Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

loveangel

brightstar: thanks...i think i shall be KS & call HIPV up next week. How did you find vasanthi?

Fifi: I think that's great...bright colours always turn out fantastic in photos!

loveangel

brightstar: thanks for your recommendation of her. Hopefully she is the one handling my wedding.

lilac_1711

Thanks bubblepearl =) Appreciate your help. Understand you are going to do ROM cum AD on the same day? I am thinking of holding the wedding ceremony (Holy Matrimony)first in the hotel then followed by the dinner. Any suggestions?

Too bad, HIPV's function room can only fit max 30 pax =( Was thinking if Orchid room is available that day, will there be additional costs incurred if i were to use that ballroom to hold the wedding service.

bubblepearl

lilacs: her number is 9298 0017. Oh..30 pax is eluff for me..if she can be kind eluff to allocate that room for me use..it will be best! keke.

Sorry for the delay..it really slip out of my mind...i am so sorry..:p

lilac_1711

Thanx again bubblepearl.. i am sure if its available she will allow you to use it. She offered it to me, however the room is too small.

All the best for your wedding plans.

bubblepearl

lilac...yahoo!! she allow me to use leh..keke..she sounds friendly leh..when is ur wedding? How come too small for u? about 30 paxs rite? Now..i need to psycho my BS to allow me to rent the ROM gown for solomanisation event..keke

lilac_1711

bubblepearl: Congratulations~ =) My Wedding's going to be on the 4th of November. I just went down to HIPV y'day evening to put in the deposit. Hee hee hee..

The function room is too small for me as i am expecting about 200-250 guests for the wedding ceremony, followed by the dinner after that.

lilac_1711

bubblepearl: yeah...looks like i have to. I asked Adeline once before if i can also book the orchid room if its not in use.. she say the cost of the room and set up already costs 600+. Like not worth it hor? Which BS did you sign up with.. hahah side-track.

bubblepearl

Hi Lilac, huh...how come u are getting 200-250 people to move for ur solomaisation? $600 for 30-40mins ah...not worth lah! the money can be more well spend on ur honeymoon or pre-wedding "maintenance" leh..Why dun u do it just after ur 1st march in? Save the problem to move ur guests ard? When is ur wedding ah? Or u try to get in ur own florist to deco the place leh? Will it be more cheaper? My BS is French Bridal, will be gog to my 1st fitting on 8th April..so excited leh!

Hi Valerie, welcome welcome...when is ur wedding? HIPV have a wedding show coming up...maybe u can go see see the setup? I dunno when ..i heard from some HIPV BTB..:p

beachgirlz

hi bubblepearl

i don have date yet cos i wondering to hold rom together o not. juz now i called HIPV to enquire. they say can hold the rom half hr or 1 hr b4 the dinner. which is wad i like. lilac can consider this idea.. it'll be more spacious n the deco is already there (veri nice too) and its FOC.

the lady told me HIPV is launching new package with new price in the show.. so i duno if i shd book b4 the show to keep the price now leh..

brightstar

hi lilac - wow..so ur wedding is same as mine la...solemnisation before wedding dinner...my friends said they really enjoyed such arrangement compared to other wedding

Hi Valerie, when is the date? chop the date in hotel first lor..then sign up on the road show :p

bubblepearl

Valeria, u can chop the date 1st...did chk with the hotel if ur date are avalible..? Best to check lor..dun later then realise no more ballroom or function room avalible for u. Btw who is the lady that u tok to? Normally the show will have better perks and discount too..just have a chat w her and try to ask her what is the differences lah..better perks or increase prices? :p Enjoy!

Brightstar, my bf dun want to have solominisation before dinner leh..he say v paiseh..haha..

beachgirlz

hi brightstar/bubblepearl

they say the date i asked is still available. i duno to book now or during the show cos they say new package launching.. prices higher.. they cant reveal until the show. aiyo why like tat.. then i now duno wad to do.

ya i shall go down see the place and see if she can tell me which is better la.. then i can make decision ma..

bubblepearl.. u do the solemnization half hr or 1 hr b4 dinner lor. i'm tinking of doing tat. wont be so pai seh n no extra costs.

lilac_1711

Hey Bubblepearl, i am going to hold a church wedding, but in the hotel. That's why i am expecting so many ppl. That way, my guests don't have to travel 2 places - the church then the hotel. Also, by doing the wedding service in the hotel, i may be able to start the dinner earlier thereafter. Wah. you going first fitting alredy ah? hehehe so nice.. mine still haven't lei. My FH is on reservist. I booked my Bridal Package with Everbliss. - kinda regret. HAHA

