HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

aeina

Hi Pey Lin,
The MP got to send a letter to HDB. Only then HDB will allow u to pay only 25% of cost. Otherwise, u pay 50% of cost.

Hi Sashamama,
U r talkign abt time sharing. I also kena. In the end, my bf and I just walked out - FUMING!!! I told the manager that we are not keen/interested. U know what he said.. he said not keen or can't afford?!?! I feel like slapping him. Was also mad with my bf after that cos he is keeping quiet all alone. Didn't even protest. I m the one who show BLACK FACE to the manager.

Hi Bearyhug,
How did the reno go?? So far good??? Show us pics when yr house is ready?

Hi Wenn,
How are u?? How's everything?

ssb

off-topic:

i overcame the Time Share prgrm as well abt 2yrs bk. i never believe in such gd deals, anyway, i went to their office & see what they had installed. same place at Faber House orchard and sat thru the 90min one on one seminar. if i back off half way, i wont win the $90 seafood voucher. anyway, mi & vivis sat thru the whole seminar. they used hard sell method to convince me but i dun buy it. they never reveal there's a maintenance fee the holiday prgm until i question them. i felt bore abt the conversation & the sale ger cant tahan anymre cos i was looking ard & not listening to her. i asked her was the 90min times up? she was pissed off & call her ang mo mgr to attend us. i dun give a damn to whoever, they hv no choice & gave us the seafood voucher & release us.

;p

bearyhugs

Aeina: My reno now into its first month. Tiling done but now waiting for parquet to be laid at bedrooms and platform at living area. Progressing a bit slowly now but we are not in a hurry so jus let them take their time to do lor. Think Patrick is extremely busy these days. Try to get him to give me a few quotation but he had been too busy to get back to us. But we didn't mind since we trust him lah. Your toilet problems solved already.

Sasha,
Actually, I nearly fell for the Time Share thingy too abt a yr ago. Jus when I agree to go listen to their talk, I called my insurance agent who happen to work at orchard. He strongly advised me against going as he had been conned the same way as u mention. So..... I rejected them right on the spot n told them off that I'm not interested.

Sure to post pics up once it's done. But I think that might be another month later or so.

sashamama

Dear Gals:

I managed to cancel it today and wld be getting back my $1k deposit within 7 days.

In the end, we left with $25 CK Tangs voucher & a 7N free accomodation somewhere. hehe.. This thingy has been goin ard for a decade already! And i recently got credit card this june, so i guess i'm a recently eligible victim lo! And when i was there, there were at least 10 other tables of victims. And today at orchard, i saw abt 3 other pairs of victims taking the survey.. I think there's still more to be done to create awareness lo!

hehe..

Also, how do i contact and who do i contact for a quotation from Ho Bee, and where is this located? Do they have any webby?

wenn

Hi aeina,
I'm good

Oreadi in my 23rd weeks liao. My detailed scan confirms that it's a little princess for us

(Side-track)
Coincidentally, i received a phone call yesterday telling me that i'm receiving some freebies becos i filled in some lucky draw coupons. The lady said that I will receive 20 rolls of Konica film & some vouchers given out by some cruise company. When i asked her which lucky draw coupon i filled in, she quickly asked if i'm busy or not & she will call me back later
Anyway, i told her I'm not interested when she called me later in the afternoon.....

paulinelau

Hi Aeina,

Do u mean that if the MP writes in, HDB will allow u to pay only 25% of the total cost while your neighbour pay 75% of the cost? What reason r u using during your request for the MP to write the letter for u? I'm also having the same problem as u but I still haven't ask HDB to come and check.

aeina

Hi Sashamama,
U better make sure they really return u the 1K. I scare they will drag on. heard they r very good at that.

By the way, any of u used Patrick to do electrical work? I just remember we forgot to get the SP cert. We had a SP testing but forgot to get cert. Wonder if there is cert or not? Hmm.. Jus called Patrick but his wife said he is
sleeping. Probably sick.

Wenn,
Congratulation. I always love girl better. So kuai and easier to make "cute cute". hee hee... i m so happy for u.

Pey Lin,
Nope, u pay 25% and yr neighbour pay 25%. If not, u pay 50% and yr neighbour pay 50%. No reason just tell him that our ceiling is leaking. Yr neighbour agree to do their flooring?!?!?

paulinelau

Aeina,

Actually I've not yet talk to my neighbour abt it. But bcos I'm not in very gd terms with my neighbour (cos my dogs r quite barkish when I just got them, so sometimes ganna complain by neighbour. But now less complain cos my dogs r more quiet now), so I think I'll wait till HDB people come down and check first. If they say need to ask my neighbour to reno her toilet then I talk to her lor. Else I prefer not to talk to her. No hard feeling regarding the complain but just expect to have a hard time talking to them.

