Hilton Hotel

Ocean: hilton provide mi additional carpark lot in URA (behind hilton). I guess advance notice to guests shd help.. Ur AD in Nov, u shd better make ur decision fast on which hotel u wan..

Ling: How's ur wedding held in hilton? Any complaints like the food? How mani tables did u hv? keke guess i ask too mani qn @ 1 time.. keke

hi blureth

u attended a wedding in dec, how was the food u feel?

are u getting married this year? that is nice of u to log in to bridal forum even if u are not getting married and just attending the wedding?

Ocean : I quite like their Bridal suite room leh.. Colour of the bathroom looks fine to me leh.. Maybe becos I personally like black... Regarding the shower thingy.. I probably used the wrong word for it. Its really something special & unique, got to go experience/see for yourself then you will know what I mean.. I don't think hotels have them in std rooms.. But then I may be wrong, cos I don't usually stay in hotels... hee... Actually from the way you post in this thread.. Hilton really dun appeal to both yourself & hubby... Then I think you should just 'strike' Hilton off from your list and move on. Focus on the other 2 hotels that you have shortlisted instead.

Baby : I heard about the reno too.. Believe it will turn out fantastic! Don't worry too much.. Hee... Frankly, Hilton is really putting in alot of effort to make their hotel appeal better to couples... And so far they have been doing a great job. My wedding turned out fabulous! My guests couldn't stop praising about their service & food. Its really thumbs up for them! =)

Blureth : Yes, their food quality improved. Don't worry... Hitlon view feedbacks from us very seriously... They immediately worked on their menu/dishes when they read/learnt about the negative reviews...

Joant : Advance notice to guests about the parking problem definitely helped. Complaints come about when expectations are too high.. So by telling them in advance, help them be prepared mentally & they could plan their 'route'/parking accordingly. I did just that for my wedding and to my surprise, I did not receive a single complaint from my guests that evening (or even after the wedding) about parking issues. Ha!

Now to answer your qns;
1) My wedding was a blast (June & Nicolas did a fantastic job)
2) Feedbacks on food were mostly positive. Though we did rec'd some bad comments (but this is rather subjective, cos we have our own preferences for food)
3) 45 tables

Feel free to ask me qns.. I would be glad to help and share my experiences..

tt time did u manage to get free flow of beer & wavier of corkage of wine?

Can their live projector switch to my montage instead renting another projector?

Sorri huh. ask so mani qns from u. =)

hallo Ling

thks for the advice. I am still considering is becos the price is reasonable and it is at Orchard rd. Also my fiancer is not a local and he will be staying 2 weeks in Hilton , cos we need to have a good contract rate for him. therefore he needs a hotel that is centraly located for these 2 weeks...

Hi Ling

Thanks for your feedback and its really comfort us and make us feel that our decision is right to choose Hilton. Another reason is the sales coordinator, Rachel, i can say she is very helpful and nice lady, she always replied all our requests very prompty. Thumb up for their service =)

Ms Ocean Claudia ar... LOL...

Here are my replies to ur questions...

1. Quoted from my prev post, "Well, I had attended a wedding in Dec last yr at M Hotel and I must say, both hubby and I were kinda disgusted with the food. We even left the fish totally untouched cos it tasted quite raw." In case U're mistaken, this above statement was juz a personal feedback abt my ex-colleague's wedding which I've attended last Dec in M Hotel as U had mentioned it being one of ur choices. Of cos, my ex-colleague could have been suay to get bad food quality on her wedding. M hotel might really have been consistent abt their food quality, so take it with a pinch of salt.

2. Of cos I'm getting married this yr, in June, in Panorama. That's why I was telling U previously when U asked me to share my wedding experience with Hilton, that I've got nothing to share as of now, cos my AD ain't over! Heh...

Ling: Heh, when I went to Hilton exec suite for PS, I did go into the bathroom lar but cos was in a rush of time, so din take note of the shower area. Will look carefully when I stay for the nite! *wink* Haha...

