Intercontinental Singapore

qooqoo

I was reading through the chains of comments and I can't help but have to chipped in to add in my comments.
Had my banquet last month and it was perfect ... the event manager was very professional and he helped all the way through, including asking us to slow down a little while walking down the aisle ...
The BR was very grand and being on the second storey , the event can be very private ... no strangers ...
The food was great too ... good sharkfin, great dessert (or-nee) ...
Catherine was my coordinator and she helped us a lot in all the last minute changes that we wanted (last minute food comment, table arrangement etc) ...
On a whole, I would give HI a good thumb up!

misschindia

Hi Orith, Yup.. the 2005 menu is different as you get to choose your own dishes from the entire menu (up to the price that you are paying per table). Lots of flexibility

kite~

Hi Orith,

not sure abt 2005 package.

Hi QooQoo,

congrats! my wedding was last mth too. When exactly was urs?
Yup my guests also comments on the great dessert. My co-ordinator was Adeline. The 2 nites stay at the bridal suite was great manz with great breakfast.

orith

Hello Qooqoo

Congrats for your wonderful wedding

Oh...so your co-ordinator was Catherine. I was kinda worried how come no one deal with her before..hee

Was yours on a weekday or weekend? Can you share what are the perks you get pls?

kite~

Try to neg. for perks. I only manage neg. as shown below:

1) 8 persons for full 9 course menu (can try neg for 10 person)

2) 70% invitation cards (our cards r not enough, but HI nice to gave us extra 20 cards free. Subsequent need to pay $2 per card)

3) 30% carpark coupons (more than enough)

4) Free usage of Piano at the foyer during cocktail reception (my cousin played the piano)

5) 1st 20 bottles of wine wavied for corkage

thats all i can think of now.

Btw, u can refer to this link for my wedding pix held at HI, mainly showing the ballroom.

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2131662823&code=14209614&mode=invite&DCMP=isc-email-AlbumInvite

I will remove this link after viewing.

orith

Kite, your wedding is soooo grand!!! So envious...hehe.

Your wedding dress looks really nice too.

Btw, i realised yours was a shophouse suit right? Did you get to stay for 2 nites, and at 3rd level or 2nd?

kite~

hi orith,

yup initially i wanted a bigger suite but realised a shophouse suite is really good n big enough. I stayed for 2 nites at 3rd level. Mine was directly facing the bugis junction, nice view. my suite was located exactly the middle above the front entrance facing bugis.

orith

Hello Kite

Hee...coz i was trying to ask for bigger suite, but Catherine said cannot lei

OH...3rd level has a small garden one right?

Btw i like your menu. The 3rd and 4th one are exp dish. Did you get all good comments abt all the dishes?

kite~

Hi Orith,

the shophouse is already good enough. Initially i was like u, wanted a bigger suite.

Mine dont hv garden. u can request for a one subject to availability.

Oh ya, regarding e perks, i got a free helper room for the swordbearers from 3 to 11pm cos they need to change their uniform.

yup good comments from guests on shark fins, abalone, scallops n dessert.

orith

Thanks a lot for your help Kite, appreciate it.

So far, i manage to bargain for 2 wine corkage waiver for every confirmed tables. But i dind't manage to get the helper room.

Your feedback has certainly boast my confidence to sign with them. Btw, is there any hiccups at all?

kite~

Hi Orith,

well, thats gd u hv 2 wine corkage waived for each table, can save u alot. Probably u can try to get a helper room for ur jiemei n xiongdi.

So far, no hiccups, everyting went smooth except 1 inexperienced waiter as i mentioned before.

bluegrapes

Hi Kite and all,

Wow!! This thread is so much alive.

Oh, I wanted a short match in cos I feel very shy. :p I am someone who do know like to catch attention and am holding this wedding dinner mainly for my parents. However, many of my frens told me that the match in is something which is really memoriable. Uhm...after hearing all your feedback, I am seriously considering the long match in.

Kite, so nice of you to share the pics with us. Thanks so much!! Glad that you enjoy your HM and welcome back!

I will be having about 28 tables becos mine is a weekday package. And my menu definitely would not be as fantastic as kite's. Kite, any recommendation on the dish to take? I remember someone saying that the roast chicken is pretty salty.

QooQoo, your feedback is really encouraging. Thanks for sharing!

kite~

Hi Bluegrapes,

Me too i m very shy like u but on tat day, i was like abit numb esp sabo by the swordbearers where i hv to kiss them. u shld go for the long aisle.

