HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

anhl

hey sunsetbay,

i meant to say also that i like your feature wall in your living room. got the raw and classy look.
btw, the lines, are those aluminium strips? how is it being put in?

sugarbabe

hi gals, may I ask roughly Patrick's guys take hw long to complete the kitchen top n flooring for 2 bedrooms?? me onli doing kitchen n flooring for my hse..

bearyhugs

Wenn, thanks. I've been to Ho Kee to see already. Did see the one with the small rubbish chute but price a little too high end. Heh, I'm staying at Balestier and I don't even know the existence of Hon Kheng that u mentioned. Must go and check out prices too.

So excited. Reno finally started today. First day Kai Gong today. Will share pics with you guys once it's done up.

sugarbabe, why don't u give Patrick a call?

ssb

Hi Angie,

the lines are made of stainless steel U-bracket. they cut a groove onto the wall & insert the strip into it. maybe the pic cant shown clearly bt it formed a straight line metal groove along the wall.

aeina

Wow.. long time no see. glad to see that this thread is still so active.

Sigh.. not so good for me. My neighbour has once again postponed the rectification of their toilet floor. I would still ve to bear with the leaking. sigh...

As for my HOOD, i went to the website and my model is not there anymore. heh heh.. think they took it away. If my memory didn't fail me, it is EF-500. Remember not to buy that.

Sugarbabe,
Hee hee.. Personally, i find patrick very nice to talk to. And he is very soft-spoken. Frankly, i can't tolerate those Ah beng designer or contractor who talk loud loud.

Bearyhug,
U can try looking for your sink with Nah Wah. I bought my sink there. The taps are pretty good too.

4 Changi South Lane
#01-02 Nan Wah Building
Singapore 609601
Tel: .6545 4404 / 6546 0847
Fax: 6546 2081
IMM Showroom
2 Jurong East Street 21
#03-05 IMM Building
Singapore 329898
Tel: .6566 9688
Fax: 6567 0082

wenn

Aeina,
ur neighbour din give any reasons for postponing the rectification? so inconsiderate of them!

caicai

hi ppl

i am interested in platform bed , but was wondering if any1 of you did this ?
roughly , what is the cost of a platform bed eh ?

bearyhugs

Thanks Aeina for the contact of the sink.
Umm... Changni seems a bit far leh. Will try to pop by if I can.

Jus discussed abt the electrical wiring positions and lighting points over the weekend. Didn't know there were so many thousand things to decide. Phew... How many light points do u guys have in the hse?

Hi Wenn, rem that u gave me a contact to buy cheap electronic goods at Lion City right? I went down to that place to get quotation for all the models that I've wanted. Price is indeed cheaper than mega discount but I found another place that quote even lower. Min Sheng at Toa Payoh. Have you heard of that place?

norafas

I'm new here and wld like to get help from all of u out der!!
I'm going to renovate my 4rm resale flat soon and i'm tight on budget... Read abt ur reno wif Patrick frm Ho Bee... Could anyone pls email me ur quotations??

Hi aeina,
would really love to see pics of ur house... do you mind email dem to me.. n also a copy of ur quotation??
Appreciate everyone's help.

wenn

hi bearyhugs,
not me leh... it's aeina who provided the contact

besides minsheng, i've oso heard of Goh Ah Bee at Hougang... i passed by the shop last sat which is near to Kovan hawker centre...

aeina

Hi Norafas,
U got mail. Will leave other to send u their quotation cos my quotation is old quote oh. Probably changes now.

Hi Bearyhug,
It is me who gives the contact. Heard min sheng is quite good oh. Nan Wah has a branch in IMM.

As for wiring points, it is good to be kiasu. have as many electrical points oh. I have many light points too. Will need proper planning and site visit to confirm the points u want. heh heh.. patrick is very easy going.. u can ask him for extra points one lah.

Wenn,
My neighbour didn't give reason. sigh.. i think i m going to be those pyscho neighbour soon. can't tolerate the dirty toilet with yellow, dark brown stains any longer. How r u?? how many mths liao??

aeina

Hi Norafas,
U got mail. Will leave other to send u their quotation cos my quotation is old quote oh. Probably changes now.

Hi Bearyhug,
It is me who gives the contact. Heard min sheng is quite good oh. Nan Wah has a branch in IMM.

As for wiring points, it is good to be kiasu. have as many electrical points oh. I have many light points too. Will need proper planning and site visit to confirm the points u want. heh heh.. patrick is very easy going.. u can ask him for extra points one lah.

