HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

Hi aeina,

I'll be meeting Patrick & Malcom tonite to discuss abt the cabinet. Hope they can find a solution to it. Think the carpenter might not agree to re-do. Have to see hw lor.

But we are
with the carpenter for such careless mistake n the way he install the wire basket is really illogical.

Hi Vivis,

sori ha, wat is e wire basket tat u gers are referring to? I nt realli in sync here...wondering whether do I have tat...

hi win,
thanks thanks!

hi vivis,
should insist that they correct it as it's the carpenter's fault. our recess area shelves were a bit slanted... kept following them & reminding patrick to ask them to straighten it.

hi aeina,
your neighbour really kiam pah! how can those items be included into the rectification? not fair mah.

vivis,
i dun know what went wrong with ur wire baskets but mine were ok. attached photos below.

Corner swivel for pots
113813.jpg

Sauce bottle & oil bottle rack
BTW, the door was mounted wrongly. So, they brought back the door to re-do & changed the hinges. Previous holes on the inside were patched up.
113814.jpg

Wok rack below the hob
113815.jpg

Drawers
113816.jpg

Hi vivis,

yours look coolz,,, didnt tink of tat during my carpentry phase. So U bought those baskets yourself & get Patrick's carpenter to install? Understand tat Patrick has engaged a few team of carpenters for his projects,,,mine was by the name of ah soon.

Hi aeina, non-std items? if 50% is 700 bucks, how much ll be hdb 25% cost to U?

hi win,
i posted the photos lah :p

we bought the baskets from song cho. had the idea after seeing those at hoe kee. after the baskets are delivered, then the carpenter (ah heng) brought back to factory to measure. after i buy then patrick told me that for purchases more than 300, he can bring me to song cho HQ to buy... got 30% discount.... haiyah! he thot that i was going to buy a couple of pieces when i asked him if his carpenter can help in-corporate into the cabinets or not...

oops, sori, my mistake here. dun noe wat I tinking when I typed e msg. My apologies to u & vivis.

so hw much U spend altogether juz on wire baskets alone?

Hi win,

Ya. Not post by me.

This is what happen:

Think the carpenter make the hood n hob area too near to my living. My kitchen is open concept. If they do it too near living, the cooking smell will flow to my whole living easily. And the wire basket we bought from IKEA, the carpenter install it so low in the cabinet that we hv to kneel down to get things. Quite illogical leh. Hai... wonder what he was thinkg when he did it.

I think if the carpenter relocate the wire basket, there'll be alot of holes in the current location. Then its going to be unsightly. Hai.... n the hood n hod area also dont know hw they change. We dont want it to be opposite the wash basin so dimension wise, I m afraid the carpenter has to re-do the upper cabinets.

Another thing is the wire basket. The carpenter make the cabinet so wide that he as to put 2 wooden stick on both sides to support the wire basket. I think it looks ugly cos we can see 2 sticks there instead of that basket mount directly into the 2 sides of cabinet.

Hi wenn,

Wah!! yr wire basket is alot man!!! Its amazing that you bought so many.

I only bought 2 wire basket n 1 pull out type. But for the pull out type, I got the carpenter to do it at the side of the cabinet. The problem is he did it too low. Same for the wire basket, really too low. Very difficult to take things leh.

Hi aeina,

I also feel that yr neighbour is really too much!! How could they seize the opportunity to extort u guys.

U shld opt for HDB to do it. Since its not yr hse, u dun hv to care for workmanship right.

hi wenn

for the kitchen cabinets, is it in laminates or other kind of material? this is exactly the kind of cabinets me looking for...=)

Finally met Patrick juz nw. He told us its small matter. Juz have to swop the hod & hoob area further from the living area. As for the wire basket, he'll tell the carpenter to install according to where we want. He even offer to help us find a bigger wire basket so that there wont be a wooden stick there to support the current wan.