I just went to AWT today to select invitation card design, will get them to print for us too, cos lazy to search for printers. LOL.

Am oredi getting ppl to confirm attendance but relatives a bit difficult somehow. So phaps juz take it that every single member turns up lor. :P

baby: Yea, Rachel is sweet... Coordinated wiv her abt my upcoming food tasting session on Labour's Day too.

Hi Ocean, please read yr own posting below:

Posted on Monday, March 31, 2008 - 6:43 pm:

"hi blureth and blessings,

when are your AD?

Mine is in Nov Paranoma also"

Posted on Monday, 31 March 2008, 11:41pm

"I just paid my deposit."

I happen to read the reviews on Hilton Hotel from 1 January 2008 onwards and I am very doubtful about your posting since 31 March 2008, u stated u hv paid the desposit and chosen Paranoma also as stated above.

On 25 April 2008, your posting told me u have not chosen Hilton yet, still considering.

Hope i am wrong that your postings are not tally or please think carefully before u post when deciding the venue.

Take care.

hello baby

I did put down deposit but Hilton holds for me. Reason being my HTB is not a Singaporean and he is not here to view the venue. He is a european and recently came down and feel he does not like the place. So no need to doubt me ok or i shd think carefully.

I am half hearted if I shd take becos the date I want for Pano is not available for my pastor to come, so now only available with Vista which my fiancier does not like.

The date available for Pano, pastor cannot come. So thats why I am still thinking

thats the reason ok

sorry to confuse u

I went to hilton last sun for a visit again. There is a wedding w crystal theme held in grandball room. After sighting the ballroom, its kinda disappointed tt the ballroom is not tt majestic looking. w 3pillars & low-ceiling.. The 1st time i visit, the ballroom is not fully opened up.

Ling: Hv any of ur guests complain abt the looks of the ballroom? I realli like hilton a lot..
I went to c novotel also. Onli their ballroom impressed mi. As compare to the suite, all my praise is to hilton..

hi Joant

I share the same thought as u. Hilton Suite is nice but ballroom so so..

maybe u want to top up a bit for the decor...

Hi Joant : Din manage to get free flow of beer & waiver of corkage for wines because my wedding was on a weekend... =) As for the montage thingy, I don't quite understand leh... Maybe you can explain further? =)

Hi Ocean : Oic, poor you... must be very stressed out now.. You mentioned that you placed a deposite already.. What would happen to your $ if Hilton is not your final choice? Hope you have something worked out there..

Hi Blureth : Hee.. Ya ya.. must check out the shower thingy.. =) So you had fun on your PS? How I wished I could re-experience the wedding again... Having post wedding blues... Hahaha...
Oh, you used AWT ar? Must be 'careful' hor...

Ling: Yea, it was really fun on both days of our photoshoot. Heh... Oh no, wonder if I'll have post wedding blues as well. After all, I put in quite a lot of effort into getting our wedding organised. *breathe deeply*

Wassup with AWT? Be careful of what? Pls do tell me, cos I still haven't confirmed with her on typesetting yet.

Joant : No leh... Din receive much feedback on the 'look' of the ballroom... But I did receive very nice comments on the decor and the ambience created... =) Frankly we weren't too concern about the pillars leh.. Even though it did blocked some of the guest views when we were on the stage... But to us the most impt thing about a wedding banquet is the hotel's services & food quality. The rest are not that impt.. =) Cos usually pple will only remember how good the food/service are... Not many will remember the look of the ballroom.. =)

Oh! You went to Novotel? I also visited that hotel back in yr 2006 when we were shortlisting hotels for the banquet.. The ballroom looks spacious & its pillarless right? But its din appeal to us.. It feels a little weird that the ballroom is 1 or 2 floors down from the lobby... You saw the projectors they used? Its so backdated, like those I used back in secondary school days... My goodness.. Nearly faint lor.. Haha.. Don't know if they upgraded it already... In any case, their packages weren't so attractive back then..

