Grand Shanghai Restaurant

zenusorion

Thank gals... U all been a great help...
M a little discouraged now.. All the places I shortlisted are not available for my AD...
sigh... this is getting stressful...

stefanie20

nici,
- guests arrive about 730pm. 1st march in was about 815pm. Dinner starts. Around 3rd dish, went to change for 2nd march in. Then proceeded with champagne popping, cake cutting and yum seng. Whole dinner ends abt 11pm.
- the highlight of GS is the live band so it's best if u can use them for the march in. However, I used CD songs instead coz I wanted specific songs which was more jazzy n pop.
- wow! u still have 1 more yr to plan.. relax and dun get so stressed out now

- which area u looking for house at?

nici

Zenusorion,

When is your big day? note that GS can only accomodate 26 tables the most.

Stefanie,

Looking at Boon Keng mrt area & Serangoon central area, cos my near parents. Went to the HDB WIS in Feb for mature towns, but queue no. was 2000+, the unit we want already sold on the 2nd day. So now back to re-sale open market..

nici

Hi Twinkle Stars,

Shirley only compromised on Waiver for Wine and the food tasting can increase up to 10 persons (written on contract was 50% for 6 person). Tried asking for free flow of beer, free food tasting for 6 persons but she was firm. She will recommend that we get her house wine which is $22.

plumpears

dear all..
A rather awkward question to ask.. What's the general impression of GS that your guests feedback to you? Also, were the ang pow given, on average, less because the guests thought of GS as a restaurant..?

twinkle_stars

Hi Nici

Thks for ur feedback. Errrm...if she can waive off the corkage fee for wine, tats not too bad! At first tot of asking her for an additional nite of htl stay cos I intend to 'marry off' from the htl instead of my home.

When is ur AD, Nici? Mine is on 8 Mar 08. Those dates tat I want in Jan 08 are all taken up =(

Plummy,

I actually also having the same doubt as u. =) Quite worry how much guests will actually give for AP. Guess frenz will not be giving too little but not too sure abt relatives.

Nevertheless, my hubby and I still decided on GS cos of the ambience and food despite of the 'AP doubt'...hehehe

nici

Twinkle Stars,

I tried asking for additional night of hotel stay too. Shirley says cannot cos she also needs to pay for the hotel room, but she can help to book the extra night at a slightly lower cost. i.e. Maybe normal room charges for public is $400+, she can book it for $380. Something like that. So in the end, i never book the extra night.

My AD is 7 Jun 08. When i sign up that time, already got people book for June also. Me typical singaporean mah, so very kiasu and book early. Hee hee...

Plummy,

I also think relative will not give as much for ang pow. But youngsters should be giving more lar. Just be prepared to have some losses. The theme is really good, except for the restaurant layout. Do consider...

plumpears

Nici and TwinkleStars..

Actually, I booked already.. :D
but this is a bothersome nagging thought that really hinder with some other decisions of mine; like doing up of the decor, real cake, etc..

I saw a wedding took place on the same day I that I signed up with Shirley and thought that the decor was rather, .. overly simple. The flower centerpieces were small and mediocre and the flower stands almost camouflaged into the ambience. But, above all, I loved the food and the singers! (hahaha.. I told Shirley, I must have Xia Meng on that day of my wedding. She sang like Teresa Teng!).

So.. dilemma on how much more to pump in for the decor in view of the likely $ loss.

twinkle_stars

Nici

$380??!! Its still vy ex wo! Will try to negotiate with her cos I dun really need the food tasting session. See my luck this Sat... Btw, are u charged for the additional GST increase?

Ya I heard tat GS needs to be booked 1.5yr in advance. Did u choose ur date yourself or by fortune teller?

Plummy,

When is ur AD? I oso find it weird tat they place the champagn fountain near to the VIP tables. Those tables at the back will not be able to see anything lo??!!

