HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

HI Fanyong,
Make sure they don't pour cement into toilet bowls or other pipings. Must definitely check before handover. i even took showers in both toilets to make sure it is not choking and heaters are installed properly. Must also test the toilets flushing system, kitchen sink etc. A lot of things to do before handover. Becos Patrick did my electrical works too, i was going around the house with hairdryer to make sure every plug works. very kiasu ah.

Hi wenn,
Goodie.. do remember to show me pics of your black galaxy granite. ai yoh, my bf always want that as kitchen top but we can't afford it.

Hi Wenn!!

Glad to know there is remedy for the silicon mess

Oh yah, u know the sink part where u have the black galaxy granite not touching the straight edge of the window of service balcony? I happened to go to my brother's place that nite and saw that his is totally covered by granite, which leaves no gap between sink and window edge! Do u want to raise this up with patrick and see how he resolve this?

Hi Aeina!

Oh, which clementi shop do u normally go to? Is it the one at the central? I think there are 2 curtain shops at the central rite? I love the fabric in one of the shops there
Wonder whether it is the same one we are talking abt

Hmmm, not sure what u gals referring to
but my ceiling pipes all have yellowish stuff on them. Once it even drips onto the vanity top. But when i called in the HDB pple, they say it is nothing wrong if it doesn't continue dripping after some time. And true enough, nothing happens now
Keeping our fingers crossed

Hi Fanyong!

Glad tat u know what curtains u will be looking at
Just now i popped by Ikea too. Bought some deco stuff for the house

I wanna get cloth to make some sort of "curtain" for my kitchen entrance. See how it goes

hey kk,
oh, hubby told patrick liao but he din get back to us yet... c how...

aeina,
okok, have to wait for me to transfer to PC 1st...

Hi Kk,
That's the curtain shop that i ve visited. Intend to go again when i m free.. now i m so lazy.

Hi Wenn,
KK happened to fwd the email on focus grp. Me is keen.. ha ha.. wanna to earn some money. who shall i contact?? any email or phone? email me at [email protected] thank u.

aeina, ur email addy is wrong leh....
anyway, u can email Angie. her email addy should be in the body of the message

Hi wenn,

I not on leave yest just that my workplace quite near ikea so went there during lunchtime. hee....U use black galaxy for ur kitchen top? must be very very nice.... show us the pics leh if u have.. [email protected]

Hi aeina,

Why have to go around the house wif hairdryer to check the elect works leh?

I got all the pricing from ikea regarding curtains.... give u gals a update...2.1m curtain rod x 2 pcs cost $26. double wall fitting bracket (for day and night curtains) x 2 pcs cost $4.90. If single bracket (for only one layer of curtain) x 2 pcs cost $2.90. the simple deco pcs x 2 at the end of the rod cost $5.
one pair of curtain wif dimension 140cm (width) x 300 cm (height) each cost $59. One pair of day curtain (the thinner layer) also same dimension cost $79. Is the price at clementi cheaper than this? cos I find the variety at ikea quite limited...but then the curtains are washable in washing machine. and also easy to put up cos there are loops at the back of the curtains.... that is wat I like..

fanyong,
ic ic. lucky u cos i still have to take bus to ikea...

no photos yet. wait for me to upload next week hor....

Hi Fanyong,
cos u plug in, the hairdryer can blow... it means the electrical plug is working oh. Hairdryer is more handy to carry around compared to other appliance. My friend taught me.

Hi Wenn,
Thank for yr email. I have emailed her.

Long time no hear. Was so busy with work and reno. Although hubby does the supervision more than me. Hee....

Hi Aeina,

Hows yr toilet case? settle already? My hse is currently half done. Waiting for them to built the kitchen cabinet and walk in wardrobe. Hope it turn out nice. Else will
ah!

Wah! you actually use hairdryer for testing ah! haha... not a bad idea ah! hee....

hi vivis,
glad that ur reno is moving on fine. initially, i was oso like u, worry this & worry that. but in the end, everything still turned out alright. so dun worry hor

My pc is finally up but haven't got chance to get the digital camera to upload new pics.

Hi vivis,
Still attempting to solve the problem.sigh... will take awhile. Don't worry so much. When i choose the toilet tiles and kitchen cabinet, i m also very worried but luckily turned out alright too.

Hi wenn & aeina,

Thanks so much!

Juz went my house this afternoon. Saw my apple green room, really like the colour so much. Hee... Looking forward to see my kitchen cabinet n walk in wardrobe.