Yea.. Hilton Bridal Suite Room (renovated one) very nice & comfy... Was just talking to my HB about going back to stay there again... Haha...

Blureth : By the way, which card did you select? My personal experience with AWT wasn't good. There were some hiccups with the designs selected.. Apparantly the staff that attended to us did not explain clearly what's the meaning of 'blank card' for certain designs. That resulted in alot of unhappiness and I wasn't exactly happy with the way AWT handled the whole matter. They kept on pushing the blame back to us, saying that it had all be explained. If I alone have the mis-conception then maybe really I misunderstood the staff explanation back then during card selection, but my HB also have the same impression as me! How can 2 people listen wrongly? Anyway, June settled the whole issue for me with AWT. But I am still very sour over the whole thing.. Haiz, in short.. please note down all the things that they tell you, reconfirm the details with them again. Also they do not have proper follow-ups with BTBs. So you need to constantly call them to remind them of the delivery date and make sure that things (cards, inserts + envelopes) are in order when you are asked to collect them.

Ling: I selected the normal matte gold square sized card, with floral design embossed on the cover. So we had to print inserts no matter what for both Eng & Chn. You can chk out my blog www.blureth.com cos I wrote more lar.

We met up with Shirley last Sat, she seems OK to us leh. Erm, blank card as in? Btw, I'm thinking of glue-ing the inserts instead of using elastic gold string. Shirley did an example to show us and it looks 'clean' compared to using a gold string. :P Did U glue or use gold string, Ling?

Blureth: Okie.. Will check out your blog this evening.. =)
Well for my wedding, we selected 2 card designs... The usual pearl white, square card with floral design embossed on the cover & the other is a pearl cream, rectangle card with precious moment pic on the cover & a red/orange over-lay. We were told that we will be given 'blank' cards.. So our understanding of it is that there won't be any wordings nor printing inside the card. To us, that's acceptable as June did mention to us previously that the hotel will only provide the cards.. as for the inserts & wordings inside the card, we have to settle ourselves. However, on our collection day of the cards from AWT, we were shocked that we were given totally blank cards for the 2nd design chosen. We then realised that the printing of the precious moment pic does not come with the card. We would have to fork out additional $ if we want to have the same design shown in their catalogue. Oh my! We were totally shocked by it lor... And I was extremely pissed off as they kept insisting that it was clearly explained to us during our card selection... and pushing the blame back to us... Hiaz... It was a terrible experience..

Ling: Hmm, I'm thinking mebbe we could hv chosen the same design. The floral embossment covers the entire square and at the bottom right corner, hotstamped "Our Wedding". Color-wise, I'm not sure if I described it correctly, this design comes wiv silver, red and the one which we selected is kinda yellowish (phaps it's cream color?? *shrug*).

As for the rectangle card U mentioned, think I know which one U're talking abt. The over-lay issit being attached with a ribbon only at the top side of the card? So the Precious Moment pic didn't come together ar, hmm, they shld hv mentioned it clearly to the couple leh.

In the end, the 2nd design were sent out with no pics or wordings on the cover? Why the choice of double sided tape over glue?

Blureth : Hee.. I also think we chose the same design... But last time only have pearl white & red... Don't have silver leh...

Yap! You got the design of the 2nd card right.. Its the one with the ribbon on top =) Ya lor, the pic on the card is not included.. Silly right? Then they should jz display the actual card (without the pic) for couples to select mah.. Very misleading...

Anyway, I jz hope that all BTBs could be more careful when selecting the card of your choice. Reconfirm with AWT on what's included and what's not. Also when they call you up to collect the cards, pls just reconfirm with them that the envelopes are ready too hor.. The last time round for me, cards ready.. But envelopes not... Got to make 2nd trip.. Haiz... In any case, everything was settled and the 2nd design was sent out to guests with the desired pic.

Glue will create a little ripple on the paper (insert).. So felt that double side tape works better... Also its easier to remove if after sticking the insert to the card then realise make a mistake on the guest name... =)

Ling: Hmm, the red color even came in 2 designs, one normal and the other one more dark red. So color-wise, this design has 4 to choose from.

