Hainanese Brides, anyone???

janf

MIL this am was saying go back there for 1wk+ and bor-lao went "NO WAY! 4days the max for us! u can extend ur stay there!" haha.

bor-lao oredi went hainan island b4 during his teens but coz hes eldest grandson, my MIL every now and then persuading him to go back again..

he anti-hainan island one.. coz go back there, everyone takes us as suckers and will start telling us this thg spoilt need to rebuild, tat thg spoilt need to buy.. tell us sooo many stories in short is wan us to fork out $$$ wat..

huiz

Aiyoyo, janf, I should intro my dad to ur ILs. He is thinking of the same arrangements too!

Stacy, my dad was born there wan. 10 years old then came over. He always say the environ there good for retiring and can be a "millionaire" there worrr...

sherrie

i went to sanya beach resort area cos i joined the local tour with all those mainlanders..other than that, i stayed at my grandma's shophouse in town..and visited my dad's relative's place-some ulu area...it was quite nice except for the weather..almost suffered from heat stroke

my grandma, younger sister and bf, her bf's parents (whose mum is hainanese) and grandaunt, plus about 10 over ah peks from my dad's hainanese lim association are going back next feb..they have booked the tix. grandma jio-ed me and hubby to go. see how la. still so far away. dunno can get leave approved or not. plus it will be a bus-load full of loud hainanese..hehe..think my husband may get culture shock!

janf

sherrie - i tink ur pa and my uncles mite know each other coz my eldest Lim uncle oso in the association.. haha. perhaps all gather tog 1 fine day will know each other..

oh fyi (the rest of the gals know), my hub's a pure hainanese while im 1/2hainanese (my ma is).. keke.

huiz

I somehow have this niggling feeling that some of us, by one way or another, might be related. The Hainan community here also not sooo big lor.

sherrie

perhaps! my dad goes to the association every week to play mahjong. he's quite active.

janice..i think i have seen your video at jacky's house! no wonder i find your hubby so familiar looking! u and hubby were asked to turn around in circles in your room with your veil or something, if i remember correctly???

sherrie

oh no..i know ur hubby's xiong di...one of them is voon kin. the other one is called chris rite??? i saw them in the foto carrying suckling pig..ur hubby ex anderson junior college?

janf

huh sherrie?! voon kin, chris and hong chang are all from anderson JC! u related to them in wat way?! wahlau, this is becoming more and more interesting liao!!! hahah!!

my hub is hong chang's army fren. and from hong chang then he know the rest - voon kin, chris etc..

mosburger

hihi ah mais!

*waves hello to sheerie*
yup, i'm a ZWB too. seems like i read from the Z wedding thread a lot of hidden charges. me also scared scared abit.

me went SGH for review yest. doc scold me leh, say my hand still swollen cannot inject. hiya, not my fault that i need to work then hand swollen again. anyway, went to traders hotel eat buffet lunch with my bf, then visited vivocity to make me feel better. ;p that place too big to explore ah.

huiz

Hi Mosburger,

Aiyo your hand still no good ah? What kinda injection u need? Is it to reduce the swelling?

Talking about Vivo makes me feddup.... grrr. I went there for the second time last night, this time to buy a TV. But there was no more stock! The stupid shop assistants don't have the slightest initiative to paste a "sold out" sigh there man. Made us happy for nothing only :-(

mosburger

after reading the long thread, u all can count till one hundred. sob, me only know how to count till twenty in hainanese.

huiz - u may be right, some of us may be related somehow. my grandpa used to join association when he was alive. now that he's gone, none of us continued tho.

huiz - may i listen to your march-in song?

mosburger

janf & huiz - haa, must intro my dad to ur ILs and dad too, he also want to go stay there upon retirement. he wasn't even born there! my grandpa came from 'wan4 ning2' of hainan island. u all?

mosburger

hihi huiz,

yup, hand swelled up again after start work, so got long mc again to wait for swelling go down. dunno wat injection, sounds like 'steroids' to me when doc said it. dunno really or not? doc say use to reduce pain and inflammation.

huiz

oh, mosburger, so your folks are fron Ban Leng See (Wan Ning Shi) ah? I think that's quite near where my folks come from too. They are from Keng Hai (Qiong Hai)Koo Zeh Sui (Shu1 Zhai1 Cun1 - meaning the "books trove" village)

sherrie

hi janf...i have met voon kin, chris and hong chang a couple of times over the years. my uni classmates xiaoming(kevin) and xinyu (ryan)were from anderson junior college so that's how i gotta to be acquainted with voon kin, chris and hong chang.

