Japan trip - where to go

mtdt

ah ger - true lah...
some nites dinner are quite yummy...
esp those at the lake kawaguchi.
Toyko food also not bad!

overall i would rate Hong Tai - Good!
Our tour guide and tour leader very fun gals!
had lots of laughter. I had Angela-san and Irene-san. same as u??

mtdt

hey, those who went to Universal and Disney...
how many rides did u manage to take?

For me
Universal only 1 - the spiderman ride.
So happen that it is japan's national hols. So it was super crowded!

Disneyland - 6 rides & 2 parades (vday special and their usual pm one)
space mountain, buzz lightyear, haunted house, thunder mountain and a train ride and a cruise ride with all tour members.

too bad din stay till late nite to see their fireworks... shd be romantic!!

magix

Hi MTDT, u meant to say the pkg deals does not come wif hotels but rather those u mentioned? actually i do not mind, as long as the room is warm enuff when we sleep, not too cold.

Hong Thai sounds quite gd. i will go and check it out.

U booked thru internet for the remaining 3 nites of the room stay?

oh yah, din see any nite pix of u in disneyland... i saw in some of the pix earlier. why din u stay? time dun allow huh?

hey thks 4 taking time to reply!

mtdt

MAGIX -

think i confuse u! :p

pkg deals does not come wif hotels

MTDT> package deals comes with 4stars hotels. Warm and comfy. the place that i mention in the earlier post is a budget plc that I choose for my extend stay. I wan to save on lodging and have more $$ to spend there mah.

U booked thru internet for the remaining 3 nites of the room stay?

MTDT> Yes.

oh yah, din see any nite pix of u in disneyland

MTDT> HUH??? I have tons of pics in disneyland leh? in the last album.

... i saw in some of the pix earlier. why din u stay? time dun allow huh?

MTDT> dun understand

magix

MTDT,

i meant i did not see any NIGHT pix of u in disneyland, but of coz i did see pix of u at disneyland in daytime.

haha, paiseh 4 making u confused.

magix

hi pple, wondering if i shld wait till NATAS fair then book the trip? its from 18-20 mar...

btw i found out that tipping is ard $7+ to $9+ per person/day, izzit true? i find it quite exp... imagine we multiply by 6 days and for 2 pax??? its almost $100 juz 4 tips. so crazy!

PPgroom, am reading the archives now.... realised ur tax is juz over $80, if i rem correctly, i was quoted abt $139 for tax! such a big difference!!!

MTDT, how much did u pay 4 taxes?

magix

blur blur, saw ur previous postings... u planning to go hokkaido during sakura period?

read so many postings and no one commented that japan is not fun. so excited abt the trip, but then a bit kia kia coz read that ah ger's trip was almost cxl coz cannot form a grp.

mtdt

i see... referring to disneyland nite pics uh! :p

for hong tai, they collected 4000 yen per pax for all the tips for the trip. (driver, tour guide and tour leader) so abt $9 per day per pax.

Taxes per pax for JAL (from my invoice)
airport tax = $21
flight insurance = $20
Narita Airport Tax = $33

understand that SIA taxes are abt $50 more. And from Feb onwards, they are imposing Fuel surcharge too. 7% for the month of Feb.

ublur

magix, yaya.. will definately wan to go back there in a few years time.. tentively saving money for europe trip for honeymoon.. hopefully can fulfil tt.. definately should wait for natas fair, i got my tic from natas fair last sept.. my air tick only cost 550 bucks for JAL n it's direct flight.. i realised tt the JAL tic increased up to 1k after the natas fair!!

magix

huh???? then how come i rem i was quoted ard $139 for airport taxes etc? but i did not went to Hong Thai lah. after reading ur comments, i will check out Hong Thai liao.

so far the pkg i am looking are either JAL or ANA. both airlines shld b quite ok right? though i have not taken either ones b4.

blur, i thot u going ard the same period as me.
yah lor, Europe is my dream, but cant afford to go now. will save up and plan one in a couple of years time.

mtdt

actually, many years ago, i went with my mum thru JAL tours.

although more expensive... but i remember that their hotels and FOOD were much much better than Hong Tai. But... dunno how's their standard now.

I wanted to join back JAL tour... but could not get the dates that I want. So choose Hong Tai loh!

Go look see look see around lah!

ppgroom

Hi magix,

whether to go on guided or F&E is really up to your own preference. as for me and my wife, we find it quite hassle free... and also we made new frens on this trip!
and we're still in contact! amazing!

hi mtdt,

great photos! you and your hubby got 'fu qi xiang' leh

me also went to Osaka castle leh!! same same!
but the rest not quite the same liao... seeing your photos really make me wanna go back again!!!!

mtdt

ppgroom - thanks!!

