Hainanese Brides, anyone???

stacy

oh..i m going to play "I'll be here"...once the man starts to sing..we will march-in...

Ya..i agree...2 mins is kinda long..ur guest muz be wondering wat happened!! Neck stretch long long!

huiz

Stacy, who's the singer of the song u had chosen? The start of my song is q nice la, but the chorus nicer leh... haiii...

Hubby said to start playing e song earlier.. but I am sure the guests will lose concentration wan!

sherrie

my grandma said that the jian beh gai jian dehs were made flat and put inside two big baskets. my dad told her that the jian dehs those days must have been v small...she was so insulted! haha

i also have a problem choosing songs..either they are too commonly-used or have no special signicicance when i listen to the lyrics or the nice bits only come out during the chorus..have shortlisted a few but nothing concrete came out of it, really...

what my gf did for her wedding song was her hubby and her only marched in during the chorus...perhaps you may want that..provided your march-in aisle is long enough too..

my mum suggested that i give a speech in hainanese for my grandma to thank her for her upbringing...my gawd! i think i can speak pretty okie in hainanese but not the chim chim ones man..initially my husband and i even thought of doing without any thank-you speeches...cos we always feel that they are quite "rou4 ma2" (mushy)!

stacy

cos' i was thinking if u wanna play the song till the chorus pt..then prob u might want to march-in during the start of the song and prob walk slowly..

er...how abt asking the boys n gals to walk in during the start of song n u n guy can march-in @ chorus pt?

huiz

That's the prob lor... our dinner hall isnt v big wan, so the aisle is not long. And yes, I do want to march in during the chorus leh.. much nicer. too bad the file too big if not i can post here.... can send over MSN if anyone is there though

ivied

Huiz, I have not heard of your desired march in song, me not good at remembering song titles and lyrics. hee.. But I feel waiting for 2 mins is too long for the guests. I tot of 2 alternatives:

Option 1:
1) Emcee begin welcome speech to guests
2) Play photo montage with your march in song
3) When chorus portion is near, emcees announce couple to march in
4) Door opens at chorus
Note: timing has to be exact orr...

Option 2:
1) Play march in song at lower volume
2) Emcee begins welcome speech
3) Chorus is near, emcees announce couple to march in
4) Door opens at chorus

That's what I can think of. Else u have to select another march in song.

Sherrie, the acronyms for our updates are as follows:
AD - Actual Day
Solemnisation Venue
Recep Venue - Reception Venue (Banquet venue)
BS - Bridal Shop
AD PG - Actual Day Photographer
AD VG - Actual Day Videographer

hope it clears your confusion.

We were talking about the live chicken before, most of us freak out at the thought of having the chicken in the house. hee... Think Li Ann gana bitten by one before. How do u all react to her wish of the live chickens and the balls?

huiz

Wa ivied, u are one very thoughtful ah mai man! I like the first option... kekekeke... okie, think its one solution that I'm really gonna take up. Coz plan to have a slideshow of the wedding pics that I did not choose to put in the album. Since my PG gonna return me all the shots, so might as well use them
... thanks ah mai!

stacy

Ivied - I also tot of option 1...but montage 2 mins kinda short n suddenly guest see u march-in...tot not so glam...

I prefer option 2 thou...kinda sweet...

sherrie

veri big files~ will listen to them later.

are you guys getting someone to do the wedding montage professionally? wonder if there's still enough time since i am such a last-minute bride.

huiz

i tink I'll DIY something simple for myself. My friend DIY-ed hers using a special software and I am gonna borrow tt from her.

zapzap

Sherrie - my mum and aunt told me that the 'jian dui' are from the bride. 2 to be put at the newly wed's house and 2 to be brought back to the bride's parents' house on AD. I'm confused now.

Live Chickens! I had my share of fear. When I was young, my fever will always be sky high. See doctors also no use. Grandma had this traditional way of curing me - that is... Put a live hen on my tummy and my back. Funny thing is: the hen will sit on me without making big movements. Grnadma said that this shows that I'm really sick. If put a live hen on a normal person, the hen won't be sit still. The best thing is : I always cured the next day.

March-in song: actually I have decided what I want but FH wants to change. Something from Dream Theatre... chim....

sherrie

yeah i am confused with some of the customs too, esp since i am the eldest in the family and the first one to get married..my cousin from my dad's side married a cantonese lady prob 10 yrs back so i didnt really pay attention to their customs then...

omg. never heard of such stories before. must share with my hubby later when he's home.

i went to meet david from this studio called stefine the other day. but he told me i gotta give him the fotos soon else he can't do it for me..too busy during year end..
http://www.stefine.com/

zapzap

After Bohty had his 'incident', I decided to skip the 'jian dui'. Anyway, the uncle who's making these is really old too. Mum said can buy the small ones to replace. Maybe I'll buy the 'yi bua' too.

ivied

nah, me also trying to do it myself, something simple and easy.

