Hilton Hotel

Hi Baby

Thank you for the reply and advice. Everyone has the right of their opinions in this forum. If u are strong in taking Hilton, u shd not be affected by the fact of what i write. Those things I have posted are not negative things but they are facts. I also post some positive comments, did u not read them? I am surprised u only focus on the negative things i have written

U have no right to ask me to leave Hilton forum. If there is, then u shd also ask others who post at other forum to leave as well

I have been doing research, thats why there are few hotels for me to chose. Im sure for wedding, it is not a $1K or $2K thing, it is a $20K event.

I thank you Ling and blureth, least they are patience with me and are gracious enough to understand.

Hi Ocean,

You are most welcome but please dont be so defensive, i am suggesting to you, of course everyone got the right to speak out but your postings are so confusing and doubtful. U stated at first, the pastor cannot make it on pano on that day and now u stated still waiting for pastor to reply, Ocean, u have already paid yr deposit and i really find it strange lor since you are very careful w your financial, maybe you have not placed the deposit yet so u can still considering amongst the Hotels. Another point is you can lose your deposit anytime if you choose other hotels or because of the deposit, you have to accept Hilton.

My advice is to focus on what you really want and dont always do comparison too much in eventually you are the one who lose out.

Alto your point of views on Hilton are true but there is no need to keep repeating what you have posted. Its really tiring to see the same comments.

Dear Ocean Claudia: Thks for ur blessings and well wishes for my upcoming wedding. I deeply appreciate that.
As for ur venue selection, think it's best U get a few dates from ur pastor so dat there's always another date to fall back on, shld the hotel has already been booked for the earlier one.

If U decided on other venues instead and it's more than 6 mths b4 ur AD, U can get back either 100% or at least 50% of ur deposit. Do chk ur contract on this, don't have it with me now, I'm juz speaking from memory so I could remember wrongly. However, do try to make a decision fast... I know it's pressurizing but time is running short. Especially when year end is usually the wedding peak period.

Hope the above might be useful to U...

Dear blureth

thank you so much for yr precious advice. I shd be making the decision by this week. Nice of you to highlight the deposit to me. I have the contract and I will read them

I have booked my bridal package. Mine is Bridal Concept. Which is yours?

Hopefully the reno at swimming pool would be nice. this whole year pastors for solemnisation are full, and I am also going oversea immedtaely to get my residence permit done in europe during that period. thats why

Hilton has shown me the alternative for the march in, instead of the long march in from swimming pool. Kinda of nice alternative plan to consider.

u are very patience and gracious to me, that is very encouraging for me, lots of wisdom also, thanks

Ocean: My wedding at Hilton was fantastic. Food and service was tops from the banquet team and we received very good reviews/feedbacks from our guests... Though my wedding was on a weekend (Sat), and with all 3 ballrooms fully booked, we had no issues with the parking. Its probably because we had very understanding guests and maybe its also because we pre-warned our guests of the parking problem at Hilton. In our opinion, parking in orchard has never been an easy task. I am sure any drivers in Singapore will know that..

Ocean, I think you are just too stressed out and confused by what you want. You really need to clear your head, work out your finances/budgets & discuss with your HTB what are the important things that you look out for when selecting the venue for your wedding. With the list, compare against the hotels that you have shortlisted, and from there decide which hotel fits your requirement the best. Maybe this would work better for you...

Please pardon me for what I have to say next. But I have to agree with the other Hilton Brides in this thread that its really tiring & fustrating to read the same questions/concerns from you over & over again.

I hope you can understand that we are not against your posting in this thread... This thread is here so that all of us could share experiences and thoughts on wedding planning etc... Just that we can't understand why you are still considering Hilton even though you have so many concerns/issues with the hotel. We all feel that since you & HTB liked MM more then you should just follow your heart and have your wedding there. We all know that planning for a wedding is not cheap, that's why you should have your wedding in a place/hotel that really appeal to you.

