Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hmm...maybe its so painful cos my hubby made a big flask of white chrysanthemum tea and i drank so many cups of it. maybe too "liang" liao. my palms and feet are always cold irregardless of the weather so i think i am too weak.

ya sherrie, do take care. I'm not sure if my case is a guideline to you or not, but just to be safe.

I had cramps monthly without fail. There was a couple of times last year that it had been so severe that my whole face was white and pale, I could hardly walk. I did an ultra sound but report was ok. After which my colleagues advised me not to drink green tea 1 week prior to the menses period. I did that. Subsequently, it was better. The pain is still there but not as severe as before. Andother choice is as per Stacy's advice: take ginger.

Nellie, will it be a lot of food if we ordered the nasi lemak buffet plus our own food? I think one nasi lemak meal is more than enough for me lor.

i used to have monthly cramps too. i ever fainted becoz i can't tahan the pain.

went for scan b4, but doc say ok. in e end, started taking chinese medicine to balance the hormones. quite strong stuff like 'se4 xiang1' and others which i can't rem e names. combination recommended by one chinese doc in penang. been taking for almost 1 yr, and menses not as heavy as last time n pain went away gradually.

ginger is good, but not too much ginger from sushi stores, coz they are soaked in vinegar which is cooling. from what i understand, one week before and one week after shld not eat/drink cooling stuff.

u know, some chicken rice chilli also put vinegar. so start to be careful what goes in my mouth pre/post menses. ever since e fainting incident, i got so scared of pain. nv thot that pain can result in unconsciousness.

then again, in other times, i can be quite a greedy fellow. haiz, in e end have to work out more than others. after 3 mths of hard work, only lost 2kg. i still look round round. jialat.

I've just started chinese herbal pills recently. the pain is not so bad. can't remove cysts now cos they are too small. gynae said they will be 'flushed' away during menses. don't have leh, now i have 4 instead of 2.

Ivied - don't worry abt how much food we have, i have 'alternatives'. can share the food with my cousins.

mosburger: i luuurve vinegar! i sometimes think it's in the genes la. some people can stay so slim without putting in any efforts whereas some people are so calorie-conscious yet they still look "bak bak". i guess the integral stay part is staying health physically. i've seen "bak bak" people who are super flexible during yoga sessions. amazing!! i can't even reach my toes since young.

just decided on my wedding gown. tried 4 gowns and still decided on the 1st gown. guess the BS guy knows my taste already. also went shopping with my mum. finally found her evening outfit. she wants to buy a corset so that it will minimize the effect of her tummy. dunno whether it really helps or not??

oh..i also love vinegar..take bar chor mee, must add extra vinegar..hehee..

Sherrie - yr WG is it the one on your PS? I guess the corset will somehow minimize the effect of tummy, cos I know some brides used it for the WG as well.

I am on the other hand someone who really dislikes ginger. Haha, my MIL says me have to take that during confinement next time... errr... see how I can avoid... haha

Hmm, Stacy, I think Sherrie meant getting a corset for her mum?

huiz - er...the corset for brides n mum are the same type, is it? Hence, i think the fxn of the corset is to minimize the effect of tummy?

hi sherrie,
thanks for the recommendation!
Will check out the website.

oh, cramps...better take care. I also get it now and then...and it'll be so painful, I feel like I can't move and will break out in cold sweat...yah, maybe too liang already...

Haiz, tmrw's my GDL....and there's so much things to do at work...

No. my WG is different from all the 5 gowns that I wore from my photo shoots. yeah. my mum wants to get a corset. her tummy is big so she can't take chiffon dresses or dresses made of soft materials unfortunately. think must go check out wacoal for corsets.

nov 26th is my "ti2 qing1" day. i also dont know what to expect for that day.

my MIl said so. she even took out her calendar and flipped thru the pages! she decided on 26th nov. my hubby's aunt will come to my place to ask my parents officially what they want...something like that...

Traditionally, ti qing done by the groom's family to the bride's as a request to marry the bride. They will present a letter officially with the initial gifts for the bride's family. This is done so with the help of mei po. They will then request for the birthdates of both bride and groom to select the auspicious date for marriage.

