HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

not decided yet as my customary is end of oct..
either before 7th month ghost festival or after that. not that we are superticious.. just do not want the elders to nag...

ic ic..
nice! i like ur theme

Hi Aeina,
Glad to know you are also looking into resort style. Was wondering if you can share with me some pictures of your home? PM me?

Hi Max,
How are u? Home merchant is having sales again. Ai yoh, the last time i ordered my tv console and it is not here yet. Now they r having sales again. Have u got everything? Found another place. It is called the Wihardja. I called up Ubi branch and they told me that i can choose colour and place order too. http://www.wihardja.com.sg/promotions/index.html

Hi Bearyhug,
I have PM u. If u r looking for resort balinese style, u can also purchase furnitures from Home Merchant and Wihardja. I can't wait to go but got to wait until Sunday.

How r u aeina, shifted in?
I have done with furniture shopping, most of the stuff r bought and delivered already.

happy shopping !

hi aeina,
u saw any cheap teak small outdoor table with 2 chairs? i wanna get 1 set for my balcony

108785.jpg

my house got no fixed theme. different room got different looks

yesterday siao liao... went to buy a sealy mattress for my guestroom... hopefully, my in-laws will feel comfortable when they stay over :p

kk, u there?
i found the name of the softener liao. it's a made in indonesia brand called Matic by Yuri. The packaging says that it is antibacterial & antideposition

Hi Wenn!

I am here of course haha.. just received patrick's design for my full height display. Very happy with one of the designs! Modern and stylish
We will make some slight changes and then Patrick coming over tomo evening with his carpenter to take final measurements. Hopefully can be ready by next weekend

Ok thanks for the softener info
Yesterday machine wash no tea leaves
Phew!

kk,
hee hee

ic ic... wow, how come u need the cabinet so urgently?? anyway, yesterday supposed to do my granite kitchen top but din stay back to wait for them. was at our place earlier in the afternoon to show patrick the tile area that need to re-apply the grout...

heng ah! no tea leaves! mine got again on monday... hubby fed up and cleaned the tub again :p

I'm very interested to meet up with Patrick after hearing so much. Would appreciate if you could send me his contact number/showroom address/email address/website where I may reach him.

My email address is [email protected]

Hi Wenn!!

We are both very excited over the full height display!
and moreover, we have bought a set of fu lu shou already, wanting to put them up soon

Hi kk,
ic ic... mine oso full height & done in veneer & MBF board.

We were hunting around Chinatown on sunday, looking for a nice set of porcelain Fulushou. Where did u get yours ah?

Hi wenn,

Just read the link... so chiak lat.... even HBay contractors cannot be trusted... I pity the couple. Hope HBay can do something abt it...

Sorry I MIA so long, me sick since last weekend.... now still having sore throat.... nose swollen from the endless sneezing....My colleague say my nose look like kana pple punch...

hi fanyong,
better take care. weather is bad these few days. me oso having colds. so just pop Feb cold tabs, quite good leh...

yah, quite chiak lat. now hor, if next contractor takes over, the couple have to pay extra to get the reno done. think not likely able to claim back $$$ from the 1st contractor.

Hi Wenn!!

Hey, i recommend u to go to Bugis to look for this shop for ur fu lu shou. The boss is real good and the porcelain display stuff they sell really looks good

Sheng Chuan Trading
180 The Bencoolen Street
#01-96

U know the bencoolen shopping mall that's just near OG? That's the one

I got my fu lu shou from there - 18" and cost around $118 only

Hmm, maybe i sent u a picture of my full height display
Then u can take a look and give me some ideas if any

Hi Fanyong!

Yoo, take care and hope u recover soon!

For me, i take panadol flu tablets. But have to take it when flu not serious. Once flu get serious, nothing can help liao, got to see doctor

Hi Wenn!

There is this shop at bencoolen mall run by china pple. They will tell u their porcelain stuff are very old. That makes me wander why that time cos i wanted new stuff and i am being recommended to buy old stuff!

After i went to this shop, then i realised that pple do love antiques and the boss told me the things selling at the shops there are new, but some dishonest shops will say they selling antiques

U can drop by this shop. They have many nice guan yin statues as well. All below $100. U may look for one if u need it

kk,
old = antiques mah

sometimes, dunno if really antiques. heard that during the cultural revolution, the pple will buried them to hide from the red guards. but for new porcelain, they can oso buried them mah to make the new into old... (my own logic)

we oso looking for new set. going china for 2bil's wedding in oct. ahlau said go there see got antiques or not
dun think will have altar in the house. i'm the type to drop by the temple on 1st & 15th of the month

Hi Wenn!

