Hilton Hotel

Virtual> Haven decide..Their list of new songs are nice.. getting more gan jiong liao..

When is ur AV testing?

missyee> june arranged 15 may. but need to check with my helpers involved to see if they are free first. when's urs?

i got a long list of tasks to do. Plus v busy with work. feel more stressed than gan jiong. haha.

missyee> what time is urs?

Eh. Think the helpers involved in the night program should be there right? Lik emcees, the helper playing the CDs etc..

Virtual> I forgot which timing she allocate me.. let u know tonite. my childhood montage also not ready.. so i may defer the testing date.. I think it's just to test whatever songs we have bah... Maybe I'll check with June tonite

Virtual> no leh.. my hb side distributing cakes before GDL and their day will begin from morning.. so cannot loh. My GDL on 17th. Am planning to go maybe 20th coz AC and i already took leave... hee.. so excited to see the ballroom once more!

has anyone successfully booked their ad with hilton in january 2011 for panorama room? i heard there could be some reno works going on.

hi girls.. did anybody apply for any permit for the childhood montage? im engaging someone to do my childhood montage and was told to choose my songs from this webbie that gives us the license to use the songs in our montage.. just wondering if i still need to apply for the ad-hoc permit from compass as advised by hilton earlier..

anyone has any idea?

Sorry i'm a guy and regarding to this stupid copyright issue. I applied the ad-hoc permit from compass a day before my AD and paid $53++(inc GST). That permit covers both my childhood montage and video express highlight. If got karaoke, it will be $100++. FYI, the VG engaged must have reproduction permit for embedded music in the express highlight, since the childhood montage was created by myself, that also requires reproduction permit, but i tag along with my VG. After the AD, all songs used in montage/highlight must be specified with duration and mail back to compass. That form is given together with the ad hoc permit upon payment at compass.

To add on, Hilton license only covers 1st/2nd march-in, cake cutting, champagne pouring and fanfare. So long as the music that you used are played from original CDs. The hotel will have no issue.

hello! I just had my wedding at Hilton over last weekend.. for the music thingy, I played original CDs with my childhood montage in mute. so far so good.. for those who wana save the hassle

In my earlier postings I asked abt the taste of the noodles yah? It went very well indeed. Guests find my dishes special and tasty. Although I only had some of the food, I personally felt the food were tastier than what I had for food tasting! thumbs up.

Hi missysee, congrats and good to hear that your food was good. I only took the first and last dish. My sis told me the food was not as good as food tasting which I was expecting it since that night there were 3 couples holding wedding dinners and the quality will sure drop. But to my surprise, 90% of the guests commented the food was very good and my uncle also comment the vegetarian food was one of the best he ever had. But there were some hicups which otherwise I will consider it as a successful wedding dinner.

Hi Darren, thanks for sharing! I just applied for the ad-hoc permit todae.. Hope they process it quickly.. =( As for the reproduction permit, my VG said they are using royalty free songs and have supporting docs for that, so i suppose it should be ok la.. i hope.. *cross fingers* this copyright thing is so sickening.. =(

Hey missysee.. Congrats! Glad to know that everything went well for u.. =)

Thanks Lingz.. my VG also used royalty free songs.. limited choices but bo bian..dun wish to spend more and the hassle of applying. I used Hilton's list of songs for march-ins and fanfare dish.. the latest list of songs are nice..

Well my wife don't like the song list provided by hilton so we used the original CDs for 1st/2nd march-in, champagne pouring and cake cutting. For fanfare, due to time constraint, we used the Hilton list.

Hey missysee I had PM u about the hicups and only mentioned 2.

Have anyone been affected by the reno of the poolside next to Paranoma Room from Jun-End Sep 10? Got real pissed off after receiving call today. We chose the hotel and the ballroom was mainly cos of its uniqueness of the pool...and now the reno is going to take place just outside the ballroom???

Hi ShirlDreamz, I just had wedding dinner at Paranoma Room in mid-may. I think it will be a blessing if you delay or change the room. If want to know why just PM me.

hey darren, thanks for the fast response! really appreciate that greatly. we got really upset actually. cos initially we chose the ballroom cos of the uniqueness of the pool only. and now they are telling us tat the whole pool area going to have reno? then we really see no pt in haivng the banquet there. and it's so last min. so even if now we going to change room, there may not be any available and is the hotel going to refund the deposit when we complain? i seriously doubt so lor. few mths away le, now also a bit late to source for another hotel. haiz...troubled.

