Hainanese Brides, anyone???

kitty_li

Thank you! Thank you! Heeheehahaha...for the fun of it lah...

rilo82

iViED: So sian, i didn't bring camera that day. But i did took some pictures of the fish using my HP. Not very clear though. Haha. Later i post up let you all see. So how is baby liao?

This forum very quiet now hor. Hehe. I going for photoshoot next month. Any ah mai got good suggestion of where to go for outdoor shoot? East Coast?

twinkle02

hey everyone..

sorrie for the 'MIA' awhile.. cos have been overwhelmed with work.. :p

but some updates.. i've 'finally' settled my BS with Sophia.. muz say their service was excellent.. and they really have very nice up market gowns..
have also booked for ROM gown/suit selection and meeting up with designer/PG/MUA in july..
I think I have a pretty good package from Sophia as compared to Graceful Image..

ROM:
- OTR Bride's gown (latest collection)
- Gent's suit (latest collection)
- Bridal makeup/hairdo (additional cab receipt charges for onsite makeup/hairdo)
- Hand bouquet

AD:
- OTR/MTM Bride's Wedding Gown x1 (latest collection)
- OTR/MTM Bride's Evening Gown x1 (latest collection)
- Tea Dress/Kua x1
- OTR Groom's Suit x1 (latest collection)
- MTM Groom's Suit x1 (to keep)
- Bridal makeup/hairdo x3 (PS, AD-morning, AD-evening) (any additional session of makeup/hairdo required = $150)
- Hand bouquet with 6 corsages
- Bridal car deco + 10 follow car ribbons
- Father/Brother jacket x2
- Brides accessories

PREWEDDING:
- Bride = indoor 4 sets (2 WG, 1 EG, 1Tea/Kua/Others, inclusive of 4 sets of makeup/hairdo changes), outdoor 1 set (1 WG) unlimited locations (both in 1 day, using our own transport)
- Brides accessories

Others:
- 30 poses with digital album (15" 24" - 15 pages)
- 30" x 24" canvas portrait in frame x1
- 8" x 10" table top
- 4" x 5" (20 pages) album x2
- Guest book (with customized photo)

Additional photos/poses = $80
Ampoles ($20), fake eyelashes ($15)

in fact.. tis is after much 'customizaton' based on my needs/wants.. then we finally concluded on this package..

i muz say.. they really have good service and not pushy at all which made my FH and myself very satisfied with thier package.. thou initially i still cannot forgot Graceful Image's gown.. :p

haha.. but happie tat another 'item' is down..
i guess.. for ROM.. we're more or less settled except for bride/groom shoes + maybe groom's shirt..

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi lena,

Congrats on getting the BS settled! This is indeed a big item off the "to-do" list.

Pardon me for my forgetfulness hor, but have u booked the hotel for the AD dinner?

twinkle02

hi huey,

Havent book hotel for AD yet.. cos havent fix a date.. and i know hotels for next year end book will onli be open for booking in june this year.. but like u mention.. i think i shld start by fixing the AD date.. and proceed to my AD venue hunt.. :p

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi Lena,

Now that the BS is fixed and ROM is in the pipeline, and if the other things like housing arrangements are in place, then its a good time to start bugeting the amount of time needed till the AD can be held.

All the best for your planning. And don't forget we are here to dispense advice if we could

twinkle02

hi huey..

yup.. agree.. when it comes to $.. better prepare for the 'future' then stressed last min..
likely.. we started our 'joint savings' since 2 years ago.. so.. for ROM + AD.. more or less settled.. and luckily.. our house will only be ready in 2010 or late 2009 (thou now start monthly partial CPF payments oredi)..

so.. as planned.. i hope everything falls nicely into the picture.. settling all the marriage $$ this year.. then next year.. can start 'recuperating' for our new house.. ;)

nevertheless.. thanks for all the useful advices..
now.. for me and my FH.. we are working 'harder' at the gym to keep 'tonned' and going spa/treatments.. every now and then.. (esp me) to keep my skin good for the semi-big day in Sept.. :p haha.. abit KS hor.. :p hee..

madames

Hi cookiefleur,

Ohh will u be having/are u planning to have those for your wedding too?

