Hainanese Brides, anyone???

stacy

For weekday dinner..they can always attend wat...since everyone needs dinner...I tot its only a bit troublesome if relatives needs to apply leave for the tea ceremony in the day...so some pple do it at hotel during dinner.

janf

ivied - i din read the carlton thread. later then read. wats wif the august guy?? i passed my cds and montage and express highlites to the banquet mgr and he gaodim..

ivied

koxxic, Crown hotel has a long march in, so fully utilise it orr...
wow, Rap, Hip Hop songs, fun wedding man!

I'm also not playing love songs for the dinner, more to instrumental music.

aiyo, where got relatives dictate when they will come for the wedding? Mine is on Fri and my relatives were giving comments initially too but I told them I only have one good date and this is it. That keeps their mouth shut. hee..
Your FW's friend better inform the relatives to give BIG ang bao coz weekend rate VERY EX!

ivied

janf, think that augustine guy scolded his staff at the foyer with some #$%& language. Is he your banquet manager?
ok, noted. I shall do that too. Thanks.

koxxic

Huiz, Stacy - Yup, we were shocked to hear about it also..the main reason behind i guess is bcos those relatives not willing to pay or give ang bao...end up, their wedding they loss $10K in all.
super sad if my relatives are like that..

koxxic

iViED - ya..Crown's super long march in sia. i was wondering if i can do anything else than the march in??? hehe..

Too late la..their wedding over liao..come to think about it, they see their true colors so next time, they can don't bother going to their kids wedding also.

ivied

what! lose $10k!!!!!!!!! This amount is tabulated after deducting the amount given to the bride's mum or just the banquet alone?
haha.. koxxic, what do u have in mind? dancing, singing? My friend was so gan cheong during her time at Crown that both husband and wife walked in so fast that the guests does not even notice that they have reached the stage already. hahaha..

stacy

I agree tt onli limit to immediate relatives...cos' I've attended wedding, the bride can tell me..dunno who are all these pple..didn't even see them before! I guess the bride/groom parents muz have invited their friends or long-distance relatives.

Koxxic - perhaps u can do a dance during your march-in?

ivied

and talking about my case, i agree with Huiz. Its the mentality of the older folks. yup, i believe that the younger generation will have lesser crowd at their weddings, this is becoming the fact already.
my bo lao's mum has 16 brothers and sisters, dad has about 7 or 8 so that adds up to approx 25 aunties and uncles. So imagine each family has 2 childen. there are 100 people in all already.

janf

nope ivied, tat august guy not my banquet mgr.. mine was kelvin somethg..

based on exp, difficult to limit to immediate relatives lor. my mum for example hv to invite her Mai-Fo's kids which is not immediate liao.. then my ILs also invited some duno wat long-distant relatives. at 1st bor-lao's granny still can say wana invite hainam dao relatives as well and my bor-lao went NO WAY!!! give us RMB then we can faintz liao..

huiz

Hey koxxic, if your march-in aisle is long enough, u can consider waltzing in... hehe

What?!?! Invite the PRC people over?? this is madness man. Not only need to pay for their airfare and lodging(I presume need la), still need to entertain them a bit... where got the time and energy??

stacy

Janf - I know...my grandma also said wanna invite our hainan dao relatives..cos' i visited them last yr n they were asking me when's my wed and said muz invited them during my wed...I just smile and pretend that I don't get them..hehe

When grandma said she wants to invite her friends (since childhood), my mum told her no need to make them po fei..cos its marrying the daughter off..anyway, my parents onli asked for 6 tables..so tt's only enough for our family members.

kitty_li

hehs...Stacy, lucky you...marrying out daughter so no need so big. My pa says the exact opposite!! Marrying out daughter, so must invite more...and big big...warau, he maciam invited the whole world!! @#$*%^....Now I have soooo many tables. and my pa alone is 3x the number of tables my FMIL is having. So embarassing!! So I told my ma, "too bad. he invited so many, so you have to cut back..."

mosburger

ivied - wow, that's a lot of relatives! already 10 tables taken up.

