Hainanese Brides, anyone???

janf

sherrie - u shunpian ask stella how much she charges for 1pax can? coz im gona be JM for my gfren's wedding in dec and tot of getting MUA but muz see budget 1st..

stacy

Mos - er...my guy not hainan man lah...he's teochew...so cannot be distant relatives in penang lah

Janf - u've got a pt there...y didn't I thik of that..I actually asked my MUA to makeup for my sis n mum..arrr....maybe I will get them a separate MUA..

mosburger

sherrie - another alternative for u, mico from u-style, contact no in her website.
http://www.ustyle-mico.com/

i won an overseas photography package to go taiwan coming dec and she's the boss cum MUA. went for the indoor photoshoot liaoz and she did a great job! no harm asking.

kitty_li

huiz, ivied, mosburger...
how to ask parents to pay for those tables? How to open mouth? I dunno how to bring it up lah. FH and I are paying for entire wedding on our own.

ivied

sherrie/mos, yes, mico is good. I have seen her works for my colleague and during our co D&D. But only request for mico hor. She has another assistant, can't rem her name. Her make up not so good and I do not quite like it.

CSI, can I ask if your mum is keeping her takes for the dinner? If she is, perhaps u can hint to her that losses at dinner is inevitable. Hope she can help u so that you will not incur too much losses.

ivied

btw, I also arranged a separate MUA for my mum and MIL too. I agree with janf, I would like my MUA to concentrate on me alone will do.

koxxic

ya..she hainan mai also..but both of us can't speak..haha! she's not free to come in actually but she do read through when she's free..

kitty_li

Hi ivied,
nope, my parents are not keeping any ang pows. but even then...with more tables, the chances of greater loss is higher...mathematically lah...u know what I mean? Esp since it's that generation pple...

ivied

CSI, it depends leh. For my case, I have many kids at the banquet, hence I need more adults to cover the cost of the kids so that the amount can be balanced off.

Perhaps u can hint your dad about the cost of banquets nowadays. See if he can help u should u have huge losses. Let him see that more tables means heavy losses.
BTW, your wedding date is near. Have you confirmed the no of tables?

mosburger

huiz - i won it in one of the lucky draw in her world brides magazine. since no need pay for the album n photographer's fees, then me n bf treat it as though go holiday, post-ROM tour. ;p

i already sign package, but i din tell Z wedding. just thot i'd try to change some of e items in the package, dun take their photos or watever, since amt not paid in full yet. play by e ear along e way.

kitty_li

hi mosburger...erm, actually I'm closer to my pa. with my ma...it's like shouting match each time at home. hahaha...

Hi ivied, will be confirming with hotel this sat, after GDL...Marriott is ok...can confirm only 1 week prior. So, still ok for now. But sure wun decrease one lah...given the current situation. hahaha.

Hey janf, that was what I was thinking manz! You have X tbls. Y is close relatives. So, X-Y is ur frens or distant relatives that u insist on inviting. So u pay for the losses from X-Y tbls. hehs.

but my biggest worry is FMIL lah. Dunno what she will think leh. So also dunno how to tell her. If tell her FH and I paying for whole dinner on our own, she might think that my side take advantage of her son. then if tell her my parents paying for those tables, she might also feel like so weird, that she never pay for her side of tables. Sticky manz!!

huiz

Wah Mos, u are really one lucky gal manz! *envy envy* heehe

CSI, I can understand your "stuck in the middle" feeling now. But it seems that really can't please everyone

mosburger

hee, my 1st stroke of luck in my life too. coz me nv win anything b4 aside from this. datz y after this, my bf and i keep buying 4D, think our ROM bring us good luck. small winnings.

huiz

Wa mos, I think u have marriage luck man. After winning the package still have small 4D wins too! Me alwayssss miss by one number... grr

ivied

wow mos, u are so lucky. This is like winning a jackpot.
so does this photography include WG? from which BS?

