Hilton Hotel

EngEng> we also choose herbal chicken as one of the dishes. We mix and match our cold/first dishes. For dessert, MIL choose the yam paste with gingko nuts and pumpkin
I choose the nonya prawns with chilli...

saggiegirl>
We've actually shortlisted Bridal Veil and Frederic Lee but pre-wedding photography looks like a major cost/value-factor now. But Bridal Veil's approach will factor in the color theme (of Hilton's package/ballroom) so to ensure the bride doesn't blend in (i.e. the carpet, wedding theme...) - a good consideration there.

Still shopping for AD photographer. Shortlisted 2 for their creative journalistic styles:
- ZenithStills
- CoffeeStains Photography

Both Gary (ZenithStills) and Chris (CoffeeStains) are great people to talk to. They share similar styles with Zenith Stills becoming quite pricey of late.

Oops! A little off topic here.

we'll oso tinking of e herbal chicken but there is quite a lot of chicken in the cold dish. Any recommendation for the cold dish then?

Will scallop with prawns or live drunken prawns be a better choice? Having trouble mixing the dishes ):

MelPin> no worries
my BS is WhiteLink ...

EngEng> cold dish we have the soya sauce chicken, baby octapus, baked eel, Prawn Salad,
Roasted Suckling Pig... mix and match combo by my hubby...

personally i feel that scallop with prawns will be a better choice...coz the live drunken prawns...ppl will get their hands "dirty" by shelling the prawns...

Crispy duck with szechuan sauce sounds quite nice....

Ling> I'm assuming the food and all was great?

Wife-to-be (WTB) very worried about the food...after what others have said.

Hi ladies... I am feeling so excited for you gals... When is your AD?

Saggiegirl : Haha... Oh yes, the prawns was really nice & fresh. For chilli lovers, the chef's special sambal chilli was fantastic! You went for your food tasting already?

MelPin : Food on the overall was good. Received many compliments from my guests after the banquet. But the only let down was their sharkfin. We did feedback to them after my wedding, and I believe their chef did some adjustments to their receipe..

Hi Ling

Great to know that the prawns are nice.we will also a bit worried about the shark fins. Can i know which shark fins dish did you choose from?

did you take the abalone dish, was it nice?
sorry for so much questions.

ling> my AD is 6 dec 09...a real hot date. We booked hilton way back in June 08...and alrdy some couples are fighting with us for the same venue...

hee hee looking forward to food tasting sometime in Oct 09....*rub palms*

Engeng> hubby chose shark’s Fin Soup With Shredded Jellyfish & King Crabmeat...sounds more ingredients than the normal shark's fin with conpoy...hope that the actual product is not too salty...

I chose Braised Sliced Abalone Served With “Hong Kong” Kai Lan...simple dish...

wow...the chef is fr St Regis??? :D then he must be real good...

saggiegirl> That's what Rachel told us.

I think we'll avoid Shark's Fin for our dinner, but wonder what else we can replace it with. Drunken prawns?

freegoer> hahahahahahaha.....i think we will ask rachel to make it nice for us...hee hee...with red red roses and nice floral stands :P

only & MelPin> woohoo *beams* loves roses...what is a wedding without roses and nice chandeliers

hee hee... MelPin ...when is yr BIG day??

actually I like red roses with crystals or even glass candles... :D

hey peeps, me and my gf is already considering hilton as our choice. i heard some good some bad about the place... anyone had attended or held their wedding lately at the grand ballroom? we are planning to hold ours there at the 1st day of next year.

hope to have some feedback real soon... as in really soon... meeting rachel during lunch hour.

freegoer> u wrong lar...wat sebastian is if got couple getting married in grand ballroom and we happen to be there, take a pix of the deco... :S

EngEng : Sorry for the late reply... Was busy with work... Alamak! I cannot remember if we had any abalone dish leh... I think we had sliced abalone with vege... So pai sei... Had my wedding in Hilton more than a yr ago liao... =P Heehee... Our sharkfin was with conpoy. Actually sometime mid last year I attended a company function in their Grand Ballroom and got to taste their sharkfin again.. I would say its a big improvement! hee...

MelPin : You really considering of dropping Sharkfin from your banquet? Have you had your food tasting?

Ohoh! Red roses turn out very very nice & elegant... Good choice... hee.. Cos I had that for my wedding theme..

I strangely liked the boy peeing in the garden type of theme. The stone, old english look. Haha...
With white or red roses, very pretty. I dont see this theme in any other hotels actually.

I don't think this will be available in the new themes this year.

Hi Juztea, I thought they are keeping that theme? Cos its 1 of their popular wedding theme.. Erm... But come to think about it, they have that theme for quite some time liao...

juztea> there should be still have a European style but not sure if ur peeing boy will still be there or not.
PS: there is also a peeing girl actually but not tat popular

Ling> Yep! We're going to drop Sharkfin from our menu. Want to be environmentally friendly..*heh!*

Perhaps replace it with Peking Duck or Drunken Prawns...(?) Not too sure yet.

Just booked our BS last Saturday! 1 more down! Everything seems to be on-track so far...*fingers crossed*

MelPin> u see if u can nego to switch to another soup dish like seafood soup
if really cannot, then maybe can nego for something like free flow of beer /additional barrel of beer...

bt honestly speaking, many of guests gg for wedding will prefer some soup dishes (whether shark fin or no shark fin)

seen the actual wedding set up already. though got the 3 pillars in the grand ballroom... but the overall feel of the place is still very nice la... hope to settle the contract soon... and probably this will be the place i hold my once in a lifetime. haha

sebastian> yup...notwithstanding the pillars, but the food, the service is comparable to other hotels in the vicinity... and not to mention the big bridal suite with full amenities....

i didnt really view the suite in detail.... just briefly walk through the place...

i saw the desk... the sofa... the tv and the toilet.... what else? haha

I must admit I'm a very picky bride to be but was impressed by Hilton's ballroom and setup. Sebastian & I were considering Oriental at the same time but the price difference made us decide to forgo the latter. There's no best of both worlds but I feel Hilton is up to it. Yes, the newly renovated suite is nicely done up too. Good price & service. Rachel is also very accomodative & easy to talk to.

Rachel did mention that new themes will be out after CNY and they might be changing their menu.

I'm only keeping my fingers & toes cross that all will be well on the actual day.

shan> hee hee
yup heard that new themes will be next mth...menu wise we sort of confirmed it last year...rachel already written down in the contract...so we shall see how ba...bt their menu is rather good i must say....
when is your BIG day with Sebastian ???