Japan trip - where to go

ppgroom

hi ah ger,

oic... yup, it's a hotel, but the room just looks like those olden days rooms... the very same hotel also got onsen... but i did not try... paiseh la

the best hotel was the Otsu Prince Hotel at Lake Biwa... that one really look more like a 5 star hotel hehe

yeah, saw those bubble jacket selling for 1050yen only!!! dirt cheap!!!

magix

hi ah ger,

nvm lah, since u alrdy had the photos in low resolution. yah, if they r keen, juz bring laptop along and show them lor. and true, they might not b as keen.

yah, even if the rooms are stuffy, u can open up the window to let cool air in. at least u can control the temperature. imagine being freezed up or too stuffy? will b real uncomfortable.

i haven used compressed bags b4, so i dunno how they actually work. but if i am really going japan, i will go and purchase them on standby! heeee

oic.... this year's winter not that cold ah? no wonder... 1050 yen is equivalent to how much SG$?? then PPgroom, u bought any?

hmmm, i am not intending to go hokkaido... was thinking of 7D + 2D F&E lor... will check out and see how. anyway our budget is less than $2K/pax. will work around this budget.

u both kept talking abt onsen and being paiseh... why leh? they stripped bare and share the onsen huh?

littlegirl

The rate is ard 100 yen = $16.

Bt PPGroom, those dirt cheap ones - nt enuff to keep u warm one lar. I also saw bt no pt buying cos if I wear in Sin, ppl wanna send me to Woodbridge liao. Ha ha ha.......

If my pkg was w/ Ananda much earlier, then I would hv extn on our own & can walk some more. 2 bad w/ Hong Thai & was during peak period, so they did nt allow us to do extn. as said tat it was the airline.

The onsen in those hotel/ resorts are public one.

When u leave ur rm, u r only in ur Yukata (sleeping robe or bathrm, look like kimono one - the one I wore & snapped the pics). Then u will go to the onsen - then after u undress liao, u only hv a small pc of towel to cover urself leh - nt those bath towel. For guys mayb still quite ok, cos only cover 1 part, bt for women - ware shld we cover wor?????????

If u r lucky, when u visit the onsen, it's empty then u can soak lor, bt if got alot of ppl then u go mah jin malu?

Then hor, my hb dun wanna go bcos he said skali got ppl w/ skin diesease, & they also soak, dunno will we get infected or nt.

ppgroom

ah ger,

not 100 yen = S$16 la... it shd be 1000Yen = S$16...

i know the jacket may not be warm enough... but so cheap, where to find in S'pore?? kekeke... i nvr buy la, cos already got a solid solid jacket liao...

yeah, we wore the yukata too... in fact the tour guide wana all of us to wear the yukata during one of the dinner, and we all did... and it was fun!!

littlegirl

aiyah, paiseh, yeah yeah yeah 100 Yen = $1.60. left the decimal pt out, hee hee........

we nv wore cos the dinenr venue was nt a sit dwn on tatami plc, bt just those chairs & tables leh. then it was open also, the dinner venue was just by the windows. If it was a pte rm & etc we would hv worn dwn lor.

Which travel agency did u go to arh?

ppgroom

that tatami hotel of ours is at the foot of Mt Fuji, and since it's winter thus very few customers... and also, during dinner that night, i think they reserved one whole section of the restaurant for our group (not a big restaurant la). and so we all wore the yukata and also sat on the chairs and makan dinner
very fun!

mine's Chan Bros. first time on grouped tour and find them not bad leh.

littlegirl

Oh, Chan bros. I know they stay near Mt Fuji one.

hmm.............. I m nw planning for my 2nd trip w/ my gfs - taipei, bt nt nw lar cos pok kai liao. Maybe someware in oct.

magix

hahaha, ah ger, u very funny!

yah true lah... 4 guys its ok coz they only got 1 part to cover... btw is the onsen unisex???? if it is, then real horror, i oso dun dare to join in. real malu...

hahaha.. if the onsen's water is hot enuff, it will probably kill all the germs, dun think will get it so easily. but then hor, better to b safer than sorry!

PPgroom, heard that Chan Bros and Tradewinds are quite good in their packaged tours.

ppgroom

Hi magix,

the onsen not shared one. guys and gals are all separated.

yeah, me first time going on packkaged tour, thus chose a big company feel safer hehe

hi ducky,

sent

littlegirl

magix - of cos they got separate onsen for women & men lar. If really public until like tat - then the guys ma kio tio?

