the bullet trains n tt is expensive. travelling from tokyo to kyoto via bullet train cost abt S$200 for one way..
For disnely land, do go for the rides, very fun and entertaining..
hahahah, u r right on one thing. rem that time me n FH wear normally(wat we used to wear in singapore) and go shopping in shinbuya, so funnie.. anyone sure can pick us out from the crowd.. cos we are like country bumkin leh... the gals there spend so much effort on dressing n make up.. eye opener leh..
last time i went to fish market in kyoto, we bought salmon n saba sashimi.. so fresh n delicious n is cheap!! anyway, if u dun eat raw, think any restaurant(no need go expensive ones) their food all nice.. dun noe y, the food in japan are so delicious.. yummy.. hahaha...

those places are jus besides mrt.. follow the crowd, u wun b lost.. there are shinjuku, harajuku, ginza, shinbuya station respectively. so u wun b lost..

for airport transfer, very simple, go to tokyo station, tell the officer tt u wan go narita airport, then they will tell u which lane train. Jus buy tic and hop on it.. and u will reach airport in 1.5 hour if u take normal train. got another narita express train but is more expensive. however, do note tt the train will stop by 2 terminal of airport.. so u better check which terminal ur plane is departing. Tt time, me n my FH almost alight at the wrong station. of cos, do allocate sufficient time for ur transfer, jus in case u drop or miss the train, u got lag time mah... in fact u can check the departure n arrival of all trains there and they are very puntual...

magix

hi blur, u online now?

ohhh normal train rides r cheap huh? thats a relief!
yah their narita express and bullet trains r such "killer" prices!

hey, in fact i find ur dressing quite nice alrdy! i can imagine i wun b as fanciful as u lor! all the short skirts etc! hahaha

i think alot of pple commented tt the food in japan is much nicer as compared locally.
anyway as long as the food is cooked, i will wallop it! haahahaha

now i think gotta study their MRT maps. so confusing!!!

yah MTDT oso mentioned the japanese r super punctual! which is good!

hayashi

Hi Zhu Zhu,

I will be there for 10 days till 10-Apr. How much did you bought the airtickets. I bought from Zuji.com at $602 with tax included. Basically i will be going to Tokyo, Osaka and Yokohama only. Will also go to Disneysea and Universal Studio.
I dont think i want to buy JR pass cos is too expensive. The JR EAST Pass will not allow you to travel to Osaka and Kyoto, the JR Pass is require which will cost abt $450. I think i will take nite bus to Osaka to save on hotel and transport. I think the major JR stations are doing upgrading for escalator. I saw the construction work when i went there in 2003... but there are so many exit to JR think only 1 or 2 exit will have an escalator. I think i had to train up to carry my stuff...How much is your budget for this trip?

ublur

magix, yaya.. online, once in a while pop in to read the thread.. even any stall in the nearby stall are delicious... it's hard to comprehend the mrt maps jus by reading.. however, it's good to know where are the stations located such tt u can plan ur itinery well..

magix

blur, i am looking at the site that MTDT recommended. Its 9000 yen per room and i think its cheaper than the hotels i was quoted. It says the hotel is conveniently located in Ikebukuro, near the stn ard 6 mins walking. sounds reasonable to me. so can i assume its very convenient if i wanna go to Shinjuku etc?

sorry 4 so many questions!
u hv been a great help and very patient as well!

dragon_gal

i'm glad to find this thread. Given a choice btw Tokyo Disneyland and Disneysea, which would u go?
Anyone has been to Disneysea to give some comments? Thanks!!

zhuzhu

Hi Magic Wand
Think i remember wrongly..its the crown prince metropolitan hotel..quoted by UOB travel i think..;P The limo bus is Yen 3000..so about $50 per pax lor..

