Hilton Hotel

bubbles83

There's a Wedding Workshop 2009 at Hilton on Saturday 4 April 2009.
Check out the link: http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/hilton/index.htm

juztea

Hmmm... I wonder if they will have all the settings and decor on display and whether deposited couples with hilton can go in for free.

saggiegirl

only> hahaha....that is a good one
not sure i they "allow" couples who hve paid deposit to go in for FOC...maybe can sound out them.....

saggiegirl

Emily> managed to fish out from my package:

GRAND BALLROOM
Mondays to Fridays & Sundays: Min 30 Tables; Max 50 Tables
Saturdays: Min 40 Tables; Max 50 Tables

VISTA ROOM
All Days: Min 20 Tables; Max 25 Tables

PANORAMA ROOM:
All Days: Min 18 Tables; Max 24 Tables

Hope that helps

mspiggy85

saggiegirl> i went to hilton last sat already. The ballrm is quite nice but the package overall not very attractive she only willing to wavie corkage fee of 1 bottle per table

saggiegirl

randyce> yes the waiver of 1 bottle per table is the standard offer...
but depends on ur requirements...ie if ur guests are heavy drinkers or moderate drinkers or light drinkers

seb1816

1 bottle per table is quite standard la...

people dont usually drink alot during weddings... the one who usually drink the most is the groom.

shan's friend's wedding had 550 pax.... finish 40bottles of redwine and 4 bottles of liquor only. a rough gauge for you to ponder upon.

saggiegirl

sebastian> hmmm...ya lor...we also budgeted about 1-2 bottles per table... so for us, it will be 1 x 35 = 35 bottles of wine. Then 28 bottles of red + 7 bottles of white lor...coz i reckon most ppl like red wine ....then for hard liquor, i think freegoer say take from his mum's cupboard (those XO, Martell..) for the old folks....

alamak...freegoer and mi cannot drink de....sure pengz ...... |||>_<|||

seb1816

yea not really a lot will drink la. you have beer, wine, liquor... sure cant finish one. not all who can drink will drink during the dinner. some can drink... some cannot drink... quite standard.

if you 2 cannot drink den better find some brothers who can drink. i think no matter how good a drinker you are, most of the time i see the groom all cannot make it at the end of the day. haha

amrasenelya

i think for the number of bottles of wine that you need really depends on the relatives, friends and friends of parents that you invite...

say if the relatives are heavy drinkers, and if couple has a big group of drinkers... then gotta cater more wine and liquor even if you only have 20 tables.. it really depends on the guests who are coming..

but yup usually if not sure, 1-2 bottles per table SHOULD be a gd guage la.. we're also not sure abt the majority of the guests, just go for the average, then if not enough, get from hotel then lor

saggiegirl

amrasenelya> *nods nods* totally agree... on my side, my relatives dun drink much...at most only like red wine and beer ...but i am very scared with freegoer's side...but with the waiver of 1 bottle of wine per table, that shd help in alleviating the corkage expense.....

amrasenelya

ya, if one side can balance out the other side, think wont be so bad..

but beer only 1 barrel, say little, also not very little, but if uncles and dad's friends like to drink.. den maybe not enough liao.. but also cannot ask them to stop.. hahah

saggiegirl

amrasenelya> ya lor...actually 1 barrel is 30 litres...other hotels is sometimes 29.7 litres ...some even worse 22 litres... LOL...30 litres according to hilton can fill up to 90 glasses....

amrasenelya

hmm ive seen some hotels only give 20 litre. but thats on the contract before bargaining la, so maybe if really confirmed in getting that hotel, they MIGHT increase to 30 litre... 20 litre is like for smaller weddings of 15-20 tables lor...

shanshine

yeah, beer is the expensive one. 700+ for 30litres is killer. I think the in thing is still wine. My best friend attended one wedding which her table alone drank 10 bottles of red wine, so its really subjective.

mspiggy85

we are looking at abt 25 tables in term of drinking both of our sides colleagues and frens can really drink. So if she can wavie all the corkage will be good ba. Cos we looking to bring in approx 40 to 50 bottles of wine

shanshine

Yeah, i understand. Some of our friends are very good drinkers so we hope our liquor/ beer/ wine will be sufficient. You have to negotiate with Rachel/ June on the waiver. Tell them roughly how many bottles you are looking at. They will do their best.

