Grand Shanghai Restaurant

jinglebel,
must nego for more fotos! coz that's where u will spend most of your money!! good luck!

flowerygal,
- I was very lucky.. I got along very well with my BS designer so he gave me alot of extra service. I paid for 1 MTM but in the end, he MTM a short wedding gown for me + the silver EG. Then he also made the blue EG for me when I didnt wan wear the silver EG. He knows my personality so I trust him when it comes to gowns and stuff. He also did my hair + make-up! hehe

- my inlaws saw the album b4 the AD. After we collect from PG, we show them already.
- have to do chores ourselves.. no choice.. last time we will do together on every sunday. Now not so hardworking liao.. hehe.. We split our chores, my hubby will do laundry + wash toilet + mop floor. Then I do dishes + vaccum floor.
- Up to u whether u wan wear ring everyday or not.. for me, i dun wan coz I dun like wear ring.. even my wedding band is worn on necklace.

hihi gals,
my AD is finally over. me and hubby really enjoy ourself on our wedding day. Even tough veri tiring but is all worthwhile. ^_^ my guests like GS veri much, nice food, nice ambience. their services is gd as well. hehee...
the hotel room provided was really gd. nice view.

i also dun wear my wedding band and proposal ring. i just put it in my drawer.. haha~ i dun feel comfortable wearing them.

as for marriage leave, i already used it on my ROM. i took 2 annual leaves for AD. 1 on last fri and today.

hi witty monkey,
we managed to breakeven and have an earning of 7k. consider quite alot i think.

yup. we were given a junior suite as stated in the contract. the view is fantastic as it is on a 30th storey. is quite spacious.

Ingsq,
Congrats!! wat a successful wedding tat u can earn 7k! wow..tats consider alot. Most of my frens said their angpows juz breakeven n din earn much. Hw long did u take to count e angpows? Did u go zouk 2 party after dinner? U stayed on high floor suite, view muz be fantastic! ur frens muz had envied u. U definitely sleep so well after a tiring nite. Hw abt breakfast? Your dinner started at 8.30pm? I will hv a no. of guests who be bringing young kids and is it possible to add in extra chairs for table of 10paxs to share the dishes? Sorie ah...so many qns...

Stefanie,
Wow, u reali can click well w ur designer. I did heard sme designers do makeup as well as they usuali take up a no. of fashion courses. He muz be a young designer otherwise he wun hv done such a gd job for ya. Why u din wana wear e silver EG?
Actuali i din wear my rings too coz its uncomfortable to wear so often. i onli wear accessories during wkends. Bt i wonder hw cme my frens can wear so often. i prefer my hands to be free n easy. As for me, laundry will be done evry twice per wk, simple cooking during wkdays, vaccum & mop evry 2 wks. Wash toilet once a mth?

hi ingsq

so u realli enjoyed your sat night? i went down on sunday, shirley told me that your hubby is real drunk.

stephanie,

i work in a local bank, according to MAS, we have to clear a block leave of 7 days (5 working days + 2 weekends). the marriage leave is one of the perk offered to us. but 2 bad, i didn't get to enjoy coz i consider "married" when i join the company.

flowergal,

i dun wear my ring at all (not suitable in my area of work, needs to do a lot of filling), only my hubby wear it.

ingsq,
I drove past GS on sat! didnt know it was your wedding.. hehe.. Everything was good, huh?
SHow us fotos when ready!

flowerygal,
My designer same age as me.. hehe.. he very talented.. design gowns + makeup + hair! I no wear the silver gown coz the material creases very easily so dun look nice.. plus front & back super low cut.. not comfortable n convienent.. hehe.. plus silver is not my color. The blue gown I wore turned out beautifully! better then the silver gown

I thot every1 wears the ring. Thot I was the odd one out who dun like to wear rings.. hehe.. dats why I wear on a chain ard my neck. I got my hubby a chain also n he wears ard his neck too.

stefanie,
Wat matters is whether u r comfortable w e EG or nt otherwise no point forcing urself 2 wear n regret for e rest of ur life? Luckily ur designer dun mind makin extra gowns for ya. Actuali silver EG may be abit plain..nt striking. Blue is great. Juz like mine, sme ppl kept askin mi 2 wear wat they tot is nice bt their taste is diff fr mine. If i tink e gown made mi looked slightly awful, i reject regardless hw nice e design. Majority of e ppl out there do wear their wedding ring evryday. At least u wear urs on a chain.

fanny,
Same, my hubby wears e ring evryday whereas i kept it. Most imptly tat guys shd wear so tat when other women see e ring on their finger, usuali they try 2 avoid..haa.
Dun ur company recognise customary wedding? My HR manager told me tat i m eligible for 5 days wedding leave if i produce wedding invitation card.