Wenn,
My neighbour didn't give reason. sigh.. i think i m going to be those pyscho neighbour soon. can't tolerate the dirty toilet with yellow, dark brown stains any longer. How r u?? how many mths liao??

bearyhugs

Ok... Thanks Aeina,
Sorry I got it mixed up. Thought it was Wenn. So u've heard of Min Sheng too. But I read from some other threads that they are reputable for not delivering goods on time and sometime may not deliver at all till months later. So a bit scared scared.

Re the electrical points, of course, it's good to have many lah but price wise, it can add up to quite a bit for all that shifting and installation. U mean, after finalizing lighting pts with Patrick, he can still add in according to our wishes? But I do agree that he's been very honest to us as we thought all the while the stainless steel backing for our kitchen was only behind the hob and hood (vertical), but Patrick told us he can give us the entire backing at no additional costs after reviewing the contract. If not, we still blur blur thinking that ours was jus a small piece.

Wenn, congrats! So how r u coping?

wenn

Aeina,
ic ic... that's quite irresponsible of them
165995.gif
they should put themselves in ur shoes... would they want to have a leaky ceiling?!?! glad that patrick gave u a longer s/s backing. we did change 1 of our heater points to normal power socket during the touch-up phase. he just bill us accordingly lor. my electrical portion is about 1k+.

i'm in my 4th month liao... 2nd trimester... lesser nausea & acidic stomach

Bearyhugs,
yah, i read up some of the threads here... i din really go to those shops listed as quite lazy to look for them :p end up, we got our fridge & washing machine from audio house sale.

thanks! i'm coping better now... lesser nausea... but my appetite isn't improving though.... :p

jacee

I've heard so much about the quality of Patrick's work on this thread and I must say it's very impressive. So far, I've only spoken to ID firms and though our reno needs are quite simple (at least to us), their quotes are minimum $35K!

From your own experience, does Patrick help in the design aspect? Cos we've got quite a good idea of what we want but we still need some advice to make sure we're on the right track.

Hi sunsetbay, my new place is a 5-I resale flat and the floor area is similar to yours. Do you mind sharing your quotation with me?

Hi aeina, was reading in the previous posts that you've compiled a super list of reno tips. Can I have a copy?

My email add is [email protected] and look forward to hearing from you all!

aeina

Hi Wenn,
Do take care. Can u start eating "pok" (tonic)?? Do try to eat more oh. I think by 5th mth, your condition should improve.

Sigh..i give up on my neighbour. My colleague was telling me that his neighbour has been throwing rubbish into the house including used sanitary pad. He stayed in an EC and got a balcony. After using CCTV to tape and sued the neighbour, the neighbour still continue throwing things and even stretch his car. I m consoling myself that my neighbour is not as bad as his.

Hi Bearyhug,
That's nice of Patrick. He also gave me a pc of stainless steel backing but small pc. he is very chin cai.. sometimes, i will tease him if it is free etc and he will say "ok lor". hee hee.. As for light point, after finalisation, i don't think u can add in. However, after finalisation, we did ask him to reposition an electrical point for us and he didn't charge us extra. To tell u the truth, i still owe him $$$ becos my leaking ceiling not fixed. He is kind to offer us not to pay him in full until ceiling problem is fixed.

Hi Norafas, Jacee and Ap99,
U got mail. The reno tips will serve as good guideline but not 100% accurate. have loads of fun.

jacee

hi aeina

thanks for your tips! you must have spent quite a bit of time compiling all this info.

I'm currently doing up a little list of my own, putting together tips here and there from our forum "experts". find your sections on painting and reno procedure + checklist very useful. will definitely add them to my list!

many thanks!

bearyhugs

Hi aenia,
Thanks. Jus hoped that my reno would be completed smoothly. Quite excited to see the final outcome of our very own design too. Will share pics with u guys once it's done up.

jacee

if someone has got a quote from Patrick recently, I would appreciate if they can email me a copy. I hope to have an idea of his pricing before giving him a call.

many thanks in advance!

dannykang

Hi aeina,

Can I have a copy of ur reno tips n pics too as 1st time homeowner and going to get keys liao but still blur with reno thgs.

thanks alot.

aeina

HI tupper mum,
Didn't ve yr email add oh.

Hi Kmkl and Danny,
U got mail.

Hi Bearyhug,
I m so happy for u.

