Hainanese Brides, anyone???

janf

ivied - my VG provided express highlites in my pkg.. guests had a good luff viewing it coz my JMs really all out to tekan the groom+XDs..

ivied

nellie, hee.. then I would have to bring a big tub along. btw, perhaps we set the tentative date as 28 Dec?

janf, I checked a few VG, the basic package does not include express highlights. if inclusive, have to fork out extra. Then worse, for my timing, I have to pay extra for the day as well as the night. champ... think the bill will reach $900. Now I have to source real hard....

huiz

Good morning ah mais.

Lousy morning. My new Creative Zen Micro can't work. Now gotta wait for the stupid tech support to start working at 11am then can call them.

Janf, I see your video by this weekend then return u soon okie?

janf

aiyah huiz, take ur time to watch lah.. no hurry ya..

ivied - my VG pkg $700 consist of express highlites tho.. i sent u the details then u see if u wana contact the fella anot lor..

stacy

ivied - received the file...tks! will take a look at i later during lunchie time

Mos - think ur balloting results shld be out soon...it has been a while. Today there is a BTO at geylang serai..

Huiz - Wow, u got urself a Creative Zen Micro...tt's cool..wat colour?

Nellie - m fine with weekday or weekend...but weekend better thou...cos can yak longer...unless a fri night..

ivied

janf, thanks. I shall take a look.

nellie, can, but end of year is holiday seasons, will anybody be going away for short getaway? I will be busy furnishing my new room so I will be here.

zapzap

Weekday will be very rush for all of us unless we happen to be on leave on the same day.

I won't be going anywhere cos I have to jar gar' my dept. Most of my colleagues are going away.

Or we can have a Friday nite gathering??? Can stay overnight at my house. my FH won't be home anyway. You can 'throw' all your bo laos away temporarily. Ha Ha Ha... it's another true girls nite out!

huiz

My bo lao got me and himself the Zen from the Net. Mine is silver... but like lousy leh... me so frustrated now.... booo....

I am ok with weekends or weekdays. But I can only make it on Sat PMs and evenings lor. Gotta work in the morning larh....

huiz

Hmm, I don't think I'll stay overnight. Gotta work! Grrr... I will be going away to Cameron from 9/12 - 12/12. Other than this time, I anytime ok.

janf

23dec looks fine for me.. tink do lunch/tea better coz some of us mite hv plans in the evening since its near xmas season..

janf

ha ivied!, i juz replied ur mail only and u posted here liao.. haha.

my dvds are wif huiz, if not she finished watching can pass to u watch as well.. nvm lah, next sat very fast come then u can see more samples..

ivied

hee janf... we have 'chemistry' mah.

Thanks alot. I shall pay a visit to him next sat.

Huiz, ask u hor, where do u normally buy the stuff for your crochets? Is Spotlight a good choice? Tampines or Plaza Singapura better?

huiz

Me ah, usually buy from neighborhood shops and of course my fave Spotlight! They have better and cheaper selection of yarns than the local shops. Btw, the Tampines one had closed down long ago liao. The only one that is standing now is the one in PS.

U need to buy something for crochet? I will be going down this Sat after work to see see curtain cloth

huiz

Aiyo ivied, u make my leg so itchy to want to go tonight too! hehe But I have dinner date with bo lao tonight. Think mebbe I go tomorrow night or Sat la.

stacy

yawn....i m so so tired..just back fm a meeting...

23rd is fine with me too! But nellie, where's ur place har...trying to figure out hw to get there...n prob when the attendees are cfm...then we see who brings wat, so we wouldn't have duplicate or short of food...hehehee

ivied

hee.. huiz, u so gian now... I have to see the weather. If its not raining then I shall pop by to take a look.

Stacy, Nellie's new house is in Yishun, opp the canal.

stacy

ivied..haha...I'm mountain tortoise when it comes to north or west pt of S'pore.. if U tell me yishun...i only know the interchange...hahaa...prob nearer to date, then i figure out my way to get there

huiz

Hee, keep my fingers crossed that the cheesecake wouldn't fail me. Potato salad is foolproof wan, so should be ok ;-P

sherrie

Hi I am so surprised to find this corner. So excited about it! I am a pure Hainanese. Married to a pure Teochew who claims that all Hainanese speak very loudly. AD is on 29th Dec at Hyatt. Have taken my fotos at Z Wedding in Aug. Actual day will be with In Jack Studio. Hope it's not too late to join you guys

ivied

Hi Sherrie,
kao_welcome.gif
ha ha.. I'm in the same situation as you: pure hainanese gal marrying a pure teochew husband who also comment that we hainanese gals talk VERY loudly. hee...

Its never too late to join us. U will find that we are very talkative.
One of our mrs ah mai janf is also using In Jack studio on her AD. Another similarity here.

sherrie

Thanks ivied. My make up artist recommended in jack studio. We went to his house to view his portfolio and found his works quite alrite. Hope the AD photos turn out well. I think AD photos are more important than studio ones somehow!

zapzap

Stacy, don't worry lah. still got 2 months away to our next gathering. Will give all of you the directions to my house. Meanwhile, we have time to decide what food to bring.