i hvnt asked my dad on his opinion who to invite, coz most of my relatives in m'sia KL and Penang. of all his bros and sis, my dad came to sg alone and married my mama here, then since then we have been here. can anyone advise me if it's necessary to hold another banquet in m'sia just for my relatives? coz sg side really just my frens, a handful of my mama and papa's frens and my bf's relatives n frens.

koxxic

aiyo..invite list is the most headache one. at first i only say 25 tables...now become 30+ liao..
a simple dinner becomes very "long zhong" now.
my mum even invite her officers..

huiz

mosburger,

My mum's siblings (8 of them) are all in Msia too. And my hubby is also a Malaysian. We decided to hold another smaller scale dinner in Malacca for family members and hubby's friends only coz we feel that it is cheaper for us going over than all of them coming here. It is to us not very fair to invite them to Sg coz not all of them have passports (one Msian passport cost RM300!!) and if we don't pay for their accomodation, they are gonna bleed for the whole trip coz they have to pay for that and the angpows all in SGD! And if we arrange accomodation for them, we will be the ones bleeding liao lor... haha

But it all depends on the individual if there's a need to hold another dinner in Msia. Impt is to discuss with both parties yah?

mosburger

janf - i also read abt negative comments on z wedding. but wat to do... just like their gowns so much... one thing at a time lor. sign liao so dun think too much anymore. ;p in fact after liase w them for my ROM, so far so good.

koxxic - second e idea of dancing down as a long march-in! must be fun! horrified to hear abt relatives have a say in when the wedding dinner shld be. if free then come, not free dun come and dun waste table space.

janf

haha koxxic!, theres more to come.. when we got married oso counted 30tbls then as date nearer, the tbls kept increasing until squabble.. all parents hv the mentality tat its a big affair so muz invite the whole world.. and since they attend their frens' daug/son weddings, they muz get back their AP by inviting back their frens! its such mentality, sad to say..

thank god tat my ordeal is over.. i told my sis good luck when she gets married next time..!

stacy

Mos - i agree with Huiz...discuss with parents n see hw.

For my case, my HB also malaysian, but we not going to have dinner there, cos his parents are here in Singapore. We only going to invite his relatives (think 4 aunties fm Penang), ya..we going to pay for the trip loh. As for bo lao's friends, we tot of just iniviting for makan at somewhere decent when we visit Penang

mosburger

huiz - does it mean if got 2nd banquet, means groom's parents n immediate family must go again?

btw if 2nd banquet, do u borrow gowns from sg bridal shop or get another one in m'sia?

koxxic

it's never easy to hold wedding in 2 places.. morever, yuo're talking about getting relatives over just for ur wedding? I don't really see the need to actually cos it's a waste of money and time..Like i always say, marriage is between 2 person, if dinner is a must from parents, just do it once will do..

No offence to all sisters but if i have to invite relatives from M'sia..I'll just invite, come or not is their call..at the very least i invite liao..by throwing another dinner in m'sia i feel it's unneccesary.

To invite PRC is worst..these people always think s'porean very rich..they will take the chance to ask for this and that and expect u to pay for everything..no way man

mosburger

stacy - watz your bo lao's surname? i've quite some hainanese cousins, aunties, uncles in penang by the surname of Foo and Ho. haa, we may turn out to be long-distance relatives. ;p

ivied

that's the thing about banquets. Mine originally was 15, then 25 --> 30 --> 32. every wedding is the same, when u mentioned banquets, they will want to invite the whole world like that. CSI, wow, does your FMIL say anything? Your mum must be upset that she can't have many of her friends.

mos, I agree with Huiz. U can discuss with your parents and see what is their idea.

mosburger

koxxic - i second your thots. i will ask and if u can come, come, cannot then just tell me in advance. but will discuss w parents as a matter of respect. but my papa very open-minded one. in fact, he was the one encourage us if dun wan hold dinner, just go 4 honeymoon come back n announce married. haa, so cute hor. it's my bf who wants dinner. see, even more traditional than my old folks. ;D

janf

u are rite, koxxic! these PRC tink sporeans are suckers! everytime my ILs go back to hainam dao they will start this spoilt need to repair tat spoilt need to buy.. everythg is $$$..