At least June has stepped in and helped to settle the issue. Great to hear dat U managed to hv ur desired pic printed on ur 2nd design.

Envelopes not ready together with the cards, bummer... Thks for the advice, will cfm that every thing is ready so that we won't have to make an extra trip down.

Tmr is food tasting liao... Then will discuss with hubby if there's any special lines we wanna include in the card before notifying AWT. Did U keep a copy of the invitation card for remembrance?

Btw, did U buy the elastic gold string from AWT or U got the normal gold string instead? Had went to source in Spotlight for elastic gold string to see price range but couldn't find it.

Blureth : Excited about your food tasting? =) Hey! Go check out the gold string from Popular Bookstore. I got mine there... =) Not expensive... Think about $2 per pack... =P Oh of cos we keep a set of the wedding invitation cards for remembrance...
Erm... how come you can put so many cute icons/faces plus you can bold my name leh? Teach me leh..

Ling: i hv decided to hv my dinner in hilton. We r signing the contract on Tue. 1 thing load off my mind liao..

Ocean: hv u decide on ur venue?

Joant: Hey! That's great! =) So you taking the Grand Ballroom room? Btw, when is your AD?

Blureth: I finally went to your blog... hee... Your gowns from TC very nice leh... I like the EG.. Very sexy... Is Yap gonna add more blink blink to it? Hey! I think we used the same fabric... Just that the colour is diff... heehee...

Hi Ling
I'm still confuse on what is "Blank card" ?
AWT should give us or not ?
You mentioned you have 2 design card, you mean we can select 2 design card for our wedding card ?
What is "precious moment pic "?

How many cards did you printed ?
How much is one card ?
For the "for the inserts & wordings inside the card", did you use AWT ?
If yes, what is their charges?
If no, where did you printing it ?

I'm going down to AWT soon....hope to have your advise.

Hi all BTB / Ex Hilton Brides..
I had also signed up with Hilton .....AD be 2009 March ...Taking up Grand Ballroom.
I like everything abt Hilton ...but then have some concerns still abt the carparking.

Ling (ling1411)>> re carpark, if your guests park at other places eg wheelock n etc..How do you handle the URA coupons given by Hilton?

Hi Joant,

I may decide Hilton, but again there are concerns. Now just waiting for pastor's reply.

We also went to check Marina Mandarin, HTB likes the Vanda Room, and we both find the function room very nice.

Price also very reasonable.

nt259: Haha.. Sorry if my posting confused you.

1) Well the definition of blank card really depends on the design you select. Its better you re-confirm with AWT directly. Generally it means that your card does not come with any 'wordings/printings' inside the card. And for some cards, the designs on the cover (as presented in their catalogue) is not included. Got to pay extra for the printing of the picture/words.

2) Yes, we selected 2 designs. One elegant/traditional (for our parents guests) and the other was fun/young (for our friends).

3) Yes, you can select as many designs as you want. As long as the quantity of each design selected adds up to be within the quantity that you are entitled to by Hilton. Cannot exceed, else must pay.

4) On the cover of the card bears the picture of a "Precious Moment" wedding couple...

5) Cards were provided by Hilton so din pay anything there.

6) As for the no. of cards given.. Think we were given 70% of confirmed guest.

7) Did not use AWT for the printing.. cos my HB's friend did it for us free.

8) Sorry leh.. din take any picture of the cards... So can't show you..

Busha: Hey Congrats! Regarding the URA coupons, Hilton was very nice to have them put into envelopes. So it was very discreet when we were handling out to the guests. We actually arranged for my sisters to check with every guest that register at the reception if they drove. If yes, we just gave them the envelopes. But of cos must check if they managed to park in Hilton... If yes, then we give the Hilton parking coupons instead. I also got some helpers to go around the tables to check if we missed out any guests... Cos you know lah.. some very shy/blur to take from the recept.. =P

Ocean : This is a once in a lifetime event, so better choose a venue that both yourself & HB loves... My advice to you is not to force yourself to like a place... Really no point cos no matter what the hotel does.. you will always find it unsatisfactory. And you won't enjoy the process of planning for the wedding... You may end up regretting for the 'rest of your life'. You know what I mean? Did you check with MM if the date you want is still available? If yes, why not consider having your wedding there?