Will post my pics wen my hse is done.

had a tiring weekend cleaning up our place

hopefully can move in in 1 weeks' time. yesterday went to Plaza Sing to queue up 1 hour for the cable & maxonline promotion. signed up for 2 years of cable service & will be getting a free 21" Thomson TV in 1 months' time

Wenn,

So good ... can move in in one week's time... u must be very excited now...

Hee, using hairdryer to test seems like a very good idea leh...but me sometimes scared to use hiardryer esp those very light ones cos can see the red heating element scary that it will burn .... till now seldom use... thinking of buying a better one heard braun brand not bad leh..

I confirmed my homo tiles yest .... after having to reject the previous ones due to running tone.... i love the tiles i selected yest... it has the cloudy effect v nice... hope that this time round the tiles are perfectly fine... Patrick say my reno will complete in 3-4 wks time due to the delay caused by the running tones tiles... to me it is ok cos i really like this tiles much more than the previous ones...

Wow, free TV with cable service? so good..... no wonder long queue...
How much do u pay for the 2 yrs cable service?

Hi Vivis, post ur pics once u have leh... is ur walk in wardrobe the laminate type or the modular type (the type using only rods and the rods can be removed and repositioned ones)?

Fanyong,
if i remembered correctly, must subscribe min $28 worth of channels lor. this makes out to be 4 groups

glad that u settled ur tiles! yah, can't wait to move out of Jurong... pretty bad lately, dunno what the refineries are burning... last nite got LPG gas smell even at 12mn

Hi Vivis,
Glad that the colour turns out nice nice. Apple green is nice colour. I can visualise u have a tray of green apples on your table and it will be so cool.

Hi Fanyong,
If u do not have a hairdryer, u can try small portable radio and plug in. Got sound means plug can work. has the same effect. Don't need to buy a hairdryer to test it out unless u do use hairdryer.

Hi Wenn,
Wow... good deal man. 21" tv. U stayed in Jurong? wow.. very near to my place.. bt batok. I went to the Pasar malam nearby Boon Lay Mrt station. Saw a stall selling curtains. The curtains is really cheap. Might want to buy from there. But firstly, i will go to the clementi shop to check the price. he hee...

I finally bought most of my furnitures. Bought it at wihardja. u asked me abt the small tables and chairs for balcony. They have a big range at only 168. 2 chairs and one table. really nice and cheap. Must go to the ubi branch but it is so ulu. Alamak... we took a cab from paya lebar to that place. If have car, it will be best. We bought a dining set (teak tables with 6 chairs) at S$799, teak shoes rack, teak bench at S$59. Really cheap for teak furnitures. I was telling my bf.. next time if i come, i will rent a van and go. ha ha...

aeina

i know where u stay... hee hee... the curtains are nice? cos i bought some last friday from ikea, those shiny organza-like type for my bedrooms.

good good, i shall try going down to Wihardja next week. thanks! looks like ur furniture all 7788 liao

Hi Wenn,
Hee hee.. i didn't really see the range cos my eyes are fixed on the satin range. hee hee... i simply love the satin curtains oh.

Yeah, my furnitures are 7788 liao. Feel such a relief. No need to run here and there for sales. worse if u go to a ulu place but didn't get anything. Luckily, went to wihardja and got things we want. U know i ve been to home merchants, barang barang, naturual living and rustic furnitures for thrice each when they r having sale. I ve been to wihardja grand copthorne for twice too. Always didnt see the things i like. ha ha.. i want cheap and fresh..(hokkien). Saw that wihardja is having sales again so i called up ubi. They told me that they have bigger range and allow custom made. That's why i went down. Hope u will get u want too.

Hi gals! *wave*

dun mind me joining u gals hor...hehe...just got my keys last mth and also shortlisting renovators to do up my home...

have read so much ravings about patrick, and veri tempted to meet up with him...=)

but i would like to check out his rates first..ladies, would u like emailing me your quotations? my email addy is [email protected]

Been missing in action for some time. Brought Patrick to my flat to do some on-site measurement already. I must say he's quite experienced as we engage a geomancer to view our flat before going to him and he's able to advice us against hacking one piece of wall which we forgot to ask our geomancer.

Hi aeina,
I was also eyeing furniture from wihardja! I've gotten their sale pamplets and been really attracted by their furniture. Think your house is also kindof resort style right? Also fell in love with those from barang barang. Haven't been to home merchant yet. May go down this weekend.
Do share more on yur furniture searching.

