Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hi ah mais, today so quiet??
I have bought my tea set too, its also 'XI' word but of a different colour and bigger set. I think mine is $23 lor. I do not have GDL, so dunno when to deliver the set over. hee..

Quite accomplishing over the weekend, I have booked my videographer, collected my bo lao and dad's suit, finalised AD program and procedures and work on seating arrangement.

CSI, my videographer is In Jack Studio. Thanks to janf. Good recommendations! and thanks for your great help!

I very sleepy today. Slept late last night coz chatted with bo lao till 1+ on who he wants to invite. Haha, guess I only have myself to blame for my zombish state.

Wow, ivied, u've made much progress... about 1 mth plus left to your big day and u can relag a bit now

yah, the days passed so fast without knowing and I suddenly feel so scared as the day is coming near. hee....
I actually target to complete the wedding prep by end of this month so that I can concentrate on decorating my new room. My current room is in such a big mess that I dunno if I can clear the stuff in time or not. My mum said my room and the storeroom will be very neat after I have shifted out. I was like ..........

aiyo Huiz, then u should go drink more coffee. Don't let your boss catch you 'sleeping' orr.. hee..

Hello Ah Mais,

Same as Huiz - I'm a zombie too. Don't know why I just can sleep well on Sunday nites.

Selected my photos on Sat.

Time flies! My house will be ready next week. Aiyo! Need to pack stuff and move. My brother has been eyeing my room since day 1. Both him and my parents are eyeing my bed. Ha Ha Ha.... they got to fight for it...

hmm.. Nellie, when can we see your photos ah?

Must be the feeling that 'Its work' again so u can't sleep well on sun. hee..

wow, that's fast! This contractor is good leh. hahaha.. no wonder our siblings can't wait for us to get married. My bro has planned how and what is he putting in my room already. haiz...

no prob, ivied! =)

im sleepy today too.. yawn.. and bor-lao away for biz trip this wk.. sianz sianz..

juz had my spinelli latte wif my coll and it was raining sooo heavily..

I don't know when the photos will be ready. Told them to take their own sweet time. No hurry cos I need to 'take care' of my house first.

I told my bro he can forget abt occupying my room. I'll still need it.

Ya, this weeks seems to be another boring and draggy one. Next week better come fast... going for gown fitting next Wed... yayy!

Haha, ivied, I had been waiting for 5 long months man. Wait till my long neck almost dropping off liao.... heehee

Huiz, hee.. ya, its dreadful to wait for that moment to try on our dream gown. Its coming liao, very fast.....

Hi Westerveld,
You can get it from:
1) Beauty World level 1
The uncles there are well versed with the customery practice, just name your dialect and they will bring out all the stuff for your PL and HL.

2) Jurong West St 52
This is another famous one. I have not been there myself, but from the pic Huiz showed us, it is another good shop to purchase your GDL stuff.

ic ic.. hee.. nice to see you here too.

Welcome welcome.
Do pop by and chat chat anytime. We are all chatty ah mais and ah kor here. (^_^)

harlow westerveld! welcome to this thread.. we are a chatty lot and this thread is growing fast.. keke. perhaps u mite wana leave ur details here so tat csi can do the update?

AD
Solemnisation Venue
Recep Venue
BS
AD PG
AD VG

Good morning all....

Westerveld - welcome

Ah mais - my side now having 25% discount for Therapeutic anti-aging range for this mth..not sure if anyone of u is keen.

Bothy - u are back fm your HM har...update us on yr wedding leh..hehee :0

Huiz - u sure have a good trip to Chinatown..can see fm ur good buys..hehee
Wow, finally going for ur fitting after such a long wait hor..can feel your excitement

Ivied - last time when my bro gt his hse, me n sis were eyeing at his room also..but in the end, both me n sis still stuck together in our own rooms..too lazy to move things over. Now the room has become my little nephew playroom..hehee

Stacy, actually I bought a few more things at Chinatown, not wedding but home deco related.

423494.jpg

423495.jpg

Wonder if these table cloth/table runner are hand cross stitched. But since they are q cheap ($3.50 each for the small one and $9 for the runner), I got 6 of the former and 2 of the latter. Hee, but on 2nd look, I think the small ones look very old fashioned ;-P

Btw, share with u a doily I just completed crocheting on Sun.... gonna put it on my telephone table. Too bad I didn't stretch it round enough before the starch dried up.

423496.jpg

Haha, ya, the fitting is something I am looking forward to. Brings some cheer to the stressful work now.

Wow, westerveld has Lighted Pixels as PG. I love his works! Thumbs up! Pardon my ailing memory, but any other ah mais chose him too?

Huiz - the 1st pic looked like the little handkerchief
But $3.50 is really cheap worh..considering the amt of effort n time put in..hehee

That piece tt u did for your telephone table looks chiem...I don't think I can ever do it..how long did you take to complete it?

Think Misty and Dorymiki ah mais are also using Lightedpixels for AD PG..

Huiz, I like your crochet! Despite the little flaws, it still looks good. I wonder if your house if filled with your works? :p

Stacy, me not so lucky lor. My little bro is converting his room to a karaoke cum computer room. Then he will be occupying mine with his future wife. Even my mum supported him, coz she can have the benefit of the karaoke room. haiz...

ya, I think Bluberi is using Lighted Pixels too. He is so popular.

