HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

vivis

Hi aeina,

Yah! Completed, juz some minor things to touch up. Meanwhile we go ovr our new hse like weekend resort. Hee.... Have you shifted in to yr new hse? or still pending to solve yr leakage problem?

aeina

HI Vivis,
How did the reno go?? got pics to share?? email me. hee hee. just being k poh. Me too too only go over like weekend resort.

Leakage problem will only solve in Mid Sep. Got to wait oh.

Bearyhug,
Wenn is right.. u must go to song cho and buy first. have u got the drawing of yr kitchen cabinet? roughly u know how many drawers or pull out cabinet u have???

sharon__joseph

Hi aeina, may i ask where is your new place? issit a resale flat? how come will have leaking problem? have they repaired ur hood? did they explain to u wat when wrong?

bearyhugs

Hi vivi,
Do share your new house pictures with us if you have any. Thanks.

Hi Wenn & aeina,
Thanks again. But I haven't got the actual drawings yet. Most likely getting to see the final design from Malcom this weekend. Wow.. seems that it's quite diff to conceptualize leh. I haven't decided how many drawers or cabinets yet. Only know how many feet in total. But for sure, I'm going to have a tall cabinet unit. So need to buy pull out baskets for that.

wenn

Hi vivis,
me oso waiting for ur photos. i will update mine when my dining table arrives this saturday but my place is starting to get messy liao

hi bearyhugs,
oh for tall cabinet unit, u dun have to have drawers all the way. most likely will be half height. y dun u go MPH to browse the aussie mag, Kitchens & Bath? I got my kitchen designs from there. Malcolm had a hard time understanding wat i want. Took them 3 time to amend my design

Another way for tall cabinet unit, u can buy the larder pull out unit. Song Cho doesn't have that but Hoe Kee does. I think it costs around $400.

vivis

Hi aeina, bearyhugs & wenn,

I shall get sunsetbay to update the pics cos i dun hv it here with me.

Maybe we shld tk some more pixs over the weekend to upload here for u guys to see.
But my hse is very simple and we dun hv a dining table.
pai sei leh.

bearyhugs

Thanks Wenn,
I'm interested in the larder pull out unit too. I've got one issue of Kitchens & Baths too but that was quite an old issue already. Maybe, I would pop by to get one sometime later.

Hmm.... sometimes, I also get the feeling that Malcom didn't seem to understand what we want too. Sama sama.... : >

p2me1a

wow vivis and sunsetbay, you guys have a great place
we're also looking to doing something simple like what you've done... nothing really very fanciful hehehe though your bar thingy looks cute (love the blue stool!)
your living room especially looks very spacious. where did u get your sofa from? looks very long... 2.8m at least??? we also searching for something like that...

oh by the way... hehehe... we'd be meeting Patrick sometime next week... got him to quote based on my email and fax of floor plan...

ssb

hi ps_tan, the sofa was bought fm the exhibition, it's 2.7m onli, the cushion is stuff wif goose feathers. the coffee table top can be slide open for some storage. whole set plus the tv console was $2080.
the blue bar stool was bought at carrefour at $59.90 during promotion!! the other time we went to NOVA furnitures at A-Z bldg, we saw the exact stool selling at $129!!

i think after the 7th mth, patrick will be even mre busy. hee..

aeina

Hi Sunsetbay and Vivis,

Beautiful house. The feature wall is nice. I think effect come out really good.

Hi sharon,
My house is a resales flat. Nway, heard now new HDB flats also experience such leaking problems. my friend has barely stayed in the redhill new flat for 3 yrs and already start leaking in both toilets. So they have to share with the neighbours for the cost.

Confirmed my hood's motor is spoilt. They will replace new set for me. Better don't buy EF brand.

vivis

Hi aeina,

Thanks! Actually alot of ppl tend to touch the feature wall when they first came our hse. Think thats the only unique part of our hse, the rest of it is quite common. Hee...

Hi ps_tan,

Myabe our living look spacious because we din put alot of things or furniture to occupy space. Our concept is simple so that we dont hv to shift things here n there while mopping the floor. Haha.. I know.. its the lazy factor agn. Haha...

p2me1a

hey sunsetbay,

wow that's a good buy then!
have you had other experiences with Nova??? do u know if their after-sales svc is good (or no good) ??? we saw an L-shaped sofa there not bad... but dunno if they're in the (bad) eague of Novena when it comes to after sales service...

p2me1a

bearyhugs

Hi vivis & sunsetbay,
Wow. Patrick brought us to your house when it was near completion. It sure looks so different now that it's fully furnished. The feature wall does stand out uniquely!

