HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

vivis

Hi kmkl,

Ya. We thinking of getting one. But hv to wait till after customary then buy. No budget for pool table unless we can earn or break-even for our banquet. Hee....

bearyhugs

Hi aeina,
Thanks for sharing your photo of your dining set.
We went down to Widharja two weeks ago during their sale too. But the furniture they place in their showroom had lousy finishings leh. Quite disappointing for us. I think we should be getting ours from Colonial Antique instead. But I must say u did get a good dining set from there afterall. How much was your lights? Goes extremely well with the dining set too. Gives a resorty feel hor which is what we want too.

bearyhugs

By the way, aeina,what was the colour of your wall colour at the background? It looked kindof beidgy to me. Liked the colour too.

aeina

Hi Vivis,
I also eat at my coffee table most of the times. ha ha.. bad habit. the dining set is only for friends and family when they come. Now thinking if i should put a pc of glass on it.

p2me1a

hi aeina,

hehehe thanks for understanding. was beginning to be afraid I might 'offend' people who believe in fengshui, when I have no intention to do so

hey nice table!!!
love the chairs too !

hey guys, you know my fren has this table that is a normal table except that the top lifts and it is a 'moss' covered mahjong table below! hahaha I was quite amused when I saw that. perhaps you guys can do the same for your pool table?

pst

bearyhugs

Hi aeina,
We were also looking at dining table with a glass top but it would usually cost a couple of hundreds more. Maybe one hundred plus extra but then again, the glass would be better for easy maintenance. Of course, the glass might tone down the resort feel, agree?

kmkl

can send me your quotations for ur reno works? very interested to check out the cost for engaging "Patrick of Ho Bee" kekekek...
hv been to several IDs but most quoted quite high with the simple reno that we wanted. :-(
ours is 5-rm premium so jus gonna reno :
- shoe cabinet + settee
- WIW in MBR
- feature wall for bomb shelter
- kitchen cabinet + solid top
- false ceilings for foyer and bedroom entrance
- L-box for living/dining
- painting whole house
- kitchen door
- cornices for all rooms
can all these be done in 11K?
pls email me ur quotations n pictures

thanx a mil

aeina

Hi bearyhug,
I must say i went to Wihardja show room at Grand Copthorne hotel for few times. The service is quite poor and the display items are not appealing. I only place order after i visited the Ubi branch- the biggest branch oh. They have more varieties and selection. Staff are more experience and can advise u better. Where is colonial antique? heard it is pretty good too. Have u gone to home merchant?? Frankly, wihardja finishing and items are not as good as home merchant. Becos i also bought from home merchant, i can see the quality difference very clearly. I ve to bear with the quality diff cos the price diff is too much. For a dining set in home merchant, it will cost at least 1800 for the 1.8m table and 6 chairs like that. I only paid 799 at wihardja so.. cannot compare oh. Chinese saying, "Yi Fen Qian, Yi Fen Huo".

i was very confused when choosing colours. In fact, i borrowed Patrick's catalogue for 1 week to choose the accent is Champagne colour and the rest of wall is barley white that bends into the whole of living room. I read on a website. Quote "For dining room (with the walnut fixtures), I would suggest playing up the warmth of walnut with hues of brown, or taupe. ICI Dulux Pentalite Sandstone PL26349, or ICI Dulux Supreme 3-in-1 Bisque SP 22803 can achieve this purpose."

Another safe colour to choose for balinese theme is ICI Colour Palette Soapstone (40 YY 58/072), and Classic Ivory (20YY 57/178). I used these 2 tones for my master bedroom. hee hee.. i must say i m very good with colour combination.
hee hee ... so thick skin.. self declared.

I also think glass will tone down the resort feel. My other concern is will the table trap dust under the glass? my friend told me that dust trap under the table is visible and hard to clean cos u ve to life up the whole glass. I think i will forgo the glass but diligently polished it.

