Hainanese Brides, anyone???

mosburger

my bf proposed a wierd idea of his to my mama yest and my mama gave him a wierd look.

his younger sis is getting married nxt yr june, then he asked my mama can suan bian do both weddings together? (means bring fwd from 08 to 07) my mum went like, "where got one family one (marry) in one (marry) out in one day?"

haa... *rolls on the floor* my mama's response cute ah... my bf's eyeballs roll.

huiz

Good morning ah mais,

Another lousy morning for me. Feeling so frustrated with everyone and everything at work. Time for me to make my way out I suppose. The pent up frustrations are bursting the seams soon

Hey mos, I got the new song. Thanks so much gal!

Hee, mebbe later I go buy 4D and make myself feel better. If win big big I sia3 (meaning "treat" in Hainanese) all ah mais and ah kors to jia dua hoo dua hyok (eat big fish big meat) okie? heheee

kitty_li

Hello ah mais, 1 morning of meetings...now must do report.

Yah, today wednesday, must buy 4D...

Huiz, relax...dun get frustrated. No point also. Can't change them...so just remind yourself not worth adding a few wrinkles for these pple, and no need to waste brain cells for them either. heehee...

mosburger, your bf very cute leh...heehee...

ivied

hee.. mos, then u can follow my footsteps. Younger sis married in Jun 07, elder bro married in Jul 07.
Anyway, that will be one out then one in so it is still ok, does not clash. (^_^)

ya hor today is Wed, so CSI we shall buy AAAH! and hor, your friend is right leh, why not have your church ceremony at AAAH hr? hee...

hmm Huiz, don't get so angry. U must have got up from the wrong side of the bed today. "Smile" it will be a fine day in the afternoon.

huiz

Mos, your bf v cute to think of this... hee. it also reminds me of something similar that people like to do last time, have mass weddings.

me looking forward to lunch time.. some cheap thrill... kekeke

zapzap

Hi Ah Mais,

I've finally finished building my test system! I almost cried out this morning cos unable to rectify a problem. Now doing 1st test run. Hopefully, it'll be smooth. The users will start their testings tmr onwards till early Dec.

Lunch time is here! I'm rewarding myself with a good meal. Had asked my colleague to ta bao char siew and roast pork rice. What a sinful meal!!!!

huiz

Congrats Nellie! Xian ku hou tian....

I love roast pork too.... I don't care, just eat. No pre-wedding diet programme for me ;-P

ivied

Good morning ah mais!
Nellie congrats! Now u can have your hearty meal without worries.

Huiz, u have always been slim right? So no worry about food intake... I have been eating a lot and my bo lao never stop reminding me: Don't come and complain when u can't fit into your gown orr...

huiz

Well, I do not know if my situation could be called a "blessing in disguise" or not. I have been on insulin for 13 years now and I am not sure if this is helpful in maintaining weight. But one thing is for sure, because of my condition, I do not take ice-cream, soft drinks, cakes, durains etc etc. So I suppose that helps a lot too? Heh, but I have a weakness for fried foods!

zapzap

Ivied - can't relax totally yet. there's the testing period to worry about. Today is the 1st day of testing but the users can't test. My system decides to be 'naughty' again. Sigh....

Huiz - my FH does not have to take the insulin jabs now. He has switched to the tablet form. But now, he has put on weight, doctor ordered him to lose weight.

ivied

oh no, Nellie, then you have to sit tight to your seat again today.

Huiz, it helps to keep your diet checked and be cautious about your own health. My FFIL heck care. Nellie, what I understand is tablet form does let the person improve his dietary habit and thus eating more. My aunties and FFIL has proven it.

huiz

Tablets are more for the Type II diabetes where the pancreas is still secreting some insulin, but not enough for the body to function well. The tablets somehow try to "revive" it to produce more. But for my case, that darn thing is totally dead liao, so need to inject insulin everyday to survive.

