Hilton Hotel

hee hee nice date...ours is on 6 Dec 2009

we plan to take the oriental theme (with red roses) if they have it in 2009
... or some other themes where we can play around with floral stands and red roses :D...wedding must be romantic...

of course it must be romantic! Its the most special day in our life!

I like the crystal theme. I like something like a "white" wedding.. when will you be going down to hilton again?

shan> try and look @ the actual layout. in photos the crystal theme look nice ... but when you look @ the actual thing for your seat back ... it is pretty ugly

shan> dunnoe leh..the crystals at the back of the VIP seats seems not so nice... my little opinion lar...

we probably pop by Hilton to see rachel again ard June 09...after freegoer's reservist and our pre-wedding photoshoot... and really kick-starting wedding preps...

yes i know what you mean! I wanna do away with the crystals and perhaps put a white slash over at the back of the seats. hopefully they come up with something that is nice for the new themes.

What about your photoshooting? Chosen your bridal shop? hehe..the process is indeed tiring. we have been burning our weekends and sneaking time off office hours to send emails & view hotels for the banquet. But anything for the wedding is going to be worth it. :D

shan> we book our BS
hee hee just waiting for the date to go down for gown selection and photoshoot... :D

ya lor last time we even more jialat...hubby reservist, i email and call hotels, restaurants...and collate all the stuff... >_<||| super stress...coz our AD date is rather auspicious...

Hi Sebastian, I guess it is best to make an appointment to down and get the feel of both hotels then!

But when it comes to intangible stuff such as services at the banquet, I wonder which one would be better...

pearl> it will be better for you to go down to see the grand ballroom. Do arrange an apptmt with june / rachel. they will be glad to show u ard...

packages wise...hilton is more reasonably priced. Hyatt is way too expensive judging on location, ambience...

i encountered not so good service at Hyatt (sir stamford ballroom) a few years back when i attended my good fren's wedding (on a weekday). They only started the dinner at 8.30pm...and i heard that the muslim menu was not served at all to certain guests....dishes were not nice...

i actually wanted to sign up with Hyatt last time...bt the pushy attitude of the sales manager (was a lady..) puts us off...in the end we signed up with hilton (with rachel).
already brought my MIL to see the grand ballroom and we have viewed the big bridal suite...

pearl> viewing can be quite fast...ranging from 30 mins to 45 mins...we ask questions along the way when we went ard the grand ballroom / bridal suite...so can save time here and there lor

Ah, I see.. thanks freegoer and saggiegirl!

Actually when i compare the quotations from both hotels, Hyatt actually has better perks ley.. and the menu looks better too.. so, really in a dilemma lor..

pearl> we nego for 80% carpark and 75% cards...then waiver of corkage of 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. FOC corkage for hard liquor brought in by ourselves. we exchange the anniversary dinner voucher to FOC use of projector....hmmm...then we nego for food tasting of 10 ppl (instead of the 6 stated in the package)..........

hi saggiegal,

Wah, I really got no clue wat to nego for from the hotel ley.. wat to and how to ley!
How abt the car park for guests? It was not stated in the quotation ley..

Btw, the FOC corkage for hard liquor is not from duty free i suppose?

pearl> hmmm...what we did was hubby dragged his mum to go down and see the ballroom and 3 of us nego with rachel lor :P *grin*... carparks usually is 20% (oooopssss i tink i put 80%).....but can nego for 25% closer to the AD
(as it depends on your finalised guest lists about 1 week b4 AD).......

the standard package incl 20% carpark coupons and 70% cards...cards wise hilton can give more up to 75% (again depending on your finalized guest list)....

FOC corkage for Bring-Your-Own hard liquor is not those from duty-free....same things for red &amp; white wine. Duty free wine is 1L, whereas duty paid wine is 750ml...

Hi Pearl!
we went to Hyatt too but wasn't very comfortable with the coordinator. Not that she wasn't friendly, just cannot "click". Rachel, on the other hand was instant warm up. She gave us all that we need and is very open to negotiations within her means. If cannot, she won't hang you there to wait, she will tell you directly or will get back to you within 1, 2 days.

We were not particular on the perks as most of the hotels offer very comprehensive packages &amp; are open to discussions on perks (except for 1 hotel which was unacceptably rigid).

Hilton was not at all on our list but somehow, it became the hotel we are holding our wedding at. Putting aside the coordinator, I think at the end of the day, we still have to be realistic about the price of the banquet given the current economy situation. I was very persistent in holding the wedding at Oriental but its a 200dollars difference. Hyatt, though has a wonderful ballroom but the price difference, given just down the street across Hilton's is not justifible.