Also liked your sofa set. We were also looking for something similar. Guess we can't get it now since exhibition been long over. U rem the shop's name? So which brand of hood & hob did u guys invest in now that EF brand is not recommended liao?

p2me1a

hey vivis,

hahaha yeah I know what u mean about the "lazy factor" that's why we're looking for a sofa like yours - except - we dun want the legs... hiaz... this requirement of ours is making things very tough - coz most of these sofas come with legs!!!! urrghhh... hiaz....

hehehe

p2me1a

bearyhugs

Hi vivis,
We went down to one furniture warehouse at Macpherson and saw something exactly the same as your sofa, also goose feathers. But thought that the fabric covers look and feel rather hot/warm. Jus like to seek your feedback on that? Anyway, it was a little too big for us. We have a space constraint and can only accomodate sofa less than 2.6m

ssb

<font color="#0000FF">hi ps_tan, wenn, bearyhugs,</font>

we din buy any furniture fm Nova cos we find their price was not really attractive even on promotion sale. some of their beds are quite nice bt we settle something less costly at burlington.

our sofa was from Real Design &amp; Furnishing Pte Ltd, they always appear in the exhibiton however we found their saleman told us alot of things which are untrue, they said they are the manufactor for the sofa bt during delivery i asked the delivery guy, he said it's not. we also made request to made amendment to the sofa (to remove the side drawer &amp; make the sofa longer w/o additional cost), the saleman said ok bt during delivery the sofa was not lengthen. in the end they only compensate us additonal 2 pillows. u still can buy their furnitures bt dun listen too much to their saleman.

as for the sofa itself, it's v comfortable, i dun find it's warm, infact PVC &amp; leather will be even warmer. the thick goose feather cushion make it more comfortable to sleep on it than sitting on it! bcos of the wider depth of the sofa, when sitting on it, our legs hv to rest on the coffee table. hmm... not v ideal...

as for the hood &amp; hob, hv to chk wif vivis liao.

yes, we are using black galaxy solid top, however we find whenever we put a wet cloth on it for too long, the surface will turn abit fade, hv to clean it hard to restore the shine back.hmm...

vivis

Ya! I am quite angry with that salesman. He promised us to extend the sofa set, in the end the length is still the same. Some more we pay the same price w/o the side drawer! Hai... I personally dont recommend this dealer if u want special request from them.

As for hood &amp; hob, ours is Elba. So far, no problem using this brand.

I wonder if u guys hv the same experience as us that the black galaxy will fade, leaving the solid top 1 patch 1 patch in a lighter tone. think its quite obvious esp at the area near the wash basin. Any way to resolve this problem?

wenn

vivis &amp; ssb,
yours is black galaxy granite or solid surface?? me blur liao... thot solid surface dun have black galaxy??

oh, i dun place wet towels/cloth on the black galaxy granite top... i stick those "sucker" hooks on the tiles near the sink to hang the towels... for dish towel, i slip it thru the drawer handle right below the sink

So far, no fading of colours. Once a month, i used Magic Clean (green liquid) to clean oil from the granite. Then use very wet cloth to wipe away the solution about 3 times. Lastly, used kitchen paper towels to wipe dry. Granite is still as shiny

===========================================
FYI, my hood &amp; hob are from Fujioh. A bit ex at bundled price of $900 but the hood is really quiet

p2me1a

hi guys,

do u remember 2 archive pages ago you guys were talking about one of patrick's projects for a teacher couple in bukit merah or thereabouts??? hahaha my fiance and I just realised last night that we know them! hahaha... we're meeting patrick sometime this week you see, so I was just running through our schedule with my fiance - and then he was like "Patrick of Ho Bee? hmmm isn't that..." hahaha and we checked and it was!!! hahaha what a coincidence... :D

hey have u guys tried any of the individual furniture shops at IMM 3rd floor? we went to nova again, we kinda like one of the sofas there. but then ah, we dun feel "safe" buying from them... super afraid of delivery woes and their sales tactic also sux...

pst

p2me1a

hey sunsetbay &amp; vivis,

notice that u guys have a stainless steel backing for the cooking hob area. is it easy to clean? my cousin advised us against it saying that it's difficult to clean... so when a designer suggested it - I wasn't too receptive to the idea... how u guys find it so far?

pst

wenn

hi ps tan,
i had ss backing behind the stove. mine is whole stretch of the wall. just use Magic Clean to clean off the oil spots last week... works wonders

oso no scratches on ss as compared to using scouring liquid like from Cif.

aeina

Hi Sunsetbay and Vivis,
My sister also using black solid top. A bit like black galaxy granite top. She also has such problems. In addition, scratches are very visible. Patrick has asked us to buy something to polish the solid top. It will restore the shine. It is not meant for solid top shining but for furnitures. However, it works very well for solid top. I will have to go home and check up what is it called.