Hmm not sure about the wkday package. I was the one who mentioned roasted chicken was salty during my food tasting. But on e spot, we told the Chef not to put too much salt n on AD wedding, it tasted just nice.

little_a

kite,
after looking at ur AD pics.. i am very glad that i chose intercon!! its so so grand... =) I have made the right choice.

kite~

hi littleger,

oic stil long way to go but tell u time really flies....i booked nov 03 n now jan 05 liao....missing my weddding prep though stressful. hehe

qooqoo

Hi Orith,
Mine was on a weekday just before Christmas. I had initially confirmed on a 25 table, but confirmed on a 28 + 2. In the end, we opened all the 30 tables. Perks include: 70% invitation card, 30% parking coupon, 1 wine corkage waived for each table, usage of the day room. As it was on a weekday, many guests need to work the next day. The wine corkage waiver was just enough.

Hi Kite,
I agree with you ... the breakfast was good and definitely the 2-night stay in the hotel was fantastic. Just nice for me to do last minute Christmas shopping :)

qooqoo

Hi Kite,

I had the same feeling ... missing all the memorable moments of ensuring all the minor details of the wedding were done :) Though I was extremely stressed at that time ... Rethinking of all the hard work that we had put into it, I think it was really worth it.

little_a

kite,
i am enjoying the preparation now.. on one hand i hope it come quickly.. on the other hand, i wan to enjoy the process... think i am gonna miss it after my AD

chercat

Hi kite, thanks for sharing the photos! Didn't manage to see your face though, but the back of your EG looks beautiful!!!

Hi Qoo, may i know what songs you used for 1st/2nd march in, champagne pouring and 1st dish? Trying to get some references. Does HI accept burned CDs instead of the originals?

I agree with kite that time really flies. Before we know it, our ADs will be over and we will need to find something else to look forward to. Sometimes i wish my AD wont arrive so fast...

kite~

Hi QooQoo,

Yup can do shopping at bugis at nite....my wedding was abt 1 week b4 xmas.
hopefully wld hv e chance to go bk n stay for a nite at HI.

i think good memorable thing usually flies fast. Really missing now, like nothing to look forward liao, so sian. Did u go on any honeymoon?

Hi littleger,

must treasure e prep....tat time i think i was too stressed up to treasure it, now only can Hui2Wei4

Hi Chercat,

u're welcome. ur wedding next mth rite? hows prep?

kite~

Hi Chercar,

HI does accept burned CDs. I have an original (2nd march in) and burned CD (1st march in + swordbearers march in).

1st dish i just leave it to HI. As for champagne pouring, since it's after 2nd march in, they continue using the 2nd march in song. HTH

bluegrapes

Hi Kite,

Yeah, I really like your wedding gown. Very lovely. Soft and Feminine organza. My sis and I were viewing your pics. Though can't see your front view but believe that you must be a very beautiful bride.
Your hairdo is nice too! Your match-in pix were really impressive.

Guess I might end up having 30 tables as well. I ordered 36 bottles of wine and mine is a weekday dinner. Wonder whether it would be sufficient.

Think will be dropping by HI to have a peep this Saturday. Heard from Adeline that the theme setup will be revised and different from previous year.

I will be going to meet my WG designer this evening. Quite nervous but excited.

qooqoo

Hi kite,

yup ... went to Taiwan (Taiwan?! Well, did not have time to plan for any free&easy trip amidst all the mad rush to prepare for the wedding... Korea/Japan/Europe are too cold, US is too far, Cairns is too hot, prefer free and easy in NZ - how was NZ, did you go on a tour group?) In the end, just signed up for any tour package in any country which was not too cold nor hot ...

bad choice ... spent more than 50% of the time couped up in the coach, though the scenary on the eastern side of Taiwan is very beautiful. Had to spent the last 3 days of the year 'recharging' at home for the new year :-( Think I will ask Hubby for another trip this June to compensate for this one :)

ribbons

Hellosss to all,

Am interested in HI as well. Just to check, how long before your wedding did you confirm/paid deposit with HI?

qooqoo

Hi Chercat,

1st March in - The Gift
1st dish - Victoria's Smile by 12 Girls' Band
2nd March in - So In Love (think it's the title ... hubby chose this)
Champagne Pouring - Ai heng jian dan (Chinese song by Tao Zhe)
As for the slide show, I have chosen 'If' sung by Karen Mok.

