HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

Hi Wenn,
Forget to let u know that my sink doesn't align with my dish tray on upper tier. Sob sob.. it is becos the supplier of kitchen sink drill wrong hole for the tap. My sink is made up of 1 bowl and 1 drainer. We wanna the bowl to be on right side. Due to wrong drilling, the bowl is on left side. Sign... me blur blur, forget to check oh. When we found out, it is too late. we asked the sink supplier to change but the cabinet all fixed up.

So far, none of my friends spots that, and my mum said it is not obvious. U need not to worry so much, ok?

hi aeina,
thanks for the consolation
*hugs*
but hor, the misalignment is about 10cm.. *sob*
mine oso 1 big sink & 1 smaller sink... oso not aligned with centre of service balcony window but aligned to the right. still looks ok lah... just worried that my parents will say, "I told u so.. who asked u dun wanna use so-&-so for reno..."

can't help it... all my relatives at dad's side of the family are reno sub-contractors.... i just dun want every relative to know how much i spent on reno lor :p

in all, even though alignment not 100% due to odd shape of my kitchen. i'm glad that the carpentry guys cater enough space for my chopping area, dish drying area & rice cooker area on the bottom cabinets area

Hi Wenn,
10cm is not very visible. My sink is also mis aligned about 10m - 15cm. Don't tell your parents. Let them see if they can spot it. I didn't tell my mum and she didn't spot it until i mention it.

Me too too.. i refuse to use contractor that my dad and my bf's dad have introduced. So called their buddy. The reason i gave is clear cos I wanna to scold people if work is not done. ha ha.. i told them that if they don't mind losing one friend than it is ok with me. If work is not done, I won't give face. After hearing that, they decided not to push me further. If relatives or friends, u will find it hard to squeeze them or push them or even delay payment. :PPPPPPP I must be one of the worst customers liao. :P

Hi Aeina!

I agree with u. It is not easy to tell off relatives or friends.

My parents' neighbour who bought a resale at bedok reservoir got a relative to reno their flat. The relative collected $20K from them, yet very slow progress. They took around 4 mths and still reno not yet completed. So u can imagine!

It is always easier to reprimand pple not related to us

Hi gers,
Paiseh, brought digicam to office but forgotten to bring cable to extract foto into PC
Will take some more this weekend when my tv console from vhive arrives

Anyway, my stainless steel backing behind hood & hob are up. Fujioh hood oso mounted liao. Patrick said that still need to re-align some doors.... but all looks ok to me leh... maybe me not as experienced as him :p

Aeina, i still remembered going to my flat to meet potential contractor & saw a cousin nearby. He oso doing reno... gave me a fright!

I went down to my place yest... wow, the wall hack liao and the doors dismantled already....they have created the new opening for the new door location.. Also, my floor tiles have arrived. Patrick really works very fast leh. He only start work on Tues... hee. Feel very excited seeing the progress of the house reno.

Hi AP,

initially i wanted to do parquet for part of my living room and bedroom.... but then later decided on all homogenous instead cos heard parquet more difficult to maintain... also more ex too. Parquet looks very nice, but u have to be careful of scratches.

hi fanyong

that's great! yah, patrick's guys works really fast! my tiles arrived on monday, & tuesday, they were doing the cement screeding liao...

Hi wenn,

When did ur reno start? so they do the kitchen cabinet first for u before the flooring? did patrick send u a schedule of works? BTW, is the signed two-page quotation considered a contract or is there another contract?

fanyong,

paiseh, din elaborate.
- we signed up on 30th april.
- tiles & sand arrived on 3rd may.
- workers started screeding on 4th may.
- my HDB rectifications run concurrently. but they delayed my bathroom tiling till 24th may & held up patrick's work
- painting on 1st june
- grilles, aircon, doors on 4th june
- kitchen cabinets were fitted on 8th june
- this saturday fixing my bathroom accessories & curtain rods

Nope, we din have work schedule. Yup, that 2 page is our contract.

Any idea what brand of front load washing machine is good? Is a 6kg washer enough to wash a queen size comforter?

Hi wenn,

Thanks for ur elaboration.... But i thought there is a contract stating the no of yrs of warranty (something like defects liability period) that kind of thing... Also that time someone mention his contract says there is no hidden cost... but quotation doesnt says that leh.

thanks for ur advice.

You can try asking Patrick to add in those clauses.

With regards to w/m, i heard that min 7 to 8kg to wash comforter & curtains. But dunno how true lah. Anyway, i just bought the 7.5KG w/m from toshiba. It uses less water than the 6.8kg model. Seems like higher load w/m has better sensors to monitor water usage.

Hi Wenn,

I also bought e 7.5Kg lavender-coloured Toshiba topload wm, not sure izzit using lesser water, but e spining is pretty powerful even under standard wash.