now those PRC on my ILs side say they wana build ancestor hall and need $$$.. and guess wat, the whole village can only come up wif S$500 whereby they need S$2k to build! so my FIL and his 2bros gotta fork out S$500 each lor.. they really tink we power.. 1pax alone can dig out S$500..

mosburger

datz why since guy side wants dinner, datz i din bother think abt having big dinners n inviting too many ppl.

will ask my folks again.

koxxic

janf - ya lor..dunno how come the tables keeps increasing? For now, i put full stop liao..i dun care, no more invite from them.

By the way, check with you gals. How many VIP tables u gals taking?
I ask for one only and will seat my family and FW family only..now the question comes..

My Family - 5 pax
FW Family - 4 pax

FW grandma(mother side) of age 88 years still ard, we intend to let her sit with us to make it 10 pax.. but FW grandmother(father side) how? Cos she remarry before, so logically speaking, she is no longer a part of FW father's surname..can she sit at the VIP table huh? frankly speaking, i dun wan her to sit leh..hehe

mosburger

meanwhile, i'm getting really excited abt upcoming ROM! my bf is soon to be my bo lao, so wierd leh... haa...

btw bo lao = husband
then wife is ???

koxxic

janf - my suggestions is try to keep a distance away from those PRC. all this money need are lies..haiz. my friend's father went back also and they actually took his rolex watch away, they in fact know what is valueable, wat is not..end up, my friend wrote a letter to demand the watch back and will return send them a cheque of $10K..hehe..watch came back, but cheque din go, they call up to make noise..my friend ignore them and now don't allow her dad to go over anymore.

janf

koxxic - technically, ur FW re-married grandma shd sit at the non-VIP tbl but prob give her the near-the-stage tbl lah.

tat time my VIP tbl seated me and bor-lao, my pama and sis, his pama and his paternal grans (both) and his maternal grandma so = 10pax juz nice. my bor-lao's sis whos married sat at another tbl.

janf

koxxic - my ILs hav been trying hard to persuade me and bor-lao to go back hainam dao for a visit but bor-lao die die say NO! but last wk we relented lah (we going next feb07) coz bor-lao say juz go once and make this the last trip in his entire life (btw, bor-lao went once b4 during his teens). but bor-lao made it very clear to his pama tat till his generation (when my ILs are no longer ard), he dun wana get involved wif all the money matters pertaining to PRC and dun come to him for $$ coz he has none. i secretly told my bor-lao its quite difficult coz hes the Eldest Grandson in the Wang family, how to siam.. haiz.

huiz

Mos, I think its only proper to have both parents at any dinner to be held. I asked my BS to extend the loan period of my gowns to bring over. Don't want those in Msia... not nice leh

Tell u guys something funny about this really clueless guy colleague of mine. He called me yesterday asking if there's a practice of ppl having 2 VIP tables. I said I had heard of people doing that when there's too many impt ppl to include at the VIP table from the guys side. So no choice the gals side will have to take another VIP table.

I reminded him (thinking that he should already know) that whatever it is the bride will have to sit with the guy's family coz she's marrying in. I was sooo surprised to hear his response, "Har, u mean she has to sit with me ah??"

Pengz man!

huiz

Hmmm, I must say my family is really lucky to have PRC relative who do not demand anything much from us.

My granddad is the youngest kid of my great granddad's 4th wife and my dad is the only child. All he has is an adopted sis still in hainam dao but she is a v understanding sis. Never asked us for any help (no TV, no fridge, no watches etc) except when her crops are destroyed in the floods or typhoon. At most only asked for some cash to re-plant them.

