Hilton Hotel

starwee

Thanks freegoer and saggiegirl!
freegoer>> that means the colour scheme is: Oriental = rose/black
Crystal = white
European = white/ cream?

How does European theme looks like?
Oriental is the one with red roses as deco one right?

pearlypearl

saggiegirl> master gave me a few dates, but I'm looking at weekends.. some clashes with my exam period too, so Im left with these 2 dates.

I can't get married in the year of the Tiger, i.e. after CNY in 2010.. cos Im born in the year of the Monkey and it will clash..

saggiegirl

starwee> oriental is the one with the red roses...and i look that theme...

last yr european theme got those victorian statutes hee hee...with the belgium peeing boy :p

crystal is white crystals ...can use pink or red roses ...quite popular with couples....

yup...suite room is the Bridal Suite...
i think they still use American term ba...rachel brought us up to take a look last sept 08...:D very nice..

starwee

thanks saggiegirl

I hope i will get a chance to go take a look at actual set-up nearer the date to consider the different themes. sometimes very hard to determine when you see on pic and when u go personally and see the overall effect

i think there's mention that the crystal theme, for the back seat dun look too nice - so i will take note of it when deciding the theme. see if can ask for change anot

starwee

pearl >> i am in the same situation as you. I also must avoid marriage in 2010 (Tiger) cos born in year of Tiger also clash - apparently not good to marry. so avoiding lor

saggiegirl

starwee> ya lor freegoer (aka hubby :p)...also say not nice...although i think is quite OK...hahahaha...me more concerned with the gowns and bridal suite and food...

what we did last time is ask rachel to show us ard when there is really actual set up...i brought my MIL to see the crystal theme and we ourselves went to see the oriental theme...hee hee...

starwee

so i've been talking to a couple. haha.. congratulations to both of you. when is your big day?

>> saggie, you're very lucky - your hubby very supportive and involved in planning. hee. my bf leaves the planning to me. he just help make decision, give comments and pay $$$ haha...

so which theme will you all be using? do you have photos of the themes to share?

saggiegirl

starwee> no lar...my hubby v "kaypo" :p *blushing*...hmm...our big day is 6 dec 09...somemore my bday *grins* bt no extra bday present....

u can try to rope ur bf lar...tell him that banquet is impt..then all his frens, colleagues etc will comment mah... :D

we haven decide our theme as yet...new themes will be out ard march ba....bt i am thinking of using red roses at the floral stands...with tea candles...bt haven thought further leh...

starwee

june told me maybe no new themes... they are just considering. nothing confirmed

let's hope got new themes. will got more choices to select and hopefully, nicer ones.

saggiegirl

starwee> huh???!! strange.... hmm...bt usually couples choose themes about 2-3 months before wedding

bt we will select wedding cards earlier..coz need to send for printing, then need to check and mail out...or send out to relatives..

freegoer

starwee> they normally will change if need be ... like if the stands are rusty or easily topple. if not it is after a few years then they change. but for sure u got ur red oriential and a european style

juztea

Hi Starwee, dont worry about the suite.
From the last I heard about them suite, every floor has an executive suite.

I like the european style, cos its something different from other hotels.

I think I'll be selecting my wedding cards by next month, any of you know which card supplier doesn Hilton use?

trefleblanc

hi saggiegirl, sorry for the late reply
we have yet to decide on the date, but may be having the dinner in 2010.

seems like there is not much room for negoitiation when discussing the package
are we allowed to bring in duty-free liquor?

starwee

hi trefle blanc, yah- when it comes to wine and beer, abit hard to negotiate for more from Hilton....

anyone tried asking for more wine or beer? how much does each bottle of wine cost if we get from the hotel? Is the wine good?

saggiegirl

trefle> hmm...u cannot bring duty-free liquor coz it is against the rules... coz i think the authorities will come in and do random checks...

for beer wise, they give us a free barrel as usual, then we either buy on per glass basis at $10 nett or open another barrel at $800 nett...depending on how fast the beer goes...

for wine, we nego for waiver of corkage for 1 bottle per confirmed table....

hilton has a list of house wines. so far looks quite OK to me...

saggiegirl

trefle blanc> we never ask for additional night stay hahaha...

we nego to swop the anniversary voucher to free use of projector ...

they are ok to allow foodtasting for 10 persons....and Ok to swop menu dishes...

shanshine

Trefle blanc, I would say be direct with what you need. We told Rachel straight that we don't want to haggle too much on the perks so we got her to throw in whatever she could. Also, express your interest and tell her what the other shortlisted hotels are offering so that she can match. after all, at the end of the day.. its really a cent to cent comparison.

seb1816

yup... never try harder, never know.

i'm quite sure hilton knows the benchmark in the market now... like what shan said... its really a cent to cent thing.

saggiegirl

sebastian> yup... actually most of the bargaining is done by my MIL... :p i only bargain for extra carparks, cards and swopping of anniversary voucher...hee hee

saggiegirl

shan> LOL...i call her super mummy...hahahaha....

hubby never bargained anything...he just only sit in the room and see the wedding favours and card designs ...

trefleblanc

saggiegirl > thought the projector is free for use? are we charged for the use of projector?

must the food tasting for 10 pax and allow to swop dishes be written in the "contract package" that we are going to sign or is this discussed only verbally?

shanshine > we are pretty direct, asking June what can be throw in.. but seems like nothing can be done...