Maybe u can check with the florist how much they charge for doing up the place before deciding on the decor. Me too, oso thinking of having a real cake instead of the dummy cake, probably those cup cakes kind..
kao_drool.gif

yippiedoo

hi Plummy,

you can talk to the florist to change the floral arrangements and colour schemes... i had less flowers in the end (because i think the decor itself of GS conveys the charisma of the restaurant well), changed the floral colour scheme, did some DIY for my table set up. Ironically, I topped up (but not a lot) to the florist for the changes.

I had wanted to take the floral arrangements out of the package and get my own florist, but I would get no discount. In view of that, I decided to make some changes with the existing florist to save some money.

I believe it's Yuki Florist, contact person is Celeste. You might want to ask Shirley/Sally for the contact details

Good luck! Just my two-cents worth, I think a place like GS doesn't need lavish or huge floral arrangements to bring out its beauty!

cheers and congrats for your coming big day...

plumpears

Twinkle Stars..
Mine is at end Sept 07. In fact, I don't think you need 1.5yrs to book the venue. It all depends on the popularity of the dates. The wedding dinner that I saw, was apparently booked just a month before the event was held! But it was a weekday, so, there's probably alot less competition. Just like how Meritus Mandarin priced their package (even for the same menu) at different price brackets simply depends on if the chosen date was deemed a good/better/best date (lol...).

Yippie,
Thanks for your advise
Alrighty, I shall try to negotiate my way through with the florist for a less puny setup ;)

Thanks girls.

nici

Yes, will be affected by the GST. I also asked Shirley abt it. Currently, its 10% + 5% + 1%. From July 07, it will be 10% + 7%. No more 1% cess....

There were many dates written by the Fortune teller, but we choose the earliest Sat written for next year. Then i discovered it was really an auspicious day for wedding, after i joined the tread on Jun 08 Brides in this forum.

I agree with Plummy that Wk end are more popular... wow, u all wanna have real cake & floral deco.. hmm, i have not seen the actual wedding setup. Maybe i can visit Plummy's which is sept this yr? What's the AD? Hee hee....

plumpears

Nici...
I'll let you know closer to the event la*h!

Not sure if Shirley also told you girls, they are likely to *gasp*.. UP the price come next half of the year. Frankly, I'm not sure if I'd be affected, I can't quite recall if our contract is tagged to the menu prices listed and offered to us then. .. Take note!

stefanie20

my guests loved GS. The ambience is great, very special place for wedding, unlike the normal hotel ballroom.

you have to tell ur guests that it is hotel price, in not, relatives or the older folks will think restaurant then give restaurant price ang pow.

decor wise, it's abit simple but GS ambience is good enough. Frankly, people won't remember all these little items but the overall ambience of the place. For my wedding, I did little foto book for the centrepiece.

twinkle_stars

Plummy

Oh!! I went down to GS last Sun but Sally did not mention anything on the price hike. I better double check with Shirley tmr when I meet up with her.

plumpears

Stefanie,
In fact... I did..
but some people do tell me matter of factly, that the bridal couple shouldn't expect the guests' angpows to cover the cost. If indeed that the expenditure is a cause of concern, then should just opt for the lower-budget dinners.. Well, what can I say.. that's a fair enough statement. So, just close one eye and enjoy myself throughout the wedding preparations!

twinkle_stars

Hv confirmed with Shirley. The price of the menu will be up from July 07. Contract signed before July 07 will still enjoy the present rate. So any girls outta there who wish to choose GS as ur wedding venue, do hurry before the price hike.

evlee

Hi Yippie,

may I check how many months inadvance do u need to speak to the florist before your actual day. I hv yet to get the contact fr Sally. Btw, can share wif your pics on the decoration? My AD is in Aug

Thanks alot

stefanie20

plummy,
it's true that we cannot expect angpow to cover the cost. But sum guests think that it;s restaurant and they under give the angpow. Sum of my guests came for the wedding dinner then shocked the place so "high-class" then they paiseh that they gave so little. So, wat i am saying is let pple know that it's hotel price..