Wendelyn: Hee.. I was like you too when I 1st received the little yellow coupons from Hilton. Very confused.. Well, good news is that you don't have to send it out to your guest. When its nearer to your wedding date, Hilton will change the yellow coupons to the actual URA/HDB Parking coupons. These coupons could be given to your guest on the actual day itself..

Blureth: Yipee! Thanks dearie for telling me how to bold my text... Haha...

Oh! I'm glad that your food tasting went well.. So what dishes did you select? Did you have the steam fresh prawns with sambal chilli? That's really good leh.. =P Aiyo, your wedding coming soon... I so excited for you leh.. Haha..

Regarding the gold string, I used about 2 packs for 150 cards. Oh! Just a kind reminder, please have someone help you with the cards... Cos its a tedious process... I alone did it for all my cards.. and I nearly died!
kao_dizzy.gif
Haha..

Yeap! June is really nice... Very often I find her going out of her way/scope of work just to help us plan/have the dream wedding. Frankly I think Hilton is really lucky to have such an outstanding staff.. She is very delicated to her work and from the way she works.. you can feel her passion for the job.. You know that she is not just there to earn a living..

Hilton and URA parking is different lah.. Silly gal..
URA parking not managed by Hilton...

Aiyo, just tell Yap that you want more blink to the EG... Ask him to perform magic.. heehee... Btw, did Yap show you my EG & ROM dress? Its with them now... had requested them to help me dry clean.. But I forgot to ask if I need to pay for it.. Hahaa..

Can you share with me any additional perks (other than the std ones) that Hilton provide? I am trying to negotiate more perks with Hilton b4 signing the contract.

Hi Ling, thanks for the advice. I hope I'm not stressing other brides but I'm suddenly feeling jittering about everything when I received the letter from June though I still have more than half a year to plan.

Ocean Claudia: You're welcome, we're all here to share our experience and hopefully to help each other out. My wedding gowns are from Ted Collection.

When I went for my food tasting on Labor Day, they've already started tearing down the alfresco kitchen area. Rachel did say that by June(mth), the toilets on 24th floor shld be up and ready for use.

Before I signed the contract & only went down to view Panorama, June(coordinator) did show me marching-in from Panorama I's door which I'm more inclined to take as I tend to sweat easily which I fear if I march-in from the swimming pool. :P

Ling: Haha... U sure are having fun with ur emotes eh. :P Had tasted weekend Devotion menu A1, changed 1 dish to Stir-fried Fresh Scallops & Prawns with Celery and the dessert to Traditional Yam Mousse with Baked Pumpkin.

Yeah, June is definitely very experienced. Her suggestions are constructive as well. OMG, less than 1.5 mths to my wedding. :P

As for cards, shld be counting on my mom to help out. Heh. I blur lar, had thght URA & Hilton carpark is the same. Haha...Paiseh.

Haven't been to TC since I went to send my gowns for cleaning after photoshoot in early Apr. Did U request more bling bling from Yap or he 'automatically' add for U?

Most likely, I'm gonna take the Crystal theme but VIP and reception tables might change some colors. March-in music, 1st song shld be more or less fixed, 2nd song not yet.

Oh, I do plan to send out the coupons together with invitation cards for relatives. What do U mean exactly by Hilton will change them into the actual coupons on our AD? *scratch head*

Wendelyn: Time flies... In no time, it's gonna be ur AD and everything will fall into place bit by bit. Try to relax urself here & there. I'm trying to concentrate on other stuff now like packing hubby's room cos I'm moving in with him & in-laws. This way, I can 'destress' myself. Haha...

hello blureth

thanks for yr advice, thats fast they have done the kitchen tear down'

yes i also saw the alternate march in plan , same like u, I sweat a lot as well. but then u shd have a longer march in if it is from the I door right?

Ocean Claudia: For me, I don't think there's much of a difference in the distance, be it from the swimming pool or Pano I's door.
Phaps there's more time needed to slowly change direction from the door into the main aisle, thus creating more time together with a slow walking pace.

Engeng : Erm, Hilton is pretty strict on the perks given.. I remembered not getting alot from them (mine was pretty much the standard ones) even though I begged & begged.. Sorry, can't help you here..