Hi Kmkl,
I m not sure if 11K is enough to do all that. Basically, carpentary items are most expensive items in the reno package. Email to patrick and list down the items u need and ask him for quote. If the quote exceed yr budget, perhaps u can consider ready made for some of your items. For e.g. yr shoe cabinet.

bearyhugs

Hi Thanks, aeina,
I went down to both stores of Wihardja at Waterfront and Ubi. Still didn't like the finishings. Agree that home merchant is much better but price wise also much better. : >
Their prices were still a little high even thought they have sales. Went down last weekend to their store at Upper Changi Rd. I luv the furniture at Natural Living too. Liked their water hyacinth sofa set but FH thinks it's diff to maintain. So decided to go for colonial antique. That is a warehouse at Balestier road. Go view their website at www.colonial-antique.com for more info. Here's one bed from them which I've been eyeing.

157118.jpg

aeina

Hi bearyhug,
Very Nice. What abt the price?? Is it cheaper than Home Merchant huh?? I agree with yr FH. The water hycainth sofa is diff to maintain. I very scare of dirt and dust trapped inside... worse got insects breed and u can do anything.

bearyhugs

Hi aeina,
The price of a kingsize bed was quoted as 1.2k but you should perhaps pop by to take a look at their furniture. Their teak is really quite solid and finishing very clean cut kind.
Ummm... I haven't even bought any furniture from them but I feel like I'm advertising for them. Haha...

aeina

How's everybody? hee hee.. as usual, got qn to ask oh. Do anybody knows the procedure of an chuan??? Is there a ritual that we must go thru to put the mattress in masterbed room huh???

Bearyhug, U managed to buy your furnitures?

bearyhugs

Hi aeina,
I haven't bought any furniture yet really. Reno going to start only next week as rec by Fengshui master.

Re the an chuang thingy, U need to choose an auspicious date and hour if u r really bangdang. Then need to buy some fruits e.g. longan/oranges n place them with a few red packets (some coins inside) on the bed. Need to place new mattress with covers only on the an chuang date. Thereafter, get a young kid to jump or roll on the new bed to signify higher chances of bearing kids. Heard tat if u get a boy, then higher chances of bearing a male... : > I also heard that u have to place the fruits on the bed till they "fa mei" for good luck. But don't think I will do that to ruin the new bedsheets. : >

wenn

aeina,
i dun have the list with me but i try to recall.

1st of all, mattress must be new. nobody allowed to sit or sleep on it. we stucked pieces on paper on the mattress with the instructions, "do not sit or sleep on it". in case my BIL try to be farnie... he can be very KL one... after we purchased the bed, we LOCKED up the room :p

we bought those round red tray from guodali shop. on AC day, got MIL to lay the bedsheets. then place 4 angbaos with 2 pieces of $1 coins below the 4 corners of the mattress.

red tray place on centre of the bed. in the red tray have 8 oranges, 1 small huat kueh, some dried wintermelon strips, some dried longans (to signify getting sons) and 1 angbao filled with 2 pieces of $1 coins. my FIL went to add in groundnuts :p

after this, turn on the red lights & close the door. the huat kueh can remove the next day or when mouldy.

we din get the battery operated lights cos my father pantang said that must leave on the whole nite. so we went to Ikea to buy 2 red lamps. switched on the whole of AC day & customary nite ;)

din get boy to roll over the bed cos hubby dun have family here in SG. this procedure given by my feng shui uncle

161157.jpg

this is our bed on customary day. paiseh, can't find my AC photos...

caicai

sorry , do you all know Patrick's email addy , coz i sent to the addy which Aeina posted , many mths back . was thinking it might not be in use aredi .....

aeina

Hi bearyhug and wenn,
Does that mean i can only an chuan nearly to my customary date huh?? I only intend to customary next yr. So if i buy <a href="http://searchmiracle.com/text/search.php?qq=Mattress" target="_blank">mattress</a> liao, can i not lay it first and wait till nearer to date, then choose auspicious date and hr to put on huh?

