Grand Shanghai Restaurant

i can't remember the actual costs for the $500 or $600 package. seems to be around 589+++ or 599 +++(same for the 600 menu).

as well as drinks throught the dinner.

yo ladies,

i have a friend who said she attended a wedding last year at GS. She said the individual serving is a bit messy. Esp when it comes to the fish dish. She said some of the guests were given tail n bone portion. And the elderly find that it is not very presentable as they did not get to see the whole fish.. well, of course they didn't tell the couple la.. but they gossip among themselves lor.

i feel tat the reason for individual serving is mainly for the cushion seats as there will only be 5 ppl seating in one table.. so maybe not possible for them to present the whole dish esp for the fish lor. Or maybe we can ask to individual dish only for the cushion seats? Not too sure whether they are ok thou.. hmmmm

hi candyprincess,

the prices are 588+++ n 688+++. they have a new menu at 888+++

ooo thanks ladies for sharing....

can i ask, the table layout of the place... r there some tables which are "hidden" in pte rooms???

of cos the best wld be to go dwn to take a look ard but fh n i rather busy with work so nt able to go hunting as yet... also his mum a bit nt happie recently... keep mentioning money issues... Fh is very p*ssed abt it... and i really wana talk it out with his mum but he says to let her talk to herself becos she doesnt understand what we r tryin to tell her lo... *sigh* i tink maybe she goin thru menopause bah... =x

hope all goes well

hi candyprincess,
The doors of the adjoining pte rms will be opened up for the wedding and there are 3 tables.

I can understand hw u r feeling abt ur FMIL coz mine also r same. Gota tolerate her no matter wat coz she's ur FH's mum afterall. Is she gona help 2 finance your wedding?

hi ice-cosy,
R u takin up the $588+++ package which is equivalent to $682.08 per table?

hi stefanie & ingsq,
hws life after wedding? mi juz cut my hair short las wk...heee. Feel so carefree and easy 2 manage. Actuali short hair makes one look younger, any1 agree? CNY approaching soon, muz give out angpows liao..

flowery : i guess not.. that time went fh n i were dating 1yrplus she olredi told me next time wedding pay ourselves lor.. tell us to start saving... i also nt expecting her to pay... but i do feel at least the guo da li mil n fil shld pay for it lor... everything for wedding like church recep n banquet we wil pay ourselves.. but the way she talk n act as if we gonna take her money lor which is making us very p*ssed becos we didnt ask her lor.. we only told her we lookin for a plc and ask her hw many tables she wld need for the dinner lor... she said wil let us knw after CNY but now she macham throwing tantrum lo.. duno is becos menopause or wad... she doesnt listen to wad my fh is tryin to say and jus spout her own nonsense then when she bth she wil say "dun tell me anything i dun wana knw anything.. marry dun marry nt my business dont tell me liao" -_-"

i reli wana "tell her off" but im nt in any position to...

luckily my dad is easier to talk to and he is okie with anything... he said he will give us 5k for the wedding lo... but fh has not spoken to my daddy to ask for my hand in marriage yet.. bOo... =P

Finally my wedding is over .Just came bk from my honeymoon, so abit late updating you gals. BTW, you gals can really leave the planning of the programme for that day to whoever is the coordinator. As for me, mine is sally, and I coulld say she realy done a good jod in coordinating . No worries at all, as she will be prompting you when and wat to do next. Their staff are also very friendly and professional.we really had an unforgettable nite , that GS had for us. No regrets at all.

lizzy,

welcome back! glad that u had a great time at GS. U must had enjoyed your honeymoon
Just in time for CNY...btw, can I check did u opt for individual or one plate serving?

Hi Flowergal

me not et decided..funny i placed the deposits and then realise i din choose the menu and they din ask too....maybe will take the $799 menu..which add up abt $800plus....same same as hotels.
see first lah cos need to discuss with MIL and parents too..
u leh? which menu u choose?