: >

Hey aeina,
can see that u r a persistent person

we oso been going around the few places looking at furniture. currently, need to get a study table as our Maxonline installation is this saturday.

last saturday we stayed over liao. too tired to travel back to Jurong. the aircon is really cold *freeze*

Hi Cottoncandy,
Welcome to the thread. Mine is old quotation as in Jan. So not sure if it is still valid.

Hi Bearyhug,
Long time no see. So u confirmed with Patrick? Wow.. he knows geomancy meh? Ai yoh, i should have ask him for advice too. My house theme is resort too. A lot of wood grains and wood. Even got wooden lights. ha ha.. :D

Hi Wenn,
Me is a stingy person. ha ha.. :D must be good and cheap. I ve been dragging my bf to shop for furnitures until he is so scared. Whenever i visited the shop, he can't wait to get out asap. I also been to vhive, lamo etc. Not just once but their other branches too. very kiasu, rite??? Me too too ve stayed over at my house for few times especially after the washing up. Maybe empty house is colder.. we didn't even switch on aircon but only on fan and i m freezing.

aeina,
hee hee, ic ic....
my hubby is the thrifty type but sometimes very sian with him cos he doesn't have much comments. not as fussy as me :p

btw, u bought a rice cooker yet? i'm not sure which brand to get leh...

we switched on the aircon the other nite cos it was raining heavily...

Thanks for all the encouragement.

Now still waiting for my kitchen cabinet n walk-in. MY walk in is laminating type. Malcom chose the laminating colour for us, ask us to trust him. Haha.... of cse we do lah. So we must wait n see now...

I envy aeina can hv resort typr furniture. My hubby dun like, he prefer comtemporary style. At 1st he wans white homo flooring, bt i insists on beidge cos easier to maintain. Though I hv to agree with him tat white look more class. Hee....

Hi aeina,
We are also planning for resort style. Can share pics of your house once it's ready? Or do u already have it now? Just want to take a look at how Patrick and Malcom come up with resort style design?

Nope, haven't signed with patrick yet. Still waiting for his design.

Hi Wenn,
My bf also said let me made the decision. When i made decision, then he got lot to say. That's even more frustrating. My mum bought me a rice cooker at Best Denki Sales. It is philip brand with 2yrs warranty. mum said it is good.

Vivis,
U won't regret having beige. White is too diff to maintain. Even for beige, a strand of hair is quite visible and let not say abt white. In addition, white will turn yellowish in long term too. My bf also likes white white.. i tell him that if he wants to spend every weekend washing then it is fine with me. ha ha.. Nway, a friend's house is all white and i really think it resembles hospital. Always remind me of my stay in hospital.

Hi Bearyhug,
I didn't have a lot of built-in so I played around with paint colours. ha ha.. malcolm is saying i m choosing his fav colours, and safe colours for zen and resort style. My pics are not complete yet. Leave me yr email and once completed i will email u, ok?

hi aeina,
ic ic... i saw that last nite at Courts. ok, go else where to recce the price

me looking for iron board now.... seems like got different shapes & sizes

so tired, last nite reached Jurong after going SK. then sickening blackout forced me to go back to office again cos power system got alarm

The homo tiles that I have recently chosen is also beige colour with white waves.. the white waves flows nicely and creates a cloudy effects... I do agree with Vivis and aeina that white is difficult to maintain... No doubt it looks very classy but then for me, I drop a lot of hair, it will look very unsightly wif so much hair on the floor... Also white is more expensive than beige and if there is running tone or different shades of colour tone, it will be very obvious on white..

My hb wans to do our wardrobe with the modular system type, not the std laminate type.... Any of u have done ur wardobe using only rods and drawers?

hi fanyong,
my ceramic tiles are actually off-white with a bit of wavy prints on them too. but can see my hair if it happens to drop on the floor lor...

i got my wardrobes from ikea. normal types not modular. however, for some areas, i din tell them to secure all the panels together. this is due to the farnie recess areas in the room...

Thanks gals and guy...i have received your quotations liao...=)

my hubby is now working on the specifications that we wanted, and he said that he will meet up with patrick...hehe

Hi Fanyong,
We are also looking at modular system. Been attracted by the system from Ximula. Worth taking a look. Think the rods and poles system is cheaper than wood/laminate kind and also gives a futuristic/modern look. We prefers that kind of open concept rather than closed up feel which wood/laminate tend to give. Just adding my two cents worth. Not sure what others think.

Hi Bearyhugs,

Guess you must be the neat2 type to go for open concept. Actually my hubby prefer modular system in the 1st place but I think i m not those neat2 type. so i think can tk cover n must camouflage lah. Hee......