CSI, yours is a real tricky one. Let your hubby talk to his mama then, perhaps she will be able to accept it better. u really talk like a banker. all the Xs and Ys. hee..

mosburger

CSI - oh dear, really sticky situation. just explain u need financial help?

stacy - so can't be relatives. haa... but penang food still nice.

sherrie

they said to-be brides and grooms have luck..my gf told her she struck 4d before her wedding..how i wish it will happen to me or my hubby too..

last sat, my hubby whispered to me when i stepped into the house. he said he struck toto so didnt want the neighbours to hear. when i asked him how much, he said he struck

mosburger

huiz - hee, maybe this is what they call marriage luck. my dad used zi wei dou shu calculate before choose auspicious date & time for us. convert from lunar calendar turn out to be 22 nov, 3.30pm... sui sui num 11,22,33 easy to rem.

stacy

wow mos - u are one lucky one...*envy*. I don't have such luck...nvr in my life won anything..not even lucky draw..sian!

stacy

Sherrie - don't care how much ur hb strike lah...tell him u bot him luck n ask him buy u some pressies or good meals...haha

huiz

Come to think of it, the "biggest" thing I had ever won was a $50 dinner voucher at my wedding hotel, Plaza Park Royal. Sherrie, make sure he buy u some nice blings! heehee

stacy

talking abt 4Ds..it has been sometime we gals invest in some nos...hmm..since CSI is the next BTB...maybe is the "wang"..can give us some lucky no..haha

mosburger

ivied - nope, WG not incl, but we are renting one from taiwan BS. not ex so okay. want smthg diff and dun wan to lug heavy luggage on hol. won it from U-style. apparently they just extended their services from MU to complete bridal services.

zapzap

Wow!!! so many threads... I got problem catching up. It's not a good day for me today. The database of my test system is corrupted after I've done my upgrade. Now I'm still in the office rebuilding it.

sherrie

haha only 90 bucks. not even enough to buy silver from tiffanys & co.

huiz: cannot buy blings la. he struck 4 numbers only la...not 5 or 6...but using statistics, the chances of striking 4 digits is quite tough already.

i have called stella. the MUA that janf recommended. she seems so busy. i asked her how much she charges for one pax. she doesnt do one pax. minimum is 2 pax. $120 bucks.

my customer just called me. he said he will meet me at my workplace to do some paperwork tomorrow but gotta make it quick cos he's viewing his wedding phots afterwards. i asked him when his wedding is. he said next july. wah lau...so efficient..

ivied

hee.. ya, we can get CSI to give us some good numbers. but we do it discretely, maybe like X*Y-Z=A. hee...

ic, mosburger. so u can go for a short honeymoon after your ROM.
how about your post ROM reception? settled?

nellie, no wonder u are so quiet today.
things like that always happen. mine may not be a large scale database system like yours but I will always have prob when I'm upgrading or rebuilding the project. so are things settled?

sherrie, your bo lao is lucky lor. so are u engaging Stella? what about your MIL? aiyo, your customer is super efficient. btw, mind if u can reveal what type of cars are u selling? I have a friend who sells mazda.

sherrie

i casually mentioned to my hubby abt the make up for my mum but he didnt say anything about it. i feel my in laws are quite bo chup about the wedding sometimes. i guess it's cos my hubby's the last one in his family to get married though he's the eldest son while i am the first to get married in the family. think they are more concerned with hubby's nieces and nephews.

hmm..dunno leh..cos don't think my younger sis needs it. she does her make up very nicely- ex crew-trained. just need it for my mum but since stella needs two pax, i have to ask my sister tmr if she wants it too. else a bit wasted unless my jie meis wanna use her services.

oh mazda huh? i am selling hyundais at alexander.

huiz

Sherrie, 90 bucks also good la. You guys will be on your way to winning more fortune eh? This is just the beginner's luck ya know? hehe

So next time if we go buy Hyundai we look for u for bigger discounts okie? ;-P

kitty_li

wah, Huiz, Ivied....hahaha...good siah...heehee....hmmm...ok, let me "suan" four digits for you all...let's see...

(counting the fingers...*tap* *tap* *tap*)

Let's do it this way:- Alphabetically, A=1, B=2 etc...so...

Ok, my AD falls on "AAAH" (mm/dd format), church ceremony starts at "AA"am (though my fren suggested that I should start it at AA:AHam). wah piangz, confusing? heehee...but dunno if buy now or buy then would be better. hahaha...

Wah sherrie, your customer super efficient ah...I'll only be collecting my PS album and CD-ROM only next week...and my wedding is the week after...

janf

morning all.. yawn.. finally mid-wk..

thanks sherrie.. so stella only MU for 2pax minimum ya.. tink me and my fren's mum will engage her svc for my fren's wedding nxt mth bah.. yup, stella very bzy, almost every other day got MU sessions and shes not pricey for the quality..

ur customer really onz leh! jul07 AD, now oredi PS?! faintz..

mosburger

sherrie - 90 bucks better than me. haa, always buy ibet, so largest winnings only 40 bucks.

ivied - hvnt settle post-ROM high tea. prob try botanic garden got one restaurant. quiet place but need booking. must cater to bf's big appetite.

nellie - is your system up yet?