Hi Evon,
I opted for big plate serving initially but later that change my mind after Sally highlighted to me the pros and cons.I thought the most of my guests won't like it but to my surprise, alot of them feedback to me that they quite like it as thay find it more hygiene and everyone got fair share of serving. Also the tables at GS are quite big so the guests will have difficulty in reaching for the food if opted for big plate serving.

flowerygal,
i been married and staying with hubby for 4yrs before my customary AD. So, for me, no diff.. haha.. oredy married life for 4yrs liao
Me also cut hair after wedding! haha.. I always have short hair

candy princess,
dun be so stress.. wedding supposed to be a beautiful event.. let ur hubby talk to his mum and see how to resolve the unhappiness. Maybe misunderstanding lah.. take care

candyprincess,
At least u got sme support fr ur family side. I tink ur FMIL got severe menopause juz like mine. After tat i tink either sme1 told her abt it or she could sensed her problem. She was too unreasonable to tell her off. Leave her alone...no choice? Juz bear w her. U wun be stayin w her after wedding rite?

ice_cosy,
Wah, u gona take up e exp. menu? Actuali e $588+++ is gd enu and most of us chose tis.

lizzy,
Welcme back! COngrats...Glad u had a great wedding...indeed true tat evrything we can leave to Shirley or Sally to handle for us. Where did u go for honeymoon?

Stefanie,
Well, short hair makes one look much younger rite? So do u often cook at hm? These days i reali so exhausted after wrk n yet i gota do alot of chores like cooking dinner n clean up. Actuali we can eat out bt these days i find it boring to eat outside food nw. Onli noe hw 2 cook simple dishes bt will try 2 find time 2 learn mre complicated ones.

Hi Flowerygal,
same as Stefanie, me n hubby have been living together for 1yr+ b4 our customary. so nothing much changes.
I went to perm my hair after I came back from honeymood.. haha... is so troublesome to manage now.
I'm all ready to give angbao... haha...
how ur life after wedding?

Hi Lizzy,
wlcm back. glad u enjoy ur wedding liked we do. ^_^ remember to share ur AD photo k? where u go for your honeymood?

Hi Candyprincess,
sorry i couldnt help u much on these as i dun have these problem. maybe u cn continue to prepare ur wedding and get ur fh to keep her update on ur decision... ^_^

Hi colynnpoh,
my guests all prefer individual serving and said GS services is gd,

Hi ice_cosy,
i also opt of the 588 menu. and perosnally feel that is gd enough. even my guests find the food at GS is nice. at least better than hotel food... ^_^

flowerygal,
during my 1st year of marriage, i will rush home and cook every night.. but now, no cook oredy! haha.. by the time reach home 7pm, cook and eat 8pm then still gotta wash up. So, these days eat out! then once a week at my mum's and sunday night at grandma house

ingsq,
I started giving ang pow after I ROM 4yrs ago.. but i only give children and my cousins. I dun give unmarried frens.. hehe..

Hi Stefanie,
wah.... u start giving angbao after ROM ah?? i still took angbao after I ROMed... haha.... if unmarried frens come to our hse to pai nia, den cn we dun give them? will it be strange?

1 more issue, if unmarried cousin older than us, do we need to give?

at least u n flowerygal still make an effort to cook after married... for me, i dun really know how to cook. so we usually eat at my in-laws place from mon to wed, as for the rest of the week we usually eat out or go back to my parents' place to eat... hehee... quite lucky in these area...