Hi Ps tan,
hee hee.. spore is really small.

Hi wenn,
Wow.. seem like magic clean is superb. i must remember to buy next time. U better don't do much housework oh. U r preggie, rite?? must take care ah.

Oh yeah, my friend also tell me that fujitoh hood is good. Sigh... hope my new hood will work better. i must fully utilise it cos warranty is only a yr. Ai yoh, my house like not very lucky oh.

wenn

Hi aeina,
It's Pledge comes in Lemon &amp; Pine flavour... Patrick told us to buy the Lemon one. i wanted to get it for my bathroom solid surface top oso... but haven't got around to buying it.. oso, i use Cif now :p

My ahlau intro my mum to use it... last time, my mum used detergent to clean off the grease... it can oso dissolve blood stains

Hope that ur hood turns out ok. U pray? Can buy some joss paper to pray at void deck since it's 7th month now.

aeina

Hi Wenn,
I did go pray pray.. cos i very scare of u know what. Moreover, we don't stay in our house often so i lagi scare. Ai yoh, i m thinking of engaging of a feng shui master. Do u think it is too late to engage after reno is done??? Hmm...

wenn

Hi aeina,
i think it's still ok to engage one. my parents still get them to check the house once every few years
maybe, just need to shift some items here &amp; there.

actually, i still haven't implement all the things that i was told to do... no time to go hunt for crystals :p

oh, maybe after 7th month, u get some "shi liu" leaves &amp; water to sprinkle around the house?

vivis

Hi wenn,

Oh! Black galaxy and solid top is different har? Hee... Sorry har, i blur queen. Mine is black galaxy. So i know thw reason why 1 patch 1 patch liao! Cos I put wet cloth on it!! Thanks for informing. I shall remove it when i go my hse next time. Hee...

We did use Pledge to spray on the black galaxy, find it quite useful as we can see the shine instantly. Just that the area where I place the wet cloth not easy to maintain. Maybe I shld try magic clean, shall feedback after i try.

Hi ps_tan,

The s/s behind the cooking area is easily maintain. I juz use a damp cloth to clean it after cooking. No hassle at all.

Hi aeina,

My mum oso ask me to pray during the 7th month and at the end of the 7th month. Think its safer to pray, I m I juz did mine last nite.

Actually I think its not a problem to engage a fengshui master now cos sunsetbay got a friend oso engage after their reno. Find a master that is more pratical - dont have to buy things from him and suggest practical solution to your problem.

wenn

vivis,
if u use magic clean, remember to rinse it off by wiping a few times. dun want the chemical to seep in &amp; damage the granite

i used pledge b4... on my shelves... like having a layer of protection on the surface.

bearyhugs

I've certainly picked up good cleaning tips from experienced ppl like Wenn and aeina, thanks.

Ps_tan, think the teacher couple was mentioned by me. I happened to know their relative n patrick brought us to their flat to see see look look too. Minimalist look very clean cut look.

Hi aeina, my flat was chosen and advised by fengshui master too. That's why we are a little restricted when it comes to position of the hood&amp;hob. If u need contact, can pm me. He charges $388 for a 5 room. : >

Seems that fujioh is good huh. Was thinking of Elba initially. Can check if anyone of u had thought of making wooden beams for the ceiling? Saw it in magazines and thought it gives a more resort style look. How abt pebbled flooring for foyer? Anyone of you??

ssb

my FS master charge us abt $200+!! he would request all the person staying at the flat, 8 characters &amp; the floor plan of the flat. on his first visit, he will go round &amp; take dwn the orientation. he will then make another apptmt wif the owners at his home at balestier for his comments.

he will draw the floor plan into two colour zones and indicate where the male &amp; female owners shld sleep on which side of the bed. the floor plan will also indicate the cai wei (wealth zone) etc. i got to know him thru my fren recommendation, my fren said he's quite zhun! ö

sharon__joseph

bearyhugs,
me doing laminated timber beam &amp; pebble wash at my foyer... i was contemplating whether to do it or not coz i scare very difficult to maintain &amp; heard fr friends that it may crack under prolong sunlight. but my foyer not expose to the sun so its alrite, anyway its included in my package so it doesnt matter if i do it or not its still the same price so we decided to do it lor! hehee...

the laminated timber beam was a result of some arguement.. hhee.. my renovator refuse to give discount on my timber pillar divider (which was extremely expensive compared to other contractor)so we force him to give us matching timber beam at our foyer...

p2me1a

hi bearyhugs,
my fiance arranged and we went to see the teachers' place last night.
quite nice yah? very white though! everything was white! hahaha... we said "wah! This is the White House!" hahaha... not bad leh, we're quite impressed with Patrick's workmanship (or rather, his guys' workmanship)... we meeting Patrick this friday night...