Hi fanyong, mine is more than 2 pages, e hidden cost clause is only on e official quotation where U signed on it but yes, e 5-yr warranty is not there, this U got to get patrick to add it if U preferred on e yellow coloured papers. During quotation period where he pass U pdf file, t&c will not be included.

Hi fanyong, paiseh did nt read properly, ur renovation started, so U shld ve signed on e official papers, then U got to ask Patrick why for your case dun ve, although I believed U shld nt ve any hidden costs alg e renovation phase.

Hi Win

Hee hee, so qiao! Mine's the dark pink colour. Delivering this saturday. Good to hear that spin is powerful, must be the super dry function. At least clothes will dry faster. i got it bcos it comes with tub cleaning

had lots of problems with softener crusting up behind the metal tub of current LG w/m. this forms black tea leaves looking stuffs that sticks to our clothes during washing. then i have to use water to hand wash the clothes again

hope that this toshiba w/m wun have the same problem.

Hi win, wenn

When u mention official papers, is it the yellow quotation? Other than that, did u sign any other document? Is the 5 yr thing mentioned in your document?

Hi Fanyong,

My contract is printed on Ho Bee Letterhead. In addition, there is a terms and conditions section. Under the T & C, there is a clause stating that Ho Bee Renovation Works will provide a (5) years warranty for workmanship & defect work.

Do ask him for an official contract. me is quite particular with contract so i did remind him. Sometimes, he will forget.

Hi Ap,
I didn't do parquet but i did laminate. Maintenance for parquet is very diff. My cousin said got to engage professional to do polish every few years. very easily scratched. She advised not to cos her bedrooms are in parquet and she regretted it.

fanyong,
yup, yellow quotation is the 1 we signed. paiseh, can't remember wat's stated inside... have to go back to check

Hi fanyong, my so called official contract is in fact e yellow-coloured papers with Ho Bee letterhead, I oni signed tat, tat all. didnt realli c e 5-yr warranty there, aeina,,,guessed ll read it again tonite when I'm bck.

Hi wenn,
e 7.5kg one do nt ve e super dry spin function, oni heavy wash & condensed wash function. Oni 5.2Kg?, 6.8Kg & 9.0Kg ve. I also dun noe y tat e case. design flaw?

Hi Ap, I also on laminated floorings. Patrick can let U choose either from supreme or kronotex brand. The reason on using laminated is also wat aeina mentioned, on top of tat, c tat most parquet r of darker-toned but no hollow sound like laminated when U walk on it. Anyway, be it laminated or parquet, need to take more care esp when dealing with wetness from water contents, ceramics or homo ll be easier on tat.

Hi KK,
My quote to do laminate of 3 bedrooms is 1.8K A few of my colleagues have got Patrick to do for them too.

Hi Win, Wenn and Fanyong,
I m vey particular abt contract so i have asked Patrick for it. Frankly, i think it is better to have a contract. I m very cautious. I even brought the contract home to read before signing up.

Your contract should include the breakdown of quotation, term of payment as well as the terms and conditions.

Hi aeina,

I ve most of wat U ve stated there except for e 5-yr warranty. I kept all e payment receipts but for e warranty, tot e time to start is roughly from e date of last payment(though I nt too particular on start date - end date of this 5-yr period). I was tinking to ask him when I got his last payment receipt on e 15 June. I ve nt called him up ever since he handover to us 1 wk bck. He only asked mi to chk for any recifications needed during this period till my last payment to him on 15 June.

Hi Win,
I have emailed u hardcopy of my contract. From i comprehend from my contract, warranty starts on date we signed the contract leh. Hmm... got to verify with Patrick oh. U ve a look and let me know yeah.

Hi aeina,

ok, I ve doublechk, mine is e same as your. So fanyong, pls doublechk, c whether is e no hidden
costs & 5 urs warranty is stated in e overall quotation-cum-contract. thnks.

A newbie here. I read with interest on all the good comments that you guys have for Patrick. In fact, I've already met up with him and his designer one occasion only. Only chanced upon this thread after the meeting. I'm still waiting for his quotation.

Aeina, wenn, it would certainly be of great help if you could email me your quotation and website to view your flats too. I also find Patrick and Malcom quite friendly ppl. Really excited and hope to see their design and quotes soon. Since Patrick was from Darwin previously, I also went down to Darwin headquaters showroom at Bendemeer to see see look look. Workmanship not bad too. One of my colleagues have used Patrick for his carpentary works and so far, satisfied with his service and products.

Hope to get useful pointers from you all.

Thanks in advance too!

Hi aeina and win,

The only thing that my FH signed wif him is the two page yellow quotation (no stating of no hidden cost and no 5 yr warranty even though Patrick did tell me verbally that there is 5 yr warranty). Ours dun have the T & C. How doe sthe T & C look like? Can u send me ur contract? [email protected]

hi aeina,
thanks for the info
tonite then i go back to check. was pretty busy yesterday. stupid Hewlett Packard sent me 4 servers for my new project & 3 got problems!

