Intercontinental Singapore

kite~

Champagne in the hotel suite
237596.jpg

misschindia

Hi Kite, Thanks so much! Seeing the photographs somehow makes everything seem more exciting
How many tables did you have?

Anyway do enjoy your honeymoon. NZ is beautiful and romantic! How long will your holiday be?

kite~

I have 30 tables in total + 2 spare.

Will be 2 weeks in NZ.

Intercon is very classy esp its ballroom n grand too. good choice if u hv chosen it. Alot of my guests mentioned good location, execellent food and very grand........

misschindia

Hey Gals, Just to collate our wedding dates in chronological order...

Bluegrapes - 27 June 2005
MissChindia - 9 July 2005
Piyoling - 19 October 2005
Litte_ger - 26 November 2005

Would be nice to keep each other posted on progress

bluegrapes

Kite,
Your pics are really useful. They are lovely. Thanks.
Wonder whether I can request for Biz Suite instead of Bridal Suite since there is no dressing table.

misschindia,
That's so thoughtful of u.

lilacblur,
What is BR? Ballroom? My comments is grand, beautiful and lovely. High ceiling, pillarless, rectangular. What else to ask for. ;) It is more of colony style I feel.

P.S VERY GLAD that this thread is alive again!!

misschindia

Hi Lilacblur,
Agree with Bluegrapes... the ballroom is really beautiful... very grand! There is also a nice big and rather private area for guests to mingle during the cocktail.

Yes you select dishes up to the cost of your package... for example is you take up the weekend package for 788, you can select 8/9 dishes that add up to $788.

This is one of the more unique features of the Intercon package as everyone will have different menu based on personal preferences. so far I only know Sheraton has a similar package. Most places have fixed menu.

misschindia

So ladies.. how is your prep getting along?

Believe it or not, I just signed up for a bridal package yesterday even though wedding is barely 6 months away!

preci0usm0ments

hiya misschindia, wow you're so lucky. still able to book a nice BR within 6mths
did you wait for the tong shu?

i think i'll consolidate more info from other hotels first then visit them all together

are the coords easy to work with? hope i dun meet those difficult to talk to ones..

chercat

Hi simano, I think there are only 2 coordinators for Intercon (if I am not wrong). You can ask to speak to Adeline. But she is off on Monday n Tuesday.

chercat

Hi simano, my dinner is just next month!!! I dun know what is the present offers for Intercon, cos i booked mine last year and the perks may be different. Maybe you can negotiate for things like extra wine corkage waiver, extra invitation cards, extra parking coupons for guests, upgrade to a better suite, more beer etc. These are normally the standard things couples negotiate for. An earlier posting by Bluegrapes showed the perks which she received, i think it's pretty good! When is your AD? Which other hotels are you looking at?

jen_bibi

Me also signed with Intercon last yr at their wedding show, but my coor is evelyn. Anyone have comments on her?? cos most of u have adeline n this is making me nervous. dun want to change coor. when the date to AD is too near for comfort.

Thks!!

misschindia

Hi Jen, when I last spoke to Adeline she mentioned that she is the only wedding coordinator at Intercon. When is your AD??

Hi chercat, Wow next month?!! You must be really excited by now. Hope that all goes well..

misschindia

Hi Jen, i spoke to her when I signed my contract last month. Maybe you should give a call to find out. Anyway don't worry as long as all your perks are listed in the contract the hotel has to honour them. Changing of the coordinator should not pose too much of a problem.

If there really is a change, you may wish to call Adeline and touch base. She seems very professional and experienced so dont get stressed out ok?

misschindia

Hi all, here is our latest list of Intercon brides

Bluegrapes - 27 June 2005
MissChindia - 9 July 2005
Piyoling - 19 October 2005
Jen - 19 November 2005
Litte_ger - 26 November 2005

jen_bibi

Hi misschindia

It not abt e peaks but if adeline is e 'main' coor. then who is this evelyn?
most worried is e AD event.
if she not experience then make a mess how??

jen_bibi

tallked to her, she sounds experience n looks very professional but none of e ppl there uses her services or have her as yr coor. so just worried.
Did voice to her abt it (changing of coor.) she is also kind of surprise by it but she said to give her a chance n if we still not comfort she is happy to get her colleague to take over.

Cos we will only get together 3 months b4 e AD right??
me thinking of arranging for my videographer n hotel coor. to meet at e hotel so dat all involve will be info on e AD events... Do u think is ok??

colleen

Wa really.......that is great!!!!

Lilacblur, are you shortlisting HI too?? Are you intending to book for 2005 or 2006?
I have shortlisted HI, Sheraton, Raffles The Plaza and GWC base on the pricelist and comment from the forum.