Duckyduck, pls chk mail.

PPGroom:
Wah u very onx in SB hor? Every day I c morning post frm u leh...........

littlegirl

ppgroom:

addicted? U she bu de us here is it?

Cham arh - ppl usually gals then tita, bt then for ur case - erm..........

It's ok lar, addict then addict lor. I also chat regularly if I m nt bz w/ wk.

ducky

Hi ppgroom & Ah ger,

Wow the photos look very nice... I went europe for HM and went to Paris disneyland, quite simlar to tokyo one from the photo... All very colourful! ... Actualy when my colleague went for his JP tour, he visit a onsen that is for unisex leh... his wife let him go in ( his wife didn't join in)... his beautiful female tour guide even chat with him inside (naked)... hehe! cheers!

I tot joining a short tour like 5 days then extend another 3 days for shopping around tokyo... hee! hoping to cherry blossom also!

magix

PPgroom, quite normal to suffer from "withdrawal" syndrome if u do not come into forum lah! i suffered it b4! heeee...

duckyduck, wah ur colleague's wife very open huh? but then i guess in such a place, its very normal bah, thus no need 2 kick up a fuss?

i am planning to gp during the cheery blossom season as well!
am looking ard apr time.

ducky

hi magic_wand,

Ya I also told him(my colleague)that too!!! hehe!
So you planning around april... me too... Are you going F&E or tour? Just went to chanbrother website to see their dates available for april and price... price quite ok...

ppgroom

Hi ah ger,

haha, bo bian la...

hi ducky,

i actually requested if they have just a small onsen tub for couples one, but dun have leh...

littlegirl

if it's nt peak period then prices are rather reasonable.

PPGroom, we also asked bt they dun hv. maybe we r nt liberal enuff lar.

skybebe

My HTB and I are considering going to Japan for our honeymoon which will be in early July. I wonder if it'll be too hot then.

And if you go on packaged tours, does it kill the romance and honeymoon mood?

PPgroom and Ah ger, could you share your pics with me too? My email address is: [email protected]

magix

duckyduck, nope i plan to go on packaged tour as i wan to enjoy the trip and not bother wif the hassle of planning. juz intended to extend 2 days after the end of the tour so we can roam ard on our own, perhaps go back to those places which we feel its nice but din hv much time when the guide brought us there.
wats the prices that u got? for F&E?

PPgroom, nvm u can join the unisex one the next time u go then.

ducky

magix_wand,

Me also thinking to plan like tat also... extend 2 days for some shopping... hehe! I think I saw the price around $2088 for 7days, haven't ask the price for extend yet....

was wondering if there is a past trend to follow on which part of April would be a 'confirmed' period to see sakura?

Do not want to make a waste trip in april and not see anything..

magix

ducky... $2088 for 7 days? F&E? i think its on the high side leh... incldg taxes anot?

did my research last mth, for abt 6days (pkg tour) and incldgd tax, its appx $1.7K only.. travelling by ANA or JAL... cant rem which one.

hahahaha... PPgroom, u made ur wife sounds so fierce... machiam can imagine her using her feather duster on u.
oooppssss....

postpet, i think the sakura season is from mar (not sure mid or end march). think the agency mentioned in apr sure can see sakura. can check wif a few more agencies b4 u decide.

littlegirl

hi hi everybody!

Just to cme in & say "Gong Xi Fa Cai" to all of u......

rushing some wk so tat i can hv a happy CNY.

take care & shall chat again soon!

ducky

magix_wand,

That the package tour from chanbrothers... I think they have increase to $2288(w/o tax) in April due to cherry blossom season...

Will do more research then.... maybe can wait for any travel fair to get cheaper.... hehe!

Hi All...

Wishing all a bless and happy CNY.... cheers!

magix

wish everyone a happy & prosperous Rooster year and a smooth year ahead!

ducky, ur pkg seems exp... perhaps try a few more agencies to compare prices. and i read somewhere to avoid korea & japan in apr/may.... now i am reconsidering to go perhaps in end mar...

mtdt

hey all...
I am back!!!! Great trip!!
who wants see pics! :p

Those aiming for sakura - note that this year, the weather is hotter... thus it might bloom earlier. We saw some liao while we are at osaka.

