Intercontinental Singapore

kite~

Hi bluegrapes,

the helper room is from 3 to 11pm if i remember. okie can use my list as reference but dun quote my nick or name hor. thanks.

bluegrapes

No worry. I will not quote. Anyway, I will juz tell her that I took reference to the forum that's all.

Hope I can at least get good bargain like yours.

kite~

Hi bluegrapes,

it wld be better not to quote this forum as well. Probably just say ur fren also signed up with intercon
else intercon staff will feel very stressful. thanks.

chercat

Hi kite,

No offence to you but i don't see why we can't mention this forum if the situation warrants for it. Of course we won't quote individual names/nicknames but i feel it is ok to let service providers know there is such a platform for the true exchange of views. It's like a mini-Straits Times where compliments, comments n complaints are being brought up. This will allow the service providers to know that they cannot do a slip-shod job or else news will get around. If they have consistently good standards of service, they should not be too unduly worried as comments on them will mostly be good. It is only fair this way. Reward the good n highlight the bad!

kite~

Hi Chercat,

then go ahead. treat it as i never say that before. I cant control that too, no need to be so long winded.

kite~

i just went for my food tasting. so far, the food are not bad except the roasted chicken alittle bit salty so hv highlighted this issue to Chef. esp the fried rice wrapped w lotus leaf ad dessert are great! yummy! Our stomach nearly bursted out. hehe

carrots

Hi Kite,

Finally got time to log in. Overall quite satisfied with their services on our wedding day. You mean you managed to get a helpers' room? I was trying to get one but was rejected by them.

My food tasting was only for 5 dishes. They simply refuses to increase it to the full course for me.

So far, I've not heard any complaints from my guests pertaining to the service and food.

Happy preparations for your wedding

bluegrapes

Yeah Kite,

What dish did you select for your menu? Do u mind to share share? And what dessert did u mentioned which was great?

kite~

i need to see my food menu again, cant remember all, will type out when go bk to my love nest.

Hi carrots!

congrats. when was ur wedding? last mth? glad that everything went smooth, no hiccups?

yup i managed to get a helper room for my swordbearers as mine wil be a military wedding

ic mine managed to bargain to full course menu n 8 person for food tasting.

how abt wedding cards? urs enough or u got more from intercon again? mine not enough leh.

btw can u give me ur email address or watever cos i need to ask u more stuffs abt intercon. or u can email me [email protected]

piyoling

Hi Carrots,
Congrats!
I am new to this forum. Am planning for a wedding next year and very close to placing a deposit with Intercon.
Can u share ur wedding experience at Intecon?
How do u find the bridal suite? I haven't had a chance to view the suite.

misschindia

Hi all, I'm about to place a deposit at Intercontinental.. love the place! Just feel that the coordinator is a little cold, and always in a hurry! Anyone have experiences to share?

PS Kite - Congratulations.. now you can relax and enjoy

jojo_6669

Kite, Congrats! I still cannot decide what desert to choose. I like the cream yam paste with Gingko nut topped with coconut cream. But my family said it is too heavy, because we chose roasted chicken and Fried Rice before the desert. I have not tasted other deserts, anybody knows what desert is nice? I am considering "Double boiled Payaya with Chinese Almond and Snow Fungus".

kite~

Hi carrots,

i m stil not back at work, wil be bk to work next week. however, next mth then flying for honeymoon.

there were some feedback on food, minor thing not so bad. how was urs that time? any feedback from frens?

Hi littleger,

Photos yet to be ready.

Hi misschindia,

Adeline was my co-ordinator. overall she is quite friendly.

Hi jojo,

My dessert was sweet cream of red beans with lotus seeds and dried lily bulbs. taste very nice. gd comments on it. I chosen roasted chicken and fried rice with seafood wrapped in lotus leaf. nice!

chercat

Hi kite,

Just wondering if you could provide some feedback on which side of the ballroom is better to be seated at? The left or right aisle. I understand that the left aisle is where the kitchen doors are, and the right aisle is where the side doors to the ballroom are. Thanks!

kite~

Hi chercat,

to me, both are the same. right side is better if u are hving presentation or video slide cos better view of it.

bluegrapes

MissChindia,

If u r referring to Adeline, not to worry about it. I have the same feeling as yours when I first meet up with her. In fact, was a bit put off cos she was really cold. However, during my subsequent meetups with her, she is actually a very nice and friendly lady. Do note that she is really extremely busy and has been sharing with me about her tight schedule esp around this festive seasons. No holiday whatsoever. Hee...

Anyway, I have signed up with Intercon two weeks back and am really happy with my decision.

Kite,

U mentioned some minor feedbacks on food. What are they? Mind to share?

misschindia

Hi BlueGrapes, thanks for the reassurance! Ya was a little worried initially and also cuz thought they are quite inflexible about the wedding package. Anyway too late cuz I've signed up with Intercon already haha. So when is your dinner? Mine is on 9 July 2005. Did you manage to get any additional perks on top of the basic package?