Hi wenn,

U mention u having problems wif the current LG washer.... how long have u been using the washer? Nowadays, LG has lots of advertisement promoting their washer... initially i interested in the intello series washer... but after hearing ur comments on LG washer, think have to re consider liao.... Maybe European washers like Brandt and Bosch are better... so many brands, very confusing leh...

hi fanyong,
my hubby has been using the LG metal tub w/m for 3 years. for 2 years no problem until this year got problem. the accumulated fabric softener dried up & caked up on the outer side of the washing drum starts to flake off.

all these black flakes (looks like dried tea leaves) will stick on the clothes. worst still if the clothes are white or light colour. i have to wash them all again in the bathroom sink by hand!

so, the problem is not with the LG w/m. Or rather, there is no tub cleaning function to clean off those flakes. I have to use a full wash load with chlorine bleach to soak the tub for 4 hours & wash twice. after that, still have a bit of these flakes if we use the fuzzy wash function.

not sure about other brands but how long does the fuzzy wash function lasts? it last about 40mins for LG

Hi kk,
go buy 1 bottle of bleach, fill the tub to max water level it can take & put in a few cap fulls of bleach. let the w/m run a few rounds of wash & then stop it. let it soak for a few hours & then resume wash. if after that, ur machines still smells of bleach, do another round of full load washing.

Hi wenn, kk,

So the problem doesnt lie in the brand of the W/M but rather in whether there is this tub cleaning function. But is there a front load W/M wif such function? Actually, i am very tempted to buy LG washer as it is really very cheap compare to other brand... Hee I dun need a washer that is very durable and lasting as I think I may wan to change it after many yrs... but then it makes no sense if the washer doesnt clean ur clothes but makes it worse and in the end u have to hand wash... Lets hope the bleaching can solve the problem.

1) dun use softener. if i remembered correctly, there is 1 softener at Prime Supermarket that says that it won't cause these tea leaves problems.

2) i dun have this problem with mum's Samsung washer with plastic drum. we dun use softener

Thanks to those who responded to my msg. Would be meeting up with Patrick and Malcom next week after getting keys to my flat. Heard its better to do onsite measurement right?

Anyone's house is resort styled designed? Me looking at this style for the whole flat. Care to share some pictures? Is Ho Bee good at resort style designs? Thanks all.

he was with us today. he personally helped to drill holes & mount our bathroom accessories

but did overheard on the phone that his PC is down.... so quotations might be slow...

Hi bearyhugs,

Yah rite, onsite measurement is always better. At least Patrick get to see the real thing.

Hi Wenn,

Patrick brought his ID (i think it is Malcom) down to my place together to let the ID see where i wanna build my full height cabinet. Now he has a better idea so will propose a design within 1-2 days

But since his PC down, Oh No, meaning i won't receive my design so soon
I am expecting to see the design by wed. Pretty excited!

Oh ya, me no longer using any softener. But the problem still exist lor. But not everytime i wash clothes i see the "tea leaves". Maybe once out of 3 washes. I was using Softlan softener previously.

hi kk,
i think malcolm's pc still working. Patrick told me end of next week can handover liao. but i have to remind him to get his guys to re-do some parts of the grout.

ic.. think my hubby used softlan oso. i only experienced the tea leaves problem if i have full load or used fuzzy logic wash. i saw the cheap-looking brand of softener at the Prime supermarket below my block. it claims to prevent the tea leaves problem. dunno how true it is

hi melodie,
u r welcomed

hi bearyhugs,

resort-styled renov. will fetch a premium in your renovation costs & pretty rare among hm owners. Most pples will do contemporary or zen styles.

1 of my cols(nt under Patrick) intend to do e same style as U, quotation was abt $32K.

Get Malcolm to design 1st based on your requirements & match with wat U see on any resort-styled renov. magazines,,,if he can design this style to your liking, his carpenters shld be able to do it, else no point designing oni. Do seek his experiences on e furnitures as well, cos' sometimes when e furnitures tat U choose might ended up changing your renov. style indirectly.

Once done, do send e photos to mi to my email addr provided U ve a online photos link. I'm interested to c one.

Hi Wenn!

What would the softener label say if it really prevent the tea leaves problem? Heeee, feel a bit funny we have been using the term "tea leaves"

Hi BearyHug and Melody,
Sorry for late reply. Home pc crashed and can only access internet in office. Reckon u have got quotations from the rest liao. nway, their quotes should be more update than mine. Mine is in Feb so might not valid for some items.

Bearyhug,
I wanna to do my house in resort style. That's why i got many wood items in my house. Plenty of wood grains. Furnitures wise, i m looking at only teak furniture. Somehow, many people mistaken mine as a zen style. Nway, i think i should get some plants. with the helps of plants, the house should look more resort like.

Sometimes, i feel it depends on how u define resort style.

hi max,
Patrick brought us to see ur flat. U were there waiting for delivery

Can see that ur furnitures are all in. So when r u moving in?