Me very Kia Su......have obtain quotations from most of the hotels liao.....hahaha!!!

mooncake

hi chercat, thx for ur feedbk. my AD is nxt oct.
Basically, we are looking for hotels with high ceiling with min of 25 tables ($650 - $750) per table ..and oso with no pillar blockage, lastly, with long march in..so many things to look out..headache..but anxious..
..any recommendations?

btw, hw much did u pay for e deposit?(its ok, if too personal to ans) so..feeling nervous as ur AD is juz round the corner?

mooncake

hi chercat, thx for ur feedbk. my AD is nxt oct.
Basically, we are looking for hotels with high ceiling with min of 25 tables ($650 - $750) per table ..and oso with no pillar blockage, lastly, with long march in..so many things to look out..headache..but anxious..
..any recommendations?

btw, hw much did u pay for e deposit?, wat's the pament procedure lik etc..(its ok, if too personal to ans) so..feeling nervous as ur AD is juz round the corner?

chercat

Hi simano,

HI has high ceiling, no pillar blockage n LONG aisle. The long aisle n pillarless hall were the deciding factors that made me eventually choose HI. As for min tables, depending on whether your dinner is a weekday or weekend one. I think if it's a weekend, they may require >30 tables. Pls check with Adeline.

Deposit for HI is $5K and i paid by credit card. No worries, this is not a personal question.

Funny though, i m not too gan cheong about my AD. In fact i realized that alot of little details have yet to be worked out. But it's ok lah, taking each day at a time. Cross the bridge when I come to it. Haha!

colleen

Lilacblur, I also have budget la.....But think their weekdays package is still ok.

Have u request quotation from other hotels......I got a few other quotations from Oriental, Holiday Inn Park View, Hilton, Traders, Carlton, Furama Riverfront (Ballroom not bad, just went to their wedding show) etc, u wan? Can compare first before your final decision meh!!

preci0usm0ments

among the hotels you mentioned, only considered Traders... one of my friends having at Oriental, so dun wanna have it at the same place..

I think HI is more convenient and their package quite reasonable

if can, i will also shortlist Sheraton

preci0usm0ments

chercat,
i spoke with both Adeline and Michelle.. but then hor, i find that they not those super friendly type leh.. like if i call other hotels, they will ask if we wanna make appointment to view the place (even when they know mine is in 2006)
but when i spoke to Adeline and Michelle, they just answer all my qns and kept quiet while i wait for them to offer me for appointment which i din cause dunno how to ask

colleen

Wa lilacbur, at least u got a chance to talk to them. I tried to call them for more than 15 times, i can only hear voice message that their busy. Disappointed......

mooncake

hi Chercat,
hmm...looks like HI is the ONE..already made an appointment with Regent. Most prob will call HI to make appointm too..

juz kpo,Hw many tables will ther b for ur AD?

little_a

anyone request for the use of the piano? i intend to shift the piano into the ballroom cos i am getting my fren to play the march-in music...

misschindia

Hi Little_ger,

I should be using the piano.. but perhaps during the cocktail in the foyer, not in the ballroom.

Think that your idea of getting your friend to play the march-in music is very meaningful
How many tables will you be having? If you are not filling up the ballroom then you prob can still retain a larger stage.

misschindia

Hi Chercat,
Good to hear that you are taking things easy cuz a relaxed bride is a beautiful bride. Just assign a good friend to handle all the headaches for you.. then you can just concentrate on smiling and mingling with your guests

Lilacblur - No need to be paiseh about asking for appt cuz its their job to entertain you. Just call and say that you want to make an appt, they will be happy to meet you. If not, just email.. and they should respond. Think Michelle is Adeline's assistant.

Bluegrapes- Have you decided what wine to serve?

preci0usm0ments

Slimmy, i know what you mean, always got the voicemail thing right? me too... got to keep trying

misschindia, i think maybe because mine is 2006, so maybe they not so interested to entertain me? cause usually when i call to enquire with other hotels, they will ask if i wanna make appointment for viewing... but for HI.. they din mention anything. seems to me that they not interested to make business

is it always like this? or maybe i am over-sensitive?

little_a

hi lilacblur,
maybe u can try at a later date. when i booked intercon in Jun 04 for my AD in nov 05, they did not have the package for 2005. it could be that it is too early for booking or maybe the package for 2006 is not ready yet.

if you wan to view the ballroom, you can always go during the weekends when there's a wedding going on... dun have to make an appt to view the ballroom.

preci0usm0ments

wow little_ger, i think the ballroom must have been very nice

i guess HI is also more or less the ONE for me.. go the obvious hint from my hubby that he's not going to look ard anymore since HI has all the things i'm looking for

sigh.. guys are like tat huh? settle one place then lazy to go look ard somemore...