Hilton Hotel

saggiegirl

greentea> yup yup...consider the comprehensiveness of package, venue, and the underlying concern of having a wedding lunch/dinner
work out with yr HTB on possible locations on your costs and budget. hmmmm...so called "profit" is really a "bonus"...haha...most couples only make losses...those who break even are the real lucky ones

honey_greentea

hi hi.. looks like many husband & wife here huh

actually i think when u decided to hold a wedding banquet, u already prepare to spend a lot of $$ liao la. it's very rare they ppl can make profit thru the banquet nowadays rite.

Sebastian, the straits room @ fullerton is a smaller ballroom which can cater for min 80 & max 120 guests lor.

seb1816

Greentea: opps... sorry.. haha never attended any weds at fullerton b4.

yea lo... we knew profit was kind of out for us... i'm only keeping my fingers cross that we wun lose so much. just as long as you work out your finances with your HTB... and work within your budget can already lo... remember to put some buffer ah. haha.

initially me and shan was thinking of oriental... but we were kind of a few tables off from their min required. its more pricey too and we reckoned that we would lose more that way. (people dont really care where you hold your wedding. they dont like to feel more obliged to pay more) we decided to use the money that we might lose more on other stuff that we value more.

we've a pretty decent place that we like for our wedding now. and we didnt compromise much with the wedding details. so as long as you an your hubby have worked out something on the cash flow, do something that you like!

honey_greentea

thanks for all the advice

i'm actually lean more towards to hilton lah. my HTB loves the place as well. and i really like the uniqueness of the panorama room

oh ya there's a hilton wedding show in april. anyone here attend? wil they offer more if confirm booking on that day?

seb1816

usually towards wedding show they will throw in abit more la... but dont expect alot alot more. but i think should be quite attractive.

i think most of us here have already signed up with hilton. haha... just waiting for time to pass only.

delova

hello!! ex-hilton bride here.. nice popping by and reading the threads again. So much memories =) AD was 4 mths ago, enjoyed every moment when I was there. Wishing all couples out there, enjoy the big day!!

heee it's interesting to see couples participate in the forum together (wasn't the case 4-5 mths back i think). dropped jaws with seb's provocative question. fortunately to his own wife to be =) quite a laugh, made my day!!

delova

saggiegirl> nov 08!! 081108.. coordinator is Rachel, but there were times we spoke to June too coz rachel is on leave. think they work hand-in-hand so it doesn't matter who we speak too. argh i can't remember my banquet manager's name though. remember him to be pretty big size thou LOL

saggiegirl

delove> hahaha... ya lor...both june and rachel are v professional already...so we feel safe in their hands
big size man...hmmm...cannot remember leh...

our wedding will be on 061209...hee hee counting down le...

delova

I have a name like "Francis" that's floating in my head. but ahhaa.. old liao lah. 4 mths back stufffs i can't remember liao. whahaha..

uhh!! 6th dec.. oh i see you're taking the Grand ballroom. Me too. I love it =) despite the pillars. didn't find it too big a problem though. and I LURRRVE the projectors!!! Found the food nice too... just that wedding day didn't get to eat much !@@#%$#% fortunately had our fair share during food tasting...

saggiegirl

delova> hee hee...hope that the food standard will remain the same
hmmm...u r rite...we are taking the grand ballroom
very nice ballroom despite of the pillars.... but we have the projector for the live feed at the sides.....

LOL i tink during wedding day we just eat bites of 1st and maybe 2nd dish...then no more food liao...

lucky have pre-dinner snacks if not we faint liao....

honey_greentea

wow the food is nice? then can rest assured liao :D
Ei, did u girls manage to get 2 nights stay in the bridal suite? since yours are dinner. mine will be lunch only so guess they wont give one bah. seen their suite, love it!

saggiegirl

Greentea> hmm i tink standard is 1 night stay...unless u decide to forgo the hotel's wedding cards and wedding favours (ie u decide to customize ur own), then i tink they will throw in 1 more nite

delova

greentea> I find the food nice la. maybe i'm not picky. ahahaha... i had two nights, but thats if my total tables exceed 35 in the grand ballroom..

saggiegirl> yeah they will bring your share to the suite, but at the end of the day you'll be dead tired you can't really eat much!! I was quite thankful for a can of Sprite at the end of they night awwhaahha...

shanshine

I think the perks really depends on the negotiation skills. I have got some friends who manage to downsize the minimum tables, some even got barrels of free beer but there are others with large number of tables but didn't manage to negotiate for anything.

joyjoy1

saggiegirl> if i'm not wrong, the pre dinner snack should be sandwiches.... it must be something really 'light' to be considered as snacks.... maybe i will hv chance to enjoy my dinner since i have lesser tables. =)

saggiegirl

joyjoy1> hee hee that is nice
will confirm the pre-dinner snacks closer to the date... at least got something to munch lor...if not faint inside the ballroom... :p

chercher

joyjoy1> haha.. i think me too.. i have lesser tables.. we can enjoy more food... lesser tables for photographs... unlike saggie girl.. heehe she using the grand ballroom

saggiegirl

chercher> ya lor...i m using the grand ballroom
hee hee...but it looks real good with the actual table and stage setup....

now waiting to kickstart the wedding preps once we finish our PS in May...

shanshine

haha.. I understand, girls! I wanna be able to enjoy the food too!