i think i might have seen your husband at xiaoming's housewarming in sengkang. but i remember u and ur husband from the wedding video that Jacky from In JAck showed to us as samples of his works! quite an impression cos you were wearing your hubby's jacket and turning around and he mentioned that particular couple's very spontaneous and fun one..hehe

such a small world...

janf

sherrie - my bor-lao recalled who u are liao! yesh, he said he met u at xiaoming's hse b4 and u look like HK actress Amy Kwok woh! wah, u muz be a meinu.. he still made fun of the bachelors gang tat they shd hv chase u instead! haha.

really unbelievable.. the world sooo small ya.. we hv same PG and common frens.. haha. really got Yuan..

yup, me and hub did the turn-ard motion thingy.. wah piang, really turn until i giddy liao..

huiz

Hi mosburger,

No worries... I was also busy last night so din have time to come online. I listened to the song liao but still dunno where is best to cut leh. I shall send u the song via msn tomorrow and shall ask u for your advice then. thanks gal!

Nellie, here's the insert I will be using for my DIY cards. The front page....

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

Insert Template Pg 1.doc (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

huiz

Haha, I was telling Li Ann just now (poor gal, been very busy with work and will come in after her project ends) over MSN that we have a few new additions to our "family" and I have this crazy idea that we can start a "Young Women's Hainanese Association" (YWHA) liao!! ;-P

ivied

Huiz, ya, spoke to Li Ann a couple of days ago too. She was so tied up with work that she barely had time to do other stuff. Poor girl...
Hee.. we are one clan of Young Hainanese Women already.

Nellie, u can try this website for the wordings:
http://www.verseit.com/index.cfm

kitty_li

wow, I didn't realise I missed so many posts on Friday...

Hey mosburger,
your folks are from Ban Leng (or is it Neng? hehs...I dunno manz.)? My father side is from there...My ma's side is from Boon Sang (Wen Chang).

Hey Sherrie,
I may have missed your details...erm, dun mind can post it up again pls? So can update table... Thanks!

koxxic

wah..so long din come in! i already lost count of the things u gals and guys done..haha

anyway, just to update u all on mine..

My mum got the dowry stuff all done liao..made the purchases at the old shop in chinatown..uncles there are knowlegable of all the customs and tradition so we got no worries..

Last night my mum brought my FW to SK..wah piang, bought her gifts worth of $1.3K (not much compare to many others) i so jealous.. =)

Come to think about it..actually, not much stuff to do..The most tedious one is the wedding list only..

huiz

Hee, Ivied, for a moment I thought how come your name is now "Tansy"

Hihi ah kor, glad to see u back! Yah, sometimes I think like u too. Like nothing much to do after the banquet and BS are settled. But then once in a while I will get panicky of all the small stuff like wedding music etc. Btw, will u be joining us for the potluck in dec?

ivied, did u get what u want at Spotlight? I was there on Sat and spent 330 bucks to get cloth for making curtains. 33m in all and had to lug the whole bale home! haha

kitty_li

heehee...ivied, I also thot how come your name changed. heehee...then I read your post again...it's a sample. hehs...

Hey, Nellie, you need a sample? I can email you mine...

kitty_li

hey koxxic,
hahaha...that's why...The Men Don't Get It!!
my FH was also jealous (haha) that I got gifts etc. while he got nothing. hahaha...

huiz

My bo lao will be getting something from my folks though. My parents said they'll bring us to choose some gold pieces (ya, they stress that they will only be getting us gold... all the stuff about it being more valuable) for each of us at the end of this year wor...

koxxic

janf - actually my MIL also wanted to get a pair of watches for the tea ceremony..but a budget of $3K, she want us to get Omega..haha i told her, $3K can only get Tag Heuer but she don't believe until we bring her to see.. hehe

I'm actually aiming a Rolex. =)

zapzap

Thanks Ivied and CSI!

Now doing cut and paste on the inserts to give to my printer. I'm having a hard time translating them in chinese.....

janf

koxxic ah kor, my pa bot us a Tag each.. total cost for a pair is 3k liao.. i no heart to bring the knife down onto a lolex so Tag is fine.. keke.

the Omega pearl one easily 2k+ for 1pc.. damn exp..

zapzap

Another question...

Blah Blah
and thereafter to a "high tea" or "high tea buffet" or "high tea reception"

which one to use?