Hainanese Brides, anyone???

huiz

ya same here. high tea reception sounds better and more proper la

mosburger

hi ah mais, 1st time see koxxic. it's a he right?

huiz - saw the mail. i'd work on that tonight k. need to settle some work stuff 1st.

koxxic

gals, noticed u all have problems doing the wedding card? any issue u all have?

I had my wedding cards done by Hi-Tec, totally fuss free, they do everything for me and let me check before print..

stuff like what to put, they will settle for u..and they have the different format for different hotels..

janf - Tag is good enough..lolex is only my own dream..haha! i told my MIL to go with Tag also..but she don't like it..haha..funny hor..

mosburger

i have one question. u mean when hotel give complimentary invitation cards all no inserts one? is that what they mean by printing not incl? and we have to do our own inserts?

mosburger

tdy my colleague and i tok-ing abt my hand again, only then silly me realise i NEED my hand to sign on marriage cert in nov. goodness me still thinking how come everyone ask me what am i gg to do during ROM? chiam! now i finally realise what they are asking. it didn't really occur to me that ROM means signing on that piece of paper. and i'm gonna have an UGLY signature there forever!

i'm so angry with my boss now, all thanks to him for the shit work that i get injured and i'm gonna have an UGLY signature on my marriage cert!

janf

nellie - 'high tea reception' sounds better..

i got my invites printed at Hi-Tech too. fuss-free as i was clueless abt the chinese translation and the gal helped us..

yup mosburger - my hotel only gave us the ivitation cards, the inserts is ownself print and tie gold string to it..

stacy

Hi Hi all,

Koxxic - ya..my gf also recommend Hi-tec. She said they are very experienced and not ex too!

Mos - yes, printing of inserts not included. Anyway, avg cost of printing is abt $80 for 200pcs..

huiz

hey mosburger,

I heard it a few times over and thought its actually v good. My bo lao is very impressed with it too. If cannot do then leave it okie?

koxxic

Mos - Don't worry, your marriage cert will not show any signature if i din remember wrongly. Only the copy which is submitted back to ROM side has your signature, so you don't have to feel too bad or unhappy. =)
For wedding cards, yes..usually hotel only provide with the cards..Inserts or printing or hotstamping is done yourself.

janf - U did ur print at Hi-Tec also? I saw a couple when i was there, hope it's not you? hehe

Stacy - Totally agree with you. I did my hotstamping with them..very fuss free and cheap. If need to print more, they will not charge for the mould again..

janf

aiyoh ah kor, i was at Hi-Tech last yr this time, not this yr this time! haha.

mosburger - hotstamp is direct printing onto the invitation cards coz some cards cant tie inserts to it..

ivied - u chose which card from carlton? izit the Xi word and maroon backgrd?

mosburger

koxxic - i see. thanks. now i feel so much better...

huiz - not a prob. can be done, in fact adjusting vol is easier than what was done earlier. it was tougher counting e beats and trying to join at that RIGHT juncture. but i busy w some work admin, sorry u have to wait a while.

ivied

koxxic, just to clarify your thoughts, Nellie prints her own wedding invites coz hers is not convention hotel/restaurant, she needs some samples for reference.

btw, I just sent mine for printing at Hi-tech too.
Actually, the layouts are standard, not much worry about it. My bo lao and I were done in 15 mins. I recommended to Jan 07 brides in the other forum and now most of them are going there for print too. ha ha ...
Most of the Jan 07 brides also went there.

janf, yup. I took the maroon background with 'Xi' word. The more I look at it, the more I like it.
U too?

koxxic

janf - haha, then that couple confirm not you liao. =)

iViED - Surprise so many people doing at Hi Tec here..looks like SGB really bring them business. haha

My AD coming soon..now really is counting down liao! 1 more month nia, getting slightly excited now..

huiz

Aiyo, I can't remember which is the printer my hotel ties up with. But I can not use the recommended one right? Another question, I have customised inserts, so can they cut the paper for me? Need extra charge? (actually its v easy to cut wan... oni need to cut A4 paper into 3 portions). Oh ya, then I have to give them the artwork in soft copy too?

ivied

koxxic, ya, and by the fact that they do not have to pay for the advertising.

