Intercontinental Singapore

kite~

Hi gina,

ur package is very good, u got free flow of beer, u signed up during e roadshow rite?

me signed last Nov with the old co-ordinator called Enya, n mine is not free flow, only entitled to 30 litres of beer. guess 30litre might not enuff. beer from intercon is not cheap! costs $650++ for 30litres of barrel.

edna

Hi kite...i dun have free flow beer....only 40 litres is given. Free flow is from 7pm to 8pm...reception time. after reception..then will depend on the 40 litre of beer...hope it is enuff.. dun intend to buy more. i have abt 250 guests. other than beer..intend to bring in abt 40 bottles of wine..and 10 bottles of hard liquor.

little_a

gina,
i think 40 litres is more than enough cos u have to consider that ur AD is on a weekday. ppl dun drink a lot on weekday cos they have to work the next day.

garfield77

Gina,
Juz to share wif u some info gathered from my colleauge's wedding on last Monday.
She got 34 tables wif free flow of beer, prepared 28 bottles red wine & 5 bottles hard liquor.
Tat night not many ppl drink beer, we hardly c ppl drank beer (abt 2 ppl per table the most).
Majority took red wine instead (especially got 3 tables almost all took red wine) & all the red wine finished up when last 3rd dish is serving.
She onli used up 3 bottles of hard liquor in the end.
So dun worry 40 litres of beer not enuf, red wine consumption will be higher than beer.
Like little_ger said most ppl still need to work on the following day & don forget those who r driving.

kite~

hi gina,

oic. i think 40 litres shall be enough for ur wkday dinner. mine is 30litres of beer for weekend 30 tables, hopefully enough cos i thought of not serving wine? (see how, might not or might be serving).

hi gals, do u think not serving wine abit funny? thanks.

kite~

hi little_ger,

hmm stil in the midst of deciding whether to serve wines. hmm i was wondering how to say "no serve wine" to my guests during my wedding dinner. paiseh anot? but wil be serving beer n hard liqour.

piyopiyo23

Hi Kite...

I think is ok for not serving wine too. Yesterday I attended my best friend wedding, they also didn't serve wine (Don't know whether is bargain or they do not want the crowds to drunk them...haha)

kite~

Hmm i was wondering how the waiter or waitress gg to tell my guests that no wine being serve? afraid offence to my guests loh. anyway me not confirm.

edna

Hi gals..for me its a must to serve wine. My hubby boss and colleagues are all ang mohs..hahha and they will be flying in from US to attend our wedding..so its not nice if we dun serve wine..they simply love drinking wine while dining. Wat i am worried now is if 40 bottles of wine for 250 guests will be sufficient? hehe btw who is going to this sunday wedding show in intercon other than little ger? little ger and i r going..anyone else?

shyen

Hi Gina,

I've shortlisted Intercon as 1 of my banquet venues.. for the show this Sunday, r these the perks I wld get if I sign up for weekend banquet? Any idea? Personally it seems like u've got a v deal, eg rooms for helpers.. which i think other hotels u gotta pay..

Also how much does Intercon charge for weekend banquet for 2005?

Thanks in advance for answering my queries..

little_a

hi shyen,

this is intercon's weekend package :
Dinner (minimum of 32 tables)
S$768+++ per table of 10 persons (Fri & Sun)
S$788+++ per table of 10 persons (Sat)

kite~

Hi Shyen,

from what i see, they increase $20 from 2004 to 2005. Meaning i will be paying $748+++ for my this yr 04 wedding on 1 of the sundays.

kite~

Hi HI brides,

i wil be going down next mth to select my invitation card's design n arrange for food tasting.

Just wondering is there any NEW card design or NEW wedding favours? hehe last Nov when i just signed up, heard there wil be a wedding bears as wedding favours?

any idea? thanks.

little_a

kite,
i understand from my co-ordinator that they are considering pewter items for wedding flavors for weddings in 2005... but they are in the midst of discussion..

there shld be new card designs... she showed me a sample when i met up with her... also yet to confirm.

shyen

Hi Little ger & Kite

Thanks for the info.. wondering y there's a great disparity bet their wk day & wk end packages... their wk day ones r definitely more affordable.. but do u gals know abt the perks for the wedding show?

Actually I haven't seen the ballroom setup yet, but everytime i step into the hotel, i get a gd feeling...

edna

Hi Shyen...i think there isnt much diff bt the weekday and weekend package other than the price. Their menu is ala carte style..meaning they will have 9 different sections..and u pick one dish from each section to form a 9 course dinner...as for me i picked only 8 dishes...hence i can have better dishes. So my 8 dish will have to add up to be at least $628. If its more than that i pay accordingly..but if less than $628...i still have to pay $628. there is +++ for this pricing. So if u take the weekend package which is more expensive..u can slect better dishes from each section.

