Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

loveangel

princess momo: I feel that your FH & you have to be very firm in your decision making. If you're prepared to make a $3K loss, let it be known. It's not necessary that restaurants will serve great food...and you'll encounter other problems like pillars, low ceilings, no free hotel stay, corkage charge etc.

Brightstar: I think i'll stick with Cherine. Don't want the additional headache of requesting for a change.

I have not collected or chosen my invitation cards yet. The other time i called up, Cherine said i have to give her my confirmed number of tables first. I intend to print inserts for my cards. My cards should be ready by end of May cos i intend to mail them out in June. What is the correct procedure to go about it?

dduchess

very potential hpiv bride to be here! am served by krystal.

so far, we are quite pleased with hipv and jrystal. am going for a site visit at legends before confirming with hipv.

if nothing else fails, i think we are sticking to hipv.

princess_momo

Hi Pris,

Went to HIPV and Club Chinos yesterday. Had discuss with my bf again, he prefers HIPV. He told me not to worry, will speak to his mum again.

As for my dad, he told me it's ok as long as we can afford it. Today my bf coming for dinner, hopefully, my bf will officially announce our plan.

Hi Duchess,

When is your AD?

apple79

Hi Princess Momo, the price difference between HIPV and Club Chinos should not be that great isn't it? And if the price difference is not that much and people will normally give more for hotel banquet, it really makes not much difference in terms of money.

dduchess

momo,

mine is on weekday 7 may.

you?

moi boyfriend was worried about incurring the loss initially, but i simply die for the chandlier and the palace lookalike ballroom.

after mentioning to his parents and viewing the ballroom, he just had to give in. of course, he doesn't want a sulky bride nor create upsetness among us over the wedding.

the reason for contemplating taking up with the legends is the same reason as apple79 had mentioned. the price about the same, and for fear people might think legends isn't the amount that we paid for, and losses incurred will be high.

princess_momo

Hi apple, duchess,

that's true, i think Chinos (orchard parade hotel) cheaper by around $50buck for weekend. But only 8 course...Went to take a look because of the tunglok ....something like hotel + restaurant kind of combo meal...parents happy, we also happy. Yesterday the Orchard parade ballroom no set up, my bf don't really like it. So we stick back to HIPV......if we sign up on wedding show, the weekend price will be cheaper than Chinos some more 9 course!

My wedding is in month of Dec 08. Still long way to go go go....! No AD yet, waiting for my dad to surf more internet and my bf mum to pray for a date. But we decide to go for 20 Dec first when booking.

brightstar

Hi Soeur, as for the food....so far no complaint from my guests and not even my mom who is picky abt food and her cooking std quite high.... here is the pictures i took during my food tasting

hi princess momo, wow he kana promoted ah..haha..hope he dont resign so fast....think hotels staff turn over rate very high...remember what ever they agree or change the contract...THEY MUST COUNTER SIGN!!! to protect yourselves.

brightstar

hi so sorry for replying so late cos have been really busy and down lately...anyway, got to move on and help u all in any way i can as i have promised...esp to viv and some of u who i have kept in touch thru emails...hehehe....

princess momo, actually for ang pow, u have to discuss with ur parents and inlaws.

just share with u mine, for my tables, i keep..for wife's relatives she keeps....in the end, we combine to pay off for the wedding dinner...got ait extra la..so used to pay for gowns and such...

hi pris, for wedding inserts....the sequnce is like that
1. collect wedding cards from HIPV with envelopes
2. get the insert template from ur coordinator via email or hard copy also can
3. find your own printer to print the inserts
(for example, if u are printing 150, print another 20 more...cos my grnadpa wrote 5 wrongly...some guests may request for more cards n so on....anyway it is just in case.)

4. once collected the inserts, tie them to the wedding card....i used gold strings..quite nice....

5. my grandpa wants to write the names cos only he knows the right order....so i let him write

6. fix a day with ur relatives and a driver to deliver all the cards in one day...may take about 4 hours depending on how many lor...normally seniors would wan us to deliever personally...

u can read abt my experience of delievering the wedding cards

vivbl

hi brightstar,

thanks for remembering me though i have not been active in this thread for quite some times!

how are you? sad to hear that u are down. any unhappiness can "talk" to me in emails. i can be your "listening ear".

i have happy news to tell you. we had a change in property agent last week as not happy with the previous one. my hubby just sold his house on thurs and today, we got a very good deal on the house which we like! we are really very lucky. our new agent only advertise once on paper last sat and my hubby's house have buyer liao. as for the house we going to buy, it's the 1st house we viewed after change of agent and both of us like it. managed to get at valuation price with free furnitures, antique clock, tv and sound system, etc cos previous owner are rich. my hubby so happy as he collects antique clocks. he aimed the boss system (around 5 to 6K) long ago but too expensive so he can't bear to buy it. now can get for free! =)

vivbl

hi jane, lingandyang and paulinea,

though i was very down last week, it's over and i have got over it. life has to move on and i will jia you. i have happy news to tell you u gals.