Now I feel more relieve after talking to Patrick. He is indeed a good contractor that understd hw couples feel abt their nest.

hi win,
the wire baskets costed another $1k bcos we bought quite a few pieces. however, we got freebies lah. 1 anodised alum wok & 1 anodised alum saucepot. we went to check liao. some places selling these types of wok from $50 to $100. So, quite ok lah even though we din get the 30% discount if patrick bring us to the Song Cho HQ to buy

hi vivis,
ic ic. make sure they mount it with extra brackets hor. mine have min of 2 to 3 brackets to secure them in place. but that ah heng & his workers had problems fitting my drawers onto the drawer doors. put in & take out more than 10 times

good lah, Patrick goes the extra mile to make u happy

hi sweet,
it's laminate kitchen cabinet c/w ABS trimming & handles as per the quotation. installation of the wire baskets is FOC lah but u have to buy them. hence, extra costs. we chose to get wire baskets bcos i'm tired of cleaning mouldy cabinets

Paiseh every1,
I haven't gotten around to take pictures cos my place is still messy & haven't finish unpacking & cleaning up

Hi Wenn,
Wow... it is really no good being the pioneer customer of Patrick. When we engaged Patrick, he still didn't have lobang with Song Cho. In the end, we bought the things from Song Cho ourselves too. I love the wire baskets u have oh. Me only have one for the sauces. Hee hee.. yr kitchen is definitely the heart of the house. Black glaxy top, fully equipped cabinet. Awww... i love it.

Hi Vivis,
Good that Patrick said can rectify the problem. Now u don't ve to worry so much.

Sigh... To my neighbour, we are disrupting their life. The toilet looks ok but yet leaking. It is like a red beautiful apple with rotten core. They definitely dislike the idea of hacking the toilet and causing inconvenience to them. For us, we wish we can rectify the problem asap. It is definitely an eye sore.

Win, HDB said we will have to pay around S$300 - S$500 oh.

I really wonder why HDB never review on their workmanship and standard of service. Arggh... earning so much from us and yet provide such lousy service. *opps... will i get sue becos of this sentence??*

Hi wenn,

Ur cabinets very nice and user friendly with all the wire baskets... Me bought $500 plus worth of items from song cho also... didnt know that patrick can get discount... i also have a free saucepan but i would definitely prefer 30 % discount..Now I very tempted to buy more song cho things leh..

Shld I arrange for song cho to send the wire baskets for the carpenter to measure before I meet Malcolm to discuss on the design for the kitchen cabinets?

Hi vivis,

Didnt Malcolm draw a pic of the kitchen cabinet for the carpenter before they install? If the pic show the location of hood and hob clearly then they shldnt install at wrong place liao. BTW, who is ur carpenter?

Hi win,

Can share pics of ur kitchen cabinets? Do u have any problems wif the carpenter so far?

BTW, does Patrick reply ur sms? cos he seldom reply mine....

hi sweet,
i will

hi aeina,
me too! i buy then he tell me can get discount

heh heh, my ahlau said that we spent the bulk of reno on flooring (bigger area) & the kitchen... it's my dream kitchen

hi fanyong,
just get song cho to deliver to ur flat. then meet up with Patrick, Malcolm & the carpenter to go thru the items & tell them where to put what. but during design phase, we told them which cabinet is to install which wire basket liao.

so after they see the wire basket, just reconfirm with them again lor. oh, Patrick will call us some time later after we sms him.

I didn't know Patrick can get discount too. Shld ask him to bring us there so that we can buy more hor. Hai... wasted.

Hi fanyong,

Malcom did sketch out the drawing of kitchen cabinet but after we make changes here n there, there isn't any revised drawing. so we hv to tell the carpenter the exact location on site. I dun know what's the name of that carpenter, he is quite small size.

Hi fanyong,

mine is the normal type with total solid ply as partitions rather than the partial wire baskets tat e gers r using here, & I did not take a open view of my kit cab. Not sure if this wat U wan to c.

114169.jpg

114170.jpg

my experience with e carpenters are okay, they are rather accomodating & wld ask where I wan to position my handles, breakfast table etc. I was there on e 1st day when e carpentry work started, & was there once on other carpentry days to make sure I able to quickly get Patrick to recify if something is not accordingly to my requirements.

as for e sms reply, most of e time he ll replied 'roger'.
. U shld call him if U need to enquire something, else if U juz wan to inform him something w/o e need for ack, sms shld do fine.

