Hainanese Brides, anyone???

kitty_li

hi lena,
wah...so meaningful...your FIL is your JP. Quite nice leh...

Re PG, it all depends on the style that you like. Some couples like those arty arty vogue kind of shots...usually PGs who can produce such shots charge $800 - $1k kind of range.

Nick G0h was one of our choices at first, but the day we fixed our appointment, he was late. And happened that my HB has to rush off for another appointment subsequently. So, it was wholle mood kena spoiled coz he was late lorh. basically, he didn't leave us with a good impression lah.

madames

Hi Lena,

Silverlining is good for bareback stuff. My WG wasnt bareback, but my EG and cheongsam were "semi bare". U can see the pics of my gowns here: http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/6535.html?1205829750 or http://madamestitch.multiply.com/photos/album/3/2nd_Fitting_Trial_MU

I decided to take off the pink ribbon on my WG in the end. So pretend that u do not see it... hehehe

Wow, your FIL is a JP... that's something really meaningful

Yah, CSI's suggestion is really good and wise. Go to the shops first and if suitable, sign up at the fair.

ivied

Hi Lena, a warm welcome to our clan!

I agree with our experienced ah mais. It is a good idea to do some BS hunting first prior to the fair. In this way, u can get a feel of their service and gowns at the same time. Be it gowns, makeup, photography or package, u have to determine ur deciding factor in selecting the BS. Which factor places the highest priority in ur wedding. Then u can slowly shortlist those choices that u have.

From ur list, it seems that u are quite well prepared for ur ROM. If you still have not find a BS nearer to your ROM, perhaps u can get a simple dress and a MUA for that day first. Then ocntinue ur BS hunting after the ROM.

wow Huiz, ur memory is good! All the details are accurate!

madames

Heh, ivied, I cant claim full credit for the accuracy of the list. I actually had 3 misses - cant remb CSI's BS, Sherrie's hotel and got Petrina's hotel wrong. Have to thank CSI for reminding me as well as Nellie for correcting me ;-P

twinkle02

hi huey & csi, yeah lor.. lucky he is the JP.. else.. i will have headache who to look for olso.. but like u all say lor.. its meaningful.. i agreed..

csi, thanks for your advice.. hmm.. so far.. i think nick is the less pushy as compared to the rest of the PG+VG i met le.. but still considering la..
but if u all have good recommendations.. share with me hor.. then i can have more choices..

huey, very pretty bride le.. nice dresses.. :D i think i will go down silverlinning to have a look at their gowns 1st.. but where are they ah? :p

hi hi ivied..
thanks.. :D
ya.. i agree olso.. worst case scenario.. i juz buy/rent a dress.. but lucky.. my mum working in daniel yam.. so.. still got 'backup' if i end up with nothing.. :p hee

well.. its a coming long weekend.. so.. no excuse for me not to do more research.. ;P hee

madames

Hi lena,

Silverlining is at Chinatown, opposite the Indian temple. It's not the usual BS with a shop front, but its on the second level of this row of shophouses. There's a wholesale toy shop right downstairs. Unfortunately, Jit (the boss and designer) only sees clients strictly by appointment. So if u would like to arrange one with him, do drop me a mail at [email protected] for his number. He does tailor ROM dresses too

Thanks for your compliments, Lena, but don't be surprised if u see an ah-soh-y me now. Makeup and gowns do wonders to a plain Jane like me on her wedding day.... wahahaha

My impression of Yam's dresses are quite good. Elegant and classy. So fret not if u can't find any outside, coz your backup is already so good

And yes, happy long weekend to all! To Lance and those going to QH, don't giggle too uncontrollably when the fishes tickle your feet okie? hehe...

twinkle02

hey huey..

oh.. silverlining is designer kind ah? hw much yr package last time ah? got include pre-wedding photos? cos i know alot of designer kind dun include pre-wedding photos..

haha.. dun like tat say.. i'm sure u're a pretty mami now.. ;) i envy u lor.. me.. 8 character still not 1 stroke.. :p hee

anyway.. i always believe there's no ugly woman in this world.. ;)

ya ya... last resort is yam's dresses.. ;)

yeah! happie holidays to everyone..

hazuki

lena: huey status not upgraded yet...