My hubby will be fetching me from the hotel instead on my AD . From there, we will have gate crashing. Any idea the junior suite they provide , is there a separate living area from the bedroom and whether is it separated from a door? If not, my Jie meis will have problems blocking the door liao.

Hi Lizzy, we can only check in the hotel during noon on our AD right? I'm not sure when we can check in also... unless you also book the night b4... i remember i ask shirely b4 the rates if we book extra nite. she told me is abt $200+..

flowergal,

my HR only recognise the ROM cert. Once ROM means that u are married. so i cant get the 14 days marriage leave.

flowerygal,
yes..i agree.. have to wear a gown that u are comfortable and confident in..otherwise will not look good.. I was going to take OTR EG then my designer made the blue gown so I took his advice and trusted him with that choice

lizzy,
the chk-in time is 2pm, earliest is noon. Wat time u doing ur gate crashing? There is a door separating the living rm from the bedrm but dun think it can lock.

hi flowerygal,
we r surprise that we r able to get back so much. Thanks to all our generous guests... hehee.
we didnt go zouk as all our frens r tire. all of us didnt sleep the night b4. so we just stayed in the hotel room n chat.
as for the breakfast, shld be nice. but hubby n me dun have any appetiteto eat. wasted hor....
i think u cn talk to sally/ shirely on the additional chairs for ur guests' kid. dun think they will mind.

fanny,
shirely told u my hubby drunk ah?? haha... he was abit drunk. not veri drunk. he is always veri red when ever he drink esp his eyes. staff from GS bring him alot of chinese tea to drink so that he dun feel so drunk... haha~ he feel pai seh after that. said he dun look nice in photo liao... wahaha...

lizzy,
we checked in around 1 pm. 1 hr b4 wat sally told us. the staff let us in also. better check with the hotel staff if u wan to check in early. the door separating the living room and the bed room got no lock. so is pretty hard for ur sisters to play the gate crashing games inside the hotel room.

stefanie,
ur designer veri gd so give u another MTM EG. My BS not so gd. I wanna change my EG but they dun allow. if wan to change, they wan me to add $$... sian.. so in the end i jus stick to my EG.

came back to work today and all my colleagues said GS veri unique and classy. The food and serving is gd as well. They like the idea of individual serving as it is easy for them to eat. when the food serve to them, it is still hot.
they like the whole idea of the live band which they find it veri special and enjoyable.

ingsq,
Congratulations! you must had enjoyed your AD.
can I check with u something... did u change any dish in the menu? Just wondering is the original dessert good? coz my FIL wan me to change it.

lizzy,
fyi, I hv checked with Sally regarding kids. I was told that unless your guest's kids are those who require baby seat otherwise it would be considered as 1 pax

I've booked the nite before my AD as well. So I need to pay additional $400+ for the suite.By the way, since I'm checking in the hotel the nite before, I'm entitled to breakfast on the day of my AD. But no time to go down leh, dun know can ask them the hotel to packet for me or not? If not, very hungry leh...

ingsq,

u are right, the antique CD player realli cant play the burnt CD. the message was read "there is no disc". So sad, have to let the singer sings 2 march in songs. but luckily i found the original song in Sembawang Music so bo bian have to buy the CD.

ingsq,
usually if u unhappy with the MTM, u can choose OTR instead for AD? Mine not really MTM another gown for me lah.. it's jus that he was making new gowns for the BS then felt that the blue gown mite suit me so keep aside for me and let me wear first lah.. hehe..