Brightstar: You did your solemnisation and all before the wedding dinner too? What time did you start the event? I was planning to start earlier, maybe about 4pm. Maybe you could give me a little bit of advise. Hee =D After the solemnisation, did you march-in again? Or dinner was served right after the solemnisation. Need your expertise (",)

Valerie: Hi, when are you planning to hold your wedding? I spoke to Adeline once and she told me that the price will increase by SGD30 sometime soon. not sure if that is the new package price =)

bubblepearl

Aiyo...think my msg got MIA..ARGH...got to retype again.

Valerie: I think u better chk with them what is the new package? Anyway i dun think new package worth it if the price increase...at most they will increase more themes choices, extra one nitez stay? Bo hua leh...oh ya, better u go and chk out the ballroom or function room, incase u dun like ...cos the ballroom layout is madeup of one ballroom and 2 small function room at the side.
. Oh my bf dun like to hold the solomanisation infront of soooo many pple so we decide to do it abt 30-40mins before dinner so that i have time to change to my WG for 1st march in..cos i dun want wear WG for march-in leh...dunno if my BS can allow me to choose another EG..keke...want mei mei mah..haha!

Lilacs: Fast meh..i also regret about my BS, heard they are getting bad to worse
. U mean ur church wedding is going to be hold in the hotel? hmm..if abt 4pm...then what is ur guests gog to do between the period of ur solomanisation and dinner?

Hope this posting can get thru....or i am gog to faint....

beachgirlz

bubblepearl/lilac:

the girl say cannot reveal price la. she only said estimated $50 increase. wa if i have 30 tables then its extra 1.5k le leh. a lot of difference!

i plan to hold next yr may ba. haven confirm yet cos i got rom part to tink abt. if the ballroom looks as nice as the pics then i shd be holding rom there then will be easier to fix a date.

huh the ballroom is made up of 2 extra function rooms ar.. okok i shall go see.

bubble why u don wan wear WG march in? i tink the purpose is to let those ppl who didn get to see u in the daytime to see.. and tat is supposed to be the nicest gown of all gowns not ma?

by the way hor i saw their package in the featured section of this forum leh.. the table price for wkdays is 668nett. duno why they keep insisting its 718 nett. say the site is wrong. but this is a wedding forum.. how can they post wrong prices here when ppl are looking at it for info? the package i downloaded from there still state: valid for weddings held by 31dec 07. so 08 prices if increase also will be 718 only. wonder why they so messy on the pricing part.

anyone faces this problem too?

bubblepearl

Valeria, aiyo..me super sotong..I mean i dun want to wear WG for solomanisation..keke.
Best is u go see the ballroom, it is a long ballroom(high ceiling) + 2 function rooms (low ceiling) make up the crystal ballroom. As for the price issues..why dun u meet up the coordinator and ask her? Well, i book my dinner last yr April and my wedding date is end of this yr...so i guess if the contract states the date of wedding, they have to go along with it.

beachgirlz

hi bubble

can i noe how much is ur per table? ya i'm gg to view the place this wkend hehe. am sooo excited.

have u seen the suite ar? nice or not? who is ur coordinator?

bubblepearl

Valerie, my table is based on last yr price leh...cos i "lock" the price earlier lor..:p I seen the suite before liao..hmm..a bit small lor..cos i seen bigger one before..haha...my coordinator left liao..and my case is taken over by Adeline..but on the phone she sound accomadating leh..

Keep us update how u think abt the ballroom okie? Enjoy!

loveangel

brighstar: I called up and they have assigned Sherene/Cherine (spelling?) to me. Anyone here having the same coordinator? Do you think it's very mean if i request for Vasanthi instead?

She told me it's still early...in fact, i'll need to tell her my confirmed number of tables next month before she'll pass me my invites. She also said that food tasting is 1 month before my AD. Is that the correct order or way?