Any other 2005 Intercon brides out there?

Wanlow1 - I have emailed you the package

misschindia

Hi Kite and Carrots,
Just want to check how strict the hotel was about vacating the ballroom by 11pm. Was told that there will be surcharge of $800+++ if we exceed the time. My friends are quite rowdy and expect dinner to drag :p

kite~

Hi bluegrapes,

not so convenient to mention here but overall alot of ppl mentioned food great n ballroom very grand n atmosphere is superb.

Hi misschindia,

my dinner ends abt 11.10pm. quite alrite.

bluegrapes

misschindia,

My wedding dinner is on 27 Jun 2005. Additional perks...uhm...juz a bit. Managed to bargain for 34 bottles of wine cockage waived instead of 24. And, 70% wedding cards instead of 60%. The coordinator was pretty firm. How about u?

Anyway, am already very happy with the perks cos gotta know that the helpers room is overnight stay with breakfast. Also, the food tasting is for 10 pax full menu.

kite~

hi bluegrapes,

ur perks are very very good. i oni hv 8 pax full menu n a helper room until 11pm. :p but overall i really enjoy my wedding there n stil missing it.

misschindia

Ya Bluegrapes think your perks are good
Happy for you! Adeline was pretty firm about wine corkage so I only have 24 bottles. Price of cheapest hotel wine is quite inflated, saw it for $18 at Cold Storage, while Intercon is selling it for about $28 nett.

I didnt have much bargaining power for perks as someone was "fighting" for my date and i had to decide ASAP or lose the date.

Kite.. great to hear you enjoyed yourself so much. Now you can look forward to your honeymoon. Where you going?

piyoling

Hi Kite,
Congrats! Your big day is over and you can look fwd to your honeymoon.
I have placed deposit with intercon and my AD is oct 2005.
May i ask abt the sequence of ur wedding? i.e. champagne pouring, cake cutting etc...

kite~

Hi misschindia,

hehe how u know i m gg for my HM since i din mention here hehe. anyway gg to NZ for HM.

Hi Piyoling,

When is ur AD? As for the sequence of program, do not worry. Intercon wil give u a program list but u hv to request for that else they wont give you. Btw it wil be cake cutting 1st after 1st march in and then cake cutting after 2nd march in.

Btw gals, mine was a military wedding so it was very grand to be held at intercon ballroom as commented by my frens.

piyoling

my AD is 19 Oct 05.
Now i understand why intercon ballroom is good for your military wedding. The aisle is long, thus, it's really very grand when you and your hubby walk down thru the swords. ooooooOOO... envy

May I ask how do you control the lightings thru the nite? like dimming at certain times etc..

bluegrapes

Kite,

Are the perks good? Uhmm..cos the overnight stay for helpers and food tasting for 10 pax is already in the latest package.

I really look forward to viewing your pics since yours is a military wedding..wow..atmosphere must really be fantastic and impressive.

Have an enjoyable HM!!!

chercat

Hi kite,

Which room did you get for your wedding nite? The shophouse suite or they upgraded you to the business/executive one? I read from previous postings that there is no mirror at the dressing table and the toilet is not attached to the main bedroom. Is it true? Thanks...

kite~

Hi Piyoling,

no worry on lightings. the ava OIC will control up there for you.

Hi Bluegrapes,

yup good n lucky u hv very good perks. guess u signed up during wedding show? maybe i shall attach some pics here for u when got time. i love e bed which intercon decorated. beautiful.

Hi chercat,

the room i got is the shophouse suite that comes from the contract. they did not upgrade for me. The bridal suite is really good enough n beautiful, wil show u pics here too when got time. Oh ya, the bathroom is not attached to the bedroom but its very convenient. no dressing table too but got 1 long full mirror.

kite~

oh ya, the wedding favour which i hv chosen is the wedding bear. alot of raves esp the guys love it too. LOL. cute.

jojo_6669

Hi Kate, which wedding bear did you choose? There are two types, one pair is with brown wool skin, and the other one is white leather skin. Did you give one bear or a pair of bears to each of your guest? I am wondering whether guests will "fight" for the one they want most if only one bear is given:p

kite~

Hi jojo,

my wedding bear is the white bear, bearing a tag with our names. very unique n lots of ppl like it n we realised after e dinner, almost all bears were gone (thought there might be some left behind) hehe
glad we chosen this.

kite~

each of ur guests wil be given 1 bear n they wont hv to fight at all. its fair. 10 ppl on a table = 10 bears.

bluegrapes

Kite,

Very kind of u to provide us with so much info. Thanks.
They r really useful.

Look forward to receiving your pics.

Happy packing for ur HM. :D

kite~

hope these pics can help u all b4 i go for HM
i still miss my wedding n its grandness n beauty of e ballroom n overall!!!