Old people really don't listen when it comes to controlling their diabetes wan lor. My ex neighbour can eat up to one whole mooncake and still share soft drinks with his grandchild. The doctor scold him also no use.... haiizzz

huiz

Yup, got it at 14 approx 3 months after a bout of chicky pox. Dr says the virus could have attacked and killed the pancreas since I have no family history. So chicky pox really cannot play play wan....

janf

i hvnt kena chicky pox yet.. cannot imagine if get it later in the years how.. haiz.

huiz - which means u hv to inject urself everyday? my MIL oso has it but mild one. tink she eats the tablets kind..

ivied

now i understand. Huiz, that means your chicken pox is quite severe then? How do u come about knowing it?

janf, my bo lao also does not have chicken pox yet. He went for the 'prevention jabs'. I dunno what is it called, just know that there are 2 jabs in total, one month once.

huiz

Janf, yeap.... I used to do it 4x (!!) a day but but now cut down to 3x coz I changed to a new brand. Do it before meals.

Ivied, my chicken pox ah, looks ok to me leh, not too serious. But just suay that I got this "free gift" from it. I got to know about it coz I presented with all the classical symptoms of this condition, severe weight loss despite huge appetite, drinking lotsa water and going to the loo like no body's biz, very tired (even combing hair is a chore) and the gross-iest one to me is seeing ants in the loo! yicks.

Yah, good to go for some jabs. Somehow prevention better than cure la hor?

ivied

Huiz, thanks for enlightening me. I understand it better now. I can understand your feelings. I know how 'suay' it feels.

huiz

Hee, no prob, Ivied, me very open about it wan
It's just part and parcel of life la.... and life still have to go on too, right?

janf

i took the prevention jab when i was working in a clinic b4. so till now no hv chicky pox. but i tink only a matter of time tat explode..

huiz - which means am, b4 lunch and b4 dinner u gotta jab urself? cheesecake can eat anot?!

huiz

Yup, janf, I jab pre the 3 meals lor
Cheesecake ah, I only eat those that I make coz I use this sugar subsitute called "fructose". Say suitable for diabetics wor. And this one can cook wan. Don't ever cook Equal man. But then again, when bo lao eat the normal cheesecake sometimes, I also pinch some la... heehee

ivied

Me on too!
We can bring food to complement it so that we can have a nasi lemak feast! So our 'theme' will be 'nasi lemak'. ha ha...

Huiz, ya, life still have to go on, be optimistic about it and life will be more enjoyable.

kitty_li

wow Huiz,
chicky pox really quite dangerous manz...In any case, always good to just be more vigilant over our diet etc. No harm loss (except maybe miss out on some fun sometimes) by eating healthier...

Nasi lemak theme? heehee...okie! what else goes with it?

kitty_li

oh ah mais,
anyone knows if Batam have Spa places? Am thinking of booking 1 spa (like do a day trip there) for FH and me [yes...i'm the one doing all these planning...] before our wedding...

zapzap

Ivied - I'll be ordering the nasi lemak from a caterer. It includes coconut rice, fish otak, ikan bilis, peanuts, crispy chicken, sambal chilli and cucumber. will be ordering chicken satay from them too.

The rest of you can bring something else, like desserts, kueh....

huiz

CSI, I had been to a cheapo salon where they offered facial, hair and spa services. But the setting is not very comfy type la. I can help u ask my colleague if she knows of any better places.

Ok, I'll bring along cheesecake and potato salad.

Hey Nellie, shall we all chip in for the buffet?

huiz

Oh my goodness, tell u gals something funny. This ah pek came knocking on my door say wanna "xiao bian". (does my office look like a loo??) Then I sms bo lao telling him what funny characters we have here and he replied telling me to ask the ah pek to come in coz the "loo" is inside (my boss's room!!we have a big room partitioned into 2)... he can pee and even poo inside also.... that got me into stitches!

Ya, we shall treat ourselves to a big feast then. What else will we be having?

ivied

nellie, that's a lot of food leh. perhaps u can order a 1:2 proportion of food? say we have 10 persons, just order the buffet for 5 or 6 persons will do. Maybe can ask them for more rice.