Hi inqsq,
Thks, we went to gold coast for our honeymoon . Very nice place.Dun worry,haha, I'll remember to share my AD photos once it's ready . My PG said will only be ready after CNY.

ingsq,
yah.. i gave ang pow after i ROM coz married liao mah.. hehe.. but I only gave to my cousins and kids.. no give to frens.. i thk they will be more paiseh accepting ang pows from u! I jus tell them that I only give ang pow to kids.. usually they won't be so thick skin to keep asking u for it.. I dun have unmarried older cousin.. me the oldest.. up to u if u wan give or not..

ingsq,
At least both u n hb stay near parents so nt a problem 2 drop by their place 2 makan dinner. Me go bac 2 my parents' plc on Sun if i m free. Distance is nt a problem bt reali no time? Wow, u permed ur hair? Do u like it or nt? At least a new look. Nw i m starting to miss my long hair liao.

stefanie,
u r e 1st romed couple who gave out angpows even though u hvent gone thru customary wedding since 4yrs ago. Well, hw cme u stopped cooking? Actuali although its abit tiring bt got satisfaction. Dun ur hubby like u 2 cook evryday 4 him? We hjuz got a new jack russell puppy and evryday messed up e hse even though my hubby beat it up fiercely. Nw things r improving bt gota watch it.

hi Colynn,

i think you could request for GS staff to show the whole dish to the table (full table of 10 or cushion with 5) and then further portion out to individual servings. Yup fish is one of the trickier dish, I opted for cod fish, it goes very well with individual servings, because GS prepare them in neat fillets.

flowergal, heeeeee... u have a jack russell for a new pet! yup, they are hyper active, but can be very excellent play mates. They can be trained up well as they are very smart. Beware of their over excitment whenever you come home!!!

flowerygal,
ROM is considered married mah.. all uncles all say married liao cannot get ang pow.. so I gave my cousins ang pow loh.. hehe.. my previous job was nearer home so can rush home to cook. My new office - reach home at 7pm then cook, dinner can only start at 8pm! *faintz* so tabao is easier

yippie,
Actuali we alredi got a 6yr old jack russell dog (nw at hb's parents' plc) and tis one is our 2nd. Tis one is even mre hyper...cant take it. Ya, i agreed they r veri smart and gd companion. I like dogs who stick 2 mi rather than be on their own.
So u chose cod fish for ur dish? Extra charges or nt?

stefanie,
Its no wonder u be too tired 2 cook by e time u reach hm. If i dun wk late, i be hm ard 5.35pm. Smetimes i alredi too tired bt my hubby insisted mi 2 cook! He can be so demanding. These days, i get veri little sleep, duno y so busy. Muz be e dog. Actually i enjoyed doing hsehold chores since young n my wish is to be full-time hsewife bt hubby dun allow.

I'm sourcing for banquet venues for my wedding in mid 08. I'm starting to consider GS too, after reading positive comments. Does anyone have the wedding package to share? Kindly email me at [email protected]. Thanks in advance!

Could you also provide me the email address of Sally / Shirley so i can get in touch with them? Thanks.

I am considering GS as my wedding banquet venue too. May I know how's the service and the food that they serve? Thanks.

flowerygal,
Thanks for sharing ur pic. Nice!

Mae78,
the service and food is excellent at GS! Not mentioning the lovely ambience. Highly recommended!

flowergal, nope.. we weren't charged extra for codfish.. hehe... but actually i didn't get to eat it on that day, but my husband did.. he said not bad.. keke...

mae, i love the food, and i think service is good. guests said the food is excellent and service levels were high

Listening to all the wonderful feedback of GS makes me wanna considering holding my AD here too leh! Can someone send me GS' package proposal pls? I'm very curious whether they include any perks such as beer barrel or wine corkage waiver, parking coupons, hotel stay etc...

tks!

I just called up GS and got them to furnish me with the details of their package. Have not decide on the date yet and need to estimate the number of guests so will only call them later once it is fixed.

Hi Mae,

Can you share the package with me? My bf called them up but they said go back to them after CNY. So did not managed to get any details.