Actually, we join a 7 days package and extend 3 nites. We tot that it would be more leisure to go on package. but we truely enjoy ourselves during the last 3 days when we are on our own. Package really too tied down. very stressful to keep looking at the watch and meeting the timing! :p

one thing abt hong tai - the food not tat great!
we really eat good stuffs during the last 3 days when we were on our own!!! yummy!! :p

we had sashimi sushi at 100yen each, we had fantastic ramen, went for dinner at those drinking dinner plc. oh... i miss japan! :p

mtdt

oh... and i experience earthquake!!!
in the middle of the nite, 430am!
apparently it is abt 5.6 on the scale!

but nothing lah... i simply went back to sleep!
next morning... funny stories from the tour pple!
some says tot got ghost! why the bed shaking!
then one auntie says dunno run where also!
(got 2 auntie in my group)

fun experience!

magix

hi MTDT, can i share ur pix? thks!

i am planning to go within these couple of mths alrdy... to see the sakura!

btw care to share ur itinerary? i am wondering if we shld go hokkaido as well, seems like alot of pple recommend there, but to go there, its more exp.

yours was Hong Thai?
well, understandable lah, tour agencies juz wanna make $$$, so the food we ate wun b that great lor.

btw wat was the temp like when u were there? izzit very cold? how much warm clothings to prepare? thks 4 sharing!

ublur

MTDT, welcome back?? do show me the photos.. [email protected]

great to hear tt u r having a great time over there.. i miss japan too..

magix, wahhhhhhhhh u r fast leh.. wan go back again eh?? i oso planning to go to hokkaido for sukura. but in few years time i think... saving for europe trip after my AD next year...

magix

blur, i haven been there yet lah... hahahaa...

i was planning all these while, but juz waiting 4 the right time to go. winter too cold 4 us, thus am waiting till end winter, starting spring to go.

europe oso my dream leh... dunno when will ever hv enuff to go there....

mtdt

magix wand -
my itinerary as follows:

Day 1 - Flight to Kansai Airport

Day 2 - Osaka Castle, Universal Studio, dinner @ Shinsaibashi & Shop ard Shinsaibashi. Stay at Osaka

Day 3 - proceed to kyoto, Kiyomizu Temple, lunch @ Nishijin Textile Centre follow by Kimono Show, Kingakuji Temple, bullet train to Nagoya, dinner & Stay at Nagoya

Day 4 - Proceed to Hakone, Lunch @ Hakone, peace park, Owakudani Boiling Valley, Mt Fuji, Fijiten Ski Resort, Dinner & stay at Lake Kawaguchi. (HOT SPRING!! Shiok)

Day 5 - Stranded at Lake Kawaguchi till 2pm! (driver refuse to go! :p)Proceed to Tokyo, Asakusa Kannon Temple, Dinner and shopping at Odaiba, walk at kabuki (shinjuku), stay at Tokyo

Day 6 - Disneyland

Day 7 - Gyoza Stadium and Ice Cream City, shopping at Ueno. *that's the end of the tour*
After changing hotel etc, dinner and shopping at Shibuya.

Day 8 - Trip to Kamakura, dinner and shopping at Shinjuku (ate 100 yen sashimi sushi! yummy)

Day 9 - Shopping day - Asakusa temple (again), Akihapara, Ginza & Harajuku.

Day 10 - Shopping ard Ikebukuro then flight back to SG

Weather - Temp ard 0 to 10 degrees. Lake Kawaguchi is ard -2. During the day, it is quite warm as it is sunny. It is only cold at nite and when it is raining.

Tokyo's weather abit the siao siao one. One day, sunny with temp at 12-13 degrees, next day raining with temp at 6 degrees. Even snow in the nite! So have to beware.

Clothings - I only wear 2 piece: one long sleeve tshirt and one jacket. But I can take cold pretty well. Most gals in my tour wear much more! :p

Hokkaido - oh, my fav place. Lots of flowers in Biei and Furano during summer!! My tour guide says tat Sakura in Hokkaido is ard MAY. So take note loh! Hokkaido can do DIY. I did a 7 days DIY trip back in Dec 2001.

Japan is quite a tourist friendly place. I would suggest to go DIY. Most of the signs are in Chinese character. Only food ordering would be a prob. Just point point loh! Also most young jap also can speak min english now :p

I went on Tour this time as my hubby tot that it would be less stressful. But becos of the timing contraint at every location, he only fully enjoy himself during the last 3 days. He regret liao!! :p

anyway - i email u gals the pics!
happy viewing!

littlegirl

MTDT

my email addy is [email protected].