Westerveld, think we chat here. Over there too crowded... hee.. The ah mais here can advise u on hainanese custom and the dialect. I'm on the same boat as you, can't speak but can understand.

Stacy, a hankie is just the right way to describe that!
Its made in PRC wan.... haha, got tons of manpower there to hand make this one by one I suppose? Gimme a job like this anytime man! kekekeke

I took about 1.5 weeks to do it. Carried it everywhere I go so got more time to do. The first few rounds were easier coz circumference smaller ma. Hmm, as for my home ah, I am trying to DIY as many things as possible

Wa, ivied, your bro very hor mia (hao ming) eh? He must be eyeing your room for a long time liao.... and he has how he wants to use the room all planned out... hehe

Oh ok iViED...
Actually i will be holding my banquet in HK first on the 21st Dec and Singapore in Jan.
My GDL date is 7 Dec and as you know my in law don't live in Sin...My hubby will do everything by himself.
My parents are ok...Simple one will do as it's an "YI SHI"
If im not wrong during GDL, my hubby will come up with an auntie (his ex guardian) to pass the gifts and talk to my mother.
Planning started since 1 yr back and i have been together with him for so many yrs already so asking him to "ti qin" is like so funny. And best part is we had settled everything & already marrying him next month.

Yup mu hubby is from HK...
He came over to study then met me and we date until now.
So he serve army, got his citizenship and now working in singapore.
My surname is MOH

hee.. Huiz, u have saved a lot of money for your bo lao.

My little bro has been 'warming up' my room whenever I'm not in. Its no surprise that he has it all planned out. He even asked me when am I moving out. I was not even prepared to settle down yet at that time! Give up.

Westerveld, ic. But hor, ti qing and GDL is 2 different things leh. ti qing brings initial gifts only to discuss with your mum. Only during GDL then bring the stuff requested by your mum over to your house.
hee.. so u are ready to be 'married off' now.

hi ah mais,
weekend was super busy for me...and yesterday, was trying to catch up on work in office that I didn't have time to log in. Today, I'm on MC at home, so I can drop by here...had fever, runny nose & sore throat yesterday.

Anyway, my GDL...ok lah I guess. hahaha...I dun really bother with such stuff. FH brought his gifts over, our cakes from Pine Gardens were delivered early in the morning (everybody loved the cakes), relatives all came over for lunch...there are so many relatives, that there's hardly any space to walk! Cham ah..on my AD, when everybody squeezes into this 5-rm flat...

Hi Westerveld! Welcome to our little clan here...

Well I think even if he don't ti qin I am also ready to marry off already.
Whatever they bring over that day my mum will just take....
We have been together for almost 10 yrs so its like taken granted already
No need to ti qin.
The 2 of us just inform our parents we are getting marry...that's all haiz

take care orr CSI. Drink more water and rest well. Then u can be mei mei on your AD.

wow, Westerveld, ai qing chang pao. I also agree on being simple, hence mine do away with it totally. hee.. This customery is just for the beneficial of the older folks, to inform them officially.

Ah mais,

I had a hard time (1.5 hours!!!!) handling an ultimate (x100) idiot. I think I wanna go home and cool it off before I burst.

Have a good day yah?

westerveld - ur surname same as Mo YanLan (if u all rem her who used to host shows last time).. shes oso a hainanese..

CSI - must take good care. btw, what sorts of cakes did you order from Pine Garden? I'm thinking of ordering my GDL cakes there too.

Was discussing GDL with my mum yesterday. Told her that I do not want the 'si dian jin' cos my in-laws are paying for most of my renovation. Feel uneasy for them to fork out another sum of money for my 'si dian jin'.

Thus, my GDL:
- 12 cans pig trotters
- 12 oranges
- 12 boxes of cakes
- pin jin

my mum will return :
- 2 cans of pig trotters
- 6 oranges
- 2 boxes of cakes
- some pin jin
- basin/towel/tooth brush/tooth paste...
- tea set

ha ha ha... very simple

aiyo Huiz, what happened? I can 'see' flames burning....

janf, yup, I remembered Mo Yan Lan. Din know that she is hainanese... hmm..
BTW, may I ask if Carlton provides the player that time when u had your banquet?

nellie, yup, quite simple. think this is the normal stuff to prepare. BTW, think your mum has to prepare 1 ang bao for your bo lao, symbolises for him to buy shoes. This is what I know of.

My mum has to give 2, for teochews, one is for birthday and one is for him to buy shoes. not sure about your bo lao's dialect. As I'm not having GDL, it will be given on the AD.

Nellie, I thought your mum is asking for a roast pig on AD?
The ang bao to buy shoes is practised among most dialects, u have to check with your FPIL, see if they want this or not.

Nellie, I thought your mum is asking for a roast pig on AD?
The ang bao to buy shoes is practised among most dialects, u have to check with your FPIL, see if they want this or not.

We'll proceed straight to Arts House for solemnization and high tea on my AD. Me and FH are skipping the usual morning thingy. Tea ceremony will be at Arts House too. So, my mum thinks no need liao.