Just my 2 cents worth.

shan> totally agree with you...we also did our sums here and there ...and comparing like 10 hotels *gasp*...

rachel can tell you whether she can do it or cannot do it. basically Hilton's package is already v good...compared to other hotels who are either too expensive/way rigid/pushy sales staff...

though hilton may look "old" from the outside..bt trust me...their ballroom looks OK and with the floral stands and deco and the lightings...(i have seen a few actual setup before)...looks pretty much decent for a wedding...

looking forward to select my cards and choosing the themes and wedding favours...

I understand what you mean, saggie. I was very sceptical about Hilton's ballroom as I personally do not very much like the lightings (I prefer chandaliers) &amp; the big pillars. But that day when Sebastian &amp; I went down to view the actual setup, I was impressed. Not only all the 30 tables had the view of the stage, the decorations were romantically done up. exactly the "feeling" I want. I'm not too sure how the view will be like if you have more tables but for our humble 30 tables, it is just nice.

Hilton's one of the few "luxury" hotels that accept our simple 30-tables affair. Some hotels need at least 45 tables. Who are they expecting us to invite? Kindergarten friends or our parents' kampung buddies?

oki, babes! I will make an appointment with both hotels and decide! Cos I really wanna see both ballrooms too and then I can compare and contrast!

Shan: I really need that kind of number (45 tables) for my wedding... :S if can, i rather not have any banquet... haiz

shan> ya lor...for us we are targetting at 35 tables plus 2 on reserve...so hilton's ballroom can reasonably accomodate for that...
at least it is not too squeezy...

30 tables is considered quite huge...i have been to smaller wedding dinners...bt the deco cannot make it....

pearl> hilton grand ballroom can take up to 50 tables ... so no problem for ur 45 tables...

Pearl, no offence on your table size ya?
What I mean what some hotels actually tried to push us to invite more people just to meet their minimum number of tables.

Pearl,

We saw the actual setup for 40 tables in the Grand Ballroom. Looks perfectly okay and spacious still. No worries there.

We shortlisted 5 hotels with Hilton coming up top for service (thanks to Rachel) and value. Pan Pacific and Hyatt were great too but...didn't meet our primary considerations:

1. Service (both our priority)
2. Value (my priority *haha*)
3. Location &amp; Interiors (WTB's priority)
4. Food - take it w/ a pinch of salt. Not always predictable.

MelPin> totally agree with you... must look out for value-for-money yet presentable banquet look and packages.

PP and Hyatt are way above our budget...

pearl> actually the floral stand with the candles and roses at the escalator there..looks quite nice too...can nego for those ribbons/sash to deco the escalator :D

pearl> Christmas was already taken months ago.I think for Christmas is 40 tables minimum. Most of the time, popular dates like Christmas or auspicious dates are booked at least 18 months in advance.

pearl> yup i think xmas was booked after we booked our date...

for xmas is min 40 as considered PH and auspicious...

23 Jan 2010 sounds quite nice
and i think is a good date too~~ if you tink is OK, then place yr deposit with rachel...must act fast... :D

hi all, i signed up for Hilton. My AD is Oct 3.
haven really got the chance to see the bridal suite (i went down twice and both days June say the rooms are occupied)

But from the reviews from here, i think the bridal suite should be nice ~

Are these suites called Executive Suites?

and i heard from June, the themes for 2009 may or may not change - still in discussion; they have not decided whether or not they changing any themes.

How many themes do they have in total? Rose, Crystal and what else?

I am going for bridal fitting soon - don't want the Evening gown to clash with the dinner theme colours.... so maybe i just avoid Red (in case i go for Rose theme?)

pearl> then got to discuss liao...so the master only give u two dates?

starwee> hello... we have seen the bridal suite...which other hotels called executive suite.. very big..with a big bed, big sofa, big table, 2 TV, a wardrobe, fully furnished toilet with bathtub and everything.... :D

starwee > oriential/crystal/european. they are the big excutive suites. with 2 LCD TVs, 2 toilets, 1 sofa,1 desk,1 king size bed. It is located from lvl 7 onwards. It is the room right at the corner with black door. The size is ard 2 standard hotel room

so we will all get the bridal suite or have to depend on which room allocated? Since may have 3 couples on the same night....

haha.. i never get to see the suite - i hope it will be the same for each couple. heee... will be nice to have a suite like u described.

On the quotation Hilton gave me, it's called Suite Room. Is it the same as what you referring to?