I am not too sure abt the wedding show perks for weekend...the standard perks r abt the same for weekday and weekend. Weekend has an additional perk. I exchanged my anniversary nite stay for a day room for helper and lcd projector. I believe the weekend perks r better than the weekday..so it shld be a very comprehensive package.

kite~

Hi Shyen,

as what i know between the difference on wkday and wkends. the food differences alot. cos my fren intending to sign up intercon wkday as she fell in love at 1st sight w their ballroom but let go bcos of the food. i mean if u r not those fussy abt food menu, then intercon is great esp the ballroom look classic n grand!

shyen

Hi Gina & Kite,

Thanks for your comments! U gals r great! Was wondering why the big difference in price, cos other hotels dun vary tat much..

too bad I cannot attend this Sun show, else wld get a chance to see their ballroom.. heard so many gd comments from u gals... is there only 1 ballroom in teh hotel, ie only 1 wedding on any 1 day?

little_a

hi shyen,

yes intercon has only one ballroom and hence only one wedding on any 1 day.

gina,
wanna meet on sun?? i think i have seen u before so no prob in recognising you.

kite~

Hi Shyen,

u're welcome.
since u cant attend this sun show, probably u can pop up other weekends where there is wedding going on. try to go b4 7pm (ard 6.30pm) where the guests hv not arrived. Their banquet manager is very friendly n willing to welcome u to step into the ballroom to hv a detailed look. cos last yr b4 we signed up, we went in many times. lol

also, u can email and request from HI to send u software of the ballroom and decor pictures.

shyen

Hi Little_ger & Kite,

Thanks! I like the idea of having an exclusive ballroom..

Do we have to make an appt before viewing the ballroom? Or can juz sneak in? Who is the person I shld contact for the banquet? Can give me the email address?

edna

Hi little ger..u call call me on that day
96456545. I will reach there ard 1:30pm...the event starts at 2pm..dun wan to register so early..hehe

little_a

gina,
u better edit ur post and remove ur hp no.. i will sms u on that day.

shyen,
64311258 Adeline.. she is my co-ordinator. u better check if ur AD date is still available.

kite~

hi Shyen,

Yes intercon ballroom is very exclusive in the sense.

nope, u dun hv to make any appointment to sneak in to hv a look at the ballroom. But remember to call up 1st to check whether is there any wedding dinner going on that particular evening b4 u go down.

unless if u want to discuss more details or take a look at the wedding package b4 sign up, u then need to book an appointment with Adeline. HTH

little_a

kite,
intercon now ties up with fleur connection... no longer with steffi.

there's one deco i like.. i think its maroon theme. i find it quite sweet.

din have the chance to find out whether they are any new invites.

gina,
sorry i totally forgotten about contacting u on that day. i rushed off to church at about 3.30pm. how u find the decors?

huimin

Hi kite,

no related.

Adeline,
I find them quite friendly and not pushy. U went to the wedding show last sunday??
rgs

edna

Hi little_ger... i like the maroon theme back drop as well
my hubby like the table setting with the dark coloured table cloth..we wanted to have all our tables in that coloured table cloth but adeline said she only has 2 for the VIP tables...heheh even if we pay more..theres nothing much she can do at present. We r sitting in the first row...on the left hand side of the model's direction

pork_chops

Hi Huimin!

Yah I was there on Sunday too ... quite a huge turn out yah? I really like the ballroom and recept area .... when u step in, it's like WOW....then again, am quite concerned abt the service cos of some feedback and personal experience lah .... so thought it would be helpful is some of you gals who have signed up or thinking abt signing up can tell me how you feel abt them ...

kite~

Hi little_ger,

thanks for the info. Will be meeting up the co-ordinator, Adeline soon to discuss more for my wedding.

So far, i remembered i saw 3 or 4 different decor themes for the ballroom. I simply love "4 in Love" decor for ballroom n the aisle. really *DREAMY*. hehe

Hmm need to select my wedding favours, card's design, arrange food tasting.......hmm wat's more? i cant think of any right now.....cos sort busy with preparation now. hehe

*EXCITED*

camy

Regarding the voucher for printing of wedding cards for Wedding held in Hotel Intercontinental. It is valid for a year. Do contact me at loner@pmail@ntu.edu.sg

kite~

i m interested as i m selecting my cards this mth but hvnt confirm cos e hotel co-ordinator on leave.

i tried email to u but bounced back. dun mind can u hold on awhile n get bk soonest once i confirm w e hotel. thanks.

starsmirror

Can anyone forward me the email address of any wedding planner in Intercontinental? My email [email protected]

I have a few questions to ask them and prefer to drop them an email instead.

Also, can i ask what are the perks given on the Wedding Show.

Cheers!!

bluegrapes

Thanks kite.

However, the website only mention about lunch reception (high tea) and lunch buffet. Do they offer chinese 8 course lunch? Cos I saw from somewhere that it cost $650 per table but couldn't get further details. Oh yah..what is the email address of the wedding planner?