True lah... in tour group, can make lots of frens! We also keep in contact after the trip!

the rest of the place not same meh? hmmm...
i shd go back to ur pics and take a good look liao!

littlegirl

hi hi everybody

so many msgs leh......... i c until blur liao.

MTDT - saw ur pics le. Lovely. bt then maybe bcos urs is really winter time (much colder period than mine), so most of the pics all ilke black & white leh.

USJ - I took only 1 ride cos tat day was the King's b/day or something, so super crowded. Disneyland - the 3 thrill rides only cos tat was the golden wk hols, so again - super packed. Instead we went ard snapping pics lor.

My Tour leader was Eileen, then tour guide - we called him JC.

Saw u went to take Free Wheel - we couldn't take cos it was closed tat time.

My pkg was more exp - nett per person is $2100, cos we took SQ, then maybe sch hols bah.

mtdt

ah ger - all black and white?? is it? but i hardly see snow there leh.. only at Mt Fuji!

but alot of pics underexpose lah.. that's why all black black!! hahahaha...

USJ - which one did u take?
sianz hor... all long long queue!

package - wow... much more expensive hor.. BTW, I also took SQ in the end as my JAL package cancel. :p

magix

hi MTDT,

JAL tours? then where to look them up? so meaning its their own packaged tour?

PPgroom,
i will definitely go on package this time round as its my honeymoon as well. dun wanna plan and crack my brains.

can make frens from the same tour provided they r of same "frequency". i hope no kids 4 the tour i am joining.... can stand it if they start to cry in the middle of the bus rides... there will b no peace.

btw generally how long is the bus journey? wats the longest u all took 4 ur trip? i hate long bus rides. i am not those sort that can sleep all the way.

yah, ah ger, think ur trip more exp coz of SQ and oso considered peak season.

littlegirl

MTDT

I mean greyish col lah, as compared to my pics still got abit more colour.

USJ - wat u think leh? The 3D or 4D one only lor. We din really bother to go & Q lar cos really very long Q leh, then we saw alot of water games, then so cold - dun dare to play skali we cme out all turn into ice. Ha ha ha....

Yeap - my pkg is more exp. Think was $1999 or something then + taxes lor. I think each pax was $2088 or dunno hw much lah, I only know ard $2.1k.

Magix_wand, yeah sch hols mah. End up go tare kuey shio w/ others. Then I can't extend cos it's peak period, SQ wouldn't allow us to extend.

actually go w/ tour can b quite fun if ur grp is fun. Though our grp is w/ slightly elder ppl, bt then ok lar - they also nt say very 'dao'.

Longest bus journey was 4hrs, bt of cos all got breaks in betwn lar. If no brakes think my bladder will explode then butt also 4" bigger when I cme back. Ha ha ha....

U will b surprised u can slp on the bus cos the road r nt bumpy then very smooth one. Though our bus is cramp, bt still can slp lor. Their buses r nt those wide seating one leh - we had a large grp so it's a 40+ seater.

JAL has JAL pkg, the one Hong Thai was selling is nt JAL pkg, it's their own pkg then tie in w/ JAL flights.

I heard ANA pkg are more interesting.

ppgroom

Hi mtdt,

For you, your airport's Kansai. whereas mine's Narita.

Day 2 - is the same places i went too

Day 3 - we took bullet train to kyoto and visit the same temple i think... then the rest not same liao

Day 4 - besides Mt Fuji, the rest different

Day 5 - i think we visited Asakusa too, the rest different liao

Day 6 - Disneyland (same

Day 7 - different as well

ppgroom

Hi ah ger,

agree with you on the tour grp thingie... as for my grp, got 4 pairs of honeymooners, so quite alot of youngsters, so it was very fun, we even had snow wars!!

and even when we're back, we even visited the new flats of our new frens and even stayed overnight!! happening sia!! kekeke

mtdt

wow....ppgroom...
so happening leh!!!

for my group... we have 15 couples!!! all lovey dovey... also fun fun. alot of midnite supper together. also hve snow wars at mt fuji!!!

but so far havn't do hse visit lah. only emails flying ard.

magix

ah ger, 4 hrs ride still ok 4 me... and i dun mind if their road is smooth. not like the ones i visited in taiwan.... wah, so many rounds and made me nauseous...

and besides i cant sleep thru'out the bus rides. at the most i will sleep 4 half an hr and then will b awake 4 the rest of the bus rides. sometimes i wished i can doze off thru'out!!!

yah i dun wanna cramp wif other pple during holidays, so chose to go off peak lor.

PPgroom, wah, ur grp really happening leh.... thats nice lor, at least the trip is more memorable!

yah nice to have honeymooners lor.... all tian tian mi mi at the same time. hahahaa...

magix

PPgroom,

urs from Chan Brothers while MTDT & Ah ger are from Hong Thai tours?