I love the song Yo Te Amo from the 'Meteor Garden II' but was vetoed by Hubby, saying it did not have the atmosphere :-(

misschindia

Hi Ribbons, I confirmed with HI about 6 months before wedding... though i think in Singapore that is considered very late. Think most couples confirm their venue about a year before.

Have you confirmed your date yet?

misschindia

Hi Kite and Qoo Qoo - Just to check with you guys... was there any feedback about lack of parking spaces? Wedding in on a Saturday so a little worried about competition with the normal Sat crowd at Bugis Junction.

qooqoo

Hi misschindia,

yes ... u r right ... For mine, though it was on a weekday but it was close to Christmas, the carpark was extremely full with the shopping crowd. Some of my guests had to divert to other carparks in the vicinity but not a major problem for me.

Hi Ribbon,

I booked mine pretty late ... about 4-5 months before the wedding. But it's advisable to book early otherwise you are not able to get the desirable date.

kite~

Hi Bluegrapes,

Thanks. hehe both of my wedding n evening gowns are MTM. Quite satisfied with their works.
Hmm i think i ought to thank my photographer who took nice pics.

Hi QooQoo,

My NZ trip was self drive F&E. I planned everything including the itinerary and booked everything (accommodation, car rental, air tix) myself. Alot of work to be done but very fun!
Scenary thumb up!!!

Hi Ribbons,

its better to book 1 yr b4 esp if ur AD date is hot date. Mine was a very hot auspicious date, alot of couples got married. I booked 1yr2mths b4 with HI.

Hi Misschindia,

Hmm parking lots is abit of a problem. we started our dinner on sunday at 8.45pm cos of late guests whom cant find parking lots. Some of my guests parked opposite bugis junction. no choice. tat's e bad point of HI, no own parking lots.

chercat

Hi kite, preps are ok i think. Basically i quite bo-chap n not very gan-cheong also. Will cross the bridge when comes to it. Just sent out my invites. Dunno what else to do leh.... any advice on what you were doing at this stage?

Hi ribbons, i paid my deposit about 9 months prior to my AD. If you are set on HI, then can pay deposit already, cos if you make tentative bookings everywhere but never pay any, the hotels can give up your booking to another couple who has paid the hard cash!

kite~

Hi chercat,

hmm actually b4 AD wedding, nothing much to do. its then when near AD, out of the blue, lots of things to be done. like timetable, ur helper's task assignment n etc. Guests RSVP is most important.

ribbons

Hi chercat/ little ger/ All

Thanks for replying. My AD tentatively fixed on 3rd quart 06. Have just began on my "research". Feel so lost. Will need more of your advices from now on. Many Thks in advance.

orith

Wow....one day didn't check, already so many responses. heee

Kite, really appreciate your feedback

I really hope they can improve on their inexperience temp staff, coz mine gonna be during xmas period too.

orith

Hello Qooqoo

Oh so 1 wine corkage per table is enough? I am really worried that it's not enough, coz my FH's relatives and colleagues are heavy drinkers lei.

Catherine has agreed to have 2 wine corkage waiver per table that's if i have 30 confirmed tables. But now if i tell her my confirmed table is lesser than 30, do you think she will still give me that 2 bottle waiver?

qooqoo

Hi Orith,

Yes, all in all, my guests consumed ~30 bottles of wine. Since it was a weekday, many guests still need to be at work the next day.
One thing that might help is not to serve wine/beer/liquor during cocktail. We have asked for the wine to be served only when the first dish was served but in the end, we served the alcoholic drinks when the guests were seated in the ballroom.

orith

Hello littleger

Adeline, oh the manager right? Did you manage to bargain for additional perks? How many tables have you confirmed?

orith

Blue grapes

When is your big date? Btw, u mentioned abt the change of theme? Any idea what is it gonna be like? My co-ordinator Cat, dind't say anything abt it.

qooqoo

Hi Orith,

Good morning to you too! You are very early :)

Initially my coordinator was Adeline but was transferred to Catherine for the final preparation (~1 month prior to the AD). Catherine is very professional. She helped us a lot in our last minute requests and changes.

orith

Hello Qooqoo

Heee, am working at the moment, that's why..haha
U are not sleeping yet?

So she's quite accommodating to the requirements huh. Thanks..u make me feel more "fang xin" to sign up with her.