U go to Hi-tech then u live near that area? I did not know it was so near my home. My bo lao just made a turn and we are there liao. I even boasted to him that I find a good lobang: cheap, good and near. hee..

So fast hor, its just another month to your AD. Are your things ready? wonder if we ah mais and ah kor will still be chatting here after our AD? My bo lao said I addicted liao, can't stop coming in this thread every single moment. ha ha ha...

huiz

Heh ivied, same here... mine also said I am addicted. Well, as long as this thread exists, why not come in?

Hmm, I think I know where Hi-Tech is liao. Perhaps I will go there too. Q near to my place and can easily drop by after work.

koxxic

iViED - My wife used to stay near the place so we got there easily..

Things are almost done..wat's troublesome is the list of invites..headache ah..

ivied

Huiz, perhaps u can show your artwork to your selected printer and see if they can work it out for u. Normally they will still do up an artwork for your comments and approval prior to printing.

Nope, u do not have to use the recommended printer by your hotel.

ivied

ya, preparing the invites and RSVP brings the biggest headaches to a wedding banquet. My mum finally understands my difficulties when I rejected the idea of a banquet initially. Now she offers to call up her friends when the date is near. YUPEE!

kitty_li

hey nellie,
if you put "zhang nu", it actually means you have a younger sister below you. (that's what my printer told me lah). So you might want to double check on that.

I saw one website with it one...but can't remember offhand...

Okie, emailed u my card...

janf

yup ivied, i took the Xi maroon card coz the rest all cannot make it! haha. plus my ILs and my pama all concensus views coz we chose the cards during the food tasting session.

if theres active forum-ers of coz will cont to chat here! im a live example ya! 10mths into marriage and still posting.. haha. im oso active in dec05/jan06 thread and this thread is the 2nd highest moving thread eventho all of us in tat thread are oredi married and 1 of the gals delivering anytime..

zapzap

Thanks Ah Mais!

I've decided to use 'zhang nu', eldest daughter. my mum wants me to change the high tea reception to lunch buffet cos the menu i'm using isn't high tea at all. anyway, i just act according to her lor...

yup, my cards are custom-made. managed to get a good deal thru my friend in Butterworth. I've saved more than 50% on the price.

Over in Msia, the bride and groom print their own inserts. Unlike us, we combine together. That's why I need help. They do not have the 'combined' type of sample.

sherrie

Wow. so many postings in a day. went to color and highlight my hair this afternoon but since my hubby stepped home, he hasnt noticed at all. You girls are have access to computers at work huh?

Hi CSI: Here's my details again.
AD: 29th Dec, Hyatt Hotel; No videographer, AD photographer- In Jack Studio; Using Z Weddings for bridal shots. Anything else that I have missed?

Mosburger: I also thought that it came free till lately. Hehe..For wedding inserts, I had them printed at this vendor recommended by the hotel called Jasvy. We used some of their cute animations but my mum commented that it's too childish for her liking. We went ahead too. The vendor is quite helpful, particularly with the chinese wordings. If not for her, I will be quite clueless too. I have sent out almost all my invites. Seems like a bit kiasu. Left with parents and in laws. They seem a bit slow in coming with their guest lists now. I feel a bit kan cheong cos I wanna do my rsvp asap. Gonna be super busy with work in Nov
(

I think it's nice to get watches for wedding gifts too. Initially I asked my hubby if I can swop the si dian jin for a cartier watch but my mum felt it was too rude for me to ask and we should stick to traditions since hubby is a teochew.

But my mum got my hubby a Montblanc automatic watch with nice leather strap since he already has a Brietling and Tag and he finds rolexes too ah pek. Plus other brands beyong my mum's budget. I chose it for him since I know he will be too pai say to choose infront of my mum.