evon,
Which dessert u choosing? I took the egg white souffle with red bean/banana filling. It was very good!! Every1 loved it

lizzy,
wah! u booked extra day? why u need book extra day? I not sure if they can pack bkfast for u coz it's buffet style.. u can try asking the front desk when u chk-in. Say u wedding and stuff, they might help with ur request.

btw: i thk no one gets up in time the morning after AD to eat the hotel bkfast! haha.. the hubby usually hangover and wife too tired to go down eat.. hehe..

fanny,
the CD player must see luck.. sumtimes can.. sumtimes cannot.. have original cd more safe!

hi Evon,
i change the fish and 1 item on the cold dish. the rest i remain. the dessert is gd. my MIL fav. sally/shirely will recommend for us when we go food tasting. when is ur food tasting?

hi lizzy,
the room is soo x... 400+ for additional day.
here is a view of my junior suite. http://ingsq.multiply.com

hi fanny,
yah... better use orginal. but they are quite prof lor... wont play the wrong song. ur AD coming. u must be veri excited now rite??

hi stefanie,
ur designer must have like u alot to let u try on his new gown.. envy. i dun like mine.but still gotta stick to it. cos i dun wan to pay more... haha...

ingsq,
So ur frens stayed in e suite w u till the nxt day too? It is a pity tat both of u dun hv appetite 2 eat breakfast. My hubby's frens will definitely make him drink till dead drunk..i dare nt imagine beco if he vomit then siao. If u change EG and chose fr OTR, ur BS will also charge u $$$? Tats weird mah. They r out to exploit couples. So far did any of ur guests comment on ur wedding album?

stefanie,
Indeed u get favourism leh, las time when my fren got married, she had a MTM EG bt in e end she saw there was a another nice EG displayed n she changed. They charged her $200 extra beco they said it was a new pc!

evon,
so those who r above 2yrs old definitely cant seat in the baby chair liao... i better inform e guests if they r bringing their kids. Bt young kids dun eat alot leh, shd charge cheaper for kids. Tks for e info.

flowergal,

had checked w shirley for thos children who are under 2 years old and sit in babychair, normally they dun serve the food unless u ask for it. so dun worry abt it.

ingsq,

the view is fantastic, i must really enjoy myself this saturday. now not excited, i think will toss and turn tomorrow night. shirley says if the CD still cant work, we have to ask the singer to sing "tian mi mi" and "yue liang dai biao wo de xin"

hi flowerygal,
my frens stayed until 3am+ den leave. my hubby was almost drunk. Shirely even told fanny that my hubby is drunk on that night... haha~

hi fanny,
u will definitly like that place. have u bought ur orginal cd? if have shld be oki. I used orginal cd and it sound perfect.

ingsq,
same junior suite as mine! hehe.. but i can't remember which floor I was on already.. 2 of my jiemeis slept over at the living room couch after zouk.. hehe.. I stayed at the hotel's once b4 this and there was another layout... longish.. that layout felt bigger. But free one, so can't complain

flowerygal,
mus pay extra for the OTR new pc when u paid for MTM?? Alot of BS like to charge for everything and rip-off loh.. thats why i chose my BS coz they r very flexible.. and lucky for me, my designer very good to me so I get sum extra perks ;)

I have posted up my album layout on my multiply website. feel free to go in n see. enjoy

stefanie,
yah... i think the room size is gd enough.. but if too mani pple inside, den it will be quite cramp.. i got alot of frens coming to my hotel room b4 the banquet start. so the room become veri cramp and even my MUA asked "how come so many pple come up?" haha~

ingsq,

juz went down today to test my original CD. it sounds do nice!!! but shirley dun like it, she says how come the song keep humming. Shirley did mention that the chinese song u used for your march-in, a few couples before u had used it.

fanny,
surely u shd feel excited nw! Does any1 got remedy 2 sleep well immediately? It will be so hard 2 pass the time. Will u be putting fresh flowers on ur hair? I hvent make an appointment w shirley 2 rehearsal?

stefanie,
Ya, my fren reali paid $200 for e new OTR gown even though she got MTM package. Las time they even asked her to pay for lighting costs for night time PS.

ingsq,
wat time did u go dwn 2 GS 2 mingle w guests? Shirley said tat e singers will start singing at 7.30pm if 70% of e guests hv arrived, is tat true?