When both parties meet, they will discuss about the formal gifts required. This is what we called pin li, pin jin, hui li, jia zhang. All these gifts will be presented during Guo Da Li, which the groom's family will select an auspicious date to deliver the gifts.

I think the modern marriage is done just by having a meet-the-parents session officially.

Stacy, during GDL, your hubby will pack the agreed gifts (PJ, PL) in a multi-tiered wedding basket and present to your parents. Your parents will then present the HL and JZ.

Hey Stacy,

I will be checking out Chinatown with my mum for such stuff tomorrow. One place u can try is Yue Hwa. Could be a bit exp though. My mum also mentioned this other place at Fortune Center. will confirm with her the venue again.

Stacy, I learnt that can be rented from those chinese wedding cake shop. Not necessary to buy lor, anyway use once only.

Huiz - tt day i passed by Yue Hwa...saw a banner tt they are selling/exhibiting some wed stuff..can't remember till when liao.

Ivied - I suppose have to get the cakes fm the cake shop then they'll lend it to u lor..

sherrie - so are u taking yoga lessons? any recommendations? i also thinking abt doing yoga, coz i'm so undisciplined when comes to exercises. always use work as excuse to be too bz. ;p

u mean u didn't take PS with your actual wedding gown? are we able to do PS with actual wedding gown? mine's suppossedly MTM.

ivied - when does 'ti qing' and 'GDL' comes in? near the marriage day? thot the auspicious date for marriage would have been chosen early early, considering that need to book venue confirm gown etc etc?

stacy - the basket no need to buy one. when u order ur chinese XiBing, they will loan it to u. but if u are ordering western cakes like bengawan solo then no hv..

i order my cantonese XiBings from Da Zhong Guo so they hv the basket.

huiz - i also dislike ginger kind of, but i cheat by chopping them up really small and squeeze all the juice out onto my steamed fish during my meals. does it help?

nellie - does your doc tell u if cysts will affect pregnancy? i've had 2 female colleagues who needed to remove cysts during early mths of pregnancy. sound really scary. think they only discover when pregnant.

mos, traditionally, the groom 'found' his bride and ask a mei po to bring initial gifts and letter to the bride's house to ti qing. They will then discuss about the wedding dates and formal gifts.

Modern way of doing is to have a meet-the-parents session when the couple is ready to settle down. They will meet and discuss officially about the selection of dates and formal gifts required. It is best to open up during this discussion so that there will not be any upsets during the wedding prep.

The date for GDL is normally 2 weeks prior to the AD.

Mosburger - The doc didn't say anything. I was 'discharged' from the hospital. She said if I feel unwell, go for another scan at the polyclinic. My colleague told me usually the cysts will be flushed out during pregnancy (since mine are small). Fibroids are more serious.

theres alot beaded bags in vietnam.. looks exactly like those sold in Xccessories.. but muz gangan bargain.. can go as cheap as S$5!

hi nellie..i went to HCM city late last year with hubby and his buddy. hmm, we bought vietnames coffee, vietnamese coffee pots, embroidered table coasters, imitation t-shirts, beaded purses, chopsticks with nice tips at the end, lacquered ware (wine holders and coasters) etc. i first went to vietnam (hanoi) in 2002. back then, it wasn't so commercialized yet. things were cheaper. i find that they have a lot of products quite similar to those that you can find in bangkok on the last trip.

but the food and beer's still as good and cheap. we stayed at a very nice boutique hotel. service as good. but they don have so many massage places like bangkok. when we asked the hotel concierge where to go for nice massages, the place he recommended turned out to be sleazy i.e. "women not allowed to enter"

i didnt see cheongsams though. heard that you can get nice tailored cheongsams for sdg $60 in shanghai. my cousin's 1st cousin was based in shanghai. she invited us to her wedding in singapore. her evening gown was MTM. costs only $150 sing! quite nice too!

mosburger: i used to take hatha yoga. its damn siong. not the meditative i.e. relaxing kind. each time after yoga, my entire body will surely ache. i took that for one year plus together with hubby. can see my stamina and body flexibility improving but have stopped after i did car sales. no time, really...it's a pity.

hmm..i think it depends on when is your photo shoot. my PS was early july but we later postponed it to early august. AD end dec. i decided not to go for MTM day gown. i opted for MTM evening gown instead. if your photo shoot is too late (cos u wanna use your actual gown), the album may not be ready in time for AD.

better check with your coordinator.