My food w/ Hong Thai was ok leh. maybe I wasn't tat picky......... & we dun eat tat much either. Certain days were gd.

Mine was - I couldn't extend, otherwise I sure will walk ard more.

magix

hi MTDT,

thks 4 the pix, will check when i get back home tonight.

got a string of questions to ask again.

1) wat was the time difference here and Japan? will there be any jet-lagged etc?

2) How much did u pay for the 10D trip and the 3 days extension? And how much for your own expenses?

3) Wat is the exchange rate u had? Where did u chg it?

4) Was it really rushed for packaged tour? Now i am in a dilemma coz u said its easier to travel F&E? opppssss

What do PPgroom, blur blur & ah ger think? Wise to go F&E?

i am still thinking to go Hokkaido anot as hubby does not have too much leave... we are looking at 7 or 8 days only. and i was thinking of 7 Days & 2 days extension. but everyone kept saying expenses there real exp, so made me worry shld i extend 2 more days anot?

I love FLOWERS!
so i think i will go crazy there! hahahaahaha...

Aiyoh, if i were u, will go F&E since had been to Japan b4...

ducky

hey MTDT,

are beautiful.... I also tot of extending my stay like you did... so need your help.... may I know which hotel did you stay for your extension? how much per night? And lastly did you book the hotel yourself or thru the agency? Thanks!

magix

Hi MTDT,

thks 4 sharing pix... really a lot! but nice!

i think the itinerary u had was similar to wat i found so far.... universal studios, bullet train etc... but izzit really that rushed for pkg tour?

Mt Fuji was one of the places i wanted to visit as well, but some agencies state they will chg the venue depending on weather conditions. so not confirmed will b going.

The flower pix so NICE!!!!

mtdt

to answer all questions:

1) wat was the time difference here and Japan? will there be any jet-lagged etc?

1 hr differences only. 9pm in SG is 10pm in Japan.

2) How much did u pay for the 10D trip and the 3 days extension? And how much for your own expenses?

7 days tour with Hong Tai @ $1800 per pax. Extension stay hotel @ abt $480 for 3 nites
Other cash expenditure: $1500.
So total for 2 pax will be ard $5500.

3) Wat is the exchange rate u had? Where did u chg it?

my exchange rate is 1.59. Change it at Bugis

4) Was it really rushed for packaged tour? Now i am in a dilemma coz u said its easier to travel F&E?

well, for me, i find that most of the attractions are accessible via train and bus. Japs are friendly and puntual. so when they say that the bus will be there at 1012, it will be there at 1012!! most places have chinese character too. Although they do use their own japanese pronouciation, it is good enough for us chinese to understand it.

besides the morning routine, alot of time spend in coach, thus u will become very lethagic, always sleeping in coach. At each location, only abt 1hr+ some places is more than enough, but some places really rush.

5) which hotel did you stay for your extension? how much per night? And lastly did you book the hotel yourself or thru the agency?

I din not really stay in a hotel. It is a small place (abt 10 rooms only). Of cos, basic things like bed, tv, bathroom and daily room cleaning are provided. no breakfast thou. but have FOC internet access at the lobby (2 PC) and free Coffee/tea/water & Microwave. it is pretty near to their subway - abt 3 mins walk. area something like our Bugis. Their rate is 9000 yen per double room. Hong Tai says hotel extension thru them is $200 per nite per room. Some couple were be quoted $250 per nite per room. Request for Japanses Tatami room. Much bigger! Book myself thru internet. Their website: http://www.changtee.com/

6) mt fuji - I din go up the mountain too. but see lots of it from a distance. anyway, the nearer u r to it, the more u cannot see it. We only went to the 1st station to check if can go up or not.

7) Expenses - hmmm.. really quite expensive lah.
for example their subway trains fare range from starts from 130 - 280 yen per trip (within tokyo) for further place, have to take their train. of cos more expensive. My trip to kamamura (abt 45 mins train ride) cost me 890 yen per pax.

meals also another concern. a basic meal like yoshinoya cost abt 800-1000 yen per bowl. cheaper alternatives would be smaller bowl or simple ramen at abt 500-700 yen per bowl.

have to look ard loh... sometimes can find good deals. like a big yummy bowl of ramen at 690 yen or those yummy sushi at 100 yen for 2 pieces!
my most expensive yummy dinner abt 4000 yen for 2 pax! :p

8) lastly - Flowers
I also dunno wat flowers they are... but really lovely. thinking that the pink one might be sakura??? :p