Blureth : Frankly, I regretted not asking Yap to add more blinks to it... Haha.. Anyway it turned out nice... Just thought more blinks will make it more stunning under the lights etc.. So you beta not wait, just tell him to add more blinks..
kao_babydust.gif

Alamak! Only 1.5 mths to go!?!? My goodness, you beta rush AWT on the wedding cards... Not much time left leh...

Regarding the coupons thingy, what you have now is little yellow pieces of coupons endorsed by Hilton right? Nearer to your wedding date, Hilton will exchange them for the actual URA parking coupons (those that you can use at public parking areas)... =)

Thanks Ling! Anything to look out for in the contract? any hidden cost? btw, is the projector provided by them? sorry for so many questions...i quite blur lah...

Hey ladies,
for some strange reason, i can't seem to find Hilton's wedding page.. do they post their package online? Or pictures?
Let me know. Thanks

It seems from the panorama ballroom pictures, that the march-in passage is rather narrow (as the tables are rather close) and there is no dry ice effect or spot light effect.
Can any brides help to clarify on that.

blureth: I'm moving in to his house too and I don't think packing his room is a form of de-stress!!! it's a pure torture for me...so much rubbish!!! We are practically procrastinating the packing..I'm hoping the contractor can come in earlier to renovate the room so that we really have the motivation to pack the room..hee.....

Ling: Well, juz sent to AWT the wordings and all other stuff we wanted to print on our invitation cards last nite. :P But most of my guests were oredi informed via call or sms, so cards are juz a formality in my case. Heh...

Yes, I have the URA yellow coupons now but issit OK to distribute these to relatives? Does that mean what we have now, coupon holders can't use them at public parking areas? Haha... Sorry if I sound like an idiot, cos I dun drive and I never bothered looking at carpark details.

As for getting Yap to add bling bling, well, see how bah.

Oh yes, did ur family request for canned pig trotters from ur hubby? Seems dat local supermarts dun sell liao wor... If possible, would like to get my hands on them for my GDL.
kao_cry.gif

Wendelyn: Haha...well, at least for me, packing his room made me sooo frustrated dat I forgot abt wedding stress somehow. In a way, switching wedding stress for packing stress. LOL.

Shadow Girl: Whether anot the Panorama march-in passage is narrow, it's up to individuals.
Some ppl find it OK, some might find it narrow, so if U're really interested, best to make an appt and see for urself. There is dry ice effect as one of the options...not quite sure what U mean by spot light effect thgh. :P

Jacqueline Chow: Dun think they post much abt weddings on Hilton's website and they don't post their package online as far as I know. Juz call them up and get the banquet sales dept to email U their packages. It'll be much faster. Hope this helps!

blureth & wendelyn: My AD is still far away next year Jan 09 bride. Im moving his house too and i have ample time to pack and redesign our room luckily my HB is a neat and clean person but the only problem we encounter is both of us like to shop and he has occupied the whole wardrode now which means no space for me to put my clothings lol.

baby: Good for U! Haha... Always good to start early. My hubby isn't a neat person to begin with.
However, at least he took the initiative to start packing liao. Really can't believe the amazing amount of 'junk' in his room. Haha...
Wardrobe wise, I dunno what to bring over cos we are only packing what's lying ard his room, not in wardrobes. Thus it's hard to gauge how much space I actually have for my clothes. Anyway, not like my mom lives too far, can still go home and pick things up. Heh...

Blureth : No worries, it took me some time to figure out the parking coupons too! Well the 'yellow tickets' that you have now are not the actual URA coupons that your guests can use island wide at any URA carparks. What happens is that on the actual day itself, there will be a hotel staff stationed at the carpark to re-direct guests to the URA carpark. Before your guest exits from Hilton & into the URA carpark, the staff will exchange the 'yellow ticket' with the URA coupons (worth $3). Problem with this arrangement is that if your guest forgets to bring the 'yellow tickets', then they will not be given any URA coupons.

