Hilton Hotel

joyjoy1

Wow... so packed huh. We never see Tongshu, but just think 24th and 25th wont be good cos pple needs to go church and party la. That's why we choose 26th Dec but too bad it was booked by others. My hubby said he got two colleagues also getting married in Dec.... their colleagues sure burn a hole in their pocket at least 3 weddings in a month. Btw, which room u will be taking?

saggiegirl

joyjoy> no mention
brides must help out one another....that is the beauty of forum sharing....

we also like going according to the plan .... so that we try to minimize those "gaps" during the midst...

joyjoy1

freegoer/saggi>I never see the grand ballroom bcos i hv only min 20 to max 23 tables, so can either consider vista or panorama. I've asked Rachel to book for me Panorama cos I prefer their poolside cocktail. She told me abt the UOB promotion. I've checked the details. But I'm not happy with only 12 bot of red wine for 18 tables and waiver of corkage of 1 bot for every 2 tables. No free flow of beer. The only thing i like is Free 1 nite executive suite. =)

joyjoy1

Saggiegirl> My hubby said recession still must get married. I think many pple think the same way. I only pray my ang pow wont shrink... it'll be good if enough to cover my dinner expense....

saggiegirl

joyjoy> i think panorama is more suitable for u
so i presume that u will be having ROM by the poolside ya??

hmm...we did not take the UOB promo though....so we just got waiver of corkage of 1 bot per confirmed table....no red wine ...no free beer...(but my side not too many drinkers lar)....
hee hee...

saggiegirl

ya lor...even recession (eg. 1986 / 1997) also have a lot of ppl getting married...my sis got married in 1997 dec...

we just pray that our guests will turn up and gv a decent angpao...can cover the "table" can liao...the rest if can cover is bonus lor

joyjoy1

Saggiegirl> i also think can cover is considered very good. If got surplus, den it is bonus for me to splurge during my honeymoon. I had my ROM in Orchard Hotel in Nov 07 so that I can buy HDB. Luckily, I bought in 2007 before price increased. The only setback is not able to have ROM and dinner together.
Amras> the promo is not only for Hilton, incl BS as well. Hilton promo applies to wedding in 2009 only. Pls visit their website for more details. http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/promotions/cards/promo_wedding_priv.html

saggiegirl

joyjoy> i see... OK lar actually u see ah...we had our ROM earlier mah...so just tink that we have less things to worry for our AD lor

mooncynthia

shan> no, havent go site seeing yet. But I'm actually more interested in the merchant court one, cos if go to their wedding show, they throw in the solemnisation by the poolside for me for free. :p
but i will shortlist hilton too since the rave here and its cheaper too.

saggiegirl> can you email me the checklist too. Thanks.

Also does anyone know how the bridal suite is like? :p

saggiegirl

CQ> surely....u've got mail

the bridal suite is by far the best i have seen....i went to sheraton and see...not v nice leh... really comfortable...
and remember the location of hilton is at prime orchard road...and its status as a business hotel...so i think the standard is quite good

joyjoy1

Saggiegirl> Is the bridal suite also renovated? I know the function rooms are much better compare to 2006/2007 when I attended my fren's wedding. My hubby who viewed the bridal suite said it's very big. Hopefully, today i will get to view it when i meet Rachel.

saggiegirl

joyjoy1> not sure abt the renovation of the bridal suite
but last time we went down in sept 08 to view...it is already in good condition ....the function rooms which are located at level 5 also looks "new" to me...perhaps they replaced the carpets ba... however i did not visit the vista and panorama rooms

yup yr hubby is right...the suite is big
u can sound out rachel to show u the suite if it is not occupied

shanshine

CQ: Merchant Court was one of our choices too! haha.. but they need at least 35 tables for weekends & it's non-negotiable.
For hilton, I must say its one of the most value-added hotels I have seen. We thought we would be compromising something for its price (prime area, number of stars etc) but so far, everything has been good.

Joy: Hilton's bridal suite is newly renovated. I like the lightings in the vista room. If only they can have that light in the ballroom. It will look much grand-er!

mooncynthia

wow, looking forward to see the suite pics from Amras :p

I'm waiting for HTB to come back from biz trip then go site seeing together lor before really decide which hotel to go.