btw: i managed to break-even the wedding dinner. The relative side sure lose money but your frens side will cover coz they know the mkt value for GS

plumpears

Stefanie..
So you managed to break-even! Great!!... Okay, hopefully I don't suffer losses too. I believe that with the increasingly well-acclaimed reputation of GS, it should upped the angpow benchmark quite a bit, and of course following your advise to 'elaborate more on the venue' to invitees..

ohjoyful

dear ladies

I went down with my hubby to GSH to have a look at the restaurant. Nice ambience and unique esp the cushioned crescent sofa tables. Anyhow, when they claimed maximum booking will be 25 tables, does that mean all their tables are used for the banquet and they won't be serving other strangers or other customers? It's very strange to have other strangers eating around, with the wedding banquet going. It would be nice if the whole place is exclusive for just the wedding banquet itself. Would you agree?
Hope some of u ladies can enlighten me

joyz

hi ohjoyful,
i think as long as you hit the min number of tables, the restaurant will be exclusively used for your banquet so not to worry. i am not sure about the min, but it should be 20 tables. =) of course it will be nicer if the place is used exclusively for your wedding.

yippiedoo

hi Evon, i spoke to the florist about 2-3 weeks ahead

sure... i've sent you an email (via my husband's kodak gallery account) for my pictures. You might need to look for some pictures in front and middle of the album for those specific to decor...

my table set up is v simple, just a candle which i diy + some whole roses and petals (most of which the florist did and I ordered some more to add on) + a photocard which i designed...

my friends helped me the setup of another area (the private room, which you see some ivy leaves and white orchids), i brought in my own flowers and candles...

i chose yam and cream for the colour scheme... you can discuss with the florist on the colour and types of flowers too...

hope it all helps! GS allowed me to start the setup after 3 pm on my wedding day (Sunday), so my friends had lots of time to help me out with it...

cheers and enjoy your wedding prep!!!

yippiedoo

hi twinkle stars, could you give me your email address? i need to send the album to an email.. cheers

stefanie, i have sent you...

snowylustre

Hi all, I am also looking at GS for my banquet in Nov07. How is the layout? Anyone with a floor plan to share?

And Yippe, your decor sounds really creative and special. Do share the pics with me too! my email is [email protected]

evlee

Hi Snowylustre,

I hv sent u the floorplan. Hope this helps

It will better to call and check if the date u want is still available.

Its really a nice place. I'm sure u wont regret.

snowylustre

Thanks Evon!!

Nice food and ambience are my priorities. But gotta balance with cost too. Shall make a trip down to GS to recee the place =)

ohjoyful

Hi Evon!

I've received it.. Thanks a lot! My AD is in Jan next year and i've managed to book the place! Really excited! The floor plan is really useful for placing my guests. :eek:)

evlee

Hi Ohjoyful,

That's great! Mine is Aug 07... 4 more months to my AD
I'm sure your guest will be impressed by GS.

Have fun in your wedding preps.

nici

Yippie,

Received your mail. Thanks a lot. I'll consider changing adding more decors too. Maybe i'll ask shirley if i can pop by to see their normal wedding decor then decide again...

evlee

Hi wittymonkey,

you hv got mail.

Nici,

yah.. you check with Shirley when there is wedding dinner so u can drop by to see the set up. Sally told me there are 2 types of decor.

jinglebel

Hi Evon

My AD is on Sept at GS. Mind if you send me the link to the album and also the layout plan...

My email is [email protected]. Thanks.

I went to GS yesterday and my friend was suggesting that I put a carpet at the entrance. Wonder if it is allowed?

Could anyone share with me the package by GS? My AD will be in Jan 08 and currently actively searching for a nice venue for my wedding banquet.

ohjoyful

Hi yoshiko

My AD day is in Jan 08 as well! But i hafta warn you that most of the weekends in that month have already been fully booked. I remembered only left one Sunday available in that mth. So hope you'll make the decision soon if you like the place :eek:)