hi aeina, vivis, hi5 and the rest...
funny that we should be mentioning fengshui... there's this guy, think he's into fengshui (which I have no problem with) but then he suddenly become very antagonistic... go look at this thread - Jurong West WIS -Anyone?
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/9693.html?1093917017

see towards the end. this silly Mr Geomancy person write until like that, I was so pissed I wrote a whole chunk back.

so sorry nothing to do with this thread, but I was soooo pissed... then whilst writing, it struck me that he's being so silly and !??!?! that I decided it was a waste of my energies being angry...

just go read for fun. hahaha

pst

p.s. I really have no problem with geomancy or fengshui, I just dun like how that guy wrote that's all.
hope none of you get offended.

vivis

Hi wenn,

I tried using the magic clean but the area which I place my mama lemon detergent still got 1 patch of white spot.

Sometimes I wonder its easier to maintain a black galaxy or something that is white or beidge in colour. Initially we chose black b'cos we tot its easier to maintain. But looks like black oso has its constraint.

excalibur

Hi bearyhugs an dsunsetbay,
Can send your fengshui contacts to me at [email protected]?

ps tan: Cool down... As you mentioned in your respond to him, it's just a difference in opinion. No point killing your brains cells over it.

p2me1a

hey excalibur,

thanks thanks... thanks for reading hahaha... was just so irritated at first - I was like "where got people so spastic one?!?!" then the more I write the more I realised that this guy is just not worth killing my brain cells (I like the way u put it hahaha)...

pst

bearyhugs

Sharon, do u hav any pics to share of your foyer area? Thanks.

The rest who've asked for my fengshui contact. Will email u then. He also goes to our hse and get our 8 characters of the owners and then draw the different North South East West directions of the hse each representing a diff element afterwhich he would advise which position is best for sink, hob, study table etc etc....

ssb

hi alan, my FS Master is called chen shifu, u can make apptmt wif him at 62547311.

<font color="#6699FF">------------------------</font>

<font face="Arial"><font color="#6699FF"><font size="-2">a brand new forum for everyone!</font></font></font>

wenn

Hi Vivis,
Ic.. like that have to get the granite guy to come &amp; polish liao. Last time the dumb dumb plumber got silicon on the granite near my sink... he went to rub it out &amp; the surface became blur... so the granite guy brought the polisher to buff the surface... not as shiny as b4 but not noticable unless u really stare at it.

The granite oso cannot kena detergent. Patrick warned us, so i placed the detergent bottle in a plastic tray. Aiyah, should have warned u earlier. U wanna get Patrick to help u get the granite guy to polish for u? Can argue that he din tell u about it lor...

Yes, have to maintain the granite lah. But at least it is scratch &amp; heat resistant. So when i see drops of water or dried water marks, i will quickly wipe them with a semi dry cloth

vivis

Hi wenn,

I paisei to get Patrick to help leh. Hee... Cos he juz came the other day to install the iron rod for me. So.. pai sei to trouble him again lor. Anyway the patch is still bearable. I shall accumulate a few first then ask for his advice. Hahaha....

But I'll bear in mind not to place wet cloth there again. Hee....

Thanks for giving me yr advice. N dun worry, its not yr fault, juz that I didn't ask u guys earlier.

aeina

Hi Vivis,
Got to be thick skin abit lah. If really the patch can't be removed, ask Patrick oh.

Sunsetbay
I m very tempted to engage yr fengshui master but i ve put in my furnitures in living and dining room. Will he asked me to reposition them huh??? However, i like it tat way.. in dilemma. if i engage, i must listen, rite?? if i don't listen, why engage in first place.. aggh...

Hi PST,
Understand.. if somebody badmouth my estate like that, i will be very furious too. Don't care what he said... ignore such person.

Bearyhug,
My dining set from wihardja.. I must say it is really not bad.
Cheap and good. u can go on next wihardja sales.

156086.jpg

wenn

Vivis,
if u really buay tahan, better go chase Patrick to help
try not to get detergent or acids on the granite... quite corrosive lor...

aeina,
my dining table got delayed last week. finally arriving tonight
container stuck due to typhoons

vivis

Hi aeina,

Nice dinning table. N I like yr lightings too. V.unique!

think i really buay tahan then call Patrick for help lor. Hee... Thanks wenn n aeina for yr advice.

vivis

Think yr dinning table v.suitable for my hse too.. Hee... But we might not utilised it though. coz we makan in front of the tv all the time..

Might be getting a pool table for dinning area instead.

kmkl

with so many praises about Patrick at HO BEE,
i will definitely ask him for a quotation
btw, where is his office?

Vivis, you also interested in getting a pool table ?
im thinkin of getting a pool table that can double up as a dining table