Hi win,

Yr kitchen is so..... sweet!! I like it so much!
But I doubt my hubby wld let me choose pink.

Wah!! see that you chose white as cooking top. Do you cook? If you cook, I think you hv to be diligent enough to clean thoroughly. For mine, we choose black galaxy to camouflage.
But of course, the effect is nicer if u mtach white with pink. Quite extraordinary. Home Sweet Home!!

i like all ur kitchen cabinets!!

wenn
check with u, is your kitchen top solid or postform?

can anyone tell me.. do u think there will be prob using postform for the hoob & hob and sink area? cos in my mom's house, the hob/Hoob & sink sits on those solid "cement" plastered with floor tiles. then, the carperter simply just fix two doors at the bottom and it become a kitchen cabinet... hope u all get wat i mean.

Hi win,

Your kitchen is really very sweet and ur breakfast table is lovely..do u still have dining table or do u eat at the breakfast table only? What is the dimension of the breakfast table? For me, I will be using dark brown and white colour theme for my kitchen.. so my solid top will also be white in colour.

Hi wenn,

Now that I know abt Patrick can get discount from song cho, I thinking of buying two swivel baskets at the corner.. initially target that but then budget constraints so didnt think much abt it. How much is one corner swivel basket?
That time I bought the sauce & oil rack (15cm wide type) and the 90cm pull out tray below the cooker... yest i told hubby i wan to buy one more pull out tray and the two swivel corner baskets... he say budget tight...hope I can squeeze some $$ for that cos I really like that.

Can I ask song cho to deliver the baskets to my house once my tiling works complete? then meet up wif Malcom after the baskets arrive to discuss the dwg isit?

Hi Potter,

My MIL's kitchen also use postform.. no prob so far.. But then I think her hob area is not postform leh.. it is a different material, could be solid top.I think it is better to use solid top for the cooker area. Normally for cooker and sink area, they will sit on the cement core like what u describe... as concrete can support these things better than wood.

hi win,
ur kitchen looks good too!

hi potter,
my kitchen top is solid (black galaxy) granite.
i think some pple still doing the cement plastered with tiles for hob area

for postform, u can't get it wet. or else it will pop out lor.

hi fanyong,
i think it's $270. ours can turnaround 360 degrees one... not the 180 degrees one.
can oso. then at least he knows which goes where. b4 my drawers came, i had to ask him to change the drawings 3 times

Hi vivis,

For kitchen area, I let my wife decide cos I assume she ll call e shot there, hence such feel developed. I do cook, more deep fry than steam currently, so ll need to clean up a bit after cooking. btw, my solid top is e snowy haze type from klassicut, not e complete white colour. It's a mixture of white, black dots & some sort of white flakes altogether.

Hi Potter, my sis hse is in a mixture of tiles top(sink, hood/hob) & postform(appliances like rice cooker, hot water flash on top). Understand tat there are high-pressure postform top tat can take heat well.

Hi fanyong,

my bf table is 3 ft width. forgot abt e depth, tink is 1.5 ft. I've a dining bench set in my dining area, I used e bf table to hold more stuff or taking fast meal in e morning. Yes, I choosed white to match my pink-white combo. I followed e white portion to neutralise e pink element, else ll be too pink!

Hi win,

Thanks. U mean the brand of the solid top is klassicut? Which ctry is it made from? Does Patrick offer different brands to choose from?

Is ur bf table the type that can fold down when not in use? Is it also laminate with ABS trimmings? How much does that cost?

Hi wenn,

$270 per corner basket is quite ex leh.... What abt the type that turn 180 deg? How much does that cost? Seems like I have to forgo the one more pull out tray or just opt for the 180 deg corner basket...

Does song cho send a guarantee card to guarantee their pdts to be rust free for life?

hi fanyong,
i can't remember liao. think should be $220 for the other 1. but if u get 1 more item then more than $300, can get the 30% discount mah.

yup, guarantee card given upon delivery.