Dear Ling

thanks for yr precious advice.

MM date is still available. However the two weeks stay at MM is very expensive. HTB dun want to shift around the venue

Hi Ocean,

Oh... Did you try to ask for better room rates from MM? What is the difference you are looking at? Why not try booking thru internet? Sometimes they offer promo rates there...

hi Ling
\
Most hotels are offering more than $300++ for the lowest cat. As u know, for two weeks stay it could cost more than $4K. Not only that husband got to fly here and me going over after wedding...so thats a lot of expenses, thats why we are also prudent in choising the hotel.

For me, I dun need any chinese typical ceremony., this is already cut down not only expenses but also i felt it is not necessary for me. Cumbersome also and make both of us tired and we dun like

only tea ceremony remains.

Hi Ocean,

$4K!! That's alot!! No wonder... But how about having your husband stay with you at your place for the 2 weeks... Then you guys just have the wedding at MM? In this way, you guys can save on the accomodation.. =)

hi Ling

As my HTB is an european, he is not used to staying at HDB flat, moreover my flat is crowded, and we are both christians, do not practise this way

so no way of him staying in my place

Hi Ocean,

Oic.. Then looks like you can't save on accomodation... Erm, so have you decided which hotel you wanna confirm with? Hilton or MM?

Hi Ling (ling1411) ,
Hilton put the URA coupons in a envelope?? that's nice! I was still contemplating to buy the envelopes myself to slot in the coupons...well, but do they do it for all or just becos you requested? anyway, i think i will ask my guest to go for valet parking instead....hmmmmmmmmmm

Btw, was yours held in Grandballroom or ?

Hi Ocean : My AD was in Jan'08. We have been to many hotels, including MM, M Hotel, Regents, Four Seasons, Orchard Hotel, Merchant Courts, Traders, Hyatt, Marriots etc... But we chose Hilton because we felt that it best fit our requirements. Their pricing was reasonable, food & service was tops and most importantly we were very happy with the service from June. She was very sincere and wasn't pushy at all... Very helpful.

Frankly what is really holding you back? You mentioned that MM appealed to both you & HTB. Also their prices very reasonable.. So why still consider Hilton? Is it because of the deposite placed?

Hi Ser : Yap, it was certaintly very thoughtful of them.. This was actually suggested by June.. So we din have to ask for the envelopes. As for valet parking, I think there is max no of cars they can handle.. So I think maybe some of guests have to park else where...

Yes, I took the Grand ballroom as well.

hi Ling

Thank you for yr reply.

Whats holding me is , like I said:
I wanted the date - it is full. Pastor can only make it that day

So I have no choice but to book other date.

My HTB does not like Hilton , he finds it too old and parking also a problem. Like I said, I drove as well, I can understand how frustrated it is a find a parking lot on a weekend.Personally I do not like that when the guest comes, their first impression is so bad on the parking.

Secondly, M Hotel. M hotel is very nice, have their own ballroom, all level by yr own and prices v reasonable for a ballroom price. Moreover their suite has a jazcuzzi. My HTB like it v much. But I told my HTB, not many pple knows where M hotel is. Also it is not at Orchard Area.

Next MM. MM has a nice function room. Prices also v competitive to Hilton with all things inclusive. However their suite room fall short of Hilton. Their menus is better than Hilton

I know not all are perfect. We have other expenses such as his long stay here, and our wedding in europe. Silly thing is: Hotel is not cheap in SIN.

Of all three, indeed, Hilton's function rooms are not nice. But their suite room is bigger than the rest.

Overall, how is yr wedding? is it on weekend? any parking problem>?