Then we can bring extras like satays, jellies, cheesecake, salad, vegetables, fish cakes, fruits, ice-cream, curry, drinks, red bean soup etc.. (aiyo, think until my head blur blur).
This can create quite a huge feast based on our current head count already. hee..
and I agree. We can all chip in for the buffet.

Huiz, this guy so funny. Perhaps he is directed by someone mischievous? :p

CSI, no prob. We are all super planners here.
Will keep u informed.

ivied

Actually I never had such thing called 'nasi lemak' theme before, just a tot that came when nellie mentioned about it. guess the planning of wedding made me think of themes all the time. ha ha ha...

mosburger

huiz & janf - chicken pox can be so deadly... i also no chicken pox b4. last time when young young, my sis got e virus, then my bro got it, but i didn't. later went sec sch & JC, also didn't get even when classmates got. so in e end went for jabs. then better go 4 new jabs again. vaccinated for so many years, dunno still effective or not.

feel so gian with all that food u gals tokkg abt. but now i still can't confirm. be gg taiwan 11-16 dec, then need to go m'sia visit my granny. she down w cancer for quite a while. surviving on chinese medicine. she took care of me when young, but i can only visit her during my hols.

stacy

Nellie - Is there a min no. of pax you've got to order for the nasi lemak?

I just came back fm eco fair at suntec city...got all the wonderful, magical things...like the pirkare soap powder can do wonder..can use as soap powder, dish washing, car washing, degreaser, insect repellent, bathing lotion, black hair restorer...1 power can do wonders..haha...pei fu those jap inventions..hahaa

huiz

Hi Mos, we'll be meeting during the later part of Dec. So hopefully u will be around in Sg then yah

Stacy, u went to the fair as part of work?

zapzap

Hi Ah Mais,

I just finished my meeting.

About the nasi lemak, no need to share the cost with me lah. The min. order is 20 pax. No worry. I'll distribute some to my parents and in-laws.

My colleague ordered the nasi lemak buffet today.

www.leeweebros-otah.com.sg

stacy

Huiz - er..went there partly due to work..

Nelie - oh..this one..the recently opened one at bedok interchange, havent given it a try yet..

sherrie

hi csi fan: u may wanna try holiday inn or harris resort..just google and find the website..i remembered the last time my friends and i (12 of us) went to harris..we booked thru a local agency here with the spa package inclusive..its cheaper but i lost the contact already.

my hubby went to holiday inn with his army pals. he was raving about it when he came back.

i nearly fainted of menstrual cramps today. damn painful. feeling better now. never had such pains before. maybe too stressed out over the wedding preparations.

eh. talking about food preparation, i really dunno how to cook. but please count me in for the costing. we don have gas cooker at home. we are using electric cooker at home. can see how "terok" i am in the domestic realm...

huiz

Wa Stacy u having good life working there leh... hee... I wanna join u also ;-P

Yup, I am a fan of their otah

Ivied, ya hor, maybe some notti young kids go and make fun of the old ah pek ah. So bad of them... hmmp.

zapzap

Sherrie, you got to take care. I was sent to A & E last year for severe pain. It was so painful that painkillers didn't work and my eyes became red (due to the pressure from enduring the pain).

The doctor only did an x-ray and said I had no problem. Their diagnosis : food poisoning. (Bull-shit!!!)

My verdict : cannot trust them. I arrange an ultra sound myself. They found cysts in my left ovarian and that's why it was so painful during menses.

So if you still have such sharp pain again, go for an ultrasound.

stacy

Huiz- u are always welcome to join us...recently they employed a no. of snr exec in ops..but i dunno what's their scope.

stacy

sherrie - oh.got to take care...my colleague always ask me to take lotsa ginger before menses..she said it helps to prevent cramps..not sure if its true..but i take lotsa ginger when i go for sushi.