Hi fanyong,

yes, e brand is klassicut. Patrick will bring U 2 or 3 catalogues,i.e. klassicut, acelite or rockwell? I nt too sure which ctry it comes fr, didnt ask Patrick...**hmm..y didnt I ask?**

e bf table can be folded dwn when nt in use, & is in laminate(same as my pink cab) but usually no ABS trimmings. It's part of my requirement in my kit cab pkg.

hi fanyong,
Try not to use white for solid surface top. Very troublesome to maintain. Every 2 weeks have to use bleach to maintain the whiteness of the top.

Was missing in action for some time. Busy looking for contractors and IDs. Just received quotation from Patrick and quite happy with his price. I'm still sticking to my resort style concept. Anyone here had done platform for their living room using timber strips? Anyone's house in homogenous and parquet for bedrooms?
Thinking of getting patrick to bring us to some completed flats to see his workmanship before confirming.
He quoted us the total reno with mitsubishi starmex system 3.

Is white solid top really that difficult to maintain? Cos I think white goes v well wif my walnut cabinets leh... so cannot choose dark colour solid top ma...

Hi berryhugs,

Starmex is a good choice..... and Patrick is a v nice contractor... I am doing homo tiles for my living room and all bedrooms... But then mine flat still in the midst of reno, think will only complete earliest end of this mth... Heard from Patrick my flooring almost finish.... The air con guy will come this Fri to install the trunkings leh....

Hi wenn,

At first I thought the $270 is for one corner swivel basket so I mutiply by two to get $540... so I thought that is it... cannot buy another tray... then later I realised the $270 is for the whole set right? But then I called one song cho shop, they say it is $290 leh... When did u buy urs? Since it is for whole set, now I wan to buy another 90cm pull out tray... hee now have to think how to squeeeeze $$$$...

Hi Fanyong,
Song cho doesn't ve guarantee card. The logo in on item is the guarantee. If u wanna to make an exchange, u will have to take the item back to song cho. This is according to wat they told me.

My solid top is beigy with little spots. Not difficult to maintain at all.
114624.jpg

But don't choose black solid top. I saw my sis's and scratches are very prominent.

Hi, do you gals mind giving me Patricks number?? I think he is good from your descriptions. Have friends that need to do Reno for their flats.

Hi tuppermum,

Patrick's no is 96792934...

Hi aeina,

Actually my colour theme a bit similar to urs but I prefer darker walnut colur bottom cabinets... Hee...thanks for ur assurance... Think I will choose beige or white solid top. BTW, may I know what is the length of ur dish rack frosted glass cabinet above the sink? Patrick say he has two sizes, 56 and 86 cm... so would like to know whether urs is 56 or 86cm.. It looks like 86cm to me.. Do u find it too big? Does the disk rack comes wif a tray below to collect water? Is ur kitchen the long and narrow type?

Hi fanyong,

There are a few shades of white solid top, so do browse thru & c which one u preferred. my disk rack glass cab(comes with a tray to collect water) is 86cm. Can follow ur sink size(1 bowl can go for 56cm, 1.5 & above can safely go for 86cm) esp when it's mostly mounted above e sink.

Hi Fanyong,
I love walnut too. Unfortunately, my kitchen is a bit dark. I regret not knocking a hole between the kitchen and dining room. Should ve knock a hole and replace with clear glass than it will know nice. Then again, having a pc of clear glass means more cleaning. ha ha.. lazy people.

I think mine is 86cm too. It is pretty big and come with a tray to collect water.

My kitchen is long but not really narrow. Think can put in a table for 4 to sit in. In fact, i wanna to have L-shape kitchen. I chose not to cos wanna to share money. ha ha.. :D

Hi Bearyhug,
U r doing resort style too? Me now is scratching head over what type of art pc will blend well with resort style. what do u think huh??

Anybody got any idea??? hmm.....

hihi thanks for all ur input now i have a better idea. : )

my colour theme will be opposite from u, aeina and fanyong. mine is off-white cabinet with dark brown top.
but my kitchen is super small. so my cabinet is about 13 ft only.

bearyhug
me also doing resort sytle. i wont be having homogeneous tiles in living. all using laminates except kitchen.