Wow! Ur hubby loves antiques?
I scared of antiques leh, seems spooky to me

Hey, who knows? U might get a nice set of fu lu shou from china too! And it is relatively very cheap there! My house guanyin is around S$48 and Singapore shops, after importing, may be selling at $200++.

I m back. So much problem with my neighbour on solving the toilet celing problem. Again, they have some unreasonable requests. Firstly, they finally agree to check on the installation of toilet bowl. However, if there is nothing wrong with the toilet bowl, we must compensate them. Argghhh..

Secondly, if toilet bowl is not the root, tat will be flooring. They don't want to engage HDB to do the flooring. They wannt to engage from outside cos can choose better tiles and workmanship is so called better. Bear in mind, we will have to pay 50% cos we can't get the letter from MP if we r not engaging HDB contractor.. I really can't believe that they r seizing the chance to beautify their toilet at our expense. Again, it proves my theory that they ve been plotting on us. Why would somebody renovate the whole house (18yrs old flat) but not the toilet??? I think they r waiting for the chance to exploit any neighbour below. In this case, it is me lor.

I m considering the last resort which is doing grouting. heh heh... Patrick is so kind, he said he can do for us at FOC. If our next discussion failed, I will get Patrick to do grouting and need not see my neighbour's face again.

HI obaesom,
Patrick's mobile is 96792934 and email: [email protected]

Fanyong,
Hope u r feeling better now. Do take care. Avoid softdrink and coldstuff.

Wenn,
Wow liao, so poor thing. I would never give so much $$$ to my contractor.

KK,
Care to share your design with me?? Email me lah.

So difference from your hubbies, My bf hates old things. I love antique and old things but he always say got "Gong Tao" (Black magic) or used by dead people... probably will bring spirit to house etc. Sometimes, i feel that he is like an old man... Really ah peh

Meeting Patrick and Malcom this weekend to do some onsite measurement at my new flat. Just got keys today.

Aeina, what is grouting?

Hi Aeina,

Sure! can share my design with u. It is a design drawn by Malcolm. Hmmm, i have placed glass doors for the lower portion and glass partition in the middle portion, but it is not reflected in the picture cos i drew in these things by hand

Patrick and his carpenter came last nite to take final measurements. He left the laminate catalogue with us, so i was confused over what color to choose for the cabinet. We were told that we can choose different color for the cabinet, as well as the two "pillars". After looking here and there, we were back to the original colors we decided

This weekend or monday will meet up with Patrick again to see the glass catalogue to see what design we can put on the glass partition

Oh, i think Wenn's hubby loves antiques a lot
Actually i am like ur hubby leh! I dislike old stuff like antiques and afraid of spooky stuff too!

Hi beayhugs,

All the best for ur reno! And hope u will enjoy the whole process

hi kk & aeina,
erm, i din know he likes antiques leh
think either he misses his childhood home in china (those hakka ge-lou) or he's caught up in decorating the house liao

i oso not very into antiques although i like nice porcelain wares. anyway, i still have a last say on whether to put or not cos my cabinets are open types, no glass door... scared put too many stuffs, i have to clean liao siao!

yesterday went down to spot check again. my black galaxy granite kitchen top is in & plumbing works all done. but a bit regret, chose the kitchen cabinet handles that protruded out a bit too much liao... but still looks ok lah...

Hi Wenn!

Haha, i won't be surprised that ur hubby being nostalgic, will go for antiques
My hubby changes interests sometimes. At one time u see him crazy over jigsaw puzzles. At another time u see him crazy over other things. Probably at this stage, ur hubby is obssessed with house deco too

I scared if i put too many fragile items on open shelves, somebody might knock into them and break them
so i have to be very careful with my fu lu shou

Same as me! I selected handles which are too large
In fact i got a shock of my life when i saw them. Didn't expect they turned out so much different from what i saw from catalogue

hi kk,
ic ic... anyway, good that our hubby has some interests.. better than having them lazing around the house

yesterday evening was at compasspoint... went to look at the osim iecologi cleaner demo... hubby keen to get 1 cos he scared that i slipped on wet floor & crack my ribs again...

aiyah, got minor accident b4 CNY lor... he likes to mop the floor with a lot of water while i try to squeeze as much water out of the mop as possible... i din realised that the floor was still very wet & slipped when i got up from sofa to answer phone. hit my ribs on the back of another sofa... wah! really painful
thankfully, it healed in 8 weeks...

