Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

princess_momo

Hi Dreamer,

Me also don't know when it's open for sign up, I email the hotel banquet staff (Florence) and she told me that she will email me the form once the show is open for registration. But not sure when...

I can email the form to you when I receive it.., you want? :D

Hello Everybody,

My bf and I went for their high tea buffet 2 days before Christmas, there's a wedding held there. So both of us kaypo, took a peep at the ballroom and we both fall in love with it!! We didn't make any appointment with the hotel staff though. Had read this forum ever since and gain great info from you guys! My bf told me if the offer is good we will sign up on that day..(we are the kaypos and kiasus)

We didn't even view other hotels yet...maybe should buck up and look around first...I'm worried that we miss out other hotels..
Not too sure what to ask for too...

brightstar

to princess momo - that is what i heard last yr..1K cash off for those who signed up on the wedding show...

u can go to my wedding blog to look at the photos of orchid ballroom...i love it too...very cosy and loving and romantic

brightstar

30 sing dollars more?....hmmm..squeeze them off by asking for more free corkages..this will help u save money...in my blog, i got write how i get free corkages for 40 bottles and one more helper's room.. mine is only 18 tables

vivbl

princess momo,
u are right. there will be an increase of banquet package every year from what i heard from my coordinator. i guess it's the same for other hotels. i believe my 2007 package also has an increase of 30 from 2006 package. was deciding between dec 07 or jan 08 to hold our wedding. but when my coordinator told us that there will be an increase of 30, i think is not worth to hold in jan 08 as is only one month difference. so we going to have it on dec this year.

brightstar,
i read your wedding blog. so good that u manage to get so many bottles of wine corkage waived. my fh and me not good at bargaining with our coordinator so we didn't get to bargain for more perks.

brightstar

to vivbl - actually we are not good too..just doing our best and enjoying the bargaining process as a couple....

actually if u have good rapport with your coordiantor...u can ask for more free things as the date draws nearer..there will be one date, 2 months or 1 month la....that all sit together and discuss the details on the day...this is the time u can ask the coordinator to help u get more freebies...

brightstar

to vivbl - just wondering if u have a wedding coordiantor (a good fren of urs) to oversee the wedding dinner? hehe..u can ask ur fren to help u negotiate if he/ she is the loud type..."just trying to help

vivbl

hi brightstar,

thanks! i can feel that your wedding preparation was like roller coasta experience. but glad that your wedding was a success. i think my coordinator is new so can't make much decision. hopefully we can get a bit more free perks when we have the final discussion near to our wedding date. it is also ok if can't get any.

we haven't start our wedding preparation yet. cos will be busy with my rom which is in next month. can't think of any good friend who is the loud type and may want to be our wedding coordinator either. anyway it is still 10 months away from my customary wedding. hopefully will be a smooth preparation.

brightstar

hi vivbl - yah...actually once u know when to do what and where to get what..u shld be ok la....

actually for me and my wife, we just bump here and there, hoping to get things right...like u say, everything is over and it is a success...

hurray!!!!

drop me a tag at my chatbox at my blog if u need any info...i will do my best to assist..

vivbl

hi brightstar,

i agree with what u said. initially i had no idea on how to go about for my rom and wedding. then i read through the forum which give me ideas on what i want. then i go for it and booked the rom venue, wedding banquet and bridal shop package. is like finally i have settled on them. but i didn't really go and do much comparision though. just go by s'pore bride comments and my instinct.

sure. i will drop u a tag at your chatbox if i need any info. thanks again for your kind help.

brightstar

hi vivbl,

actually eevry bride has different experience...good or bad...very hard to say and determine by many many factors....thou some places are unpleasnt for others..it may turn out to be a more suitable place for u....not to worry...

trust ur instinct lor...decided already and live with the decision we made lor....
good luck!!!

princess_momo

Hi Vivbl,

Hohoohoo!!
Hope yours and mine will be a good experience.
I dont even know where to start off, frankly speaking, bf and me don't even have a date, we only know will be next year. But both of us had already thinking of signing up with HIPV.... Haiz..someone have to wake us up.

May I know which Bridal Shop you sign up with?