Hi Potter,
U using Patrick too?? I like yr nick.. When calling u Potter, make me feel like Prof snape. ha ha..

My sis also used laminate for whole house except kitchen.

hi aeina,
Perhaps you don't cook intensively that's why its easier to maintain. Whenever I cook curry, I have to be very careful not to drip on the surface top. Coz Chili oil stain very hard to remove using detergent and water, must use bleach. Somemore my sink is molded kind, also white colour. Jia lat! Last time I also choose white, coz makes the kitchen look brighter and cleaner. From your pic, I notice that your hot water flask has direct contact with your surface top. Do put a cloth under it, coz prolong direct heat on the top will cause your white to turn yellow. After you buy groceries, don't put the plastic bags (especially Carrefour's pastic bags) on top of your surface top for too long. Coz the print on the bags will stay on the top. My surface top kenna many times liao and I have to use bleach to remove the blue colour. BTW the brand of my surface top is Corian.

hi fanyong,
i bought quite early.... in april cos that time the sales said that worldwide stainless steel prices are going to rise. so ask us to put $200 deposit 1st. if price increase, we still pay the old price.

hi aeina,
the song cho kitchen & bathroom items I bought all comes with guarantee card leh... you are supposed to fill up the article numbers then mail in the card. anyway, u can get the guarantee cards from the shop counter.

BTW, i like ur kitchen. looks like we are having the same fridge. is yours difficult to open? mine ah... sometimes the fridge door will get stuck... maybe bcos inside empty :p

Wah!! Seems like we have alot of newcomers joining this thread now.
Shall we get commission from Patrick?

Btw I am using black glaxy top for my kitchen canbinets. Shall post the pics here when my reno is done.

Just went IKEA to purchase all my curtains & accessories. They are charging $20 per pack for alteration!! But I m getting my mum to do it cos I bought 8 packets!!! V.Siong ah!!

Hi Wenn,
I called my bf immediately after saw yr posting. hee hee.. he said got and he sent the warranty card out. :P He is in charge of all the warranty card and i m the financial consultant.

I love yr kitchen too. a bit like me leh. is yr top also beige??? Sama sama for the fridge leh. I only had a pint of ice cream, 1 bottle of cokes, few packages soft drink, 1 bottle of ketchup and chili sauce. ha ha..

Problem kid,
Are u referring to the electric water flask?? I only used it to cook water and switch it off after use. Hot water will be transfer to the thermal flask. Save electricity mah. Tips from my mum. So far, my solid top is very easy to clean oh. It is beige and i can clean off my coffee and tea stain easily. Not that bad oh. Nway, Patrick recommend me something to polish the top. I can't remember what it is. It is not exactly for solid top but he told us it is very good. I agree with u that molded sink is hard to clean regardless of colour. I remember when i was in Australia, used to wash in a dark blue molded sink but always oily and dirty after washing the dishes. Had hard time washing the sink after the dishes.

Vivis,
Black glaxy the best. My FAVOURITE.
ha ha... i always tease Patrick that he must give me commission cos few of my colleagues also using him. My sis engages my mum's service too. Hee hee.. me best.. no need cos bought from pasar malam. still very proud of my cheap curtain.

Hi aeina,

Oh ya! u bought yrs from pasar malam. Btw does yr curtain need any alteration to be done? Cos the length is standard right? Is yr curtain thin or those thick type?

Vivis,
No alteration needed. It is like destined to be mine. hee hee.. i m so delighted after i put it out. Really nice and perfect size oh. It is a kind of satin material oh. Quite thick ah.

aeina,
ic ic... mine top & bottom are walnut colour

vivis,
i oso bought some thick & some pseudo silk curtains from ikea. thick ones i asked my mum to alter. for the thin pseudo silk ones, i just cut & use the glue strip to iron the ends. later i free then hem them up :p

aeina,

Wah!! U must be very happy cos no trouble.

wenn,

those silk curtains r quite costly right? what colour did you buy? I bought 2 types. 1 design for living n the other for bedrooms. I choose dark beige, find it easier to maintain. Lazy, again.