The rest,
I learnt a new tip from the repairman of my stainless steel hood. U can buy WD-40 spray and sprayed onto the stainless steel backing or hood or hob to further protection. It is easier to clean after cooking. In addition, doesn't leave finger print and oil stain. The repairman said it is good for other metal things too. I ve sprayed onto my hood and true enuff, it doesn't leave my finger marks on it. More shiny on the stainless steel back and easy to clean too. I also sprayed it onto my shower screen frame to prevent rust. hee hee
Hope it will be useful for u all too.

bearyhugs

Hi aeina,
Thanks. Jus went to check over the weekend. Electrical works more or less done including air con trunking too. Quite fast.
So what's the brand of WD-40 that u've mentioned? N I see that your hood had been repaired. I was thinking of getting the EF hood & hob actually when we went to this bellari shop at jalan besar and their package deal of $799 (900 suction hood + tempered glass hob + sink - Italy made) is quite reasonably cheap too. Anyone of you heard good or bad comments abt this brand?

Also went down to Ho Kee and Song Cho to take a look at their kitchen accessories. Ho Kee's material wise seems to be of a lower grade but their prices is really cheaper by half of Song Cho with no lifetime warranty. Diff choice here.

aeina

Sweet(cotton candy) and Bearyhug,

Excalibur is rite. It is a brand. U can get it from provision shop, hardware shop.. any shops that sell household items.

Bearyhug,
I never heard of bellari oh. u can check on post forum and see if there is comment on that. As for stainless steel product, i bought fr both song cho and ho kee. Those who frequently contact with water will be fr song cho. Those hidden in cabinet, not frequently contact with water will be from HO Kee.

wenn

I once used WD-40 to kill off aphids (white insects) on my money plant in office
The oil leaves a coating that starves off oxygen. Within the next 5 mins, have to quickly wipe off the WD-40 from the leaves or else they will turn black. Quite a gilah idea hor

bearyhugs

Bellari is located at 117, veerasamy road, Jalan Besar. Contact no: 62963455. If u pop by and find it good, pls let me know your comments. Thanks.

Aeina, I've checked the forum already. Not much comments on Bellari though one or two suspected that it might not be made from Italy becos of its cheap pricing. Heh, I was thinking likewise for the kitchen accessories (a mix from Song cho and Ho Kee too) - can save money. Song cho is quite ex esp for the tall ladder unit baskets.

wenn

Aeina,
Some info for u

http://www.straitstimes.com.sg/singapore/story/0,4386,276967,00.html?

Leaks: Upper-floor unit liable under planned Bill

A PARLIAMENTARY committee reviewing a proposed building management law has accepted a suggestion to make apartment owners liable if there are leaks in the ceiling of the unit below theirs.

This means that, if the Bill is passed by Parliament, the owner of the upper floor unit who doesn't want to pay for repairs will have to prove that he is not responsible for the leak, because he is presumed to be at fault.

Currently, the two owners usually split the repair cost, although there have been many cases where the upstairs unit has refused to pay, said Dr Teo Ho Pin, one of the nine committee members.

The amendment is one of 27 recommended by the Select Committee set up in April to hear suggestions from the public and industry on the Building Maintenance and Management Bill introduced in Parliament in February.

Over 60 parties put in submissions to the committee.

A total of 57 written suggestions were received, and the committee also heard from 15 industry representatives.

Other recommendations made by the committee included giving developers a three-month grace period from the issue of Temporary Occupation Permit to hand over sold units to buyers.

The committee threw out a suggestion to do away with a two-tier management corporation (MC) system.

Under this system, owners of mixed-use developments, such as malls with homes, can form a 'top-tier' MC for areas common to all and 'subsidiary' MCs for their separate areas.

Concerns expressed by industry representatives included the difficulty of finding office bearers for the main and sub-MCs, and the rise in maintenance cost.

However, the committee felt that this system gave greater flexibility to different groups to make their own decisions without being frustrated by other groups which might not share their interests.

For instance, this system would ensure less conflict over upgrading plans that benefit only one section, as each MC would have its own maintenance fund.

The Select Committee comprises Parliament Speaker Abdullah Tarmugi, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan, Associate Professor Koo Tsai Kee, Mr Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Dr Teo Ho Pin, Miss Indranee Rajah, Madam Cynthia Phua, Opposition MP Low Thia Khiang and Nominated MP Fang Ai Lian.

It presented its report to Parliament on Thursday approval.