Hi Lena,

Wa u are a really good planner. Have everything all prepared so long back! I am sure your efforts are paying off now

twinkle02

hee huey..

no la.. juz tat i abit kaisu.. started early.. like to 'prepare things in advance'.. :p so far so good.. so.. hope this KSness is paying off la.. ;)

hey cookiefleur..
when's yr big day? hw's yr prep?

cheers,
lena

cookiefleur

Hey Huey and Lena,

Haven't decided if I'm going to have those traditional kuehs, but it'll be nice to retain the culture... if not going to be lost sooner or later!

As for when's my big day, long story, but haven't been finalised yet... I'm running out of time, will be attempting to do within 3 or 4 mths from Sep 08 onwards, that's why now doing research. =)

twinkle02

hey cookiefleur..

u're olso a Sept bride..
i'm roming in sept as well.. wonder if its on the same day.. :p
nevertheless... maybe u can share where u are at.. since i'm olso preparing.. maybe can provide u some research i've done previously? then it saves time for u.. as well as all the tong xiangs here.. they prob.. can shed u some light in yr prep? ;)

cheers,
lena

cookiefleur

Hey Lena, think you've misunderstood! =)

I'm still doing research here and there and actually not very into it yet! hahaha, no date set yet, and will only start the actual planning FROM Sep 08, and attempt to organise a wedding within 3-4 mths time. IE, hopefully I'll be married by Jan 09! Haahaha, but yup, no dates yet. =)

twinkle02

hi hi cookiefleur..

i see.. i see.. its okie.. meanwhile.. u can still read some of the helpful threads here.. to prep u to kick start the actual planning in Sep.. ;)
let us know if there's anything u need assistance ya.. :D

cheers,
lena

madames

Wow, cookiefleur, u do have a very tight schedule to prepare for your wedding. BS should not be much of a prob if you are not considering MTMs. As for venues, do u have any preferences?

loveangel

Hi ah mais!!!

It's been so long since i last logged in.

Janf: Congrats! So far the 1st bb gal of the Rat year!

Lance: How? Have you decided on your PS locations?

Lena: I read the posts above...i'm one of those BC brides who were VERY satisfied with their service & gowns. I had a MTM package so both my WG & EG were MTM. My coordinator was Big Sally, PG was Kit & MUA was Lynn. All were very easy to work with...my hubby & i enjoyed ourselves a lot & didn't have to worry bout anything. PS pics were great too...we even topped up 20 more pics! :p

hi Cookiefleur...welcome to this thread!

kitty_li

wooohoo!! Yeah! a mei mei...Baby Louisa not so lonely liaoz.

Petrina, your Ryan got potential gf liaoz. your hb dun quite like the idea of his future DIL being older than his son right? heehee...now can tell him got one mei mei in the group...hahaha...heehee...

twinkle02

hey pris,

thanks for sharing about BC.. glad u enjoyed their service.. for me.. i finally selected Sophia.. cos we were both every comfortable with the service.. and I'm happy with their gowns and package..
hope i have a great session with Sophia like u had with BC la..

hi janf.. CONGRATS!

madames

Hi Cookiefleur,

BC = Bridal Concept

It is located at Tan Quee Lan Street, opposite the Bugis Seiyu (or now known as BHG)

The owner is a Hainanese lady. I am not one of their customers so I am not sure if they customise packages. If u are interested, u can make an appointment with them?

jazzy_chimes

hey ladies,
Me hainanese and im marrying a hokkien, anybody knows if Hainanese have any particular traditions that we gotta follow? those must-follow types

jazzy_chimes

hi Pris and Cookiefleur,
I'm a BC BTB too
So far, I'm pretty happy with their services too. I took OTR WG and MTM EG, have confirmed my AD WG and now waiting patiently to see my MTM EG hee

madames

Welcome chimes!

Those of us who had gone through our weddings would tell u that Hainanese weddings are one of the most stressless ones. As far as we know, we do not have much strict die die must follow traditions. I heard from my mum that roast pig is frequently asked for, but she didn't ask for one during my wedding.

