HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

Hi Aeina,

Wenn, must take care leh.
As for bags and shoes, maybe you can try putting that hippo thing somewhere near?

bearyhugs

Wenn, your HB must be more than happy to do household chores for u. Get him to clean the shoes lah. This is probably the best time that our HBs would gladly do hsework for us without complaining. : >

Skywolf, my hse is also under the resort style concept. Haven't really taken pics yet; only a few blurred ones taken using hp. Will share with you guys once done up.

Hi pauline, so u went down to the hse at Jurong? I heard from patrick that he was doing one hse that area but wasn't sure which one was that.

Hi Aeina, so is your toilet leaking problem settled already?

hi bearyhugs...

can't wait to see your house photo....: )

Take Care...

Hi Wenn...
Take care yourself and stay happy !

wenn

hi skywolf,
u made ur way here liao ah?

so where is ur new flat?

hi bearyhugs,
hee hee, my hubby is busy vacuuming & mopping the floor every weekend ah! din realised that my flat faces the NE monsoon.... very windy & dusty
so have to mop or else both of us will be walking around with black feet :p

hi 2005,
Thanks for ur kind thots!

Hi bearyhugs,

Will wait for yours.

Hi Wenn,

No lah, haven't even ROM yet. But high chance we're gettnig resale lor. The rest all so ulu places, not convenient...

bearyhugs

Hi skywolf,
So u haven't gotten your flat? Where do you intend to get then? I jus heard news today that they are starting the LRT soon at Punggol and sengkang right? So these places weren't be so inconvenient anymore. But I would still prefer somewhere more central. That's why we jumped at the chance of balloting at mature estate. That's how we got our current flat, though high price to pay.

audiobean

Heard you guys talking so much good things about Ho Bee... Me sourcing for id/contractor now, quite exhausted... Anyone can share with me your quotation from Ho Bee? Thanks a million...

Hi bearyhugs,

FH dun like SK, and we are ok with Pgl. But he said 4 rm is out coz macham like his current parent's old 3 rm size. So we are thinking, if take a new 5 rm unit, might as well get one with more space (those in mature estates) since taxes pay the same. Haha. I'm looking at pasir ris. I live in Tampines, and when we have children, my parents are willing to help look after. I dun want to wake up at 5am to prepare stuff ah...

shimaro

Hi wenn,

r u still here? I saw your kitchen pic..looks gd....I like your layout. But unable to persuade my FH to place hood and sink in a L-shape layout like u...as he think is too close due to safety issue...Can u kindly share with me your original floor plan so tat I can convince to him that the layout like that is alright. Cos he think tat your kitchen width is bigger than ours after I saw him the kitchen pic. my email add [email protected]

wenn

hi shimaro,
can u gimme some time? i need to look for original plan cos my scanned copy was previously re-sized. so can't see the measurements in detail

ssb

harlo guys,

i just found out one of the area on my laminating flooring warping out. wonder patrick can do anything to it or nt? although it cant tell fm visual but step over it i can feel the air inside.

aeina

Hi ssb,
Wow... yr reno is later than mine alreayd warping out? Call Patrick up oh. i think he can do something abt it. What brand of laminate did u use????

bearyhugs

Hi sunsetbay,
Yeah, agree with aeina. Thought your reno was jus recently completed? Does your laminate come with warranty or something? Better to call him to check, but he quite busy these days leh.

My hse still not completed yet. Hope to handover by next week if possible. But quite happy with the workmanship so far. Guess if you don't rush them, they should be able to produce quality stuff.

aeina

Hi Bearyhug,
agree with u. In fact, i believe if u rush any other contractors, they will also produce shabby work or poorer workmanship. Me is also very happy with my house's workmanship.

Do remember to share yr pics with us when ready. Can't wait oh.

ssb

hi aeina,

ya, my reno was completed on last july. i cant rembr the brand, it's a rough surface with water resistant type. it's not just the hollow feeling, it's the bulging between two laminating slacks, it only when i step over it, the portion will sucken down then pop up again, it's like stepping on jumping board.
will call patrick when i spot more detects before the 1yr warranty period.

