Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

beachgirlz

i went see le ar.. the stage in the middle is not weird ar.. wonder why u say its weird

bubblepearl

:p...paiseh..lah..i dunno leh..that day i see like weird werid leh..anyway..i dun really like the location but the reception is really exculsive lor..

vivbl

hi brightstar,

i just bought her world brides magazine today. got info about HIPV leh. there's $1000 off wedding package. too bad, i already sign up in jan. the details are as follow:

Wedding Show
Venue: Crystal Ballroom (Level 2)
Date: 21 April 2007 (Saturday)
Time: 2.00pm to 6.00pm
Fee: $20.00 per couple (Includes Hi Tea Buffet and goodies bag)

bubblepearl

Valerie: huh??? I mean Hoilday Inn Atrium at Kim Seng Road is weird weird...it was my cousin who held her wedding there..HAHA...did we got some misunderstanding here? I mean it was Hoilday Inn Atrium which i "think" it was in the middle of the stage..I was choosing between HIPV and Novatel that time..so my bf prefer HIPV as he want a more convient area for our guests when they attend our wedding

loveangel

lilacs: Ya, i also agree that the food-tasting seems a bit late. Don't know if i can bring it forward anot. Feel like having it about 1.5 months before instead. Perhaps i'll have it in early June since my AD is 29 July.

brightstar

Hi viv, thanks alot!!! i will post it up on my blog

hi pris, my recommendation is u can stick on with cherine..thou i dont know her...but u can do ur homework such as know what free perks others r getting....

then u build rapport with her..try to clique with her and requests more and see if she can give u..

i got a feeling hotel allocate people to their hotel staff...so they have to split the jobs

_piggy_

I've just had my wedding held there over the weekend and the place is fabulous all with the exception of the lack of parking lots.

As there was another couple who held their wedding at the other ballroom by the time my guests arrived only a fraction of them managed to get a parking lot, the rest had to park at Cuppage i had more than 3/4 of the complimentary parking coupons left.

_piggy_

Krystal is quite accomodating and friendly.
She keeps quite a good tab on the on-goings for the wedding arrangement.

Yes you would have to pay for the printing but not the cards itself as they are complimentary from the hotel.

babyfifi

Will those of us that have already booked be invited to the wedding show (complimentary)? It would be nice to see the themes they have.

I wonder whether there is another banquet on the same day as mine. Must tell my guests to come early.

apple79

Hi FiFi,

I think you can call up your coordinator to request to go. I went last yr and gotten a $1K discount coupon thing.

brightstar

hi apple, collection of cards, no need to pay...but payment needed for printing of card inserts

hi fifi, actually we wont know...cos from now till ur date, the hotel can stil take in business

princess_momo

Yesterday went to the Bliss Bridal Show at Bugis....ooh! the ppl there are so aggressive!
Got one bridal shop stopped us and we sat down listening for almost 1/2 hr before they review their price...

But the good thing is HIPV also join that show..., so I manage to know their rates in 2008....and what is their offer..

So just want to share with you:-
July 07 - Dec 07 Wedding Package:
Weekdays: $718nett
Weekends: $768nett

Jan 08 - Dec 08 Wedding Package:
Weekdays: $738nett
Weekends: $788nett (very ex hor?)

But on bridal perks, here's the difference between 07 and 08 packages:-

For 08 Package:-
- Free flow of beer regardless weekdays or weekends
- Waiver of corkage charges for 1 bottle per confirmed table, subsequent bottle at $10.00nett per bottle
- Increase of 20% invitation cards and inclusive of standard printing service. (80% confirmed attendance)
- Increase of 10% carpark coupons (30% of confirmed attendance)

However, we are given two options to chose from for 08 package:-
Option 1:
- Complimentary food tasting up to 10 person
- 1 day-use room for coordinators
Option 2:
- Complimentary one table on actual day.

So if we sign up on the wedding show still got $1000 off.....I think the package is quite comprehensive. So if option 2 is chosen, the savings will be $1788nett (08 weekend)! But my concern is food tasting...had tried to nego for food tasting heehee...but rejected..seems that HIPV are more firm this time. I will be going for the bridal show on April to try my luck again. From "DIE HARD FAN OF HIPV"

princess_momo

By the way, I need your help here....we are planning to have AD in Dec 08, so if we booked during the wedding show, will it be too kiasu?