I only signed up with Hilton(My wife's only choice) during march 2010 and I got my wedding done within 100 days otherwise 3 years later because something happen to my family. I think need to check the clause in the contract and i think not many venues have poolside. (PanPac(orchard) & Goodwood Park)???

my wedding is in the 2nd week of July and we#ve chosen Panorama Room because we want to have our buffet setting at the Pool Area.... got a call today that say they have just decided today that they will start renovation at beg Jul and will not even postpone it for my wedding....

I find Hilton being unreasonable and inconsiderate with such a decision expecially when its a SERVICE industry establishment. I hope Hilton can now give me a satisfctory resolve to this issue ,my invites had been distributed and my wedding is in 5weeks time.... how inconsiderate can an organisation get? and to add salt to the wound... this renovation is NOT an unforeseen circumstance... they have a choice and they choose to upset us...their customer.

I hope we can all get together to lobby against it

oh no... does not sound good. was thinking of having my wedding there next yr. did any of you sign up at their wedding fair? if there any benefits of doing so?

Super disappointed and upset with Hilton. Just how many more surprises are they going to give us?

Panorama is far from looking grand and posh. We chose it mainly because of the pool and now they have GREAT PLANS for it during our wedding month. Well done, Hilton! For informing us at such last minute and there's no way for us to source for another ideal venue in less than 2 months.

I would like to thank the Hilton management for adding stress, hassle and unhappiness instead of making our wedding preparation an enjoyable and satisfactory one.

Hey Ailing, will u be meeting the coordinator up soon? We have decided to go down Hilton later at 2pm. They better provide something lor. It's a terrible issue as my ROM was supposed to be at the poolside too, followed by dinner in the Panorama room. And now my alternative hotels have been fully booked. =.=

Hi ShirlDreamz,

unfortunately we're base in UK...so no chance to meet up with Hilton. The next time we're back in Singapore will be 3 days before our wedding.....I can't sleep since I receieve the news yesterday....I don't know what to do....and hopefully Hilton will solve the problem but from what I know it seems like they are going ahead with the reno plan.....

I was so looking forward to having a nice wedding celebration....its only 5weeks away and this happens.....

btw, what's room with the panorama room huh?

Hi Ailing,

I was having serious insomnia last night too. I am very affected because of the renovation plan. The best thing I was told is no matter what happens the renovation plan will still be going ahead. So even if we are not happy about it, they will ignore our feedback??

Nothing is wrong with Panorama. Just that the ballroom looks plain and simple as there is no nice ceiling lamp or outstanding feature. I compromised and took up Panorama because I liked the pool. However, it seems that now we have to compromise on the pool area as well. That is so unfair to us.

Initially I was not impressed by Panorama, but no choice the date I wanted was fully booked and also my wife liked the poolside reception so we took it. Then my dad was not pleased with the room also and said that we were paying that kind of price for something not posh and grand enough. Luckily the food was saving grace as my dad's friends attended another 2 wedding dinners, one the next day and the other at the following week which both were from tung lok, one was at orchard parade and the other at jurong. All of them mentioned Hilton food was the best and well worth the Ang Pow given. All of them were surprised that the hotel food was better than the so called 'famous' resturant. I will not be pleased also if the renovation thingy happen to me. Those interested with the pictures taken in iphone of panorama room with crystal theme let me know.

Oh dear... Although I have not been to level 24 before, I can understand the agony u brides are gg thru.. It's once in a lifetime event and every couple will surely want a beautiful wedding.. but to the service provider,it may seem to be part and parcel of their job. For those weddings that are coming near and no chance to change, any chance to ask for great discounts? or change to the Grand Ballroom / Vista while maintaining the min no. u had asked for?

I had to agree with Darren, the food was fabulous... Service wise... they need to buck up. But the banquet manager and the service staff who attended to us are great.. We felt like royal couple that day. Also, they are pretty strict with the music thingy... so may be an issue for couples who insist using songs to sync with montage/video.