I just received suite pics from M hotel, they got a very big jaccuzzi in the bathroom. looks gd too leh.

joyjoy1

CQ & Amras> I also like Merchant Court but unable to meet the min tables. =(
Saggiegirl> I think can take photos. Cos Rachel mentioned to me that I can take photo to show my hubby if he is not free to view the ball room. I think suite also can la....

amrasenelya

yup yup can take photos.. i openly take leh, rachel even tell me where's the best spot in the suite to take.. hahah

my SIL had her banquet at M hotel and paid additional to get 1 more night stay at their suite.. M hotel's suite is bigger than hilton's i think... very spacious, but not separated into 2 sides like hilton..

saggiegirl

CQ> hee hee invited u to my multiply le
hee hee ...... last time we also wanted to consider M hotel but the ballroom is abit small...and perks not v enticing to us lar...

joyjoy1> ya lor...i heard that Merc Court is quite sticky abt the min pax requirement...haiz...and for dinner pricing 2009 is rather expensive....

hee hee.... next time viewing must take photos

wonderfulep

Hi, I am looking at holding my banquet at Hilton in Jan 2010 for 12-14 tables only, can anyone share their view if their Panorama / Vista room will be too big for a small-scale event?

Or which room will be a better choice.

saggiegirl

amras> that is nice
woohoo ~~~ i suppose u use a good cam ya??

wonderfulep> hi hi....hmm...u can check with hilton if they are able to accomodate to ur request
urs is weekday/weekend??

wonderfulep

Hi Saggiegirl,

I have checked and they allow minimum 10 tables for lunch wedding..but i have not gone down to see the room..So just asking for feedback here if panorama will look nice for a 12-15 table banquet

yoyoyeo

wow the bridal suite looks nice...looking forward to it...my dinner is at vista room, i really like the lights and the tables meet my requirements (20-25) but 25 is squeezy. i think 23 is the best.

saggiegirl

wonderfulup> panorama is OK for less than 24 tables...at least still have ample space for yr guests (and yr gown) to move ard and mingle

yoyo> nice to see u
...hmm but cannot remember when is ur AD...haha.... so u are expecting how many tables for ur wedding?

saggiegirl

lynn & bubbles> what freegoer is trying to say is that hilton does allow swopping of dishes at no charge
unless for certain dishes like soon hock fish, signature cheesecake which are more premium...

mooncynthia

Hi heard from Rachel that there will be a wedding workshop this coming 4 Apr 09. will have additional perks for new bookings but perks are only applicable for weddings held in 2009, not 2010. Sianz. -_-

She also mentioned that they are still in the midst of firming up the programme at this point of time and don't have the outline yet, will keep people updated on the programme closer to the date.

Hope this helps 2009 BTBs. :D

mooncynthia

i thought market not good yet hotel banquet price still increase. Conrad Centennial just email me the price list for 2009, need to add $50++ more per table for AD in 2010 and also another hotel (I forgot which one) need to add $10 more for AD in 2010 too. -_-

saggiegirl

CQ> xie xie for the information
does the wedding workshop opened for existing bookings??? hee hee....

ya lor economy not good but banquet keep increase prices lor...hopefully the increase in price can justify lor....

patgav

Hi anyone gt any idea if we can bargain for 1 more nite stay at the hotel aft the wedding, since nw recession nt much clients... i sign the pkg with then in Dec 07, my wedding is in Jun 09... anyone tried before?

saggiegirl

patsy> hello
hmmmmm....i think they can give 1 more nite stay provided that u dun take their cards or wedding favours ba....i think sebastian n shan (another hilton couple) did that

joyjoy1

patsy > if u signed your package later, then u can use the UOB promo for additional 1 night stay. But now u can also consider saggie's idea to give up the cards or wedding favours....

mooncynthia

saggie girl> haha, If only its so good lol. BTW, hilton BTBs here, i think LCD projector is not included in the package, can I check how much did you gers pay for the rental from them? and how many projectors did you all rent? Not sure how many I will need or what is the standard no. that I will need.

Also they only waive corkage for liquor, do you gers know how much corkage they charge for per bottle wine then? :p

saggiegirl

CQ> hee hee...we exchanged the anniversary voucher for rental of LCD projector
standard rental rate is $300...

waiver of corkage is 1 bottle of wine per table. Full waiver of corkage for all duty-paid bring-your-own hard liquor (e.g. martell, VSOP, whisky etc)

shirlykoh

I'll be having a wedding luncheon in Vista room in October. Was given waiver of corkage of 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. If I need additional wines, the corkage charge is $15 per bottle. Did anyone manage to negotiate a better deal?

saggiegirl

shirley> welcome !!! :D we got the same package as u though we are having a dinner instead in dec 09
i think the corkage of $15nett is quite oK..some other place charge like $28++ :S