I wasn't happy wif my BS. regret in fact. others seems fine. i was unlucky.

try the bridal room. gowns r new n nice...
i agree tat u shld go n visit those shops first. promo is not an issue. they always have roadshows...
request to try their gowns. dun juz c pics.

madames

Hi Lena,

Yes, Silverlining the designer kind. I MTM-ed all the 3 gowns and since the cheongsam was all lace, the total bill was in excess of 5K. But considering that Silverlining is a BS whose packages include pre-wedding photography by 3rd party independent PG which we choose from his list (I prefer this to in-house PG), it's still ok to me la

Haha, me ah, like what Petrina has said, is not a Mummy yet. Unless being a Mummy to the big baby boy (my husband) counts.... haha! There's no hurry for us to have a kid so we're taking it easy for now. Maybe only start planning next year ;-P

Btw, lena, don't be confused if u see some of them calling me "huiz". that's me too. it's my old nick. Have now changed it to "huey"

twinkle02

thanks hazuki!

oops.. sorry.. huey.. i was reading the earlier messages where alot of 'baby talks'.. :p so tot most were mummies oredi.. :p sorry..
like u mentioned.. designer gowns can be quite ex.. but if its inclusive of pre-wedding photos.. its still quite okie for 5k.. cos i know some designers.. juz gowns itself can cost 4~5k.. btw.. u know who's the 3rd party PG that took those photos for you?

hi hi parmida, when's your big day?

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi Lena,

It's ok la.... dunit to feel bad for thinking tt I am a mummy.... anyway being a mummy is something to be happy too right?

I chose Andrew Tay from The Edge. Like his clean cut elegant style. The album has only one pic a page, with minimal collages and zero digi art e.g bubbles, blurred background etc which is something I do not really prefer

I did top up a bit more to get all the proofs and CD back.

hazuki

hehe, ya, lena.. i m petrina. cause i kaypo other threads, i dun wan use my real name.

my BS is bridal concept.
of all the brides tat chose them, seems tat only i got bad experience. so maybe i m unlucky la.

my coordinator 4got to tie my bear on car.
PS PG called in sick on day of photoshoot. i end up wif lousy PG.
photos were not really edited. looked like not edited at all. photo standard is layman. *u go my multiply web, u search my pg photos, u'll noe wat i mean*
my gowns selections r limited as compared to other brides here. eg: brand new gowns not given me to choose... my AD gown is other ppl's PS gowns...

personally i regretted gg there. but it's all over la.. n my package is rather cheap. so i decided to forget abt it.. i'll prob retake my photos elseswhere wif my bb hehe..

twinkle02

hey huey.. the edge.. hmm.. does sliverlinning offer other 3rd party PG?

oh.. hazuki is petrina.. haha.. okie.. ic.. i heard from some others BC is not really good.. but recently 1 of my fren took the package there.. say quite okie.. but i think i wont take the 'chance'.. :p

twinkle02

oh ya.. 1 more thing.. does sliverlinning offer new quas (tree dress)? i kinda like those oriental style quas... wonder which BS have nice ones.. ;)

hazuki

shine/lena: only i have this experience... because my coordinator is not same as the others here.
initially they r ok... PS tat day i also quarrel wif Lynn. cause she make me look so auntie. so AD tat day i insist on my hairstyle n make up colour.

coordinator - sharon
MUA - lynn
PS PG - dunno *long hair guy* looks abit cheeky, dunno how to make us smile

seems tat the good combination is

coordinator - big sally
MUA - lynn
PS PG - Kit

lena: oriental type - tan loong bah... but ex...

madames

Hi Lena,

Yes, Silverlining does have Kuas to offer. Jit offered me one for my PS but I didn't use coz I had no time plus I personally do not like red so that's why I didn't want to wear. As for my AD, I also chose a cheongsam because of this reason.

Silverlining does have a whole list of PGs. As far as I know, he also works with Tri-angle and Robin Photography, other than The Edge which I took. There are surely many more in his list.

Hi Shine,

Are u also a Hainanese BTB?

madames

Hey petrina,

I guess we are online at the same time

I believe u mean "tan yoong"? My friend's wife had her gowns done there. So so looking but its really ex. Think they spent almost 10K on gowns & PG (had Chris Ling)

hazuki

huey: ya.tan yoong.. chris ling is good. my cousin used him. super natural pics.

shine: hehs. so not i niao la. he's really bad...

if u go my multiply web, u'll c how awful my pics r.
i cant even choose a decent set of 26pcs. i anyhow select de. cause i feel tat we look too awful in those pics. positions r also very *old fashioned*

my AD pics r nicer. frm shutterbug prodections. very pro. throughout e day also make us laugh naturally...

twinkle02

hey hazuki.. saw yr baby ryan's photos on your multiply.. so cute! :D

thanks huey.. hmm.. tan yoong.. abit too ex le.. thou i wanted something special.. but wont wanna spend a bomb olso.. :p haha.. see how la.. i'll let u all know when i 'find' something.. ;)

hi shine.. which BS u signed up with ah?

madames

I think Chris Ling was THE PG at that time. Now with so many more good PGs around, I think the demand for him has fallen somehow?

twinkle02

hey huey.. true.. i guess so.. cos lately alot of the packages are ard the same price..
next week.. most likely i'm going down to silverlinning and graceimage for a look.. see if there's anything i like there.. ;) wish me luck! :D

madames

Hi Lena,

Have u fixed an appointment with Silverlining? haha, perhaps u can mention me (say the bride in Mar 07.... the one with the turquiose criss cross back EG) and see if he remembers... hehe

twinkle02

hi huey,

havent le.. yeah.. i will do tat.. maybe can ask for discount, pulling some 'strings'.. :p
i'll most likely make an appointment with them later tis weekday or weekends.. ;)

kitty_li

hi parmida, shine...Welcome!

ok, for the benefit of our new friends...