How is the food? OK?
btw izzit jap cuisine every meal?

ppgroom

mine's Chan Brothers. my wife dun like Jap cuisine, and she find it ok leh... in fact there'll be a couple of meals which are Chinese... but i find the Jap meals better than the Chinese meals... cos Jap meals will have mini hot-pot, hot noodles, steamed rice, bacon, sushi (sometimes), and dessert *slurp*... i droolijg liao just thinking abt it again...

littlegirl

it's nt Jap cuisine cos nt all ppl like Jap food. anyway they hv Chinese style cooking. Many a times also buffet style so u can eat watever u like.

magix

PPgroom, i juz went to check out chan brothers tdy, realised their prices slightly more exp than others.... and now i am not sure which period i shld go... Hong Thai & some other agencies said if i wanna see sakura, best to go end of mar (in tokyo) and coz i can only make it ard mid mth, they say to go hokkaido instead.

and when i went chan brothers, they got a pkg to tokyo and central japan in mid mth and said can see sakura!
now how? not sure whom to trust.

alot of them are offering pkg to tokyo end of mar to see sakura liao, and too bad i cant make it that period, gotta delay abit.

to me, as long as the food is cooked, i am quite ok. jap cuisine fine wif me.

zhuzhu

Me going F&E to Japan for honeymoon also..very adventourous of us...never been there b4..can't speak a word of japanese...I booked the JAL special promo...travelling on 31st mar...hopefully everything will be smooth sailing for me...

zhuzhu

Hi PPgroom

Its $630 per pax incl the taxes..can choose to come back from tokyo or osaka..i think the rate quite okie lar..

ublur

zhu zhu, i went via JAL last nov too... got my tic from natas fair.. 550 to n return from tokyo. ur rate consider not bad too..

yukie

Hi PPgroom & MTDT,

Can email me yr pics? [email protected]

I'm planning to go on pkg tour to Hokaiddo in oct this year for my HM!
Is it recommended to travel at tis time?
Thought of extending 2 more days at Tyo as the rtn flight will b fm tyo rite?

Kind of confuse with the airport... there's 2 rite? Wats the dif?

ublur

zhuzhu, ya.. quite cheap.. we had free n easy too.. dun worry, easy to navigate when u r there, me n my FH dun noe jap too.. but once u get used to it's transport system, then it's easy.. rem to go to kyoto.. it's very very nice.. i personally love kyoto to tokyo.. both me n my FH spent less than 4 k in total including air tic, accom, food, transport... also, remember to get a JR tick if u r travelling between kyoto, nara, osaka, hakone etc.. u will save a lot!! i bought JR tic at S$450 per tic, unlimited ride in JR railway for 7 days..

magix

2 days ago when i checked at People's Park Cplx, it was 1000 yen to 15.7 something... izzit considered ok?

I am planning to book my trip 2mrw with Hong Thai alrdy! Hope i am one of the few early birds so can enjoy discount.

regardless of whether can see sakura anot, i've decided to tour ard tokyo area.

i am planning on 2 days F&E aft the tour, so Blur blur, need ur help to share some itinerary with me on which places u went.

zhuzhu

Hi blur blur

Actually wanna take the bullet train to osaka..then on 2nd tot..give up the idea..cos duno how easy it is to take the train with all our luggages...

Hi Magix wand
Hong Thai got special promo for japan trip meh? JR=Japan Rail

ublur

magix, no prob, if u need any help let me know. let me noe where u going for ur last 2 days, then i can give u suggestions..

zhu zhu, dun worry, in fact, JR pass allows u to take their bullet train.. it's pretty complex, hope i can clear up some of the doubts.
In japan, there are many railway/mrt companies (owned by private unlike singapore). JR is one of the companies which own major railways lines in Japan. It connects many parts of japan. in this JR railway, it includes buses, railway trains(which stops at every stations) and also include the bullet train as well! There are few types of bullet trains in japan(forgot the name of the trains). For this JR pass, we can take all bullet trains owned by JR except for the fastest bullet train. however, trust me, their 2nd fastest train is fast too.. travelling from narita airport to kyoto takes about 3-4 hours of journey only!

If u wan to visit osaka, my suggestion to u is tt u still stay in kyoto.. travelling from kyoto to osaka is only abt 40 mins and accomodation in kyoto is cheaper than osaka. In fact osaka is jus another tokyo. If stay in osaka n tokyo only, i think it will be too bored. mainly shopping and pple everywhere. Kyoto is the most reccommended place for tourist where u can find beautiful shrines and temples. Nice sceneries too... also, travelling between osaka, kyoto and nara are only within an hour journey. Nara is famous for it's deer park where the deers roam freely.. very fun.. also the popluar "dong da men" is located there as well.
My advice is travel light. For me when i went with my FH, we only carry 2 big bag packs (with trolley attached). the train is big enough to accomodate ur big luggages, however, it might b difficult to carry up n down staircases.