But we scared that if we wait for next year 09 wedding show, all Dec 08 weekend dates are all taken...since yearend is the hot period for getting married.

Any comments?

drizzlestars

Hi Princess MoMo,

Just book it, I book mine during last year wedding show and my AD is Dec07 so as compare to this year package I do save quite alot.

babystarlet

hi Soeur,i'm having krystal as my coordinator.
sad to say,personally dun find her so accomodating leh.so far,e liasing with her,i find her a bit rigid.

brightstar

hi princess mom, just to make sure i get u right..u mean u have to pay for food tatsting?

for booking, i recommend just book lor..agree totally with drizzlestars....cos then u can move on and plan other things...one less thing on the mind....

hi baystarlet, dont be dismayed....continue to build rapport with her and ask her few times more...normally as the date draws nearer....i hope they can really give way....if cant..at least we tried till the end :p

princess_momo

Hi Brightstar, Drizzlestars,

Thanks for your advise, I will discuss with my bf and see how....but we will need to pay for deposit first upon booking right? Anyone actually hold the deposit payment until maybe around mid May?

Yep, food tasting we need to pay if we chose option 2. Derrick told us that if we are to have food tasting, we will need to pay for the full price. If not, maybe they can arrange around 6 dishes and pay around $400+..

Seriously, $788nett is really ex leh! I think we better talk to the coordinators instead of asking Derrick.

By the way, the red wines are at $18.00 per bottle, so do they still charge corkage for their inhouse wine?

I will also try my luck for:-
1) One more night stay in Bridal Suite (not going for honeymoon)
2) Free bottles of red wine per table or waiver of all inhouse wine corkage charges evil....heehee! just try my luck)

Tomorrow, we are going to Novotel with my friends to view the ballroom for their weddings. So see how they going to nego with them....gain experience also.

jesdreamz

hi princess momo, think u can go ahead n booked during their wedding show coz as what drizzles says, i oso booked mine at their wedding show last yr & my AD is Nov 07... But i had to pay the deposit of $2.5k directly on the day of the wedding show itself. I tried to ask if we can pay lesser or later but was rejected. Reason being was we must confirmed & pay deposit on that day in order to qualify for the $1000 discount.

princess_momo

Dear Jesdreamz,

Thanks for the advise. In this case, we will have to prepare the money. By the way, is it possible to pay the deposit first but advise them the AD date later maybe in around one - two weeks time?

Cause if we sign up with HIPV, then we need to arrange to discuss formally with both side parents on which AD date in Dec 08 to hold wedding.

cutecat

We went to the outdoorwedding show last weekend and we spoke to the staff there. they told us there will be a wedding show end of this month.

Are you gals going? I'm thinking of going but we have to register right? How do we go about doing it? thanks

drizzlestars

For those who booked your AD during last year wedding show? Will our dishes be changed to this menu instead? Had do some comparison there are few changes to the menu? BTW, anyway ask for free LCD projector? since in our package this was not included?

babystarlet

drizzlestars,i also wonder if our menu will be changed to this new menu instead.
seems like this yr menu much better.
but my hubby says bec this yr more ex ma,hee

i personally find krystal not friendly enough,maybe bec she's too busy.

brightstar

hi princess momo, think derrick is the director...at this moment.cos last yr dec the actual director resigned...and he took over,,,,u can read here to prepare ur ammo befor going for another round of negotitation

so not sure if he is the acting one or being promoted....

soeur

Btw i have met Krystal so far still not sure if im able to neg for more...but the latest thing i have heard abt them is that their food sucks!

is that true?
any brides who had held thr can share your experience?

soeur

Hi brightstar,

since u had your wedding there, i'm really concern abt the food standard as i am very into HIPV so far...but heard from some parties that the food is not even up to standard..some even say it sucks le..so sad to hear this...any feeback that you can offer?

would appreicate it..

princess_momo

Dear Brightstar,

Hey thanks for sharing with me, after checking the name card. Yep, Derrick is the director now. Seems that he's the power house.....