flowergal,

now still not yet excited. juz went down to my BS to collect my flowers. So sad now is not the season of poppies, so using my second choices which is mixed roses. going to watch the "chu lu" 1st then goes to bed.

hi fanny,
my 2nd march-in song is foever love. shld be quite common for wedding due to the meaningful lyric.
shirely seem to have alot of comment hor? haha~

i also use roses. so boring hor....

hi flowerygal,
i went down at 8:10pm. cos my MUA was late so i dun have time to mingle with guests. my 1st march in started at around 8:20pm ba.. i'm not sure on the singer part. but there will be 3 singer for the night.
u must remind your guest to come earlier as dinner will start between 8 to 8:30pm. once u r ready, they will start your march in.

fanny,
hw cme it was u who collect ur flower bouquet? it shd be ur laogong..usuali the day b4 e customary, both couple nt allowed 2 see ea other. If need 2 pass stuffs, ask a representative 2 collect/pass e items. Actuali i tink its gd coz it will create excitement.

ingsq,
so alot of guests din manage 2 pose w u in ur WG? Wat time did ur MUA reach ur hotel rm? Bt at least she managed 2 do ur makeup & hairdo b4 ur march-in in time otherwise she will be blamed if she delayed e nite. Was she e one who do ur mum's makeup as well? For my customary in e morning, i was wondering whether i shld bun up my hair or tie up abit?

Today las min MIL suddenly said 2dy a gd date for GDL and i quickly informed my mum about it. We r caught by surprise coz initially it was MIL who said 4th Jan 07 is a better date. After e GDL affair, hubby & MIL plus myself went to a furniture warehouse to chose bedrm set & sofa set. We din even had e time 2 go elsewhere 2 compare prices. Quite worth it coz quality is gd n my MIL is veri gd at slashing e prices till salesman no choice bt 2 agree.

Hi ingsq and stefanie,
I just came back from cameron highlands and got to read your reply. sorry for the late response.

My AD is Aug 07 but need to find out more abt the dishes coz both my FH and me need to convince my FIL that the food is good.

Thanks both of u for sharing though your AD were over
Yah think I will check wif Sally on wat choices are available for dessert...tot of keeping the original but MIL dun quite like it.
Btw,when is the rite time to go food tasting? 2 months before AD or ...?

stefanie
Shall check out the egg white souffle with red bean/banana filling.

ingsq,
seen your nice pics...you look pretty and sweet
I like the greenery.

hey all,

Finally, my wedding is over!!! my junior suite is on 27th floor, and the suite is so nice.

didnt went to zouk, hubby very drunk.

Merry christmas to all. ^_^

flowerygal,
i onli managed to take afew pic with some of my guests. so sad. but MUA was veri fast in her work. within 1 1/2hr, she did my mum, sis makeup and hairdo, 2 frens hairdo, and finally my makeup.. she did a veri fast n gd job on this.

for ur AD morning hairdo, my advise is to keep it neat. so that ur hair will look nice and neat even on a windy day. ^_^

evon,
Thanks for ur compliment.
maybe u cn bring ur FIL to GS for dinner. i'm sure he will like it. it doesnt matter when u went for their food tasting. i did my food tasting 3months b4 my AD.

hi fanny,
i'm sure u enjoy urself on ur wedding day. must be feeling veri relax now hor... hehee

fanny,
Congrats, u mux hv enjoyed ur wedding. So did ur angpows breakeven?

ingsq,
ur MUA superfast leh! Were u pretty anxious? Bt usuali the bride's makeup & hairdo at least need 1hr rite?
So AD morning, wat was ur hairdo?

Are there any other GS brides whose wedding in late jan or feb? It be will more quiet in future.

Me also another BTB considering GH. Really find the place very cheena...and unique. Had just attend a friend's wedding there. The food is fantastic and the ambience nice and relax. Different from normal weddings.

Anyone know if we could negotiate the package from a 20L beer barrel to 30L? how's their wine corkage like? Can waive?