So when is your AD? Fixed the dinner venue too?

jazzy_chimes

Hi Huey,
My AD's in Nov and banquet will be at Furama Riverfront. My mom has asked for roasted pig, she said that's is a must-have. As for other stuff, she's equally clueless *lol* That's why I gotta ask around ...

loveangel

hi Chimes!
Who is your coordinator at BC? I hope you'll have a good time with them. I did! My parents asked for a roast pig. My granny insisted on having one. Sahe said if don't have, it symbolises that the bride isn't a virgin and pure gal.

cookiefleur: Yep, their packages can be customised. The best is to call up for an appointment. Remember to mention you're Hainanese cos the lady boss is Ah-Mai too! Haha...

lena: Congrats on confirming your BS. One headache down. Hope you'll have an enjoyable & stress-free time with them.

twinkle02

hey pris.. thanks.. haha.. so far.. i onli met them once.. tats the time where i signed up the package with them.. becos they gave us a great time (even thou its like 3hrs) comparing to some other BS we visited previously.. so my FH was satisfied to choose them..
and i read alot of great service remarks abt them from the SWC thread.. so.. i keep my fingers crossed la.. ;P the next time i will be meeting them will be my ROM dress fitting and selection in july.. i share with u all my 'photos' if i take any during the fitting la..

cheers,
lena

madames

Heh, Pris, my take on the roast pig is that its purely symbolical nowadays. Times have changed and for some (or rather most), being a "virgin and pure gal" before the wedding is not such a valued virtue afterall.

Hi lena, there's one less stress for u now and I am sure u are looking forward to the fitting in Jul. Do remember to take some pics and share them with us

twinkle02

hey huey..

yeah.. yeah.. i sure will take photos..
hee..

oh ya pris.. my mum mentioned abit abt the basin.. potty.. etc.. set.. she say muz have one.. cant exactly rem.. :p cos its 'early' for me.. :p hee.. maybe the ladies here can advice more..

cheers,
lena

hazuki

lena/chimes: roast pig i dun have. cause not a muz in hainan custom. HB gave a token amt included in pin jin... anyway, my mom also din wan, cause u need a very fortunate life lady to cut it. cannot anyhow cut de.

basics - bride side buy
basin, potty, bathtub, mug, toothpaste/toothbrushes, sewing kit, towels, bedsheets, 2bottles oranges squash for GDL exchange, mandarin oranges

basics - groom side buy
lights, an chuang items, gold items, pin jin, 2bottles liquor, mandarin oranges, yi bua

tats abt all.

jazzy_chimes

hey Petrina,
if the groom is not Hainanese, does he still need to buy yi bua?

hi pris, my coordinators are Jeannie & Big Sally, cuz when I signed up, they talked to me together *lol* but mostly, Jeannie did the coordinaton for me, Big Sally gave me ideas when I went for my fittings. They've been great so far
my PG will be Kit, taking my PS on 4 June

hazuki

chimes: usually the yi bua is for female side.. given during GDL... but most of us over at this forum dun have cause can't find... lolx

so it's optional la. good to have. if cannot find also bobian.

luvz17

Hi Hi...
My hubby is hainanese and I am cantonese, anyone can give advice what we should prepare for GDL?
Thanks alot

loveangel

chimes: I didn't have the yi bua & toothpaste/toothbrushes. Agree with Petrina, the yi bua is very hard to find nowadays!

huey & lena: My granny is still very healthy & she was very particular bout the roast pig. To her, it was very important symbolically bout her granddaughter. She is very traditional.

Lena: I'm looking forward to your pics then!

hazuki

hi luvz17: hainanese males - female side need to return the man a pair of pants. haha, tats all i did, e rest as per stated above in my earlier post.
my hb is a hainanese...

luvz17

thanks hazuki!
but how many to buy for each thing??
what are the things to prepare for an chuang?
must all the things new?
sorry for asking too many qns..

hazuki

luvz17: better to be all new. unless u on a tight budget. cause the above stuffs r rather cheap.. dun buy frm wedding shop. cause they tend to mark up the prices. go to mkt n buy...

an chuang
2 stalks flowers tied together wif red ribbon, 2 oranges, 2 red packets & the usual zao sheng gui zi stuffs... lian zi, sweets, red dates, etc... i can't rem off hand wat else...
bedsheets, best is couple do the an chuang themselves. if not possible, get either set of parents also can.
basically, u juz need to fit the new bedsheet, then lift up the mattress - considered an chuang completed. then place the tray of items in the middle of the bed, then leave the room closed till wedding day.