Anyway getting more and more jittery closer to the date. It's exactly 2 months away and 1) haven decided on emcee(s) 2) haven decided on wedding song and first dish song 3) went for facial this afternoon and my beautician commented that I have outbreak on my forehead!

sianz...

mosburger

hi ah mais n ah kors, my bf also commented me very addicted to this thread. in fact, i started out just only viewing posts on z wedding thread until i chanced upon this. then i've become very active liao hor. ;p if u all go missing from the thread after wedding, i think i will be very sad coz i'm the last one on the list (2008!) to get married leh...

mosburger

sherrie - i think guys not observant one. i give up on telling my bf when i go hairdresser. yup, i have access to comp at work. what abt u? can ask what's your occupation?

huiz - thanks 4 waiting. i did it while i rem. if i drag things, i will forget and have to re-listen and go thru the process all over. more tedious. in fact, it's done. i've replied your email.

janf

sherrie - these are thes songs tat i used for our wedding..

Songs 1-20 are played thruout the dinner

01. The Look Of Love - Diana Krall
02. Dream A Little Dream - Laura Fygi
03. Samba De Verao - Lisa Ono
04. Pretty World - Lisa Ono
05. L-O-V-E - Natalie Cole
06. Glory Of Love - Peter Cetera
07. When I Fall In Love - Nat & Natalie Cole
08. Tonight I Celebrate My Love - Peabo Bryson & Roberta Flack
09. I Love You - Martina McBride
10. I Need You - LeAnn Rimes
11. Breathe - Faith Hill
12. You're The Inspiration - Chicago
13. The Best Of Me - Bryan Adams
14. (Everything I Do) I Do It For You - Bryan Adams
15. Truly Madly Deeply - Savage Garden
16. When You Say Nothing At All - Ronan Keating
17. Endless Love - Lionel Ritchie & Diana Ross
18. The Best Of Me - David Foster & Olivia Newton John
19. Lover's Concerto - Kelly Chen
20. A Long And Lasting Love - Crystal Gayle

01. Garden Party - Millenium Mix - Mezzoforte (1st dish)
02. From This Moment - Shania Twain (1st march-in)
03. I finally found someone - Bryan Adams & Barbara Streisand (2nd march-in)

u are oso from z weddings? my fren AD juz over and she dislike the whole experience wif tat bridal.. kena ripped off for topping up of pics and cd..

kitty_li

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>Emeharkeh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherrie</TD><TD>29-Dec-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>latest update on Sherrie

stacy

Good morning...

Nellie - was just thinking...if its only u n ur bro..can u put as only daughter?

Ivied - thanks for sharing the guest list file...have been asking my guy to do it asap so can really get that big headache off my mind..but he's still man man lai...guys!

huiz

Good morning all....

Janf, did u repeat any of the 20 songs during the dinner? I kiasu have about 40 over and still afraid they can't last... haha

ivied

Good morning ah mais.
I was also thinking about CSI's point yesterday. I'm in the same situation as Nellie. After checking with my colleagues/families, they were saying should be alright to put 'zhang nu'. 'Du nu' means only daughter and no other kids so its not appropriate.

No prob Stacy. I also asked my guy to get it done by these 2 weeks. It is quite hard to get his family to work on it as they are now busy with his sister's wedding so ours is sort of 'shelf aside'.

Huiz, I'm also working on 20 songs. It will just be played all over again. No worry, no one will notice. hee.. If u have 40 songs, does that mean u have 5 CDs ready?

huiz

I haven't burned the songs into CD yet, but I suppose should be around 5 CDs. Bo lao chose the songs wan, so I let him do what he likes lor. He asked me last night for "permission" to include a whole list of super oldies (50s/60s?) for the Msian dinner and I said ok la. I leave that one to his charge... share responsibilities lor.

janf

huiz - ivied is rite. no one will notice tat u played the songs over again. the most the songs are played another 1/2time more coz yam seng session, speech session etc will take up some time liao.. for my case, i burnt all the 20songs into 1cd and 1st dish,1st march-in and 2nd march-in songs into another cd.

ivied - wah, which means ur future SIL coming up soon?? when? lidat ur bor-lao's family got 2 Xi within mth aft mth!

stacy

ivied - now i see...du nu means only daughter with no other kids. Initially i tot its only daughter but the rest of the kids are sons...:p paisay!