Hi Brightstar,

Your bargining and nego power so goooddd...may I know who you bargin with? Maybe I can target on her on that day.

brightstar

to pricnessmomo, for mine is vasanthi...she is everything can can can as long as customer is happy and she is able to do it...

actually it really depends on the rapport u have with ur coordinator..so work closely with ur coordinator no matter who they are..

vivbl

hi princess momo,

thanks. also hope yours will be a smooth wedding preparation. it's the process every bride has to go through. yours is in next year so you will have ample time to prepare so don't worry too much.

maybe you can start off with the range of months that both u and your bf prefer to get married and go get auspicious dates from fengshui master. wedding banquet in auspicious dates are normally booked early by wedding couples (at least one year before their wedding day). also, there might only be very few auspicious dates in weekend for you to choose from. so i will suggest you to shortlist dates for your wedding day first. then check with HIPV whether these dates are still available and whether you could reserve the date before the wedding show.

i signed up with fame bridal in Yishun. guess u haven't sign up your bridal package yet as it is still early for you. my bs told us to prepare for our ps half a year before our wedding day. so most probably will be busy going to my bs around june.

princess_momo

Hey Viv&bl,

In this case, did you go for the fengshui master for your AD? Anyone to recommend? I prefer year end where there will be long holidays...hohoho..no need to take too many annual leaves. But hot month for marriage might not have booking slots available.

Since fame bridal is in Yishun, you went to check out Golden Horse Awards before? Me thinking of Blush Blush, GHA or Di Gio, but Blush Blush too ex, 4k+

Can share with me your package in fame bridal? MTM or OTR gown?

vivbl

hi princess momo,

yup, i went to look for 3 fengshui masters to give us auspicious dates for our AD. you can look for Master Ong (Hp: 9632 0211). his shop is located in Golden Landmark Shopping Complex. of the 3 we consulted, i find that he is very good cos let's say u want to get married in dec, he will give you all the dates including weekdays and weekends u can have your AD in dec. saw photos of mediacorp "wang lu jiang" taken with master ong. but due to the only one date available in dec weekend he gave has been booked for banquet, i have to use another fengshui master's one.
hope it is really an ausipicious date also.

me alslo prefer year end so choose dec to have AD. dec is like a holiday month to me and also because my fh and me are born in dec...hehehe. if you book during the wedding show, dec 08 will be about 1 year 7 months away from april 07. so i guess maybe will have the day in dec you want. but i think dec 07 will be very difficult so no choice i have to book before the wedding show.

i didn't go to other bs to compare their package. didn't know there's another bridal shop in yishun. fame has 2 different packages. normal album is less than 3K. the magazine album is about 4K plus. either WG or EG will be MTM. then the other will be brand new gown.

dot1980

hi vivbl,
Wat is the charges like for Master Ong? I am also looking for a fengshui master to find an auspicious date for me.

vivbl

hi happygirl,

i can't really remember cos my fh paid for it. i think is 38 if i am not wrong. maybe u can call him to ask the charges. oh ya, u have to call to fix an appt with him. btw, he will also give you the date to guo da li after u have decided on your wedding date.

brightstar

last time i actually consult huang shifu but seemed like he has shifted...he also very nice..try to give all dates and timings he can..and he also say dont believe too much in this....cos eventually it takes alot of effort to make a marriage works.

princess_momo

Yoyo Viv&bl, Brightstar,

Had just called Master Ong, he's now in Thailand for fengshui consultation. No wonder got Thai message when didnt pick up... Haha :D Guess Master Ong's reputation is good.

Hi HappyGirl,

Master Ong told me that he will be back by 26 Dec 07, so maybe can make appointment to meet him. His address at Golden Landmark #03-33...

vivbl

hi princess momo,
you are fast. is it i have wake you up?...hahaha. 26 dec 07 has already passed. do u mean 26 Feb 07? so u have made an appt with him?

hi brightsatr,
fengshui master ong also shifted to golden landmark last year only. my fh has same thinking as huang shi fu. he don't believe in auspicious date for customary wedding. my mum and me is pandang though.

brightstar

hi vivbl, me too...me and my wife ok one..just that to make my MIL happy...the worst thing she also any how read the tong shu and disagree a bit with the feng shui mster...me that time almost cough out blood...so stressful...

MIL even particular abt timing....

vivbl

hahaha...same same with us. we had conflict with my mum. this was the reason why we had consulted 3 fengshui masters. 1st one was recommended by my friend, 2nd one by my mum and the last by my sis's friend. we had a serious problem due to fengshui masters advised that we can't get married in the year 2008 after CNY. also my fh's mum passed away near CNY last year. my mum very particular about following the "after chinese calender 3 yrs then can get married" belief. finally she gave in after fengshui masters said ok.
but hor on and off she will mention again why not jan then get married as will be after chinese calender 3 yrs already. ai yo...sometimes i can't stand her.

brightstar

haha...how come ur experience same as mine? along the way thou before tt , she says ok..but she will grumble now and then....only after wedding she stopped...now she got new things to grumble..haiz....

vivbl

hehe...old people are like that. they like to grumble non-stop. they will think what they keep mentioning is for the good of us. i think have to accept that lor. who knows maybe we will be like them when we are old.

princess_momo

Hey Good Morning!
Aiyo! Paiseh, I think I'm still dreaming yesterday, especially after lunch and feeling sleepy.
Yep, Master Ong told me he will be back by 26 Feb 07. But I havent booked any appointment with him yet. Thinking maybe called him again when he's back. I had told my bf so he said he will tell his mum...