I had contacted Krystal whether it's possible to give us some grace period on deposit. She told me that she will bring up to the management, guess Derrick is the management now. She told me that she will try, however might be difficult cause have to be fair to others too...... well, I understand her problem. Keep you posted on my nego...:D

Hi cutecat,

You can email to HIPV (sorry, don't have the email with me now) for the registration form or the form can be found on the latest "her bride" mag.

bubblepearl

princess momo,
Best will be u have ur dates ready when you are down there..I am having my AD Dec 2007 but i book during April 2006. But i have my date..or else others will book my date liao. Dun forgot there is only one ballroom in HIPV, unless you dun mind taking function room. So, my advise for you is, better go down w dates ready

princess_momo

Yep, yesterday my bf told me that his mum don't really know how to chose dates. So I told him about Master Ong who viv&bl had recommended. But my bf says that his mum wont be happy as she thinks that it's best that my dad can help us chose. So I asked my dad whether the 08 tong shu is out, he told me not yet. Then he told me that he will go websites(my dad's new hobby, surfing Internet) to look for dates.....

Today, I asked him to see how's his process, he told me no year 08 dates out yet...I told him that we wish to look for banquet venues and also about the HIPV...he told me, aiyo where got so early book one, wait the hotel close down how? haha!! :D Haiz...my dad's so funny, wanted to laugh also cannot cause his face is so serious and scare we ganna con...

Today ask Krystal whether allow to extend offer to us after the wedding show. She says ok, but one week only and also need to pay deposit $1000 on the wedding day show. I think it's fair loh but hopefully by then I don't need the extension...haiz..dont know by then my daddy's "website" will have year 08 dates a not.

Any suggestion? Or do you think me and my bf can settle "quietly" on dates? Or any website to look for dates so that I can recommend my dad?

jesdreamz

hi princess_momo, actually i also didnt had my confirmed dates yet when i signed up at their wedding show last yr coz 07 tongshu nt out yet then.. But i do know i want my AD to be in one of the weekends in Nov 07..So i just tentatively booked a weekend date for Nov 07. Then i got one friend (who is also a geomancer) to manually calculate the dates for me n after getting the dates, we called up HIPV to change to our confirmed dates. But this can only be done provided the dates u want is still available..:)

vivbl

hi princess momo,

your dad is very funny indeed! hehe. sound like my friend's hubby's mum. also said why paid deposit so early and not scare the restaurant closed down meh? they also didn't seek for any fengshui master and just look at tong shu for 2007.

me not sure where can look for dates in website. but for my friend's case, they choose a date from tong shu. end up, they use another date but is only few days difference. their restaurant got a list of auspicious dates so they just choose from there. maybe u can check if HIPV has any list of auspicious dates where u can decide from there?

cutecat

so excited..going for their wedding show =) Hopefully be able to see how their Orchid room look like in real life to have the feel..

princess_momo

Hi Jesdreamz,

I guess you are right, I should tentatively book a date first in Dec 08 weekend...and inform them later. Maybe 20 or 28 Dec.....But will discuss with bf later Thanks!

Hi viv&bl,

Ooh, I had called Krystal that day, HIPV have a list of auspicious dates for next year. I had asked for a list of auspicious dates for 08 Oct, Nov and Dec. But not much dates to chose from. So that's y ask bf's mum and my dad to come up with theirs. But I think we will just come up with something ourselves first on that wedding show...heehee....just in case.

Hey Cutecat,

The orchid ballroom is a nice place. Had seen from pics in brightstar's blog....reminds me of Goodwood Park Tudor Ballroom, classy and cozy..

Ladies & brightstar,
Actually, I got problems here....
When both of us told our parents that we might (most likely) hold our wedding banquet in HIPV....well they all opt for restaurants... As you know elders like good food..and they worried that we might have financial problems as well. I had done home work on some of the hotels and I found that HIPV offers the best package in terms of perks, food and budget is within our range....(9 course and red garuopa) So for anyone tried the food before?

Even my bro also told me to go for restaurants. I know that they are all concern about us, but I just felt breathless when they are not supportive. Even my bf got a second thoughts when he heard about making hugh loses in hotel.....we told ourselves excluding dad's table we cater for 3k lost..is it enough? (including wines...)

Another thing is, my dad is retired and my bro took over his business. My dad had told me before that he wanted 5 tables from my bf. I asked him enough meh, as I know my dad had quite a no of friends. I know my dad dont have any money to invite extra guests, and I also don't want my bro to put money in for extra tables as well. So if I want to pay for my dad's extra table, can I request that I keep the hangbao for the extra tables? Is it normally like that?