i had a change in property agent last week as not happy with the previous one. my hubby just sold his house at valuation +5K on thurs and today, we got a very good deal on the house which we like! we are really very lucky. our new agent only advertise once on paper last sat and my hubby's house have buyer liao. as for the house we going to buy, it's the 1st house we viewed after change of agent and both of us like it. managed to get at valuation price with free furnitures, antique clock, tv and sound system, etc cos previous owner are rich. my hubby so happy as he collects antique clocks. he aimed the boss system (around 5 to 6K) long ago but too expensive so he can't bear to buy it. now can get for free! =)

princess_momo

Brightstar,

Thanks for sharing your wedding blogs with us. It really helps! But still at exploring stage....
Hopes Derrick can last till next year end, keeping my fingers cross. Good night!

brightstar

wow viv, sounds like u have really got uself a good deal...beside thanks for ur offer to be my listening ear....

u take care too and hope to see u more often in forum...

hi princess momo, u r welcome...good night
let me know what other info or help u need ok?

tinkybell

do any1 of u have the 2008 package to share with me??

pls email to me at [email protected]

we have opted to l00k at other hotels as the package offered to us by another hotel was not too attractive..

thanks in advance & cheers...

tinkybell

hahaha.....

so sorry to give u all a shock....

i was using msn jus nw so was using "zero" to replace all the "O" words....

by the way, jus get hold of the 2008 package... the package look quite attractive...

can the brides here share wif me the plus of having it at HIPV?

i had viewed NCQ last sat and was abt to pay the deposit but the perks n all is holding me back...

so need to make the decision soon...

pls advise.... need to hear from u...

cheers.........

tinkybell

sorry.. it is me again...

one of thing ladies... can any1 who have the pic of crystal ballrm share the pic with me?? [email protected]

btw, read in the other PV tread that the service and food is so so only... what are your comments & view?? especialli for those that have hold their wedding there...

any1 gg for HIPV wedding show next wkend??

cutecat

babystarlet, i received their confirmation through email..and they had already deducted the registration fees from my credit card.
They told me to just turn up that day that's all and they will issue me a receipt.

you going?

princess_momo

Hi Tinkybell,

Recently, I had went to NCQ, grand plaza (coleman street), club chinos (orchard parade hotel), orchard hotel to view the ballrooms and look at their perks...

Actually, me and my bf had wanted to hold our wedding at HIPV even before we visited the other hotels (mentioned above)...but we just want reconfirm that we had made the right decision...

So far, our choice is still HIPV. The main reason is that it's within our budget (if we signed up on wedding show) and the dishes seems better as compared to other hotels offered...However, we had not attend any dinner in HIPV before, thus we can only get feedback from forumers like Brightstar's blog (very useful guide)

However, got to depends on how you and your FH thinks ultimately and what is your priority that you looking for in wedding banquet. :D

dduchess

xchey... so malu!

*haha*

ncq rooms are much nicer, but prefer hipv.

perks wise, quite standardise now, not much difference from the package.

tinkybell

Hi Princess & Duchess,

thanks for replying...

in fact, i have gone down to see Orchard Parade Hotel & Novotel Clarke Quay... OPH was out of the list once we look at it.. still pending on Novotel Clarke Quay, like the place alot (the ballrm, reception area n others all look wonderful... wonderful the perks were rather standard, we din even manage to bargain for a day room for our helpers... sigh...

hence, we are look at other alternatives...

Princess, u have looked at Grand Plaza, can share with me what are your findings?? n if u have their package, can u forward to me?? [email protected]

another pt i would like to clarify and hope u girls can give some feedback... i was told by a fren that the ballrm look extremely wonderful, however there was no reception area outside the ballrm for guests to hang around before the banquet... is that true??

appreciate all ur feedback ladies... xie xie

isaac

Hi Tinkybell,

Have been browsing thru a few threads to look for a suitable venue. In fact this is my first post just to share my experiences. Like you and Princess MoMo, we have similar options. I have been to HIPV, NCQ, HR and OPH. HIPV has a very attractive package esp for wedding show and an approachable coordinator in Krystal, but I struck out HIPV primarily due to building outlook and slightly old interior.

The crystal ballroom is very grand. But guess i prefer something more contemporary, less royal looking. The recept area is small as there is a giant staircase landing right in the front of the ballroom leading downwards i think to lobby... I just feel the whole place outside of the ballroom a bit too old for my liking. The ceiling was also very low at certain lift lobby areas. So guess it did not make my cut. Still considering NCQ, almost went down to BOWS to pay deposit. But having a bit of reservation as we find the coordinator a little too cold, wondering if we really can work with. Perks are reasonable. But almost everything we asked for was met with a No No No.. .. found the bridal suite so-so only. The jacuzzi was not as hoo-hah as what we have imagined...