Anyway, since the family is working on the sis wed, his parents list will be more or less done..can copy n paste..hehee

Huiz- M going to stick ard 20 songs also...cos we bother if u replay n also...remember our hainan folks..talk so loud, maybe didn't even take note of the songs...hahaa

huiz

Ya hor, ivied, think your guest list shouldn't be too much of a headache coz got ready sample list from your SIL liao... hehe

I think my bo lao would like to have the songs not repeated. Aiya, I leave it to him to play with it... kekeke

stacy

Huiz - ya, since ur guy have enough songs to play for the dinner..just leave it to him... My guy is those that super boh-chap when it comes to wedding song. He attended a wedding last Sun..i asked him, wat was the march-in song...he went like 'er...dunno...i wasn't paying attention.."

ivied

haha.. Stacy, u got a good point there.
I forgot about our hainanese 'special characteristic'!

janf, do u have to meet with the media coordinator at Carlton? or just pass the CDs to the banquet manager will do? Did u read the Carlton thread? They mentioned about a banquet manager Augustine.

My future sis-in-law (bo lao's younger sis) is getting married one month before us. Actually she had selected the date earlier this year while we had only done ours this july. The 'shuan ming' says its alright as the daughter is marrying out while I'm marrying in. Moreover, its a good year for both my bo lao and me this year so we have to settle before the end of 'dog' year.
Stacy, the guest list differs in some part lor. The parents are saying its pai seh to invite the same relatives for 2 weddings so we shall be seeing 2 different sets of relatives for 2 weddings. I was dumbfounded. What does that mean? Anyway, they made the decision, I just follow lor. I just think positively that my bo lao has 20+ uncles and aunties, so if they invite all and their families, I would ended up with 40+ tables. Now only 30, so still ok. hee..

koxxic

wow wow..notice all fretting over the songs now.
i'm going for something special..who says wedding must put love songs right? hehe..

huiz

Actually it is true that the older folks do not like to invite the same person too many times for wedding dinners. My mum always say that if the family has 4 or 5 kids, can't invite them all the time coz paiseh to make them "po fei".. but I always wonder, so does it mean that the last few children in the family will have smaller wedding dinners?

stacy

tt's confusing...2 different sets of relatives for 2 weddings? Tt's a big family..

I onli know my papa said he'll invited immediate relatives (eg: his bro n sis)..will not invite his friends...cos' he said marrying out daughter..no need invite so many...I was more than happier..cos' its me n bo lao paying for the tables..hehee, lesser the tables, the better

koxxic

Huiz - for march in, i no choice cos FW say must be romantic one..but the rest of the songs for the night will be something nice and what people like to hear nowadays.. =)

Stacy - Actually it's good to invite immediate family only. This way they have no excuse not to turn up..My FW's friend wedding was postponed twice becos her hubby's relative say if it's on weekdays, they will not come..piangz, got like that one ah? End up, they change to weekend but yet so many din turn, some last minute give excuse like, we also not very close so no need la.

Songs wise..haha! Rap, Hip Hop, R&amp;B, BINGO!

huiz

My goodness, whose wedding is it man? What say do the relatives have in which day the couple wants to hold their wedding?? This is too much!

stacy

Koxxic - har! 1st time I heard wedding was postponed cos relatives can't make it on weekdays! Too much liao! ( I mean the relatives)..

Hip Hop, RYB, Rap ya...wow, ur wedding will sure be fun....guest might just wanna get off their feet and dance...