Hainanese Brides, anyone???

madames

Huh hazuki, I thought the returning the groom side a pair of pants is a Cantonese custom?

My husb is a Cantonese and his Mum requested my Mum to give him a pair of pants, a belt and a wallet. "Long pants" is read "cheong2 fu2" in Canto and it sounds like "long-lived prosperity" so that's why they like it.

But then again, in our mixed society, I believe each dialect group is also adapting to each other's practices. Whatever it is, as long as they are good things, there's no harm following right? We are afterall Chinese

hazuki

huey: haha, i blur... maybe all mixed up le. cause my mom did return the set ur mom gave... they say for hb's luck? but my mom lazy, so gave in monetary terms.. haha...
true... no harm following... for me cause too many hearsays, so we minimised lots to monetary indications. so it's easier for both families.

i saw on tv abt the yi bua... there's a restaurant called *hainan gor*. i can't rem where liao.. hehs...

ivied

Hi hi, how's everybody?

Lance, thanks for ur concern. Baby is fine, getting bigger and I feel like a big elephant now. haha.. I'm due next month, now counting down...
BTW, havent seen the pic yet. U uploaded already?

Welcome to all new Hainanese brides. Just ask if you need any assistance. We are most willing to assist.

Looks like we have to update the table now.

Talking abt the roast pig, yes, it is in fact a Cantonese custom. But the meaning behind the roast pig, is as mentioned by Pris. The roast pig is to be given by the groom's family to the bride's family. And in return, the bride's family has to present:
1) long pants (symbolises fu)
2) belt (symbolises dai)
3) mandarin oranges (symbolises gum)
So all in all, it means the groom carries (dai) luck (fu) and gold (gum).

I know of a lady in AMK that makes yi bua. Taste is not bad. My relatives were thrilled to see yi bua on my wedding day, said it represents us Hainanese.

sherrie

hainan gor is at toa payoh if i remember correctly...my mum cut out the article when she saw them featuring the restaurant in the papers..i like to eat "yi bua" too..my grandma used to make them when she was younger...

mango0977

hellos ah mais!

quite happy to see this thread....i m a hainanese BTB marrying hainan ah kor....hee...his mom is teochew so i think not much of a hainanese tradition to follow since she will be doing the preparation...don think she knows much also!

haven set an AD yet but likely to be 2nd half 2009....we need to go find a good date ah...need to consult some shi fu i guess...

for BS, considering My Bridal Room....near BC i guess cos all at tan quee lan street....for AD, we are considering a luncheon...either M Hotel or Grandcopthorne Waterfront...will be meeting up with the co-ordinators soon...both hotel and BS...

madames

Hi Grace!

Welcome to the thread
It's so nice to see more new comers here.

My Bridal Room is getting quite popular nowadays. I believe they must be very good

I am not sure about our new friends here, but none of the "oldies" here has Yun as a surname. Is yours or your FH's surname Yun? It is such a true blue Hainanese surname like Foo, Loong and Loy.

mango0977

Huey > my surname is Yun and his is Foo. In dialect my surname is Woon....

yeah happy to see this thread so quickly come in to read...hee

kitty_li

Hey Pris...

How's things? Sent you a PM.

Oh yah, mummies and MTBs...just wanted to share share with you gals, that if you gals need the Desitin cream, First Teeth toothpaste, California Baby Calendula Cream...I have some BN ones to let go. Can get from me, yah...then dun have to join BP and wait...heehee...coz me and me friends bought extras... kekeke....

mango0977

i read from this thread that a few mais signed up with BC...am still looking around...

Chimes/Pris > you both signed up with BC...can share their package details? not sure if any of you have photos to share?

loveangel

grace: My wedding was over last July...and i believe their package & prices have changed since. I actually signed up in June 2006 so that's a really long time!

You can make an appt to see them...the staff aren't pushy and you can also see the gowns.