242790.gif

aeina

Oh i see.. for laminate flooring, the supplier offers 10yrs warranty. Of course, Patrick has offered us 5 yrs warranty so i think should be ok for u to call him up to look at it.

aeina

Sunsetbay,

Did u draw the pic yrself?? wow.. u r really good leh. hee hee.. i m very impressed with the pic.

ssb

oh! then i must get patrick to solve my prob liao but not at the moment, perhaps after CNY. ya, i anyhow draw one using paintbrush, looks mre like pri sch drawing. haha...

bearyhugs

Sunsetbay, really impressed with your drawing skills. I have no experience with laminate flooring so can't provide u with any advice. We did parquet flooring for all our bedrooms including half of the living room. Agree tat there are pros and cons for both types of flooring. Depends on how we take care and of course, some luck there too.

Aeina, will share pics with you once it's more done up.

my_rock_baby

Hi, I am new here. Will be doing renovation for my new flat this year. Big headache now (everyday looking through reno mag, surf net on information ... going to give up soon before I really go MAD).

Hi aeina, can send me your pic, tips and quotation? Wanted to know roughly how much Ho Bee is charging before calling them... tight budget
Will really appreciate.
email : [email protected]

ssb

hi rock_baby,

actually there's no harm calling Ho Bee to quote u. u can take it as a guide or comparision. nothing to loose.

waterbibi

i met up with patrick and gotten a quote from him.The price is great..but he isn't very communicative or enthusiastic at all...well at least with hubby and I.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

handydog

Amelia..i think patrick is that quiet type. But his price is quite reasonable. I met up with him previous wk too. I think he doesn't hv that many ideas, mostly come from us. So long his work & price is gd, doesn't matter. I'm still considering him in my list.

waterbibi

handydog,

Oh i see...I didn't know that.Guess husband and I are constantly surrounded by "bouncing off the walls" kind of people so we misunderstood him.
Sorry about that.

Have you seen his work yet?We are going to view his current projects before making a decision.

Who have you shortlisted if you don't mind me asking.I am also considering Impress21..

handydog

Hi Amelia,

nope hvn't seen his work, thot i shd shortlist a few b4 viewing the work. I hv asked for 8 quotes so far, so i hvn't decide my 3 shortlist yet. I didn't go to impress21, even though they seems to hv a lot of recommendations. Once I decided my 3, i let u know, won't get my keys till march, so I taking it slowly.

So whats yr budget, resale? tiring to source IDs rite, but must carefully run thru'every line of the quote. But I must say some patrick's cost are much cheaper than others....

waterbibi

Hi handydog,

Wow 8!!

We got our flat through WIS and should have our keys in feb or march.Didn't really set a budget for the reno...as long as the price is reasonable i guess.We are not looking into ID firms so reno cost(excluding furn.) shouldn't exceed 20k.

We are meeting patrick later..will let u know how it goes

waterbibi

I am back from project viewing!

Workmanship is fairly good...he gave us plenty of suggestions today.I am quite happy
but i will meet up with Impress21 b4 making the decision.

my_rock_baby

er ... just need some advice here. Normally how you u guys go around getting quotes? Do you prepare a long list of the work you need + provide the floor plan? Do you fax the info to them to do the quotation or you go down personally? Reason why I ask this because i will be in charge of the whole reno thing and don't want to kena chop by them
... got tight budget also.

waterbibi

We arrange to meet the contractor, tell him our needs, give him a copy of our floor plan then wait for the quotation.

Patrick(Ho Bee) is a contractor.

bearyhugs

Hi Handydog & Amelia,
My hse is currently under reno by Patrick (Ho Bee). Very satisfied with their workmanship so far. By the way, Amelia, care to share where u were brought to see today? No regrets choosing them so far for that kind of price but u can't rush them really in order to produce good workmanship. Patrick is a bit serious looking at times but he does crack jokes too when u get to know him longer. : >

Rock_baby,
Basically, you have to shortlist some companies that u r interested n call them up to make appts. U can then fax them your floorplan n discuss with them the design that u want for your hse n thereafter wait for quotation. Never pay any form of deposit to secure the deal before u make any decision. U can also start off by joining HBay which provides free reno consultation. They provide free reno tours too. Call Patrick for a quotation too.

Sunsetbay,
How's your warping prob?

waterbibi

Hi bearyhugs,

I was brought to one at JW and it's pretty..got a few ideas from the flat.Yah and I agree his price is very attractive.

Thanks for your reassurance!I was kind of worried initially but he opened up a little today so it's all good.

You mind sharing pics of your place?

aeina

Patrick is the quiet type and Malcolm more chatty and cheery. Malcolm is the Interior Designer. Frankly, Patrick gives suggestion unless u asked him. Nway, he still gave us very good suggestions.