So to prevent this from happening, June proposed that I returned her all the 'yellow tickets' 1 week before the wedding. Then on the actual day, she will give us the URA coupons (placed in envelopes). This way, we can give to our guests during cocktail. But the best part about this arrangement is that we get to keep all the remaining coupons

EngEng : You are most welcome! Don't remember that there are any hidden cost in Hilton's contract. They spelt out everything very clearly. Erm, you may wish to take note of the charges for their alcohol (wine, beer, corkage charges). So that you can plan how many bottles you wanna open that night. Oh! We paid $300 for the 2 projectors used.

EngEng: Go chk out with Hilton for the packages available now. It will vary from time to time. I got free use of LCD projector cos we signed the UOB package. Hilton's contract is like what Ling said, it's all clearly stated.

Ling: Will be meeting June later to select theme & favors. Mebbe I'll ask her abt the URA coupons.
So meaning guests won't be parking in Hilton carpark eventually and instead will be redirected to URA's?

Btw, did U get canned pig trotters for ur GDL? U forgot to reply me.

Blureth: Oh ya! Paisei forgot to reply you.. Getting old... Yeap, my sister managed to get the canned pig trotters for us.
Heard she bought it from a provision shop in AMK.
=> Oh oh! Help me say Hi to June.. and tell her I miss her..
Haha

yup called to arrange for viewing this Sat. June was really friendly. Going to check the panorama room. I really like the idea that it opens to the pool. But heard some times hotel guests still swim despite wedding going on.

Ling: Hmm, but when was ur GDL? Last Dec or early Jan rite? I really doubt I can find canned pig trotters somehow now, all the negative news abt it. Well, gonna see how, if can't find it, juz gonna use angbao to substitute.

Aiyah, din see ur post in time... heh... So din say Hi on ur behalf. :P Btw, June said they dun have mics for singing leh. Sigh... now headache lor, dunno wat song I can choose dat won't sound weird without backgrd music.
kao_frustrated.gif

kalmen: Heh... take the swimming guests as background decoration for ur cocktail reception if U choose Panorama! Haha...

so busy wif my work lately.. i signed up wif Hilton liao.. So happi..

They offer mi additional carpark coupon in URA lor. Waiver of wine corkage per confirmed table & helper rm (but subject to availability).

Ling: My AD is 29 Sept.. Confirm date liao..
Agreed that June is a v nice person. She realli make an effort to give us the best tt we wan..

Ocean: Hv u make a decision? Watever decision u make, most impt is tt both u & ur HTB b muz comfortable...

hello Joant

thank u for yr reply. I will go down and see the set up again tomorrow and will make a decision by next week

glad to hear u have make a decision

best regds

Dear Hilton brides,

Does anyone have comments about the vista ballroom?

I wanted to have my dinner at paranoma room but it is not available on the date that I want, so might have to pick vista room instead.

Does anyone knows when weddings are being held at the vista and grand ballroom at the same time, were the guests confused?

Dear Hilton brides,

Does anyone have comments about the vista ballroom?

I wanted to have my dinner at paranoma room but it is not available on the date that I want, so might have to pick vista room instead.

Does anyone knows when weddings are being held at the vista and grand ballroom at the same time, were the guests confused?

nt259: Still undecided on the songs... argh... so no answer yet for ur question.

Shadow Girl: U dun have a 'backup' date? Or the date U've chosen can't be changed?
We did hear from some Hilton brides who had their weddings in either Vista or Grand Ballroom, that guests went to the wrong venue. What some did, were to display of their wedding photo near their venue or lobby. Phaps can get Rachel or June to help in getting navigation signs from lobby or escalator if U noe another couple is holding their wedding in the opposite ballroom.

blureth: I hv finally signed up with Hilton at paranoma for 2009. Thumbs up for June's excellent service and accomondating to our needs most of the time. I can rest and relax abit until July for my first fitting lol. I have booked the PG & VG for actual day too. what else can i do next?

baby: Yippee! Welcome to being a Hilton bride!
Agreed! June's service is really good and very professional too...