Ivy: One more month to go!!! You must be very excited. Rest more...have you finished buying the staff for your boy?

Sherrie & chimes: I have NEVER even seen yi bua before. Totally have no idea what it is. Haha.

CSI: Have replied you.

Hope everyone else is doing great...TGIF, enjoy the weekend!

mango0977

huey > haha, yeah the familiar yi bua! many yrs ago i had v nice yi bua too made by a student's grandma....they are hainanese ah.....one of my perks as a tutor!

madames

Hi grace!

I love yi bua! Esp the chewy skin.... I think I am the only weirdo who prefers to eat the 100% glutionous skin without any filling.... make me a lump of yi bua skin anytime.... kekeke

mango0977

huey > wah, u really love yi bua so much ah can eat it plain! i also like our hainanese chicken rice balls....so nice ya....my beh niang makes v nice rice balls!

madames

Haha, grace, the skin is naturally sweet and chewy so I love it. U know the chin deh right? same thing applies. I love the fried sesame coated skin more than the filling.... hahaha!

The rice balls in Sg like not very nice leh. I like the ones in Malacca. So whenever I visit my ILs there, I try to have it

jazzy_chimes

Hi Pris, I have seen some confectionary shops that do sell mini yi buas in those transparent packs of 3 ... u can go buy and try ... less than 2 bucks

sherrie

huey: i can't belive that u actually have fotos of yi buas...they are really nice..esp with the coconut with gula melaka filling!

sherrie

yeah..i was surfing the net in the hotel...on my way to las v*gas now..hehe.perhaps i will "bump" into li ann over there!

madames

Wow sherrie, do u have to pay for surfing there? I only had free surfing in the room when I was at this Melia hotel in KL. Haha

Ya, u can check out her exhibition ground and perhaps u can find her there

milkyway18

hi all.. surprised to find a thread for Hainanese brides.. i'm 1/2 hainanese (dad is hainanese and mum is teochew)... m getting married in Dec this yr...

milkyway18

saw u gals mentioning abt yi buas... my fav!! i have a relative that makes really gd yi buas.. think she makes to sell also.. not too sure... but she frequently gives to my grandma and i get to eat them... *yummy* those that are sold outside can't match hers... hers is really gd... makes me drool as i'm typing... cos it's been ages since i last ate yi bua...

mosburger

hihi janf congratz on e scanned results! i've been so busy lately got no time to login...

huey, nice photo there on the yi bua. impressive!

all the food mentioned here makes me drool... *slurp*

twinkle02

sorrie.. have been 'quiet' here cos was very bz at work lately.. :p

hi huey,

sorrie.. till now.. i'm still not sure how i can activate my pm.. :p haha.. but u can email me at [email protected]

thanks..

cheers,
lena

twinkle02

heehee.. huey... so tat gue in your photo is one of hainanese dish.. haha.. have been eating.. but never knew.. haha.. nice nice.. ;P

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi Lena,

Thanks for your reply! Look out for my email soon

Yeah, that's yi bua. I hadn't had it for sometime but the taste and they chewy feeling still lingers inside me ;-P

hazuki

i love yibua also.. but abit spicy... so i cant eat much...
too long nv come in here. so many new frens.. we muz hold gathering soon..

grace: ur bay nien so nice can make rice ball. mine is hokkien.. dunno any hainanese tradition at all.. ur kid will be full fledged hainanese... so nice

madames

Huh hazuki, yibua has brown sugar coconut filling inside... sweet wan. spicy meh?

Ya, wrt to gathering, keep a lookout for my email!

mango0977

hazuki > yeah, mine will be pure hainanese but the sad part is that FH and I cant really speak hainanese lei! can listen and reply using v limited hainanese vocabulary! haha

we just approached a shi fu to help us check for good marriage dates next year....his name is long shi fu wor...not sure if he is hainanese too cos this surname also like got hainanese...this sat will know le when we go meet him...

ya, i think got some crushed ginger in yi buas thats why a bit spicy...haven eaten in years!

loveangel

Huey: Thanks for sharing the photo about the yi bua! Now i know what they look like...haha, i'm such a mountain tortoise.

chimes: Next time if i see it, i shall buy to try. Heh.

grace: When is your AD? Congrats!

loink

long time didn't log in and ivied is going to pop..

congratz janf..