Thanks for your information. I will take them into consideration.

sashamama

Dear Gals:

Eh..
I'm interested in getting a quotation from Ho Bee lo..

How do i contact and who do i contact for a quotation from Ho Bee?
Where is this located?
Do they have any webby?

THANKS!!!

bearyhugs

Aeina, my electrical works are done by Patrick. But didn't hear anything abt what SP cert? Will ask him maybe when we meet up. He still owns us some quotes too. Painting done; we are quite satisfied with it except that would prefer if colour had been darker. Thought I had to top up if I were to request for a colour change but they offer to do it FOC. Anyway, after all the hassle, we decided to stick back to the original colour. Oops.....

Sasha, patrick does not have a website. His contact no is 96792934. U can perhaps call him and arrange a meeting with your floorplan or fax it to him before that. Good luck. Be perpared that he's quite busy these days.

lady165

Hi Peh Lin,

I have the same problem as you. You don't need to talk to your neighbour as HDB officer will settle everything for you. All you need is to agree to reno and pay for it. If your neighbour refuse, HDB will take warning action. For my case, I'm really angry with my neighbour living downstairs. You know what, during my reno(for nearly 2mths), they never said a word about their ceiling leak, only when everything is done and I have moved in for about 1 mth. My hubby was really pissed off, well we agree to let HDB to reno the toilets for us then we came to know that two toilets take about 8 days to complete. Ok, that problem still can be solved as maybe I can get my mum to stand by for me. But,my only headache is where shall I put my furniture and bed during the reno. When I think of the reno works going on, my head burst. But despite of all these problems, my neighbours have nothing to gain as they will only get their problem solved because HDB will not plaster their ceiling and only will do our toilets floor tiles. Anyway, for just $400, I can get new floor tiles for both toilets, its still worth it. (Hahaha, lucky I didn't reno my toilets)
Hope your case can run smooth.

beezbride

Hi, anyone out there who is willing to sent picturw of your completed reno. i will be taking possession of my EA soon and i seriously looking for a good ID or contractor. Thank!

aeina

Sharon,
Basically, i think being upstair gain more than downstair. U get to have new toilet tiles but downstair paid for it. Frankly, i feel a bit sore abt it cos i m staying downstairs. All i get is foul smell, dirty water and money forked out for my upstair neighour to do their toilets. i always think HDB should fully sponsor it.

Beezugal,
U can refer to past forum. there are pics here and there. Nway, drop me an email and i can show u my house pics. I didn't do much designing cos budget constraint but patrick did excellent job for me.

paulinelau

Hi Sharon,

Actually I planned to check with the neighbour downstair b4 I start my reno, so I'll ask the HDB officer to check for the above and below neighbour cos I'm afraid after I reno my toilet then the neighbour below complain abt their ceiling leaking. So if it's alreadi leaking then I'll settle it once and for all.

Aeina,
How's your toilet now? Should have settle by now.

aeina

Hi sashamamam,
U got mail.

Pey Lin,
Mine took 5mths to settle the problem. Long while, rite? Got to endure the foul smell and browish water in the toilet for 5 mths.

pohbear77

it'd been a long time since I visit this thread again. Hope everyone is fine.

Btw, I'd also engaged Ho Bee to renovate my Premium Exec Apartment located at Punggol... Had started my reno works a few weeks back. Malcolm is the one in charge of our unit as it's his 'territory'... They are really very friendly & easy to discuss things with...

After my air cons are up, the next thing that went up was the false ceiling, L-boxes and electrical wiring... Viewed it with my wife & we are both satisfied with the workmanship... Now waiting for the painting and wetwork to commence...

Btw, hope to get some advice or suggestions on where to get cheap, durable and nice lightings for my new house. Will appreciate if anyone can tell me the name of the shop & its location as we might be going down this weekend to buy the lights... (Do they provide free delivery of the lightings?) You may either drop your advices here or email me at [email protected] Thanks alot!!

pohbear.

aeina

Hi Pohbear,

U can try 1) Chelsea Lighting : Blk 353 Jurong East St 31 #01-115 tel : 65613759 (down lights are cheap) Selection is limited though.
2) Chan Huat – Heard quite it is good but friend recommend Chelsea cos cheaper than all in jalan besar and balestier.

bearyhugs

Hi Pohbear,
Our reno also abt 3/4 done so far. Waiting for more carpentry to be up. U can check with Malcom as he was the one who brought us to this shop at Paya Lebar, Prima Lighting where he has some special discount too. N since he knows the ppl there, he can easily arrange for transport of the lights and we don hav to be there personally. One good thing abt Ho Bee, there is mutual trust between Patrick and customer, hence, we always leave it to them to accept the goods that we've ordered (e.g. electrical appliances). This way, we don have to specially take off or leave. Really a breeze.....

pohbear77

Thanks aeina and bearyhugs,

think Jurong is abit too far for us.. will check out Balestier & JB area 1st..