<font face="vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Kokoyln</font></TD><TD>6-Mar-04</TD><TD>Raffles Town Club</TD><TD>Raffles Town Club</TD><TD>Wedding News</TD><TD>Splitz Production</TD><TD>Splitz Production </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Janf</font></TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Bohty</font></TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Crystalz</font></TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Stepford</font></TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Lydia</font></TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">CSI_Fan</font></TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>Emeharkeh </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Koxxic</font></TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Li Ann</font></TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>Damon </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">LambZzz</font></TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Sherrie</font></TD><TD>29-Dec-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>"Zee" Wedding</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Misty</font></TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Westerveld</font></TD><TD>7-Jan-07</TD><TD>3 yrs ago</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Forest Production </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">iViED</font></TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Bell3</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Huiz</font></TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Stacy</font></TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Nellie</font></TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Loinky</font></TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Hilltop Garden Restaurant</TD><TD>Hilltop Garden Restaurant</TD><TD>Superstar JB</TD><TD></TD><TD>Freelance </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Bendi</font></TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Violetcrystal</font></TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Veron</font></TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>Park East Condo</TD><TD>Jaderoom</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">DoryMiki</font></TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Priscilla</font></TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>Acte D'Amour (Masonic Gdn)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Petrina</font></TD><TD>22-Sep-07</TD><TD>Church of the Blessed Sacrament</TD><TD>Hotel Miramar</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Shutterbug</TD><TD>Shutterbug </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Diana</font></TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Bluberi</font></TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">M&amp;W</font></TD><TD>28-Dec-07</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>iDigital Producttion Plaza</TD><TD>iDigital Producttion Plaza </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chrysallisph</TD><TD>7-Jun-08</TD><TD>Swissotel Stamford</TD><TD>Swissotel Stamford</TD><TD>Thomson Bridal</TD><TD>Thomson Bridal</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lance</TD><TD>13-Sep-08</TD><TD>Parkroyal (Kitchener)</TD><TD>Parkroyal (Kitchener)</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lena</TD><TD>Sep 08 (ROM)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2010?</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>"Zee" Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

twinkle02

wah csi.. u're best le.. organized everything.. thanks le!

just to update on this list.. my solemnization venue is at Ritz Carlton.. ROM date is 14-Sept-08..

kitty_li

Lena,

no lah...me not best lah...this was started when we first started this thread. Then I lost me thumb drive. Now found it back again. heehee...

Ok, will update your details.

hazuki

Dear all, i've confirmed Ryan's full mth celebrations...
details...

location: hillside condo function room(bt timah, near old jurong road or near rail mall)
date: 6th apr
time: 12noon - 3pm

attendees? sms me will do. so i can do headcount.

hazuki

Dear all, i've received ur gift for Ryan... Thks alot. i'll get something significant for him to symbolize this gift.

madames

Hi Pet,

Finally managed to meet up with Ray to pass him our little token. We decided to get Taka vouchers so that u can put them to good use at any coming Taka baby fairs

madames

Hi Pet, I've told Ray that I wouldn't be there coz it's not officially 3 months after my grandma-in-law's funeral. It's Ryan's joyous occassion, so I better not mar it in any way... my apologies for not going.

twinkle02

hi hi.. hazuki..

sorrie.. have been very very bz for the past few days.. but i'm sorrie.. couldnt share the joy with u as i have another ceremony to attend that day.. nevertheless.. hope u all enjoy yrselves ya.. ;)

cheers,
lena

twinkle02

eh.. huey.. embarrassed.. havent met up SL yet.. cos over the past week been too bz with work.. weekends.. have weddings and fren's baby's full month celebration to help and attend.. :p

but happened to pass by Graceful Image on sunday and quick check with them and here's the package they offered me:

Package Price - $3499 nett, that includes
ROM
1)OTR bride's dress x1 (long/short)
2)OTR groom's suit x1
3)Hairdo/Makeup (using the trial session) - inhouse (onsite - additional $80, fake eyelashes + ampole - additional $35)
4) Hand bouquet (additional $50 for rose only)

AD
1) OTR bride's WD x1
2) OTR bride's ED x1
3) OTR tea dress x1 (kua - additional $80)
4) OTR Groom's suit x2 (1 set of MTM groom's suit for keep - additional $250)
5) Hairdo/Makeup (Indoor/Outdoor/AD)
6) Car decor
7) Pre-wedding photos (indoor - 4~5 sets of outfit, outdoor - 1 WD)
- 24 (full + digital image)
- 1 8R table top photo
- 1 rectangular wall hanging photo
- 40 4R photos for gifts
8) Hand bouquet (additional $50 for rose only)

I hope i didnt missed anything.. but u think its a good package? did i cover everything? need your advice if there's more things i should look out for..