Well, ur florist, MUA settled liao mar? U shld hv settled ur heels rite? Ur hubby's suit, shirts, ties & shoes? Do U hv PS?

blureth: I have not bot any heels yet, My BS advise me to buy at least 3" onwards, i guess will be quite hectic on PS/acutal day lol..My package include PS and my HB suit. I feel happy and excited for you cos yr actual day is less than a month if i m not wrong.. You must share yr experience wor..have a great day ahead.

baby: Never too early to start sourcing for ur heels... I've searched for a very long time before I got my gold heels. I do agree with wearing at least 3" heels cos it will make U look better, in poise and walking (unless U aren't used to wearing heels).

I had lotsa fun on my PS and kinda missing it now. Sigh... Ur BS won't cover ur hubby's shirts, tie(s) and shoes, do they?
IMO, try to source shoes 1st, then ask ur BS for advise the color of shirts & ties to buy in order to match ur gowns.

Heh, I'm kinda freaking out liao. 3+ weeks left and lotsa stuff still like dangling in mid-air. Crap.

Due to lotsa unforseen factors, I haven't even started to plan for my actual day and duties for my jiemeis/xiongdis. Juz went to AWT today to collect my invitation cards, a bit scared I'll screw up if I glue my card inserts (I'm not using gold strings). Might be using double-sided tape. Ginger (AWT) tried it on a sample to show me and it seemed OK.

Hi All!
I also received the package from June although my AD is in Nov! A bit at lost on what to do.

Blureth : Good luck on your AD! Time flies....

Lay Ling: What package U talking abt? The complimentary coupons and such issit? My AD in June, I got it early Jan. Right on time!
Gives U plenty of time to plan ur stuff as well.

Yea, time really flies... still can't quite believe my AD is juz ard the corner.

Thks... think I need lotsa luck on my AD... hope everything will run smoothly...

Yup, the package with the carpark coupons + a list of what to do by when.

My AD being on 29 Nov, is late Sept or early Oct an ok time to send the invitations? If so, when should I go down to AWT to select my cards?

Lay Ling: Send out ur cards in Oct shld be fine, so try to select ur card design ard Aug or early Sept, give a few days' time to a week for proof-reading (depending on how customised U want ur invitation to be, any special phrases & such) & printing which takes 7 days. And if U're engaging other printers than AWT, give urself more time. Anyway, dun be like me, less than a mth b4 AD then send out invites. :P Luckily I oredi called or smsed ppl way b4 to see if they're free to attend anot, so they won't feel like I'm onli inviting them to 'boost' numbers. LOL.

nt259: My wedding heels are from U.R.S but the design I got was avail onli in Causeway Point Metro. Had shopped in other U.R.S branches but couldn't find it. U juz need to go shop and walk ard as much as U can, till U find a pair U like. I searched for abt a mth or more b4 I got my heels.

hi Joant and blurthe

I finally become Hilton bride.
Thanks for all advice
wish u all the best and merries for yr marriage

Ocean Claudia: Grats to U, finally made ur decision. Now onto the next step in ur wedding prep, since venue is settled. So in the end, which ballroom U're using?

I finally found a grasp to what's happening after reading this thread.

Ocean Claudia: Thanks for your advice. But I don't seem to have another choice of date as of present status.

To all Hilton brides: Has anyone used the area outside of the Panorama ballroom that's by the poolside for additional tables? I am having a problem with the guest list and I dun seem to be able to find another suitable venue for my dinner. Someone pls help...

Ocean Claudia: Well, I have yet to settle my song list, 2nd march-in song etc. Guest list half done, cos some juz can't cfm now, even thgh it's less than 3 weeks to my AD. Not really excited, feeling more stressed and depressed as my grandma is hospitalised now. Can only hope for the best, that she can recover.
I myself am coming down with a cold.

FG: How many tables in total are U looking at? If possible, why not opt for Grand Ballroom instead? Tables by poolside, provided weather not warm and humid lar.

Blureth: I am looking at about 28-30 tables... The Grand Ballroom is not available on 15 March, which is the date chosen by the fortune-teller. The worst thing is he didn't give me another alternative date.