Hi gals....a Q about the URA carpark, do the guests have to present the coupons before entering the carpark or when they exit the carpark? because I just received the coupons from Hilton and sort of read that we should send the coupons out together with the invitation cards.

Ling: Heh...Food tasting went well, eat until U drop sia... so bloated. Sure, I'll go chk out the gold string from Popular soon. How many cards can U tie with the length from one pack of gold string?

To bold any words or lines, juz type \b { whatever-U-want }, minus the space in between of cos.
As for emoticons, go to the bottom of the page, open Emoticons in a new tab or page, then copy & paste the emotes U like to attach in ur post. Hv fun!

Heh... thks... Yeah, think we used the same fabric too, juz diff color. Not sure if Yap gonna add more bling, of cos I hope he would. :P

Wow, dat's nice of June to suggest putting them into envelopes. Actually, I'm a bit blur, Hilton & URA carpark, issit the same? :P

nt259: I haven't even printed my cards yet, LOL. Nuttin to show U. :P

dear blureth

Just to take note, it does not mean having URA coupons your guests will have no car park problem. This is a good will from Hilton to compensate the guests for having to park their cars outside Hilton's premises. But there again, they do not promise yr guests will get a parking lot outside Hilton. So u still have to highlight to yr guests to come earlier...

if URA parking space is full, yre guests may need to park at forum or other places, which could be more than $3 ( exceed the parking coupon given)

Insofar, I've only read and not post in this forum.

I understand that you are anxious to be a bride soon and my congratulations to you.

But please, DO TAKE A BREAK and READ CLOSELY what others have posted. Some of them have already replied your questions which you keep on asking.

I'm sorry but it does get pretty tiring.

Please do not take my advice in the wrong way. Maybe you're too excited? Hope you'll be able to decide soon on your choices and have your own dream wedding.

Ocean Claudia: Thks for ur concern, but of cos I know what I was getting myself into when I chose Hilton. I've done my research and I know parking is a common prob. However, public transport are easily accessible which is a huge factor why I chose Hilton, together with good comments b4 abt their food quality and service lvl. I think I've repeated this countless times in this thread. I've also mentioned that my take on this issue, is to pre-empt guests abt the parking prob, dat either they come early to get their parking lots OR they take public transport.

I can't please everyone... but at least I try to provide the next best alternative. It's all up to them.

hello blureth

Thanks for all yr advice. Yes I guess so, this must be the way. Am happy ur wedding runs well. I guess that is becos u have done proper planning thats why it is smooth. Important is yrself and hubby are happy. Nice of u to log in even though yr wedding is over.

Appreciate all yr patience advice.

LOL... Both me and Blureth are NOT DONE WITH OUR WEDDINGS yet..

Who are you referring to whose wedding is over?

Once again, please read... ROFL.

Dear dear Ocean Claudia: I haven't had my wedding, it's in JUNE! Oh boy, think I've said this a thousand times...LOL... You can click on my profile, I did display my wedding date. Smooth running of my wedding anot, I dunno cos it ain't over, gal!

sorry blureth,
Hi Blureth

mistaken u as Ling... sorry

Ling: glad yr wedding runs well. thanks for all yr precious advice

Blureth, sure u will have a good wedding, with all the precious advice given here...Im sure u wil be the happiest bride on that day . No worries ok

Hi Ocean,

Since your interest or decision on Hilton is very slim, could you please dont mislead any msg for those potential people who are interested on Hilton. All of us know the car problem thingy in Hilton but we can overcome it but not you.

I also notice you post other msg on Grand Hyatt, MM, M hotel and Swissotel Stamford, all are negatives except MM and M hotel. Maybe you shd divert yr effort to post these two hotels and leave Hilton alone. Thank you.

If you want to post any msg, please do some research before u post, this is not the first time u make the mistake.

As regards to the accommodation, since you and your hubby are so budget constraints, maybe u can consider budget hotel eg. Hotel 81, u can stay as long as possible without worry.