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi Lena,

Hmm, the package looks like quite a good deal considering its inclusive of gowns and MU for ROM.

Heh, if I were really to take up this package, I will try to bargain for the ROM lashes and ampoules for $35 off. And if you don't need the 40 photos as gifts, try to negotiate for something else, like one more pic in e album or another small table top photo.

Btw, when they mention car deco, does it include the car as well?

And hor, one thing to note when u see SL's package is that there's not as many things offered. They surely do not allow 4 - 5 sets of outfits for PS, excluding the outdoor WD. Photography is also not up to negotiations with SL as their PGs are all 3rd parties. Need to liaise with them directly first before u decide to take which one.

twinkle02

hey huey..

thanks for your advice..
ya.. the ROM is throw in free one.. which they say usually they charge $399 ~ $599 for the ROM package itself (cos i have a fren signed their ROM package.. onli the brides gown, MU, hairdo --> not including groom's OTR suit)

the car deco.. doesnt come with the car.. cos she say.. nowadays BS dun offer with the car le.. but if we need.. they can recommend some 3rd party.. which i dun think we need.. cos we should be using our dad's merc.. while he can take my FH m3 (or something else by then) tat day.. (can save abit)..

ya.. the 40 photos as gifts.. she did say can change for something else.. we were thinking of topping up for the wall photo.. to be something 'bigger' like portrait kind (kind of traditional.. but we somehw prefer tat) which they mentioned we need to top up ard 700 ~ 800 for tat size (like those wall mount graduation photos)..

for SL.. i tot so too.. since its designer style.. but no harm still asking SL la.. so tat i have better comparison.. and be 'more convinced' when i choose the final BS..
if its SL.. i might wanna take up Nick G0h for pre-wedding shoot le.. cos we're pretty happie with his service till now.. and already engaged him for our ROM v+pg le..

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi Lena,

My personal preference is for 3rd party rather than in-hse PGs. Not sure if u have seen both works before or not, but inhse PGs tend to like to use props and digi-art which is not my cuppa. That's why I like SL coz they only have independant PGs.

Nowadays, I don't think its popular to give away PS pics to friends and relatives unless they ask. Weigh the benefits of exchanging the 40 pics vs what u can get in return. if say u don't want the 40, and only need to top up say 600 for the portrait instead of 700 - 800, i guess its still worth it. I am sure not all friends and relatives will ask for the photos (unless u plan to give them voluntarily la), so even if a few ask, can print them using the soft copies that they provide (oh yes, did they say they will give? at least for the chosen pics la) at say only 30 - 40cents a piece? It could be more cost effective at the end

twinkle02

hi huey,

actually.. my me and my FH totally agree with wat u mentioned.. but the thing is.. i olso considered if they will 'loan' us the gowns/suits to take PS outside with 3rd party pg.. cos i think there might be complication of gowns/suits dirty.. etc.. whereas.. if we take directly with the BS.. they will be 'responsible' for the dirty gowns/suit.. if they get us running the the grass or water.. but last time hw u settle this ah? when u took SL with a 3rd party pg? plus.. yr BS.. is 4k+ without pg? i olso wonder if we can bargain with the BS not to take photos with them? (i doubt so..)

as for photo gifts.. personally.. i really dun think its necessary.. even so.. it will be onli relatives i suppose.. which i think not necessary olso la.. wat can they do with our photos? wait ppl throw away after awhile (during spring cleaning) worse.. :p so.. most likely.. if i engage GI.. i will change the photo gifts for something else as u suggest.. ;)

cheers,
lena

twinkle02

oh ya huey..
they did mentioned that they will give us the softcopies of the 'touched up' photos only..
while i know nick g0h gives everything.. so.. tats a plus point to have alar carte service i suppose..

cheers,
lena

rilo82

Hi mais, hope you all are doing fine.

petrina: you are making me worried. hehe. btw, i going this sunday hor. Li Ann says she maybe going later. I should be there around 1+. See u this Sunday!

lena: Your package quite good from what i can see. but i think you can still squeeze more stuff from them. hehe. Huiz giving you good advice, so no need to worry.