Dear all Hilton couples affected by the renovation, let's all petition up to the management. I am also one of the couple affected and I am so disappointed by the decision of Hilton, it is simply so disrepectful to us. The reason why we chose Panorama is mainly due to the poolside and its view from there. Without the poolside, I don't see any value of Panorama anymore, it is just a normal function room, let alone a ballroom.
I really hope to rally all the couples here being affected to petition this up. I'm prepared to go all the way up to CASE if need be. Hilton simply disregard us as their customers. I felt cheated! What they should do is block up a period where there is no wedding and then renovate! Not one month before people's wedding!! We don't need compensation, we only want our poolside back! If they refuse to give in by this week, let's meet up at Hilton next Monday to see their management and bang table! I'm new here and this is my first and only msg to all. Pls PM me if you wants to do it. My strength alone might not be enough. This is a once-in-a-lifetime thing. We only want a happy wedding and I sincerely hope all of you have one too. I look forward to hear from you.

I am happy to join in the petition for the postponement of the renovation. However I am in UK and can't be in Singapore next Monday. Might be able to send a relative representative though. Let me know if there is a letter or something that needs signing, I am more than happy to do that.

Try again ED.... anyone got any news update from meeting with Hilton? Anyone has spoken to the upper management who made the decision to start renovation?

my wedding is in Nov, but of cos despite we wun be affected due to this at this moment but will still worried if more "patterns" will come out.

When i sign contract last yr, they oso tell us the poolside is closed after 7pm.. but in dec they call n say will open for the guests to swim even there is wedding dinner there.

We too chose that room becos of the poolside.
Im quite upset over it but as usual they say its management decision.. they cant do anything.

But i read thru the contract, nothing abt the poolside is indicated rite? (eg, no indication tat venue is panorama room with cocktail reception at poolside).
so does that mean they can do anything to it as long as the ballroom is there for us? if so, we will be at losing end.

I had to break my silence here instead of renovating the pool, I think they should work on the air con in panorama room. I got 5 tables of guests complained that the air con was weak and they had to use my invitation cards to fan. Also the reception area and certain portion of the room was dripping water from the air con. I don't see the need to renovate the pool. Here is the link of the pictures of the room.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=179803&id=522178360&l=02ef96bb64

I suspect the reason behind the renovation of the pool area is to earn extra revenue from charging new couples that might need to use the poolside for solemnisation. Those affected couples will be the sacrificed ones - making use of our wedding months to do the renovation.

All our coordinators could say is... They can't do anything about it as it's the final decision made by the management. We are not given any option or choice at all. It's as good as telling us - TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT.

1) Despite getting the assurance and promise from the hotel that the pool area will be closed for our wedding, we received notice that it will still be open to hotel guests even during the solemnisation. After weeks of attempts to obtain approval from the management, we again managed to get the pool closed for 2 hours just before the dinner starts. It felt as though they were doing this as a favour for us.

2) Received a call from the hotel on Wednesday - YES! It's about the pool AGAIN - Hearing that the renovation work will start on 1 July which is less than a month's time.

My question to Hilton - WHAT'S NEXT?

Just how many times must Hilton go back on their words. Now we are stuck with whether we should go ahead with the wedding at Hilton although we are at the losing end OR start hunting for another ideal venue within a week's time which is almost impossible to get the same date.

Darren - Thank you for sharing the pictures. Seriously the pool and the bar counter look presentable already. I suggested that they consider renovating the ballroom with probably fanciful chandeliers or carpet instead of the pool. Well... The reply I got is redundant.

ED - Kindly PM me and we shall discuss how we can all join in for the petition. Nobody should be pushed around. I just wanna say that we all pay to get the kind of service and respect we deserve. Nothing more, nothing less.

Hi.. sorry to interrupt here..
I have some Hilton maps leftover for sale..
Retail price was $8 for 100pcs. I have 95 left and letting go at $5 (inclusive postage).
Interested Hilton couples can PM me to deal.

Does anyone have problem with hilton car park?
I was told that there might not be enough carparks and guests would need to park at the open car park beside the hotel

Hi Lee Family, parking at hotel is can be an issue.. but Hilton will compensate with URA coupons. That's why I enclosed the maps for guests.. some may not know be aware there's a public carpark or can claim..

hi....if the video/photo montage is sync with royalty free music, hilton is ok with that?

anyone has idea what is the name of the licence hilton hold for the playing songs?

I've actually went down personally and view the thing last wk. Hmmm actually the affected area was not as bad as we thought though. Initially when the coordinator called, we thought it was the entire pool which will be affected. However, it's going to be just the side of the pool where the benches are. So in general, from the door where we look out, the guests will still be able to see the pool n even go out to the area for reception. The impact was not great, thus we decided to stick with it as many other hotels which we called up were fully booked for our dinner in sep.