saggiegirl

shan> true true...hahaha... so all ur frens are gd drinkers ya??

but surprising nowadays ppl still drink hard liqour lor...haha

cassafina> hello
my coordinator is Rachel... i think that both of them are equally accomodating... coz hilton's package are pretty much comprehensive...

jillz

Hey saggiegirl, thanks.. receive ya mail. the package is reasonable, but HTB doesnt like the ballroom due to the pillar. so we will prob make a trip down personally to check again. Thanks for ya help.

saggiegirl

jillz> no worries..
actually we also worry abt the pillars...but they have live feed on both sides via the projectors...we have seen the actual setup...so that alleviates our worries...

honey_greentea

HI saggiegirl, have u seen their PANORAMA ROOM? isit beautiful with the poolside view? am planning to hv lunch reception there lo. if i were to take their panorama room, is there any complimentary of LCD projector?

honey_greentea

saggiegirl, juz wonder what is the exact procedure like when booking a hotel... say when we book a date tentatively with hilton but not paying deposit yet, isit alrite? then i know that they wil be having wedding workshop in april, can i only sign up that day? will they be giving more perks on that day?

saggiegirl

Greentea> u can make a tentative booking date with hilton first. No need to make payment

hmmm....i believe they do accept bookings during the wedding workshop
not sure if they provide more perks...

juztea

Do you guys think if I have 35 tables, 1 30L barrel of beer plus 35 bottles of wine for Lunch Banquet will be sufficient?

saggiegirl

only> i see.... hmm...35 bottles of wine...all red wine? u will need to budget for 90% in red and 10% in white (as a general guide)

for us we are budgeting abt 50 bottles of wine as we are having dinner and freegoer's side a lot more drinkers than my side...

honey_greentea

I juz went down to see Rachel this afternoon. their package is kinda comprehensive! and i like the panorama room

but hor... one thing i dun like is that the hotel lobby doesnt not look grand leh... it has a very 'commercial look'... hmm... is this one of the concerns for u all here? maybe i'm just too fussy..:p

saggiegirl

Greentea>
yes their package is very comprehensive and Rachel is very nice...

Hilton is basically a 5-star business hotel so it will have the commercial look
but i am very pleased with the service level (even with the doorhop who opened the door for us)...

honey_greentea

I'm actually in a midst of choosing between fullerton and hilton... i like fullerton as a whole (nice facade &amp; lobby), but i prefer hilton's unique poolside view by the Panorama room than the Straits room @ fullerton. but hilton's appearance is juz so so :S
how how how
nothing is perfect right..
*headache*

shanshine

Greentea: The price is a huge difference between both hotels. You have to ask yourself what is your main concern. A wedding in a grand place? Is money part of your concern?

We were in the same dilemma as you. Choosing Hilton &amp; forgo-ing Oriental because it is a burden too much on us &amp; for our relatives &amp; friends. At $1100 per table, we don't want to obligate our relatives with a family of 5 to give $550 which could be a quarter of their monthly salary. Of course, we are not intending to make a profit out of our banquet but merely to try to minimise the loss because in the future, there are many other expenses/ financial commitments which require our attention on.

Just my 2 cents worth.

honey_greentea

hahaha... dun let your Wife-to-be see this post =P

Thanks shan for your opinion. i totally agree with u. but what if the prices are not much different(not comparing between fullerton &amp; hilton now), will u choose based on the hotel as we whole, or the uniqueness of the ballroom venue leh?

shanshine

Actually to be very honest, I would choose the one most value for money. In terms of perks, package &amp; reviews but of course, the ballroom must be of some class too. haha!

seb1816

greentea: thanks for the advice! but i think my wife to be caught it... got kicked a few times... but its ok... glad she found me irritating. haha

on a more serious note, find a decent place that you like, work everything out with your husband to be and choose the ones that best fit your plan.

just realised that you are not talking about the main ballroom in Fullerton (they only have 1 ballroom with min of 45tables on weekend.) The Straits @ Fullerton would be a restaurant isnt it?