Hi Simone
How come I felt so cheated..I paid $630 per pax leh..when did u buy the tix?.. tsk tsk...also planning to go disneyland, disneysea and universal studio..I saw that osaka had a huge aquarium...thinking of going there as well..but entrance fee pretty X...Actually wanna get the "Yokoso Japan air pass"..but i think the promo end 31st mar... Budget ah...errr we did not sting on the hotel...so..i budgetted around 8K..but after reading this thread..think I paid a high price for hotel n air tix...

Anyone had any idea on the breakdown of the airport taxes har?

zhuzhu

Hi Blur Blur
If you say ur dressing is like "country bumkin"...then I worse..i intend to go there in jeans and track shoes..;P

magix

hey zhuzhu, when u going ah?

i did some search over the webbie. alot of hotels 2 choose from. try this www.asiahotels.com

quite informative leh!

hey ^5~! i oso intend to go in jeans and leather shoes. nothing fanciful 4 me!
mayb can try to get a colourful shawl to look more fanciful? hahaha

airport taxes ah? i rem i hv it, but cant rem where i put it liao... one of it is the narita airport tax, its 2450 yen.

blur,
one more thing to ask... u move from hotels to hotels rite? so u oso took the JR ah? got enuff space 4 lugguge bag? i did some search on the web, found this hotel that is supposed to b nearby and its cheaper than wat the agency quote me, so i was thinking shld i book over internet? heeee...
but worried how i shld lug the lugguge bag over? and their cab is super exp!!!

zhuzhu

Hi Magix Wand

I booked my hotels from asiaroom...I think its cheaper than asiahotels...ya we bring a more fanciful shawl and try to blend in with the crowd...

When you going to japan huh?

I booked the shinjuku washington hotel in tokyo and the new hankyu hotel in osaka..not cheap though..but at least airport limo bus stop at that hotel..

magix

zhu,

oh... got asiaroom ah? ok i check it out later!

i am going from 7 apr, plus extension will b till 14 apr.
but still pending confirmation of coz.

got limo bus stop means? FOC ride to airport? how much r the hotels then?

zhuzhu

Hi Magix wand
I meant the airport limo bus...they stop at certain hotel..so for convenient sake...i purposely find hotels where the limo bus will take us there lor...errr dun think got FOC ride lar..;)

The tokyo hotel is S$231 per nite..with breakfast..osaka one is $258 per nite with breakfast..

ublur

magix, s long s u r staying near station, travelling around should not be a prob..

dragon, up to u, i have not been to disneyland before i went o japan.. tt's y i choosen disneyland.. however, heard many good reviews on disneysea too.. i will go there on my next trip!!

zhuzhu, it's ok, many tourist also dress like tt.. jus tt pple can pick us up from the crowd easily..

magix, ya, i took JR train when i move around.. tt's y i did not have big luggages.. we only carry 2 big packpacks with trolleys attached.. sometimes it's cheaper to book via net.. dun take their cab, each time the meter jump, i bet ur heart will JUMP too!! hahahah..

magix

zhuzhu, guess its really fat hope to wan anything FOC there! hahaha

i will prob consider other hotels if gotta pay so much per nite.

blur! u r rite! thats wat i told my hb! each time the meter on the cab jumps, our hearts will jump as well!
their cab fare is ridiculously absurd!

so its ok to carry 2 big bags liao... then its gd.

thks once again 4 all ur great help & advices!

heeee, juz a wild thot, how do we dressed and blend into the crowd w/o others distinctly recognising us?

ppgroom

actually go on tour, the best is to fress comfy... no need to dress till so classy wat... wearing track shoes is probably the best choice cos of the distances you'll probably have to walk kekeke...

ublur

magix, yaya,.. i agree with ppgroom on tt.. comfortable is most impt... actually not tt bad.. only in those areas where many youngsters, else the working class pple dress "normally".. so we aren't tt bad..

hayashi

For Disneyland or Disneysea i think if u pple is first timers, then most pple will choose Disneyland. This is also wat i did for the 1st and 2nd time.. but this time i'm definitely going to Disneysea... yeah yeah... finally...if u have the time can plan to go for both cos the fee will be cheaper if u buy 2 days passport. Abt 1000 yen cheaper. The fireworks is nice. imagine that they have these kind of fireworks everynite... Singapore only get to see one or twice a yr..