Valerie: If you don't have that many tables, they will not open up the 2 function rooms at the side of the ballroom. People sitting there will have their views blocked cos of the pillars.

beachgirlz

hi bubblepearl

so wad is the price leh? can tell? hehe. how's the view of the suite har? they told me their suites are renovating leh.. duno is gd or bad. ok will let u all noe how's the ballroom

hi pris

oh tats great.. mine abt 25-30 only, hopefully they don't need to open up then it will be cozy!
is sherine nice? or vasanthi better?

brightstar

Hi lilac, my time line is

first march in
solemnisation
go back to seats
first video (baby and childhood photos)
then 1st dish
after 2nd dish we go up and change
after 5th dish (abt 9.30pm) second march in
cake cutting
champagne pouring
wedding speech
2nd video (teens to courtship)
table to table toasting
send off guests

now im getting busy with work..if u really need to contact, tag m at my blog romance-fire.com la and i will share with u what i know :p

hi pris, i have not heard of these 2 ladies at all..u can try asking...actually we also not sure how long these coordiantors will last as turnover rate very high for hotels

blessedger

hello, does anybody knows how is the food at HIPV? We are interested in HIPV but have heard negative comments on the food...any ex-brides that can share your comments?? Thanks!

lilac_1711

Good morning!
Valarie: Hi, i asked Adeline if i could see the bridal suite. She showed me something somewhat similar to the suite because the Bridal suite was occupied at that time. The suite seems small, but nice. I liked it. i am sure once its decorated and done up nicely.. it'll look great.

Brightstar: Thanks for sharing with me.. =) appreciate that. Will visit your blog if i have more queries on the wedding schedules.

Pris: My food tasting also 1 month before the AD. i also feel its abit too late lei.
usually the food tasting is a time for the parents to meet up and discuss ma.. hor?

Bubblepearl: If the event starts at about 4, it will end about 5+. Then i guess will have some photo-taking sessions.. then proceed on with cocktail. Dinner will start by 6.30pm (i hope). The plan is something like this la.. not finalised yet.

Hi JK: So far, i haven't heard any bad reviews on HIPV's food lei. My friends who has attending weddings there before said that the food there was good. Not outstanding..but comparatively good. No worries.. =)

beachgirlz

hi lilac

ya the suite is small. but if concern is not of the suite but the ballroom and pricing, then its ok.

bubblepearl/lilac

i viewed the ballroom and suite le. ballroom is v nice, the deco and such. but mine have to have the 2 small rooms opened up thus the pillars will block the view. such a pity! am quite sad now. i thot this will be the hotel le.. now re-considering again cos of the pillars.. duno who to assign to sit there if i choose this hotel. alamak.

brightstar

hi jk, actually foodwise acceptable la if we have budget constraint

hi lilac, u r welcome! :p

hi valerie, for pillars...just make sure the spare tables r behind the pillar...that is what i did...no complaint from guests

bubblepearl

Valeria, mine also 2 function rooms need to be open, cos if not open the area will not look grand liao..i think shld ok lah..they will put even even one..i also same number range w u...dun worried lah..for me i want a place that is convenience yet not too ex...:p, I am just hard to be please, that is what my bf say to me!

I will likely placed some friends or colleagues ard there. Relatives cannot placed there...will get kena scolded one!

bubblepearl

Oh.. my cousin wedding was hold at HIA, the foyer or the reception is more exclusive as it is in the long long corridoor but that place more ulu...my 2cents tots :p

beachgirlz

ohhhh can u tell me if the theme is the same? the ballroom got chandeliers?? did u take any pic at ur cousin's wedding? can show me?? tks!

vivbl

hi pris,

did u manage to have a change in coordinator to Vasanthi? seems that according to brightstar, Vasanthi is a nice lady.

my coordinator is same as you. she's Cherine. so far, i had meet up with her only twice. 1st time was to find out more about the wedding package in HIPV. 2nd time was to confirm on the wedding package. 3rd time was to pay the deposit but i was sick so my hubby went alone. so i can't really comment on her service yet.

vivbl

i agreed with brightstar. for such an attractive wedding package from HIPV, i don't expect much from their food. should be ok for me as long as it's presentable and don't taste bad. the ambience and reasonable price (less than 800 per table) are more important to me as we had budget constraint.

josephron05

I have just bought her world bride and saw that HIPV will be having a wedding show on 21 April 07(SAT) 2pm to 6pm.$20 per couple.

bubblepearl

Valerie, no leh i nvr take pix leh..but hor..i find the stage a bit weird leh..if i am not wrong...think the stage is in the middle leh

beachgirlz

bubblepearl.. why the stage in the middle is weird leh? ur cousin got load pics online or can send me a few of the deco? ask her can? thanks v much!