We also ask Rachel subsequently to throw in some perks for us, but the additional night stay was denied.. haven't try asking for the extra carparks, cards yet...

Maybe cos my bf and I are both poor in bargaining

for those that manage to get more carpark lots and cards, are your wedding held in the ballroom or function rooms? does ballroom customers have higher bargaining power?

mongju

My boyfriend and I went to see Hilton and are about to sign on the contract for wedding lunch. We will be holding it in the Panorama Room next to the pool side and my bf was quite good at nego with June on additional perks cuz he told her that we are comparing with other hotels on this and that directly.
We managed to get additional carpark, FOC projector, FOC solumnization setting and use of funtion room, waiver of corkage for 1 bottle of wine per table and food tasting even though it was not included for lunch package..
I am so happy to find a venue that both of us like to have wedding, cuz so far we have seen 5 other hotels but never get agreed to each other

saggiegirl

mongju> u are korean?? an-nyo-haseyo to you...
wow...u are good at your negotiation considering ur package is a wedding lunch
when is your wedding day in singapore?

trefleblanc> no leh...the projector is not FOC...according to wat i heard fr rachel... hmm...we swop the anniversary voucher to the projector .... yes the food tasting is mentioned in the contract which is meant for 10 persons.

the swopping of menu dishes is not mentioned in the contract, although rachel have noted down in her job sheet and printed out for us. Usually couples confirmed menu 3 mths before AD (for food tasting purposes)...
bt me and hubby a bit "kiasu" lar...

u can try for extra carparks and cards...carparks they can go up to 25% and cards up to 75-80%

shanshine

Mongju: I understand what you mean! We have been to many hotels but there's always something wrong with them. Either the celling too low or they have very irritating pillars that blocked off views or the feeling is just not right. I'm glad we found Hilton.

trefle blanc: If I did not remember wrongly, Rachel threw in part of the UOB promotion which ended in 2008. That include the usage of the projector FOC. You might want to request for that from her. I believe it will be easier to negotiate on the intangible stuffs like additional cards & parking coupons or dining vouchers or items already readily available that does not incur additional costs to the hotel.
Food tasting for 10 person was included in our contract.

Saggie: Rachel told us there might be a change in menu. Did you confirm your dishes already?

saggiegirl

shan> yes i have more or less confirmed the menu. Bt i dun see any major issues. If there are changes to our menu, I will talk to rachel lor
coz the menu dishes which we picked are stated in our contract...

mongju

saggiegirl : How did you know that I am a Korean?? Well, all the nego is done by my bf, not me.. haha.. My D day is in May, it is quite fast, but not so difficult to book a hotel for May wedding, somemore it is lunch.. Seems like nobody is having wedding lunch in May, otherwise, cannot be so free in every hotel I check.. haha

saggiegirl

mongju> guess that you are lucky
sometimes is quite difficult to book venues nowadays...hmm...surely have couples holding wedding lunch...bt at somewhere else...

trefleblanc

saggiegirl > thanks! this thread is so useful for hilton brides-to-be... didn't know the projector is chargable... i hope they can throw in the FOC projector for us too..
will try for the carparks and cards too.. think the 20% carpark may not be sufficient for our guests...

shan > is ur wedding in 2009 or 2010?

mongju > it's lucky that you have a bf whom is gd with negotiating huh :D hee. that's great!

mongju

If you nego more carpark, how many % more do you ask for?
What I heard from the coordinator, even though it says 20%, there is no issue to give us about 5% more, so it would be about 25%..

saggiegirl

mongju> my contract states 25% carpark... what rachel mentioned to me is that she will give about half at URA carpark and half at the hotel carpark...

for cards wise, my contract is 70% coz usually for family members/couples, u will give 1 card...bt she say can up to 75% as we finalize our guest listings...

princessng

Hi! Has anyone seen the set up or held their wedding at the Vista room? Is it nice? When we went to see the room, it seemed very cramp.. however, the same day that we wish to hold our banquet, the other 2 ballrooms were taken up.

topaz

hello! just like to check how's the food and the ambience and experience here?planning 30 tables @ Mar 2010... will appreciate your feedback. Thanks v much!!

mongju

Jo (princessng) & Eileen Tan (dardevilet) : since panorama is available on the date we want,sales coordinator did not really recommend vista room to us.

The day we went to visit, there was wedding dinner holding at Panorama so we could see crystal theme wedding banquet. it was quite nice and I liked the layout of the room, no blocking by any pillar, marching aisle seems longer then other hotels. The best part is the outdoor swimming pool next to the funtion room and high floor(24th) view..

princessng

Thanks for your reply Mongju.. We saw the Panorama room that day too.. it seemed nice as there is a pool next to it n they will close the pool during yr dinner reception.
Anyone used the Vista room before??

shanshine

Jalene: We are having about 30 tables too. We have seen the actual setup for 30 tables and it looked very nicely done. As the ballroom is big, 30 tables wouldn't be too cramped nor appears to be big for the size. The overall ballroom looks good enough for a wedding. I have not attended any wedding at Hilton before but from the feedback, I think it is not too bad! You can call up Rachel, the coordinator to ask for a viewing. It will be best if you can go down and take a look yourself!

saggiegirl

ET> yes they do have the individual serving menu for Muslims/vegans
price is at $90 nett per person. Do inform them at least 1 week before AD or once the guest list is confirmed...