Stacy, 2 min montage is consider acceptable timing. Think of it, guests are probably hungry by the time the banquet commerces. They will start to grumble should u delay it longer. Just my thought.

Huiz, I have listened to this song. Nice! Romantic feel, good for your montage.
But somehow I feel that u may not be able to catch the timing of the chorus, everyone from your emcees to the banquet manager must coordinate properly. Its not easy lor.

stacy

ivied - initially, i tot there might be some inconvenience...eg: guest look at video facing front..then turn ard when u march-in...very toublesome for them...n not so glam...but huiz clarified my doubt...hehee...so option 1 is fine

ivied

yup Sherrie, year end is the busiest period for most vendors and they do not like last min requests.

Huiz, u can still source around for songs. Or u can try with this selected one and see if your emcees are willing to match the timing.

I have selected my march in song too. Its by the Italian singer, but I forgot about the name already, something like Il... ???

sherrie

i walked past "that cd shop" the other day and they were playing a really nice foreign song..confirmed love song..anyway dont even know if it's french or italian..but the music was reaaally beautiful..thought of that but i was worried that its a parting song or something cos i can't comprehend the lyrics..

janf

harlow all, im home liao!!

sit until my backside pain so i took cab home.. i so shacked wana quickly go home, the stoopid cab driver started talking story to me..

asked me how old i am, so i told him.. then came "SO OLD AH?! why no kid yet?!" i so peeved and told him off "uncle, where got old?! ppl mostly get married at ard my age or even older leh!"

then he went "aiyoh, 29 where got not old. gona be dangerous for u to give birth.."

buay tahan leh!! i really feel like telling him off whether i give birth anot oso none of his biz!! then i alighted and gave him $10, he best, can tell me "I GOT NO CHG. PLS GIVE ME EXACT."

HARLOW, $7.30 U AS A CAB DRIVER TELL ME NO CHG?!?!?!?! i bopian LL hv to dig out exact for him.. heng i hv if not hv to borrow from my MIL liao..

TMD.. wat a stoopid encounter for the pm..

huiz

ivied, is it IL Didlo or something? Familiar name leh.

Aiyo janf, how unfortunate to meet him. me NEVER liked to talk to cabbies. Always pretend to be busy w my hp or pretend to zzz.

janf

juz finished reading all the postings..

sherrie - did u engage injack's VG? he can do the foto montage for u as well leh..

talking abt live chickens, my AD supposed to hv but we replaced it wif angpows.. where in the world can find live kokkokkei running to my hse?! if it dares to run, i will oso hide!!

sherrie

i know. we went to his hse. jacky kept promoting his videos but my hubby thinks that we can do without videography so we didnt take up his package. only paid for AD shots.

my mum laggi better. she asked me to drive her to choa chu kang farm someday so that she can speak to the guys there and see if they can manage to find her two live chickens. gosh.

janf

wah sherrie, i tot tat time my AD was trad enuff liao. MeiXiangDao ur side more trad.. haha.

but of coz gotta give and take lor.. last wk here we gals were juz talking abt the logic behind traditions..

sherrie

yeah. guess hainanese women are known for their persistence and resourcefulness. my mum and grandma are solid examples. my husband who's teochew is not even sticking to his customs of fetching the bride before dawn. hence he cant comprehend the intricacies of my folks' beliefs.

huiz

Hoho, persistence yes... sometimes even to the extreme of being stubborn. See my granny is one good example la ;-P

sherrie

have u gals heard of "doo2 guah2 bang2"? first time i heard of it too... doo as in "pig", "gua" as in "liver" and "bang" as in red packet...

my mum has requested that my hubby prepare two red packets - one for my maternal and one of my paternal grandma...

janf

i came back for 1/2hr liao and my MIL, SIL and maid din notice tat i got a new hairdo.. so i concluded its either not nicely done or no diff from my un-rebonded hair! haha.

i called to tell bor-lao tat no1 in his family noticed how. he went "OF COZ LAH! OREDI TOLD U WASTE $$ GO REBOND FOR WAT?! ITS STILL STR8 WAT!"

sherrie

my mum's surname is ho. i visited hainan island in 2002 for a week! but that time digicam not so hot yet so didnt own yet else can share the pix with u folks.

huiz

Janf, your hair was in v good condition lor. Think the prev hairdresser u went to muz have been supa good n u also know how to maintain it well

I also realise something. Hainanese love to go back to visit their ancestral homes. I seldom see it from other dialects. My granduncle goes back every year and my dad wants to retire there!

janf

huiz - my ILs oso say wana retire there! i was like ?!?!?! prob aft my FIL retire, he and my MIL will go hainan island stay for 6mths then come back SG for 6mths.. this sorta arrangement lah..

stacy

huiz- ur dad is born here or there...my dad said he don't mind going there for holidays..but not staying there for long!

huiz

I like the weather there. It was very cooling during year end when I went there last time. And the coconut juice was shiok man.