Dear Max,

Is your flat loacted in SengKang or Punggol areas?? Are u ussing Homogeneous for your flooring?:}

AP

I'm very interested to meet up with Patrick after hearing so much. Would appreciate if you could send me his contact number where I may reach him, as well as to share with me, his quotation.. Thanks

My email address is [email protected]

Me back. Took a day leave on Friday. Below will explain what is grouting oh. http://www.bestcoat.com.sg/sol_pressure_grouting.php

In layman term, a liquid chemical is pumped into the ceiling. Upon contact with air, the liquid will solify and fill up all the cracks. Therefore, if the cracks are too big, it will fill up all cracks and even piping holes. hee hee... i like that idea. In conclusion, fill up big cracks and big holes, causing neighbour's house on top to flood. *the devil in me is out again*

Ai yoh, my bf's only hobby is playing computer games. Sometimes, he can play until no need to eat or sleep.

Hi Ap,
I think max house is in town area. hee hee.. can't remember redhill, queentowns or so.
I m using homogenous tiles too.

Went to my flat yesterday.... The homo floor tiles that I have chosen arrived in my house but got running tones.....so I rejected the tiles. Now have to go source for tiles again... Aeina, where did u get ur homo tiles from?

Patrick is very good.... His tiler and him showed us the running tone tiles before they start laying so at least we can reject the tiles. My house light box is done liao...but then becos of the light box the ceiling light (suppose at the centre one) becomes not at centre liao cos my light box is quite wide on one side... I ask him to help me shift the ceiling light at the living room to the centre.. he agreed even though he not doing elect work for me...He also offered to shift the ceiling light in one of my rooms to make it centralised too....actually I didnt notice the one in the room till he pointed it out...This is where good service comes in.
..Yest also give him the measurements of the fridge (thinking of buying the toshiba plasma fridge).... Now I worry my kitchen cabinet not long enough to put my things.... My MIL just bought many cutlery, pots, pans, keetle....

BTW, I got the terms and conditions of the contract yest liao....

Check with u all, for curtains, did u do two layers or one layer? normally for curtain rod, how much more allowance (beyond the window width) shld I consider when buying? Is there anywhere that sell nice and cheap curtains?

Hi fanyong,
happened to mine too but mine is the kitchen wall tiles. After they have laid a few pieces, they realise the colour run. I didn't even get to see it and they sent it back. the tiler is perfectionist. he said very ugly. ha ha... good to have a perfectionish. nway, i went to few shops to get my tiles so i also cant' remember which is for which. u can ask patrick to bring u around.

I only plan to have one layer of curtain. More layer means more to wash.. lazy people lah. I ve no idea abt the allowance cos my brother in law working in spotlight so he got his friend to install the rod for us. All we need to do is get ready made curtain or we can custom made. at the moment, we r not staying in yet so didn't make any.

hi aeina,
thanks for the grouting explanation

now i understand...

hi fanyong,
we bought wrought iron curtain rods from spotlight. intend to have 1 layer only. not sure where got cheap & nice curtains. but i know that spotlight & ikea now having sale on curtains. i intend to source for more curtains when i'm on holiday in oct. anyway, our rods looked like this.

109758.jpg

Hi aeina,

Actually I also very lazy... if two layers have to do more washing..... can put curtains into washing machine to wash ornot?

Hi wenn,

Your window very interesting leh... at the corner one... also the shelf beside the window, is there a false wall? or the actual wall is hacked into a niche to create the shelves?

Do u gals like the button type curtains? u know the ones with huge buttons on top....is it going to be v troublesome in putting up the curtains? which type is the easiest to put up?Me v lazy one...

hi fanyong,
yup, got this corner style window in 3 of my rooms... can't do normal sliding grilles. have to be casement grilles. nope, that area with shelf is actually a recess area.

haiyah, dunno what's with these HDB architects! design all the recess areas which is included in part of the total floor area! my shelf depth very short. can only put ornamental items or novels and not large books...

yup, seen those curtains b4. might be getting those & i like those with the big round metal rings. i think the button types easier to put up... ask ur hubby to help u change curtains then

Hi Wenn,
I m thinking of using the button one or better still if i can get the velcro type. hee hee.. just stick on. :P Very lazy me indeed. Some curtains can wash in machine and some can't. It will all depend on the fabric type.

Hi Wenn,
I agree with u. Nowadays, the new flat getting smaller. more expensive and in odd shape.

U gals have any idea where i can order pots of plants and get them deliver to my house huh?? Not buying soon but planning to in future.

Hi Ladies!

My living room curtain is 2 layered. Yah, i do agree. Lots of washing to do. So for last year till this year, we only washed once, and that's for CNY this year!

We made the curtains at a neighbourhood shop at Tampines. Cost us around $900 for the whole house. We are able to wash them using washing machine and nothing is changed. At least the quality is assured at the price we are paying!