Just went ovr my hse to choose the laminating flooring for bedrooms. Hubby chose smething similiar to beige tat is almost the same as our homo tiles in living. Ours is more to contemporary so cant really choose wooden colour. n futhermore my bedroom quite small, it'll look even smaller with darker tones.

Me too, am the shove & store type of person... once behind closed doors, i dun have to worry about my cabinets looking tidy or not
111628.gif

Well, my current wardrobe as 4 panes of tempered glass. Still can see my clothes hanging inside. That's the most open that I can get liao cos any1 who steps into my bedroom can roughly see what i have/like.

aeina,
My pink kitchen wall with black galaxy granite top on dark postform laminate kitchen cabinet

111675.jpg

paiseh, this is the best photo I have at the moment bcos my hands kept shaking while i take my photos

currently i'm sourcing for renovators to do up my home. after reading through the postings, patrick seems like a nice guy but i would like to check out his rates first..

ladies, would u like emailing me your quotations?

Hi Sweet,
Do meet up with Patrick. In fact, meet up with other contractors. Most impt, must feel comfortable oh.

I completely agree with Wenn and Vivis. i can never ve open concept wardrobe. The other day, i saw a tiny mini lizard climbing beside the wardrobe and i m freaking out. Open concept to me will mean invitation to lizard, cockcroaches, mosquitoes to hide inside the wardrobe and also near my clothes.. ieww.. sorry, i tend to think too much. Perhaps there will be way to keep all these away oh. Another issue will be the dust and dirt lah.

Hi vivis,
Maple wood colour is nice too. Very light and beigy. I saw somebody who used grey laminate. Also quite nice.

Hi wenn,
I also got headache buying ironing board. How comes how can cost S$80 and some only S$8.90?? Me bought a fireproof cloth iron board at $8.90. Will try it out first oh. Nway, went to boon lay pasa malam to get my curtains liao. Dirt cheap. Went to compare price at clementi. Ready made, same material (taffeta silk) but shorter length at S$149 but pasar malam, at longer length at S$68. So happy...

Hi Wenn,
Nice... really condo feeling oh. I love it. The black glaxy will definitely look better when seeing it actual. Wow... must get my bf to see it. he will say "WOW" for sure. He loves black glaxy granite.

aeina,
the more ex ones are heavier. my ahlau bought the 3.90 one from carrefour last time. quite light & not so sturdy lor. where did u buy ur 8.90 one?

that's good! settled ur curtains liao. must take photo for me to see hor

aeina,
thanks! can say that the black galaxy is a luxury item
my hubby's fren did half his kitchen in black galaxy & the other half in tiles.

the only minus point is that my handle protrudes out too much liao in the side view...

Hi Wenn,

I bought it at Prime Mart. I have taken pics but must also wait for my Ah Lau to download. hee hee.. i just took yesterday. Was moving things here and there just to take pics. my bf said i siao.
hee hee..

aeina,
issit?
cos my flat downstairs got Prime Mart but i can't find any iron boards leh... i go search again... if boh then i have to go hougang liao.. those at compasspoint are really pricy...

me too leh. my sis said that i siao to take photos from key collection till end of reno. but it's good mah, at least u can see which position the furniture will look better

Hi wenn,

Yr smiley looks so cute. Hee.....

Hi aeina & wenn,

Why dont u go for that kind of "iron - vapour type" where most boutique use? I know its quite costly but in long run, I think it shld be quite efficient and time saving rite. Hubby thought of getting that too coz we r both lazy type tat opt for convenient stuff. Hee.......

Hi Vivis,
My bf is so silly... I actually wanna to buy that kind of iron but he keeps on saying it is a vaccum. ha ha.. Nway, he uses the iron most. I very lazy... buy clothes that need not iron so much.

Wenn,
How much is the osim iecology? Expensive, rite? My house prime mart sells many things. The things are vey cheap too. After taking the pics, i realise all the furnitues i bought might be too big. Oh dear... seem like will make my house looks small. Actually, empty house looks best to me.

By the way, how to use the smiley and put it on forum. me so dumb

Hi Aeina,

Huh?! Vacuum ah?! Hee.... Hope he wont use it to vacuum the floor.

I oso bought quite gigantic sofa set for my living room cos my living is quite spacious. Unlike my bedrooms, can only manage to squeeze in Queen size bedset & nothing else. Luckily we r not big size type. Hee....

Hi Wenn,

Does the osim iecology look like those "vacuum type" iron? or u hv to use iron board? Let us hv yr feedback after you tried.