I think the best to to carry one mid size suitcase and bring extra backpack for putting those cute stuff that u grap at Disney..is better to keep 2 hands free to carry the suitcase up stairs..

I feel that it is extremely difficult to act like a Japanese...haha.. once i saw 2 ladies in Shinjuku area and i conclude that they are Singaporeans at first sight... i did something stupid by following them to listen to what they say and i'm correct!!! Singaporeans have distinctive dress sense...haha!
I always feel like a old fashion pumpkim from those rural village ... even Aunties are better dress than me... oh no!!

Zhu Zhu,
i booked around mid of Feb on zuji.com.sg there are JAL and ANA to choose from both $480 without tax. Then suddenly towards the end of Feb JAL airfare drop by $2 to $478 but the promotion disappear within 1 week, the ANA promotion also ended think 1 week ago... Feel so lucky to have booked early. However, these 2 promotions must depart by 31-Mar

I'm staying in Shinjuku as well is abt 200 per nite. BTW do u know that Shinjuku Prince Hotel is only abt $198 per nite for double room?? but i'm not staying there lah... cos i'm going with friend so we prefer twin room. am i advertising for zuji again?!?!? haha!

I'm trying to keep my budget to 3k per pax... have to save real hard cos the hotel we did not choice those cheap ryokan in ikebukuro... cos no bathroom...really think that poor people in Japan really pityful..everything is $$$$

zhuzhu

Hi Simone
hmmm I book the $499 tix also end of Feb...U know the breakdown of the airport tax..and all the misc charges?? I forgot to ask the lady to write it down..she just mentioned it and I forgot..scally she count wrongly I also duno noe..

I just go asiarooms website n see..the $198 for shinjuku prince is until mar leh...so which place u staying?

All,
I trying to booked domestic flight to osaka..anyone know the plan from ANA "Hayawari21"?

mtdt

me here.. who looking for me??

for my budget plc - it is a cheap ryokan in ikebukuro. mine comes wtih attached bathroom and it is quite convenient lah. only abt 5mins from JR station. shinjuku and shibuya only abt 20mins away by train...

Disneyland - I also choose disneyland. Actually the tour did mention that those who wants to stay back longer can just inform them. Then they will not wait for u at 5pm. but that day tht I went, no fireworks... and we were tired after the whole day liao. Next trip definately Disneysea.

Anyone been to those roller coasters park in japan - the one at Mt Fuji looks really fun!!!

Their Trains - not tat difficult lah. basic fare starts from 130yen to 280 yen. still ok...
for those that ones to take train to/fro airport.. be prepared for long staircases hor. unless u r carrying backpacks like blur...

Jap look - wow.. their gals really pretty.. esp the way the do their eye makeup!! seems like all of them put eyelash extention everyday! :p

for hotels hor - be careful that some actually offer semi double rooms. it is actually a single room with 2 single beds and the toilet in the middle! one thing is i told hong tai that we are honeymooners... so MUST have a double bed!! :p

magix

PPgroom & blur, aiyah, of coz i wun compromise on my comfortness and really dress to impress. i will b wearing my most comfortable shoes coz i noe will b doing walking most of the time.
other than that, think i am most likely to b covered up in my jackets coz i am afraid of cold! wrapped until i look like a dumpling!

yah agree wif Simone, 1st timers tend to choose disneyland. i even read somewhere b4 that disneysea is not fun... so simone, rem to share the experience wif us as soon as u r back.

btw the rates 4 the rooms in the webbie r till mar only.

zhuzhu

Hi Magix wand
If you go asiarooms..you can select the dates you wan..and they will worked out the total amt...even if see the period is till march..you can still select apr date..they will tell u the rate one

magix

zhuzhu, ok i will check out asiarooms when i am back.

am leaving BKK 2mrw 4 a short trip! chat wif u guys again when i am back!

zhuzhu

All,
Just saw on the news that Tokyo is experiencing heavy snow....wonder if the cherry blossom will be delay...Do you think we should bring more warm clothing

littlegirl

I have $1800 worth of vouchers to let go. Willing to sell off at $1.7k.