Welcome to our thread, Sherrie! Please join us in our coming gathering on 23rd Dec.

janf

hi sherrie! welcome to this thread.. we are a chatty lot.. keke. perhaps u mite wana leave ur details here so tat csi can do the update?

AD
Solemnisation Venue
Recep Venue
BS
AD PG
AD VG

stacy

Sherrie - welcome...I'm also a pure hainanese who is getting married to a Teochew guy...hehee! U've got ur PS pics? Can share wit us here...hehee?

Lydia - tomorrow is AD liao...u muz be pretty excited..hope to see u ard soon!

Hmm...lemme see wat I gonna bring for gathering on 23rd Dec..

So far - Huiz : Cheesecake + Potato Salad

kitty_li

23 Dec ah? Not sure if I'll be back yet (depending on how many more days my boh lao wants to extend for). Will keep you gals updated.

Hi Sherrie,
Welcome! There's no "too late to join us" thing one lah...wah...your hub says Hainanese speak too loudly ah? Actually, I agree! hahaha. Since young, I've noticed how loud Hainanese pple can get...hehs. But hey, that's us! - Uniquely Hainanese....
muahahaha....

huiz

Welcome welcome Sherrie! Great to have one new addition to our clan
Hoho, me agree hands, fingers, legs and toes up that we Hainanese talk DAMN loudy (pardon the adjective, but its VERY true). My grandaunt came over to stay over the PH and my house was worse than a fish market. Imagine ALL pure Hainanese fighting it out to see who talks louder! Ahahaha

Can't wait to see the growing menu! Sherrie, do join us okie?

ivied

wahaha... janf, your hair is very straight liao leh.

hee... that's WE, hainanese. We talk so loudly that people were thinking that we were quarrelling or shouting rather than talking.

huiz

Hey ah mais,

I have another headache now. The song that we would like to use for our first march in "Beautiful in My Eyes" by Joshua Kadison is much to our liking, but the chorus is so long into the song! About 2 mins. I want the gusto chorus to be played when we come in, but 2mins leh. If play first, then waiting 2 mins is also q long. If cut the song, then would sound a bit "bor tah bor tee" (bu san bu si). How??? sighhh

And hubby wants "Exodus" by Maksim for the first dish song.... sounds ok to me though my bro says its like pre battle music. The title also a bit funny.... haha. Remembered singing it in school last time... "this land is minnnnneee, God gave this land to meeeee...."

sherrie

hi ah mais

i am overwhelmed by the number of emails. feel so at home already:p

just collected my fotos but the files are so big. i don know how to share individually. i will try to upload onto www.clubphoto.com when i have the time okie? i paid extra $500 for the cd rom. dunno if i kenna "ketok" by the bridal shop guy or not.

sure! i will join u guys for the gathering on the 23rd. pls keep me posted. i can't cook for nuts so please let me know what the others are preparing so i can buy something instead!

to janf: my rom was held two years ago. was at hyatt too. recep was in the same ballroom. no videographer for the actual day cos both my husband and i wanna cut down on costs. i am a bit lost on all the acronyms. bridal shots were taken at z weddings by this guy called ah soon.

sherrie

does anyone know how many of the sesame ball-thingy (jin dui?) will be required? my mum said we gotta order four. does that mean my hubby gotta find 4 friends to carry for us? hehe

huiz

Hi Sherrie,

Heehee, it's normal normal to see many posts here in a day
Hmm, I think u have chosen the same BS as mosburger. Mos, am I right?

Okie, so here's the attendance list for the time being:

Nellie
Stacy
Ivied
Janf
Huiz
Sherrie

huiz

Har, need one person to carry one ah? I really have no idea man. I don't think my folks will want that coz they are terrfied of it when they saw a documentary on it once. Remember the story I told u, ah mais? *winks*

stacy

Huiz- urs is a big headache manz....hmmm...gotta think...prob our wed planner, Li Ann, can better assist...hehee!

Sherrie - er, i tot the jin dui is needed if u are married to hainan man? Tt's wat janf ah-mai said before rite...*blur*

sherrie

my grandma said when she got married in hainan island years ago, her family made her 100 of those balls! my mum said the market rate is about $25 for each ball these days. i also dunno la *puzzled)..my husband's friend married a hainanese girl a few years back and he was the one who told me that it's not easy carrying the ball. but i guess carrying that beats carrying roast pig. that one is more stressful. hehe

sherrie

my grandma said it will be good if she can find a pair of live roosters...i dunno what's the significance..i suppose its a way of announcing that someone is getting married? my dad told her that she can't find live roosters these days cos of bird flu. think she was a bit disappointed lor..

stacy

wow sherrie, ur grandma is really traditional worh! That time we were talking abt life chicken....hahaa, it will scared the hell out of me!

huiz

Do u have such a problem like me Stacy? I realise the nicest part of most songs is not at the start one leh.

Pwah, Sherrie jiah beh gai (yi bai ge) jin deh is no joke leh! Think need a procession of friends to carry liao... heehee