CSI-when did u start using First Teeth toothpaste.. my girl still no teeth.. hehe..

hazuki

yibua taste nice but as grace mentioned abt e ginger, i rem i used to tear open it n eat e skin niah... spicy as i hate ginger taste.

milkyway18

now the forum becomes a discussion for hainanese food... yah yibua has ginger which gives is a spice taste, coconut and peanuts too... not forgetting brown sugar... now sure wat else goes into it... haha i only know how to eat... keke

back to my wedding preparation... at the moment nothing much to prepare already... as for AD ceremony... think can decide later...

kitty_li

Hi loinky,
my gal also got no teeth yet. Just that she keeps putting lots of stuff (fingers, thumb, toes, heels included) into her mouth. But it seems like there's some white white patch on her gums already...so I think she's teething (haven't brought her to PD), just that teeth won't break through yet, I guess. So I just use a bit, to also massage her gums for her lah...heehee...plus the milk is kinda sweet (yup, tasted own one...disgusting? actually, no leh. hahaha). heehee...so use it occassionally for her lorh. heehee...she'll be 5 mths on Thurs...I started using it on her like 2 weeks ago only lah.

hazuki, got gathering ah? I must have missed a post somewhere...

loink

CSI- my girl 3 mths on fri.. haha..are u giving formula to your girl? what formula? or are u still total bfing?

u still visiting pd at thomson?

kitty_li

Loinky: oohhh...me gal will be 5 mths on Thurs. heehee...told her we'll celebrate with all her toys. hahaha. She just started flipping like 3 weeks ago. Today, she like got the hang of flipping...each time put her down on her back, she'll automatically flip. Previously, she'll flip...once every few days nia...

Am still TBF. I have no idea how I'm doing it. Coz add work to it, it's challenging...but think I've gotten used to it. In fact, gotten more innovative on how to assemble pump accessories super quick. hahaha. But I gave her FM 2 weekends back...coz I had to travel to Beijing for work. Not enough frozen supply. hehs...so now, 1 tin of Mamex Gold still sitting on the table...you still TBF?

I haven't visited Dr Ang in a while...There's a Baby & Kids Clinic near my home, but I also never go to that one. Polyclinic also nearby, so just go polyclinc lorh. hehs...for her jabs lah. So far, no reason (except her frequent poo-ing 3 weeks back) to visit PD leh...But I'll bring her back to Dr Ang for a review before I start her on solids lah...

loink

My supply quite low lei and now i m back at work.. ard 60-100ml from both sides.. but my girl is drinking 120ml now every 4hrs.. so stress pumping.. give her formula (Enfalac A+) once a day at night..

does ur girl poo everyday? my girl doesn't.. once every 4-5days.. headache.. dono if its bcos of the formula or she's just lazy..

can u ask dr. ang if she has sample milk formula(tin)to try out if u visiting her..tia..

kitty_li

you're back at work already? you took full 12 weeks ML or u spreading out the last 4 weeks? Yah, I'm also stressed out with pumping. hahaha...what I have is always just nice for next day nia...so if I miss one session, cham lorh.

nope, she doesn't poo everyday. It's ok not to poo everyday. Their bodies are developing and maturing, so can absorb more. as long as not too many days in between and it's soft...can lah.

When do you need the FM sample? Coz I would most probably be going only end of this month or early next month...now busy at work...

loink

i took 11wks ML left 1wk..

not too many day is how many days? stool is mustard type.. did ur girl take mamex at birth?

I just open a new tin of formula, so not rush.. btw, where u staying?