If there is anybody who's keen, please feel free to contact me.

These vouchers can be used to offset any packages from SAFE travel. I am nt too sure if their website is updated though, but u can feel free to ask them. I am not sure if they sell air tickets alone either.

Address:
Sales2Travel Pte Ltd
3 Lim Teck Kim Road #01-04/05 & #02-02
Singapore Technologies Buildg
Singapore 088934
Tel: 6823 3000
Fax: 6226 3711

URL:www.safe2travel.com

hayashi

For the tax the breakdown is $21, $68 and $33 but i dont know which is which...but i think $33 is for Japan airport tax, $21 is for those stupid surcharges becos of 911 and $68 is for singapore side airport tax. Anyone knows pls help!! thanks thanks!

For Sakura the forecast is out already but don't know will be accurate or not..u all can take a look at the link below..
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2011.html

BTW anyone had taken expressway nite bus before to Osaka or Kyoto? Can share your experience??

cottoncandy

so happy to see so much info on Japan
hubby and me are planning to go Japan in Nov to see autumn maple leaves and also coz our AD is in Oct
.. so will probably need some time to prepare for the trip.. hehe..abit KS hor to start planning now? have just finish reading up the past threads... hehee

hi blur blur

can i take a peek at your lovely pics too? as we are planning to go during autumn too.. my email addy is [email protected]

zhuzhu

Hi Simone
Thanks for breakdown...think that is about the amt i paid..How much u paid for the hotel?

I also saw that website on the cherry blossom...looks like it will still coincide with our stay there..

Anyone got any idea what the temp will be like in early apr...I am trying to figure out what sort of warm clothing i should bring..

hayashi

Hi Zhuzhu,

I paid abt $200 per nite. (12500 yen per nite)

Actually now the weather is so unpredictable...i will bring some thick clothes just in case.. a wool sweater and maybe wool socks just in case. Think should be enough lah.. anyway i like cold weather. Think the temp should be abt 10-15 deg in Apr.

littlegirl

I have $1800 worth of vouchers to let go. Willing to sell off at $1.7k. The vouchers are valid till 24 Feb 2006.

If there is anybody who's keen, please feel free to contact me (through here or PM preferred)

These vouchers can be used to offset any packages from SAFE travel. I am nt too sure if their website is updated though, but u can feel free to ask them. I am not sure if they sell air tickets alone either.

Address:
Sales2Travel Pte Ltd
3 Lim Teck Kim Road #01-04/05 & #02-02
Singapore Technologies Buildg
Singapore 088934
Tel: 6823 3000
Fax: 6226 3711

URL:www.safe2travel.com

zhuzhu

Dear All
Just to let you know about this Yokoso Japan Airpass...I called up JTB and they said even though the promo end this mth..its likely that JAL will extend this promo..The air tix from Tokyo to Osaka cost about S$180 wtih tax incl.

annelise

Hi zhuzhu

The air tix of $180 from Tokyo to Osaka - is it return or one-way? May I have the JTB number, please?

I'm going to Tokyo in April - going with 2 young toddlers (1 and 3 yr old!), so can't join organised tours as we need a flexi schedule.

zhuzhu

Hi Annelise
Its one way trip..i think..the yokoso japan airpass had different type..you can choose to how many sectors to go (ie..how many domestic flight you want to take)...I give you the tel no. tonite..

zhuzhu

Hi Annelise
The tel is 6735 2345...its JTB @ takashimaya..if you happen to find out that JAL is extending their promo..let me know...oh there is a condition of using the Yokoso Japan Airpass, you had to fly with JAL to Japan..b4 u can use the pass for domestic flights.