I dun like the curtains at Ikea cos on touching the cloth, they dun seem to be at a good quality. Or put it this way, for the price we are paying at ikea, we dun get as good quality as outside shops. So be careful when u shop for curtains at ikea lor

Oh, btw, mine is velcro type. Yah, hubby take down and put up the curtain when it is washing time

hey gers,
looks like we prefer curtains more than blinds

kk, where's the shop at Tampines ah? maybe when i'm free will go there to kpo...
109932.gif

most likely, i will get those ready-made ones & alter from there....

sorry but what is velcro type curtains? How do we know if the curtain can be washed in washing machine or not (What kind of material of curtain can be washed?)? Thanks for the advice...

kk, I think $900 is quite reasonable.... wat material is ur curtain?

Hi AP,

My flat is at queenstown area.. strathmore ave to be exact.
ya, i am using homogenous tiles for the living and 3 bedrooms.

Hi Wenn!

I need to ask my hubby whether he can remember the street number or not. Cos i totally no idea liao

Hi Fanyong!

If i am right, velcro refers to those stick-on type of material at end of curtains. U know there is this button type one u all mentioning abt earlier on? I just replace the buttons with velcro
U know there was one time when shoes come with velcro? Children's shoes come with velcro
Those which they just paste over one side to another without having to tie shoelaces

My material is those normal curtain cloth type. Normally if u drop by those neighbourhood cloth shops should be able to see such material for making curtains

Perhaps u take a look at http://photos.yahoo.com/kerenelu into the folder "Messy House". U may be able to catch a glimpse of my curtains

Hi kk,
ok, thanks!

Supposed to handover yesterday but found that my TV antennae not working. Now have to call SCV to come & troubleshoot.

Oso, buay song with the plumber. As our kitchen sink pipe is leaking, Patrick got him in to fix it yesterday. Stupid idiot dripped some silicon on my granite kitchen top!! I've got paper towels there, why can't he use those to place the silicon tube on
110186.gif

Now, there's 1 blurry patch about 6cm next to the sink
110187.gif
Dun think Patrick will change for me... sian...
Sorry, i had to gripe...

Oso saw a couple of small small stalactites hanging from 1 of the pipes in my MBR bathroom. Din see that b4. Patrick inspected it & said that it's dried cement. So we have to monitor lor. If really dripped water, have to call him in liao... sian... why now then this happens...

Hi KK,
me keen to know too. Will be good to compare price with the clementi shop that i like. heeh..

Hi Wenn,
AI yoh, u never complain to patrick? Ask him for a chemical wash that can clean it away oh. He gave me a bottle of polish spray to shine my solid top.

Alamak, i hope u r not as suay as me. my toilet ceiling leaks on the 2nd chemical wash before the handover. Hope it is dried cement.

Last but not least, do share your house pics with me when u ve updated it.

Aeina,
I sulked long enough since last nite for hubby to call up patrick to complain. He told Patrick to polish it since it's the plumber's fault & Patrick agreed
Sigh, my hubby too easy-going at times.

Hmm, so the cement drip might be caused by the acid wash? They will acid-wash the ceiling meh? Anyway, since Patrick broke it off, it should be dried.

Hee hee.. that's good. Me and my hubby pester Patrick all the time. Even when we can't remove the sticker on our pot, we asked him for suggestion. ha ha.. unbelievable, rite?

Don't think so lah. Our house is washed by an indian worker. he happened to spray water onto the toilet ceiling and ceiling happened to leak at same time. it was yellowish water and we saw it.

Hi kk,

Thanks for the explanation... Just went to ikea just now... think I will buy the normal curtains that is easy to hang one..... also the one that can be placed in the washing machine for washing... me very lazy one.

My toilet pipe also a bit leaking at the WC... so that time my hubyy switch off the red colour cache to stop the leaking.... now the workers use my MBR toilet liao cos the red cacahe is off they cant flush the common toilet..my toilets very dirty... Patrick say will solve the leaking prob at later stage... I dun mind... just hope that the workers dun place cement at the floor trap and create choke there can liao... cos that is my worst fear.

hi aeina,
ic ic... anyway, Patrick just confirmed that it's caused by silicon. so he's getting the granite pple to come down on saturday to polish

hi fan,
hee hee, u on leave today?
oh, my MBR toilet no water, the workers oso used it
110293.gif
my room really smelled. had to fetch water from kitchen to flush it.

anyway, there was cement left in the toilet bowl courtesy of HDB construction. hubby kept chasing Patrick to pour some acid to remove the cement.
finally was done last sat...