Can you email me at [email protected]? Thank you in advance =)

for the brides interested in GS:

1) Menu at 588+++ / 688+++ / 888+++
2) Free beer 20L (30L for more than 23 tables)
3) Wine corkage can be waived
4) Free live band & singer
5) Wedding favours
6) Wedding cards based on 70% of your confirmed guests
7) 20% carpark coupons
8) Min 20 tables to book the whole restaurant
9) 1 VIP carpark for bridal car
10) Food tasting at 50% discount for 6pax
11) One night stay in hotel with breakfast
12) Can take pre-wedding fotos at GS
13) Dummy wedding cake & champagne pouring

Hi Stefanie,

The package that they sent me is a bit different from what you had here. May I know if that is the package that they are offering after negotiation?

Mae,
I had my wedding in Nov'06 and these are the items I got. Maybe they revised the package alittle coz it's now 2007? maybe you can post the new package here so we can discuss..

This is the package that I got from GS:-

1. 9 course menu at 588+++/ 688+++/ 888+++

2. Invitation cards with envelopes based on 70% of the confirmed attendance

3. Guest’s signature book for the wedding reception

4. Free-flow of soft drinks and Chinese Tea from 6.30p.m. - 11p.m.

5. Complimentary one barrel of beer (20 litres)

6. Additional Beer price at 20 litres is $450+++ and 30 litres at $580+++.

7. Waiver of corkage charge for duty-paid and sealed hard liquor

8. Corkage charge at S$15.00 per bottle for wine brought in

9. 3-tier traditional decorated wedding cake

10. Home-made cookies in decorative box for every guest

11. Champagne fountain with a complimentary bottle of Champagne for toasting

12. Wedding decorations of fresh floral centerpiece for all tables including fresh flower aisle stands

13. Special VIP parking lot for the bridal car at the front of the hotel

14. Complimentary parking for up to 20% of the guaranteed number of guest

15. Minimum of 20 tables and maximum of 25 tables

16. One night stay in our Executive Suite with American breakfast

mae,
your menu is almost the same, except
#8 (can nego to waive the wine corkage)and the food tasting discount. I signed up during their wedding show so I had additional discount per table. I think Copthone Hotel is having their wedding show soon, you can chk it out.

I had checked with GS and they told me that they will not be participating in the coming bridal show.

I also asked them to check the dates that I had chosen for my AD and one of the days is available
. Have not really estimate the number of guests yet and what I'm afraid now is that the place is not big enough to cater to my needs.

mae,
i noticed that GS is not taking part in the wedding show as well. I guess that means no extra perks if sign during the show.

You have to work out your guest list and have estimation coz GS maximium can only hold 25tables.

Hi Mae,

I've just signed up with GS for my wedding in June 08. *Very Kiasu* But i can see that their booking is really quite a lot. So, do book early too, just in case. Yes, they don't participate in wedding show already. Heard from Shirley that they spent a lot of promotional fees during the last wedding show. Thus, they decided to do away with it since they also will have lots of wedding bookings without the wedding show.

Stefanie - do you still remember what songs are sung in the live performance? i was thinking of looking thru their songlist and maybe pick one of the songs to perform as special opening. hee hee...

nici,
they usually sing chinese oldies.. they can also sing popular mandarin pop songs.. chk with them if they know the songs u have in mind. I heard that if got enough time, they can go learn the songs you request for

Stefanie,

Thanks. Let me think of what special program i want first. BTW, do you still have the rough timing cum program for the night? what songs you had for the 1st March in? Shirley is suggesting to make use of their live band for 1st March in. I tried asking what songs they'll be singing, Shirley just told me "don't worry, will be cheerful songs" and she keeps reassuring me of having the rehersal 1 wk b4 the dinner. Cos i dunno what to expect, so ask a lot of questions =)

Actually still got more than 1 year for me to think about it lar. Now i'm preparing for my ROM in this year June and looking for re-sale flats. Housing is a headache...

Zenusorion,

You've got mail! The package is as per what was posted by Mae. You can negotiate for waiver for wine. If you have 23 tables and above, the complimentary barrel of beer will be upgraded to 30 litres. They are using Tiger Draft. The only consideration is their layout. Some of the tables cannot see the stage. I've also emailed you the layout. Do make a trip down to the restaurant to take a look if you like it.