I do agree that there is strong mutual trust between Ho Bee (Malcolm) & us... in fact, they were very helpful... Guess they are rather busy with many projects at this period of the year though... Does any of you have pictures of your lighting? thanks!!

bearyhugs

Hi pohbear,
If u do wish to shop ard balestier, do not try "The Best Lighting Shop", heard bad reviews tat they might be selling second hand stuff. Not sure but better be on the safe side. Can try "Kosen", Lights N form" or "Lights n Lights" at Balestier. Have got frens who bought from them and so far, quite trustworthy ones. Anyway, there r all in all at least 40 lighting shops down the whole of balestier road. Happy shopping!

wenn

Got my lights at Designer Lighting & Chan Huat(for PLC lights). Both at Balestier. Total cost, 1k

wenn

I know that my photos are long overdued but only managed recently to get down & take some decent shots without shaking the camera...

Anyway, here's the link to our messy home. Balcony shot not included as the sunlight was too bright...

http://photos.yahoo.com/wennvee

bearyhugs

Wow...
Wenn... Thanks for sharing your photos. Luv your kitchen best. Were your study suspended cabinets specially made too or bought from somewhere?

All the best to your prep for your baby delivery! Take care!

wenn

Hi bearyhugs

U r welcomed. Hee hee, my kitchen was inspired by Kitchen & Bath magazine

The suspended cabinets (3 sets) in study were ordered from Ikea, at their workplace/office section. Cost $600+ after installation. Patrick's quote was $990... so we thot of just save the money instead & get from ikea.

Thanks! I will, counting down, 3 more months to go

jean05

i'm interest to check them out after reading all the positive comments. BTW, can i know where is ho bee located? should i contact patrick or malcom? who is better?

wenn

U can contact Patrick on his mobile (posted somewhere above on this page). He's the boss. Not sure if his showroom is up yet or not...

wenn

Not sure if i'm too late... I remembered that someone in this thread was asking about wat items to buy for an chuang... anyway, here's my photo for items to place on the bed

231921.jpg

aeina

Hi Wenn,
It is me who wanna to know abt an chuang. haven't come in here for long time. Thank u so much. how are u???

Hi 2005,
u got mail. u r lucky. me don't think in so often nowaday.

wenn

hi aeina

u r welcome! let me know if u have any more questions. i'm fine... 9 weeks more to go till my delivery date... my only problem now is that my ankles starting to swell liao :p

aeina

Hi 2005/Handydog,

So sorry abt my quotation. I renovated my house last yr and so i don't ve the details. Only my htb keep a hardcopy. Nway, my quotation is 29K becos i did a major revamp of my resales flat. It is an old resales and i m 2nd owner. We changed all the tiles including kitchen walls and toilet walls. We did rewiring, re-piping, lbox for living room, false ceiling for dining room, built in kitchen and wardrobe for master bedroom, painting.

bearyhugs

Hi Wenn & Aeina,
Long time no "see". Glad to know that u r coping well with your precious. Anyway, u can simply lift your legs up to relieve the water retention whenever it comes.

My hse is finally near completion! Very satisfied with the overall design and workmanship. But now waiting for touch-up. Will share w u guys pics once it's ready.

paulinelau

Anyone's house is Blk 6++ near Jurong Pt? I just went there last Friday to view it. Wow, it's quite nicely done up. Can tell me how much it differ from your quotation? Thanks.

Pauline

aeina

Hi Skywolf,
Mine is more of resort style for resales flat but we didn't ve much build up.

However, u can always call patrick up. The other time, i heard that malcolm is getting his previous interior design teacher to be their free lance designer cos biz too good and Malcolm has no time to draw.

Hi bearyhug,
must share yr pics with me when ready oh.

Hi wenn,
u must take good care of yrself. Remember to relax. i believe most impt for pregnant lady is to feel relax and not stressful.

wenn

hi aeina & bearyhugs,
will take care of myself

i dun do much housework now... let hubby do :p

can't stand the cold weather these few days.... some of my shoes & bags kept getting mould on them... clean till i give up liao

bearyhugs, waiting for ur photos!