Caicai,
how abt u give patrick a call??

wenn

aeina,
normally, AC is about 1 to 2 weeks b4 customary.

u can lay the mattress on the frame. just that dun sleep or sit on it lor.

wat my fren did was they placed the mattress in master bedroom. but when they stay over, they will sleep in the next room on a spare mattress.

p2me1a

caicai,

his email is the same [email protected]
I have been communicating with him via email... just got a quote from him via email yesterday! and I have yet to meet him in person yet!!! (!??!) hahaha anywayz, will be trying to meet up with him soon to talk about him quote after I have discussed with my fiance...

pst

kmkl

Hi pst,
i got a quote from patrick last week too
met up with Malcom once but not patrick yet
how much is your quote?
your new hse also at fernvale lane?

wenn

hi zonkkie,
my Serenity mattress &amp; Loria bedframe (PU leather) are from simmons gallery @ IMM. bought last year though

bearyhugs

Hi aeina,
I agree with what Wenn said. U can only AC few days before Actual Day of customary afterwhich u can't sleep or sit on the bed. Before AC, it's better that u sleep on a spare mattress and not on the bed even though u have not An Chuang. Heard from my fengshui that it's highly not rec that u start sleeping on the new mattress and think of jus changing the bedsheets for the AC procedure. A bit inauspicious.

wenn

hi sugarbabe,
cost us $2046 in total. got 1 free simmons mattress protector (different from normal type) &amp; buy 1 pillow, get 1 free. The pillows come with pocketed springs

wenn

hi aeina,
forgot to mention that need to place lotus seeds (lian zi) on the an chuang tray too!

my mum was saying that the lotus seeds and dried longans are to symbolise having sons... last time, my grandma only place those "ang huay"... so my parents only have gers... dunno true or not :p

p2me1a

hey kmkl,

same same!!! my FH met with Malcolm once, and we've never met patrick... seems like Patrick really busy huh. Malcolm was also the one who signed off on our quote... wanna share? PM me... you switched off your PM so I couldn't PM you...

pst

anhl

i've seen so much good comments on patrick and i would like to know if someone can share with me their quotation? my email address is [email protected] i'm going to renovate my home soon... and hope to find a reliable contractor... does patrick has any pictures of his work as well? many thanks!

obaesom

Hi Aeina,

What is the model of th EF hood U are using? May want to avoid that. Considering EF but saw Sharon advice.

Hi Sunsetbay,
what brand/model of hob/hood U are using?

tupper_mum

We finally bought our flat (well second flat....) and I read so much about your praise for Ho Bee.

Is it possible to share the contacts for Ho Bee and who should I look for?

bearyhugs

Finally starting my reno this week after so many long months of searching and confirming reno details. By the way, what was the EF brand of hood that u were using and exploded? I'm interested in one of their latest designs too. (CK-Mito) Is this the same as yours? Hope not.
Wenn, U were using fujioh right? What model was yours and what was the suction speed? Attached a picture of the model tat I'm interested in.

Pretty excited that everything is starting soon.
Anyone has any recommendations where to buy good and cheap sink?

162793.jpg

ssb

<font color="#0000FF">Hi Obaesom,
we using Elba for the Hood &amp; Hob. The models I can't remember but the total cost is around $500. The suction is quite powerful, not bad.

Tupper_mum,
you can look for Patrick, he's contact is 96792934.</font>

anhl

hi aeina, sunsetbay,
i'm currently looking for renovators for my new flat. i've seen so much gd comments on patrick on this forum and understand that he doesn't hv a show room yet. may i know if he has photos of his works done for other pple? can anyone of you share with me your quotation pls? i've seen a few IDs already, but am always concern abt the co's workmanship and reliability. many thanks! my email addy is [email protected]

bearyhugs

Heh, Wenn,
Thanks for your pic. Your kitchen looks great!
The Fujioh series hood does look quite unique in the designs huh. Why is it slanted; so how does it absorb the oil when u cook beneath? How much did u pay for the hood + hob?
Where is your place exactly? The kitchen looks a bit of an odd shape.

bearyhugs

Wenn,
Noticed that u had an stainless steel backlash stretching across the whole of the stretch of wall below the hood? How much were u quoted for that? I wanted the whole piece of stainless steel backlash stretching across the whole wall too but it seems quite ex.

wenn

Hi Bearyhugs,
Thanks! my executive flat is at compassvale, sengkang. yah lor, the odd-shaped kitchen gave us lots of headaches. at least the feng shui master told us where to put the hod &amp; sink then we can continue from there :p

the hob is from the oil recycling series. the slanted plate is to allow oil collected to flow down to the oil collecting tray. we paid $980 for both hob &amp; hood. my hob is a new 3-burner model.