Hi ice cosy,
Welcme 2 GS forum. Yes, it is indeed unique plc 2 hold wedding tats y all of us chose 2 hold it there. GS will waive off e wine corkage charge bt as for e beer package, i aint too sure coz most ppl nwadays drink more red wine.

hi flowerygal,
i bun up my hair as i wan it to be neat. i am not anxious at all... i was pretty relax on that night. actually i got 2 MUA lah. 1 do hair, 1 do makeup. so it speed up everything. hehee

hi ice cosy,
wlcm. it quite tough to nego with them. but u cn still try.
my guests actually drank up all 20L of beer and i topped up another 200+ for additional jug of beer. but sally will see which is cheaper and charge us accordingly.

Hi ingsq, how many bottles of red wine tat night consumed? I have asked bottles n bottles, they have ard $15 per bottle for sale.. the wine is wombat hill... anyone ordered b4?

Hi Flowerygal and ingsq

Nice to meet you all here and thanks for the advice

ingsq - how many guests you had to be able to drink up all 20L? I'm targetting abt 20 tables. So need to estimate if 20l enough or not.
I guess it might be more money saving to opt for wine corkage waiver instead of getting a 30L barrel right? Dun think nowadays still got alot of ppl drink beer.

Initially i intend to have a western wedding, i.e. outdoor (with sea/beach/garden view) and having western buffet. Now i had seen GH, really headache dun know what to choose. Either Sentosa or GH is my final choice. Dilema now.

hi witty-monkey,
i have 22 tables. my guest actually consumed 25 bottles of wine, 5 1/2 bottle of hard liquor and and 20L of beer + additional $200+ of beer.
FYI, my family all gd drinker so tend to comsumed more on hard liquor. hope this help. ^_^

Hi ice cosy,
ur 2 choices for ur wedding is from extreme style. beach wedding is nice. but u have to have a backup plan for bad weather.

have u go down n talk to them. Think sally/ shirely will tell u wat they can give. like comlimentary parking coupon, and wine corkage waiver.
when is ur wedding?

ice cosy,
if u need more beer, u can try nego a better price for 30L and chkout corkage for wine so u can see which is more worth. I had 23 tables and 20L beer is ok. I attended wedding at Sentosa b4. I think outdoor is pretty and nice.. diff from GS ambience. Have to see which u prefer. Like wat ingsq mentioned, have to plan for bad weather and stuff. And personally, the older folks and relatives won't enjoy outdoor angmo kind of wedding as much. GS has live band, they will love it!

Hi ingsq and stefanie

thanks for advice. Ya, both are extreme venues, western and cheena
hee hee
had always dream of an outdoor wedding so thats why hard to choose.
I really love the idea of a live band. Also wanted to have one if I choose sentosa(extra charges of coursE)

Understand elderly might think Sentosa too far(parents tot so too). So after weighing pros and cons..and with your help...heehee more or less decide GH

Had tentatively book the place!
so must make time to go down negotiate with shirely and pay deposit!

ice cosy,
i know wat u mean.. i also wanted a outdoor wedding but with spore's weather, not easy to do outdoor wedding. Sentosa is really inconvienent, esp if u dun drive. And parking is a nightmare there. You can wait for wedding shows and then sign up at GS to get more freebies! I signed up during grand corpthone hotel wedding show. But if urs is a sum HOT date then u better book first.

Hi witty monkey,
I had my wine ordered at bottles & bottles as well. But I took the one that's slightly more ex than wombat hill. It's called Saleha.Cos we prefer the taste.

hi flowergal,

i don't know whether my ang pow had break even or not. My mother in law kept all the ang pows from his side.

my colleagues all like their dessert which is red bean banana souffle. They all commented that is very unique. I missed a lot of dishes. Will go down one day to have dinner.

We finished 20 bottles of red wine, seem like some of my relatives drink beer only.

ice cosy,
Actuali u wun regret holding ur wedding at GS beco of e cheena settings & liveband. Much better than Chinois i guess. Unless u wan a westernised wedding like outdoor seaview/poolside. Weather plays a big part for such. Las yr when my eldest bro held his wedding at Rasa sentosa, almost cancelled e outdoor solemnisation bt all of us ignored e "heavy rain". Showers of joy. Travelling there was veri troublesme. Alternatively u can hold wedding at Secret garden or Rochester restaurant.