Hope everything goes well....

vivbl

hi princess mo mo,

ya. it will be better to let your bf's mum know before you fix a appointment with master ong. hope yours will smooth unlike mine and brightstar.

brightstar

yup yup...let ur future MIl know...maybe even better ask her go with u and let the master directly tell her so she will be convinced..:p again, up to u..wish u that everything will go well!!!

loveangel

viv&bl: Thanks for remembering!
I have decided on "Because you Love me" by Celine Dion for my 1st march-in. FH still haven't decided on our 2nd march-in song. For montage & express highlights (video), i'm still trying to decide...! I'm toying with the idea of "Quando, Quando, Quando" by Michael Buble & Nelly Furtado for my montage. Love that song.

My AD is in 5 months' time & i haven't heard from HIPV yet. Should i call up?

vivbl

hi pris,

long time didn't see your post already. thought u MIA...hahaha. my fh can't think of any song for 2nd march in at first. so i let him listen to a few english songs by male singers. ask him to select a song. then he selected N Sync: This I promise You. oh, you're not using the song u like "I Do (Cherish You)? pai sei...i think i never heard of the song Quando, Quando, Quando before. i seldom listen to english songs but i love chinese songs.

u must be getting excited on your wedding. have you taken your ps? i am also not sure if u have to call HIPV. but no harm calling and ask. at least u will know when they actually will get back to u. if by that time, they still didn't call u, then u have to call them liao. cos i read from brightstar's post that they didn't hear from HIPV weeks before their AD due to a change in their coordinator.

happy wedding preparation to u!

babyfifi

what colours of evening gown should I avoid so as not to blend in with the deco of the crystal ballroom (esp carpet and table cloths)? I am thinking of choosing the crystal theme.

bubblepearl

Good Morning all!
I am still thinking when shld i have my ROM since my AD is on this yr Dec. Wonder if anyone have their AD and ROM together in HIPV? I book my banquet mid of last yr. Now i am thinking if HIPV allow me to use any of their meeting room or normal function for my solomination prior 30mins to 1hr before the dinner starts..and after tat ceremony end, i will go back and change into my WG for the 1st march in..any comments?

brightstar

prise, pls call up....i called up cos they didnt call me only to realise the ex-coordinator had quitted....

hi bubblepearl, u can check out my wedding blog www.romance-fire.com i had rom and AD on the same day

my coordinator is very good...he will gif u time to prepare...

brightstar

to bubblepearl, btw dont u have a bridal suite as aprt of ur contract? :p

solemnisation takes only 15 mins for me...u mean u have diff gowns for solemnisation ...my wife's is WG during solemnisation till 2nd dish... and after 5th dish, second march in

bubblepearl

Hi brightstar, i do have a bridal suite but i'm afraid that there would not have sufficient standing area..cos my whole family is already 10 pax ( my bros and their families) ..still got my bf's family leh... therefore..i tot just a normal meeting room or function room w/o deco will do the job too..just a room w sufficient standing area will do

babyfifi

Hmmm Vasanthi on long leave. Till end March. I wonder issit leave or she quit? Normally I hear long leave = quit.

Any ideas?

brightstar

fifi, haiz...no idea le..actually Vasanthi just promoted last nov 06...think u can call them and ask to meet them

bubblepearl..actualy ROM is very fast...it is the prep and setting up of the room

brightstar

u have to bring or assign someone to:

1. display wedding pillow
2. wedding rings
3. wedding certs
4. black pens (at least 3)
5. make sure got 4 chairs and a table
6. any decor on the table

loveangel

vivbl: Heh, been kinda MIA at the beginning of the year because i was busy with work. My PS is on next Wed & i'm very excited. Will be going for my final fitting this Fri & also meeting my PG.

brightstar: My AD is on July 29. Roughly when should i call up? My coordinator (Shue) had already quit. So who do i look for?

fifi: I'm having the crystal theme but i didn't think so much bout my EG colour! Haha...my gown designer simply designed it accordingly. My EG is peach-pink so i don't think it won't blend into the background. Perhaps you can consider brighter colours?

brightstar

pris, my coordinator was shue too and vasanthi took over her....maybe u can call ard end of march to book an appointment with her in april.