Just curious, what are your final few choices for banquet?

tinkybell

Hi Isaac,

I will be mtg Krystal this sun as mentioned in my earlier post, however, based on ur description, i tink i should nt placed too muc hope..

was told by a fren that the reception area was small and not very presentable... however, decided to stick to my plan of gg down to check out the place before proceeding further...

i have since narrow my list down to NCQ n HIPV for now. Have eliminated OPH, MH & MC. still considering Grand Plaza Park Royal, however have other reservations too....

similar to what your concerns are, i also felt the coordinators at NCQ abit cold n in a way, i feel that they abit bo chap n dun mind nt doing my business, although the catering mgr did ring up n ask me to go thr contract, sign n make payment.

as for the perks at NCQ, we also face with the same "no no" for everything we requested, and this is kinda pissing me off... kinda too business minded in a way, everything also extra charge here, extra charge there.... FYI, i onli requested for an extra day room for my helpers..

based on my simple calculation, the corkage on wine would cost quite abit if i opted for the freeflow beer...

headache nw..

care to share your findings so far?? can email me at [email protected]

cutecat

babystarlet, in that case maybe you can call them up to ask about the status of ur registration. for myself i probably print out that email to bring along just in case.

skywu

i hv saw the crystal ballroom last week, and the only thing tat i dun like is the 3 big pillar, it will be blocking quite a no. of tables. But then i will still be going down to meet krystal this fri to learn more abt the packages. Then will decide if i will take up Club Chinos or HPIV.

Initially aso considering NCQ, but then they said tat the min is 28 tables, if 25 tables they dun accept, so no choice hv to delete away them from my list. Moreover their service aso not as nice, coz i wan to bk for an appt to go down, they say they will call me n get back to me the time and date, but then no one call since then.... haizz

FYI, my AD is at Dec 08, nw bk very kiasu hon... haaa. but then heard from CC, some couples hv alreadi bk for Sep 08.

loveangel

d-duchess: I agree with you about the Crystal Ballroom...the chandeliers & grand interior really blew me away. My FH just loves the high ceiling.

sky: They will not open up the function rooms if your tables can fit inside the ballroom. That way, you won't have any pillars blocking.

viv&bl: I called up Cherine & confirmed 31+2 tables with her. Then she told me to collect my cards from TDragon. She also told me that Vasanthi will be my coordinator. Quite happy with the change. Tomorrow i'll be going down to the printer to check out the cards & decide on the insert.

princess_momo

Hey Ladies,

I also prefer NCQ's grand ballroom compared to HIPV cause it's really "GRAND"...but I didn't meet up with the minimum no of tables. So it's too bad. The cinnamon room seems not bad thou..

To be honest, we went NQC without any appointment so I can understand that the banquet sales staff already went home. We waited at the lobby for quite sometime to be direct to their ballroom..but there's no one at the lobby reception and no one seems to take note of us while we are standing at the recept....so we self service lah, we up to the ballroom ourselves..A lady was doing the set up, she seems quite busy, so we only exchange a few words..

Also extremely tempted by their package at BOWS but too bad their package is only up till June 08 while mine is Dec 08....their weekday package very tempting..

Whereas HIPV, we went there without any appointment as well...but it happens that there's a wedding set up. One of the staffs doing the set up saw us at the entrance, without us calling out, he came to us and attend to our queries..

But to be fair, I think it got to depend on how you feel when you first view the ballroom. Of course, I also cannot determine the service of both hotels based on my encounter with them, it have to depends on the scenario as well..but our mind are set for HIPV...

Till now, havent meet up with any coordinators yet, but I did call Krystal for some queries. She seems not bad, so shall see what can we nego for...

vivbl

hi pris,

so glad for u that vasanti will be your coordinator. she is highly recommended by brightstar so i guess she must is good.

tinkybell

Princess,

Dec2008 package is available for booking, however the perks nt as good lah......

i m gg down to HIPV tml, shall keep u update of my feelings of their ballrm..

As for NCQ, muz admit their ballrm reali impressive, was attracted to it when i went there for my company annual DnD in end march recently.

as usually, the onli reservation nw is to sign up with NCQ at their standard package, with no extra perks n the no compromising coordinators.

sian......

princess_momo

Tinkybell,

so if you manage to nego for any extra perks, don't mind sharing?
But be prepared, cause crystal is not as impressive as the phoenix ballroom.

tinkybell

Hi Princess Momo,

jus came back from HIPV, taken a look at the bridal suite and Crystal ballrm with full table setting (wedding there this evening)

sad to say, i din managed to bargain for extra perks... but Krystal quite frenli and attentive to our questions....

but overall, i find the ballrm abit weird, cos the ceiling is of uneven height (front portion high ceiling & low ceiling at extended area), there is also 3 pillars that will blocked 3 tables from the stage....

that is my comments...

princess_momo

Ooh Tinkybell,

haiz...sian.., tot maybe can bargain for something extra..... but the package as compared to the other hotels are quite comprehensive right?

Yeap, actually this is the problem with the crystal ballroom. If I put friends or relatives at the lower ceiling, they might think that they are neglected...you get what I mean?