Hope the above explaination does not confuses all of u. If there are more questions, i will try to ans if i know..hope i m not too long winded meanwhile enjoy your prep for ur trip..

last thing, esp if u r going f n e, rem to buy a guide book. buy the one from lonely planet. very useful with maps and suggested itinery. u wun regret buying it. if u wan to see my photos, do leave ur email down n i will send invite to u.

vinmei

Hi hi...

This thread got so much info on Japan!
Me planning for my HM there next year. Is it too early? KS la. hahaa:0

When is the best time to Visit Japan? I planned to go in Feb06. Is it a good time to go?

zhuzhu

Hi Blur Blur
Thanks for the explanation...let me digest those info first..then i will asked again..;) I also realise that Osaka hotel are quite X...but already booked liao..sigh~ too lazy to change..

the bullet train station is actually at narita airport? they really dun have escalators at the station ah?

Will be keen to see ur pics also..

ublur

zhuzhu, u got invite.. sent my link to u already.

not all stations has escalators, mayb i missed a few of them n had to carry them up the stairs..

well, there is this express train from narita airport to tokyo. This express train is by JR too, so if u got the pass, u can take this train jus by showing the station personal. Usually tokyo is the "interchange" where u take different trains to ur destinations. It's similar to city hall or raffles place mrt station in singapore. in tokyo they will have the different types of trains vary from normal to bullet trains.. Hence, the route is usually from narita airport to tokyo to ur destination.. hope clear ur doubt

vinmei, the best time to visit japan will b in nov(autumn to see maple leaves) or end of march,early april to see sakura... i went last nov during autumn..

zhuzhu

Hi Blur Blur
I was thinkin of taking the airport limo bus to the hotel..think that is the safest bet lar..but do u think its really worth getting the JR Rail pass or the JR east pass? I check with JTB office..they say unless u taking the bullet train from Tokyo to Osaka and then back to Tokyo..otherwise its not really worth it...its such a headache to decide on that..

ublur

zhu zhu, yaya, for me, i was in japan for 8 days. I took the JR east pass if i m not wrong. JR pass allows u to travel more places... My itinery is as follows, rough one..

Day one: Narita airport, take train to tokyo. then take bullet train to kyoto
Day 2: kyoto
Day 3:Kyoto
Day 4: take train to nara and osaka.less than 1 hr journey, but accom still at kyoto.
Day 5: take bullet train to hakone. take bus all the way up hill to enjoy the fuji view and enjoy hot spring.
Day 6: leave hakone and go to tokyo via bullet train.
Day 7: tokyo oso take normal train by JR to various places like shinjuku, harajuku etc
Day 8: tokyo, take train to disneyland and spent whole day
Day 9: tokyo and back to naria airport.

Note that most of the train n bus rides i took are JR. So for me, i will save a lot of transport. However, if u wan to stay in osaka only, or tokyo itself, of cos then no point getting JR pass.. we wanted to visit many places on our own n fully utilised our JR pass.

hope above helps.

ppgroom

Hi vinmei,

it depends very much on your own preference. Do you like to see sakura, or do you wanna see and play with snow?

hayashi

Hi Zhu Zhu,

Then we will be on the same flight to Japan, me booked the JAL tickets also travelling on 31-Mar nite. Where did get your tickets? Me going there till 10-Mar. Did u buy any JR pass?

magix

hi zhuzhu, Hong Thai dun really hv promo but since i am within the 1st 15 to book, can enjoy a discount of $100/pax. that means a savings of $200. I have asked for extension of 2 nites and the last hotel we are staying is Sunshine City. So i am considering whether to remain in this hotel for the next 2 days or stay in some other place.

As there is 3* & 4* hotels, i am not sure whats the difference. anyone can advise?

Blur, how did u travel to the airport on the last day? i was told there is no other way to the airport from the hotel except limousine service, which works out to b $50/pax. but i am not convinced that limousine is the only way out.

And if i stay near to airport, there will b free shuttle to the airport, but that means its more exp 4 me to travel to city area?

i am actually at a loss. dunno wat to do.... hope blur can provide some advise.

i left the itinerary in office. will let u noe 2mrw.

anyway i plan to roam ard tokyo. in the itinerary, we will b going to Kyoto, Osaka, Mt Fuji and Disneyland. (cant rem the rest)
thus where else can we go in tokyo?

i find the JR very exp.... very crazy leh

btw is maps easily accessible in the airports or elsewhere? i wonder if we need to buy a copy in SG?

Appreciate any advice! thks!