Copies of the report are available from Mica Building, 140 Hill Street, Singapore 179369, and at www.parliament.gov.sg

cutie_elmo

My husband & I are keen to engage Ho Bee for our reno work. However, we r quite concern with their workmanship as we have not seen any of their work. Can anyone please advise on their workmanship especially tiles laying for bathroom walls & floors? Thanks in advance!!!

aeina

Hi wenn,
just saw yr post msg. wow liao.. my neighbour really lucky. my problem finally settled last week. nitemare is over. goodie. Patrick and his men came down to fix everything for me. now everything is nice nice. so happy. My bf said Patrick is so busy oh. Seem like his biz is very good. I was told Malcolm was so busy with his projects till got no time to draw. they r thinking of engaging another interior designer to draw. going to engage Malcolm's teacher.

Hi Elmo cutie,
rest assured the tiling work is excellent. everybody comes to my house also commented the tiling work is very very good and impressive. can see the difference oh. Drop me an email, i will send u the pics link of my house.

wenn

hi aeina,
So glad to hear that ur bathroom is finally fixed!

No wonder Patrick din respond to my sis' email for quotation amendment lah... Anyway, I told my sis to get keys 1st b4 contacting Patrick again...

aeina

Hi Wenn,
Thank u so much. I m so glad. Now can plan for house warming oh. hee hee... no more dirty water.. no more foul smell.

How are u?? how's everyone ??

bearyhugs

Glad to see u familiar names back here. My reno is into it's third week already. I must say Patrick's really been very accomodating to our requests... So far, very satisfied with his workmanship too. Tiling works just done now waiting for parquet only. Will also post pics once it's done up.

Excited to see our carpentary works soon...
Now go to start choosing wall colours so pretty confused over what colours to choose leh! So many thousand and one colours!

Also heard that Malcom is more or less in charge of handling projects at Fernvale since the flats there are more or less premium flats so maily only carpentary works.

paulinelau

Hi Aeina,

Can I have a copy of your reno tips? By the way, why is it that MP is involved when you and your neighbour agrees to let HDB contractor take up the job? (Sorry, a bit out of thread cos just join the forum).

sashamama

Dear gals:

Mi looking for trusted contractors/IDs for my EA in Punggol! Glad to have learnt quite a bit from ur postings here!

Would be checking Ho Bee out. How do i go abt doing that? heh..

Would appreciate quotes and pix as well, esp aeina's reno tips! hehe..

Dear Bearyhugs:

Glad to see you here! Thx for ur advice on Joop! Indeed there're -ve comments abt them.. Anyway, mi & FH gonna shortlist another 5-10 more IDs and contractors b4 we decide!

CHEERS!!!

bearyhugs

Hi Sasha,
Surprised to see you here!
How have u been lately? Anyway, I can email you my quotation but it's not that accurate becos we made quite a no. of changes before we finally signed the contract. My reno now into its first month. Still waiting for parquet to be laid in bedrooms. By the way, I just went down to Whye Hoe's shop last sat and asked if you had confirmed the custom made rings with them, but he didn't seem to rem u leh.

sashamama

Dear Bearyhugs:

Would appreciate your quotation!
hehe..
As for Whye How, after our first appt where we confirmed designs, we were asked to go back after abt 2 weeks to try the size and also to re-discuss our ring designs, which we modified again. Til now, it's been a month and they yet to contact us! Guess our rings quite difficult to make? We're waiting for them to contact us! Dun wanna call and rush them lo.. hehe..
The next time you go, you can say that we're the couple who want the initials 'R' and 'M' carved into our wedding bands and casted in yellow gold. And it's not a complete circle, there's a gap in the ring, right between the two initials. And the initials can only be seen if you put the rings together side by side! hehe.. Will share pix when our bands are done!

Thank you so much once again for ur help and advice so far.. hehe..

sashamama

Dear Gals:

Just to share my experience of being CONNED, and for your benefit¡­

1) You are approached by a teenager along Orchard Road and are asked to do a survey. You¡¯d be approached especially if you look like foreigners. In the survey, if you indicate that you and your partner are above 25, have combined salary of $5000, and own credit card/s, you¡¯d be entitled to a scratch-and-win lucky draw.

2) For the lucky draw, the top prize is a free 7N accomodation, and other prizes are dining/shopping vouchers from $10-$60 thereabouts. The teenager would jump in joy saying how lucky you are, as he¡¯d be able to get commission of up to $150 if you go and collect your prize.

3) He brings you to his manager, who congratulates you, then asks that you go to a travel exhibition-fair-talk-thingy down Orchard Rd (Faber House near OG, or anywhere else). If you stay for at least 60-80mins, you¡¯d get your gifts and the teenager would get his commission.