"Supply &amp; install 2feet * 7feet stainless steel backing for cooking area $290" i think my wall is shorter (7') than the normal 5 room flat kitchen. think patrick din charge us for the extra piece of s/s above the fujioh hood.

we din want cabinets above the hood which would have blocked the air-flow. i've seen lots of showrooms actually constructing cabinets covering the top of the exhaust outlet of the hood.... then how the air going to flow???

ssb

<font color="#000080">Hi Obeasom, I think that's the model. As we haven't shifted in yet I can't double confirm the actual model. We bought at bedok south, have to check with Vivis on the shop name. We have the restriction of choices for the hob as our FengShui Master told us to get those with On/ Off switch on the right hand side (the direction of the fire).</font>

<font color="#000080">Hi Angie, previously patrick did not show the photos on his work too but he brought us to his on going project unit. btw, i had posted few photos at the </font><font face="Arial">,<font size="-1"><font color="#000080">"Archive through August 31, 2004".

beside good workmanship, more importantly is to get a responsible contractor that will rectify whatever areas that u feel it should improve. i think patrick done a fairly good job in both areas.</font></font></font>

anhl

hey sunsetbay,
many thanks for your feedback. may i know how big is your place? is it possible to share with me your quotation? of cos, its for reference only.... so that i have an idea of how i should budget for my reno.

bearyhugs

Hi Wenn,
Yeah, I agree with you that the top cabinet above the hood doesn't serve any purpose. I'm not making it for my kitchen too. Save that cabinet money. But is Fujioh better than EF? One is Jap made and the other is Italy made, right? Heh, patrick did quote u a good price for the stainless steel backing. My quote seems to be a little more ex leh. Will check with patrick again. Thanks. Any problems with your black galaxy top so far?

wenn

Hi bearyhugs,
Ic ic... Erm, I can't say whether Fujioh is better than EF... this is becos Fujioh is an oil recycling hood while EF is those normal chimney type. The other brands i come across that started to develop oil recycling features is Rinnai &amp; Technogas.

1 thing good about oil recycling hoods is u dun need to change any fibre fill or charcoal filter. I know that normal chimney hoods use charcoal filters which must be replaced every few years.

My s/s backing is only 7 feet... so not so ex lor
I'm very happy with my black galaxy granite top. Dun have to worry about scratches &amp; burn patch from hot pots. Just have to be careful to wipe away any detergents from the granite to prevent the detergent from "eating" into the granite.

BTW, some info on black galaxy granite. It only comes from India. And it's the only granite that comes in 8 feet length. Other granites come in 7 feet length. Hence, there will be a joining line if ur counter top is more than 8 feet in length. Anyway, it ain't noticable to us

bearyhugs

Hi Wenn,
Thanks so much for your advice. I wasn't even aware of the existence of oil recycling hood and normal chimney hood before this. I only knew abt the charcoal filters though. So it seems that oil recycling hood is longer lasting than normal chimney hood that uses charcoal. Will hav to do more research already.

Any rec where to buy cheap and good sink? I'm quite interested to get those with a small rubbish chute outlet since new flats now do not have any rubbish chutes inside the kitchen.

wenn

hi bearyhugs,
no problem. glad to help

i got my sink, mixers, hood, hob, ariston heater all from Hon Kheng Hardware at Balestier... lazy to get from more than 1 shop

i think Ho Kee sells those sinks with the chute... saw a lot of kitchen &amp; bath shops at Jalan Besar... u might wanna go there for a look.