Wow.. heard so much abt the JW flat, wonder how it looks like. He brought us to this punggol flat. Till now, i still think it is one of the best i ve seen even though i ve been to many other friend's flats. very condo showroom type. However, think he doesn't bring people there anymore. His habit is not to disturb the house owner when they moved in.

waterbibi

bearyhugs,

it's okay i just thought of having more ideas since i am sort of in this alone

aeina,

Now I am curious abt the punggol flat!I shall pipe Patrick for more info and suggestions haha

ssb

hi bearyhugs,

i hvnt contacted patrick on the problem. probably will contact malcolm after CNY instead. haha.. expecting patrick to be busy.

anyway, i shifted my bed so that the leg of the bed pressed against the warping section, dunno it will help after i re-position my bed again.

handydog

A bit on the high side, do u hv alot to clear? Mine removing existing kitchen, Haulage & clear debris offsite $480.

If u really want to use him, then go thru line by line & see if reasonable pricing, i think he still can negiotiate, if not just ask for overall discount.

aeina

Amelia,
The punggol showflat has plent of built-in. The master bedroom has wallpaper instead of paint. The wallpaper for master bedroom is equivalent to painting of whole house. *gulp gulp*

Dining room has built in table with bench. Like Japanese restaurant style. The owner also changed all the switches to the flat type. In addition, they ve bought a gigantic painting and hang it at the living room. Very condo showroom like. They paid a lot of attn to small details. I must say they know how to decorate it too. Sometimes, it is not only the Interior Design but the decoration part to complete the whole house. I will suggest u visited condo showroom to steal some ideas. hee hee.. that's what i did.

As for the haulage, i agree it is a bit on high side. ask for more discount. Patrick very easy to cajole. ha ha... luckily, he doesn't come into the forum else sure scolded me.

bearyhugs

Wow.. so much on the punggol flat and JW flat. Wondering if the hse owners do visit this forum. By the way, Aeina, think Patrick may visit this forum at times one leh. Don be too sure abt it. But he's still a nice chap lor. Should have gone to see this punggol flat leh.

Amelia n handydog, the haulage fees really depend on whether your flat is a 4 or 5 rm and your area as well. Heard from Patrick that this haulage fees are bidded by companies and they would be in charge of the whole estate debris clearance. Suggest that u check with your new neighbours at your estate to compare prices.

Agree with Aeina that Malcom is the more chatty one among the two. But find that got to explain some things to him few times before he can catch leh. A bit slower than Patrick. : >

waterbibi

Handydog,

Forgot to include in the email.Painting will be done by my uncle..he's a professional.
My mum's place is done by him and he does one of the best work (ie neat and even) i have ever seen...and I am not just saying that because he's my relative.He's really that great!

Aerina,

I love japanese inspired homes with lots of cherry stained wood but too bad lah my husband is not into it.I bought 2 packs of japanese chopsticks from a pasar malam recently....cheap at 2.90 per pack of 6 pairs and the floral motiffs are very elegant and modern.Check out pasar malams for great buys

I agree sometimes it's the littlest things that makes the house.Accessorising can be quite important!
I won't be doing much builts-in..i will get separates and coordinate on my own...i may have to move again so it's only practical

waterbibi

bearyhugs,

Thanks.Will discuss with Patrick again.

we just returned from the states a month ago...we're still in the process of readapting.I had completely forgotten our people here are slightly subdued
My mom has to remind me that constantly..

Rachel,

rachelcheng

Thanks alot Amelia!
Would you gals mind emailing me Patrick's quotation cos I want to make sure he is around my budget range. Thanks a zillion!

Any of you have bad experience or regret taking up his service?

rachelcheng

Hi Aeina,
can also send me the pics and quote? Thanks alot.. Having headache looking out for reliable contractor cos a fren of mine got a reali bad experience with her contractor and ended up paying 30K++ for her new 4 room flat...

waterbibi

Rachel,

email me? Is yours resale or brand new?I think that ultimately affects the price..

Aeina,

me want pics too heh!

aeina

Hi Amelia,
Agree that Patrick is pretty humble, and i guess that's waht i like abt him. I prefer somebody who doesn't talk much, work more. ha ha.. :D Don't want a NATO (NO ACTION TALK ONLY)person. Sometimes, i find Americans are really NATO at work. Oopss... My house didn't ve much built in. I bought furnitures that suit my theme. Hee hee.. visited many warehouse sales etc.

Rachel,
Wha is yr email add? I don't ve my quote anymore but i know the full sum. Will explain to u via my email. Nway, wanna to see the reno tips that i ve compiled?