4) So off you go, out of pity for the boy and curiosity to check out the fair, esp when you know you¡¯d have travel plans in the coming years, and of course, to get your prizes. You¡¯re escorted to the office and wait at the recep.

5) You¡¯d be asked to show ur ICs to verify ur ages, ur details would be taken down. Interestingly, there¡¯s a lucky draw. There¡¯d be a few sets of 4 digits at the counter, and if your credit card¡¯s last 4 digits match, you¡¯d win shopping vouchers. This is when you¡¯d take out all your credit cards, and they can take the chance to verify that you do have credit cards.

6) Then, another attractive consultant would take over from the teenager and bring you into another room. Before you step in, you¡¯d be asked to switch off your hps, not even to silent modes. You enter quite a big room with many small round tables and chairs. You sit at one with your consultant, who sits you through a survey to see ur travel preferences and spending power so they¡¯d take note and offer you a package you¡¯d find affordable and attractive.

7) They¡¯d show you some cut-out pictures and floor plans of suites you¡¯d be getting if you purchase their membership package. There won¡¯t be concrete black & white info on the profile of their company. There¡¯d be a manager who¡¯d drop by every now and then especially when the consultant has difficulty convincing you. As the consultant and manager talk, they¡¯d write the info down on paper, explaining to you the supposed savings if you sign up their travel packages.

8) Their packages are at least $10k. They also offer trial membership at $3k or so, with a Phuket trip or other freebies. They would sell the system to you and talk for hours. When you feel that the deal is good and you sign, a bell will ring and everyone there would clap and welcome you into the club. You are then asked to pay. They¡¯d even offer great discounts and 0% interest free instalments. You even get a free welcome gift like a dvd player.

9) (a) You leave thinking you got a good deal, then try to book your holidays. Only to realise that you can¡¯t get your holidays booked even if you¡¯re 6-8months early. Or your accomodation is only 3 star, not 4/5 star. You want to cancel your membership as you don¡¯t really have a chance to use it and do not have that much leave to clear, but they do not allow as you¡¯re bound by the contract. They threaten to sue you if you breach the contract. You¡¯re trapped and go on paying the membership, as well as yearly maintenance fees of a few hundred sing dollars at least. Though they promise to be able to buy the package over from you and sell it, they¡¯d be unable to as there¡¯re too many conned people who wanna sell, but no one who wanna buy.

(b) You leave having doubts, and surf the net for more information. And realise you¡¯re conned by a timeshare company. Luckily, if you terminate within 3 working days, as stipulated by Singapore laws, you will be refunded. Get ready to be firm as they try to talk you out of a cancellation. Or they try to drag past the 3 days.

I have been conned to this stage and after surfing the net for more information, realised that I¡¯ve fallen for a scam by timeshare companies. I¡¯m lucky that I find out about this within 3 days of signing, so I can get a full refund. I¡¯d be going down tomorrow and expect a showdown. Heard that they¡¯d sit you through hours, trying to find excuses like the person in charge is not around, or offer other packages, to make you stay in the programme. Mi & fiance will remain firm tomorrow and create a big hoo-ha if necessary.

I am really very upset to go through this. But I¡¯m concerned that we, Singaporeans, be united and warn one another against this. Let¡¯s put an end to this and protect our fellowmen and tourists. I intend to go up to those taking surveys on Orchard road, to warn them on the spot. Touting is illegal in Singapore anyway! We need to boost our tourism too! How can we allow these people with ill-intentions spoil our clean and lawful image? Tourists who are conned can get a refund from Singapore Tourism Board (STB) though.

I hope that more people would be forewarned against these scams. This message is prepared to bring more awareness to as many people as poss. With such an awareness, you would not be curious to find out more about their travel talks, neither would you and your loved ones go through losing thousands and tens of thousands paying for nothing but heartache and constant disturbing calls. (They¡¯d keep calling to ask you to upgrade your package, etc.)

Have attached related websites for those who¡¯d like to find out more, and are looking for avenues for the possibility to get a refund or take legal action. Please refer if you have a few minutes.
i) http://www.geocities.com/hcspore03/
ii) http://www.voy.com/161450/
iii) http://www.petitiononline.com/hcspore3/

May we enjoy affordable holidays within our own means, without headaches and heartaches.
DO NOT be conned anymore.
Let¡¯s boycott these surveyors and cold-callers and some who got your numbers through asking their current members.

All the best!
Sashamama

(P/S: Feel free to copy my message and forward as emails to your friends! Argh! We gotta unite and put a stop to this!)