Sherrie - what currency do you use more over there, Vietnamese Don or US $$$? I'm thinking of changing US$150 and S$50 worth of Dong. Is it enough? Seems like can buy lots of household items.

Hey Nellie,

Eventhough I hadn't been to Vietnam, my gut feel is that try to use the local currency as far as possible. Always have this impression that if u were to fish out the greenbacks, they might think u are very rich and try to kam your chai tau!

usd is widely accepted. i can't remember the exchange rate but most things are either usd $1 or $1.50 kind...one bowl of beef noodles if you eat at normal places is abt $1..if restaurant, it will be $2..

hi Stacy,
not sure what to expect too...hehs.

Nellie...wah, Ho Chi Minh City... you can make the Vietnamese dress (Ao Dai) there. Apparently the turnard time is 1 day or something.

FMIL just came back from there. Think she mentioned the cars only give way to zebras at the zebra crossings. Yup, can buy lots of household items. Not sure if our Singapore money changers have Dong to change...but my FMIL and frens who have been there brought USD and changed the Dong over there...

hmm...not quite sure what's the diff between cysts and fibroids...how's these 2 related to endometriosis (endo for short)?

I know to cure endometriosis is to be preggy. coz the cyst or whatever will "dry" up coz of homornal changes and the body will flush out the thing that causes endo. but the irony of it is, with endo, it is more difficult to conceive...

That's the term used ... endometriosis. my cysts belong to that category. I forgot the difference already. Seems to me, the fibriods are the more serious ones.

yeah. if i remember correctly, they have 6 million units of motorcycles just in HCM city alone. vietnam is one of the better places to shop around in southeast asia other than thailand in my opinion. i also changed dong at the money changes in vietnam. rates are quite alright except for those at some hotels. they have nice paintings too. if you are planning to furnish household items, its not too bad, really. a lot of authentic adidas items are manufactured in vietnam. we bought quite a fair bit there.

sherrie - thinking abt taking up yoga when hand recovers. but bf dun wanna join me. he so blessed with good figure coz he used to be a swimmer n now a badminton enthusiast. but me is that kind need motivation to work out one.

nellie - thank goodness it's not e serious type. just take care. me also won't be able to fit into nice nice cheongsama i guess. unless i do smthg abt motivating myself to exercise. it's so boring to exercise alone and i can't play badminton. i dun wan to play w an expert who always send powerful shots over and i can't hit anything.

btw a fren taught me that in most asian countries, bring usd there then change more worth it. if change a lot, can be quite some difference. i'm gg to do that when i go taiwan end of year.

sherrie - actually i hvnt really decided what i wan to do w e package w z wedding. coz i won an overseas photoshoot. so prob not too worried abt not getting album in time. i think i will see how e taiwan photoshoot turns out 1st before deciding what to re-negotiate w z wedding. coz their wedding gowns are nice, datz y i thot it's a waste if i dun have it photographed. alternatively, i have seen my frens do without pre-wedding photoshoot, but do simple one during AD using free time between tea ceremony n dinner.

Hey CSI, how did your GDL go yesterday?

I went with my mum to Chinatown yesterday and got somethings for the wedding. One of my relatives introduced us to this 2nd storey shop next to a florist at the market next to Fook Hai Building. One would have thought that the market would sell things cheaper, but no! U know those battery operated lamps? They are selling one at 6 bucks whereas the Yue Hwa next to OG sells it at 4 bucks only. I did not get any lamps as I thought of asking my aunt from Malacca to get the very nice one similar to what her son used last month.

And u see this tea set here? I got it at Yue Hwa for $14, before 10% discount. The market shop quoted it at $18!! I really like this set. Minus the dragon and phoenixes, its still very sweet

422812.jpg

The only thing I got from the market shop was this basket ($6) to put oranges.... haha

422813.jpg

janf - did u get the big or small one? Mine is the small one. I hope I don't regret not getting the big one.