We are quite free now.. waiting for the 2nd half of the year. Thats when everything comes in TOGETHER! faints...

joyjoy1

Shan> Mine is on 27th Dec. 3 wks after Saggiegirl. How abt u?

chercher> which ballroom u r taking? I've booked Panorama. I have lesser tables lesser group photos. Most likely can shake my legs and enjoy good food. =p

saggiegirl> My PS in June. Need to visit gym more frequent.... =(

seb1816

joyjoy: shan's wedding is 5 days after yours... 1st Jan 2010. haha we are all around the same period.

our ps also in june leh... but i think we eating like nobody's biz.

shanshine

joyjoy: have you gone for the gown fitting? So excited for you! Our gown fitting is in June, planning the PS in Sept, after the lunar 7th month. Which BS did you take?

seb: Shan's wedding is YOUR wedding too!

chercher

joyjoy> me too the same room..
haha cfm can shake legs de
wahahha.... mine is 3 jan 2010.. hahaha 2 days after shan's
first fitting in may....

saggiegirl

seb & shan> u two are real funny
hee hee

i have gone for my gown fitting in early march and my photoshoot will be mid-May before freegoer go for reservist training

joyjoy1> hmmm...mi dun need to visit gym coz really no time..but i try to maintain a healthy food intake... avoid mayo whenever possible...

joyjoy1

seb & shan> interesting couple conversation... it helps to brighten up my day.... =) My gown fitting in Apr. Actually i intend to postpone it, bcos i dont see any progress for my weight loss plan. maybe i did not push myself harder. My PS is in June.... i start to worry....

chercher> u r one week after me.... no wonder Seb said we r all around same period lah...

saggiegirl> I worried too fleshy cannot find suitable gown... in order to have more choices, got to find ways to slim down... But my hubby needs to work out more than me... he already got the warning from the BS to cut down his intake. =)

saggiegirl

joyjoy1> i see
for me...coz i have broad shoulders so i can wear halterneck gowns .....but those normal bustier gowns dun look nice on me... hee hee...

wah ur BS warn your hubby??? .....

chercher

joyjoy> ya lo.. all almost the same time, one after another....

well.. i think we juz need to b careful with our intake ba.. then should be ok.. with some exercises

joyjoy1

chercher> after the wedding, we can all forgo the diet bcos we will all go back with 1kg cake from Hilton... hehehe....

shanshine

i have very flabby arms and I have been telling myself to tone up by jogging. But I think my legs & butts are so heavy they refuse to get up.

Don't give yourselves too much stress, girls! Still have to eat healthy k!

Saggie: You are so slim!

seb1816

oh ya! shan's wedding is my wedding too!

hiya joyjoy.... dont need to lose what weight one la... shan also dun care... i also dun care... i still eating snickers bar every night. ahah

saggiegirl

shan & chercher> mi where got slim....sigh must control here and there lor...me got a weakness for chocolate cakes....

my bdae is the same date as my wedding...6 dec...somemore it is a very good date for weddings etc... freegoer say like that sure can remember de lor >_<

shanshine

Seb: eh hello! I care okie? Continue to enjoy your snicker bars ya? Add in more potato chips too. It will help in your weight gain program.

seb1816

haha... i also want to reduce weight... but my mouth wun stop eating...

ok i'm going for lunch now... char kway teow plus hum....

saggiegirl

seb> oh no... char kway teow with cockles...zzzzz....very fattening leh.... :p hmmm....

actually can reduce weight de...u take a very light dinner before 8pm and no food after that...then cut down on soft drinks (actually is good for ur bones) hmm.... try to eat gelato and drink yakult... helps ur digestion...

joyjoy1

i already stop buying the snickers bar from my office vending machine... nowadays i tried to use up my coins so i got no excuse to walk to the vending machine.... i dont like to eat snickers but just feel like buying... tat is nature of woman... =)

saggie> my bdae is same as my mother in law. My rom date is 1111. so my hubby who is not good at number sure can remember. But my dinner date is 2712... a bit tough for him to remember bcos he cant even recall which year we met each other. Guys not very good at all these, so yr wedding and bdae same date is good idea.

freegoer

joyjoy>oh is it ...
for me n saggi quite ok
all the numbers are close

haha tat reminds me our first meet is less than a mth away
ROM
Wedding

Haha