The other siblings of my granddad are mostly quite ok, teachers, bankers, shop keepers etc, so never heard from them asking for anything, frankly speaking.

ivied

koxxic, traditionally, the wedding dinner is thrown by the groom's parents. The bride's parents and immediate relatives are considered guests. Therefore, the bride's relatives sit at a separate VIP table. The bride is married in and hence sits with the groom's family. Married sisters (of bride or groom) will not sit at the VIP tables as married sisters are deemed married out of the family. Unmarried sisters or brothers (married or unmarried) may sit at the VIP tables.

For your case, if u are sitting both you and your FW's family in one table, technically speaking, your FW's paternal grandmother should sit with you coz she is considered part of the family. Your FW's maternal grandma is considered married out already. I would propose that u do have separate VIP tables to avoid the conflicts. I have seen that in my friends' weddings. And tell you, this can create a big hoo-ha over it.

ivied

hey, I left out the part that your FW's paternal grandma has married out, so traditionally, she is not part of the family already.

kitty_li

hi Ivied,
aiyoh, I dun dare tell my FMIL abt the number of tables my pa wants ah...wait she takes it the wrong way..."wah, my son throwing the dinner, so u just 'whack' and invite the whole world ah? So no ettiquette..." When the parents 1st met up, FMIL already said very clearly that they will not be inviting distant relatives. Keep it simple and to close family only. But my parents? Warau...

ivied

aiyo, CSI, then liagi jialak. She will get the wrong idea as your date is near leh. Better inform her earlier or like what Huiz says, your folks have to help to settle their extra tables. Is this dinner paid by you and your bo lao or by your in-laws?

sherrie

thanks janf. my package came with 22 photos. we bargained for 30 shots. but of course its still not enough. my super disciplined husband only agreed to 4 extras. we paid $75 for each extra photo. plus they charged us $500 for the cd rom of 34 photos in total. dunno if we were ripped off or not.

janf

sherrie - my fren topped up $1500 to get back all (incl those not selected) the fotos in cd rom and 15 extras to make the album a complete 50pics (original pkg was 35pics i tink).. plus she complained svc lousy but juz hv to endure them.. she complained like mad in tat thread.. haha. anw, its over liao.. as long ur experience wif them still ok then juz ren until AD over..

sherrie

the guy who was negotiating the deal with us was damn good. even though i am a salesperson myself, i stll cannot beat him lor..plus my gf who's also a salesperson went down with us during the photo selection. he refused to buldge at all. i think he knew my husband didnt wanna pay so much extra so he didnt bother with us. i think your friend's deal is quite alright compared to us la. imagine we paid 800 plus for the cd rom and 4 shots extra only.

janf

u wanted the cd rom back coz u wana do montage izit? actually really ridiculous for them to charge $500 for the cd..

sherrie

yeah. cos thought of doing montage with the 34 shots cos all made into album. how to scan right? hence i always think that bridal shops have a lot of hidden costs.

mosburger: i just noticed you asked what's my occupation. i am a car salesperson thats why i am not very desk-bound except when i am doing paperwork at the office.

any good recommendations for make up artist? i am thinking of gettting someone to do my mum's hair and make up before the dinner. think she doesnt need that for mornings. my BS make up artist told me that she can arrange for my mum at $80. is that reasonable?

mosburger

sherrie - i think u better check properly. coz from what i understand, some MUA makeup and hairstyle diff charges, not together.

janf

gals who are looking at engaging MUA for mums or sis - Stella 90062966. she charges $120 for 2pax and will go to the destination of ur choice to makeup. im not sure if she does for 1pax anot coz tat time i engaged her to makeup+simple hairdo for my mum and sis.

i din engage my BS MUA to makeup for my mum/sis coz i prefer my MUA to concentrate on me alone. and per pax takes abt 45mins so if own BS MUA do, then one of us gotta makeup very very early liao..

mosburger

sherrie - did u get Z to write down return neagtives/cd-rom on selected photos last time? if so, they shld not charge extra. whois your coordinator?

sherrie

aiyo maybe we didnt. i gotta go back to check. the one doing the foto selection was this guy called keanu. we signed up the package with ivan.

thanks janf for stella's contact. shall ring her up later. my MUA has 3 appointments on my wedding night.