Grand Shanghai Restaurant

flowerygal,
I went down mingle about 730pm then at 8pm, gotta head back hotel room to change. Coz I wore diff gown for mingling & march-in. I arrive at 830pm via car and straight-away walk into GS for march-in. The entrance is glass so I thk it's very dumb to stand at the door then do march-in coz they can all see u standing there liao!! hhaha..

GS dinner latest must start at 830pm and they close at 1130pm.

BTW: when is ur AD?

Hi Stefanie,
Wow, u had a diff gown for mingling w guests. Wat was the time u state in e invitation for dinner, is it 7.30pm or 8pm? Did u hv a bridesmaid 2 assist u? Tell us hw ur day started on ur AD. Dont mind if it is long, i believe evry1 here are interested to noe.

My AD is 13th Jan 07, still early.. bt cant wait 2 get ovr w all these wedding thingy, off my mind.

Long time din hear fr Ingsq. Her wedding day is drawing near. Hw abt e rest?

flowerygal,
I wore a short wedding gown for my daytime so I wore that again for the guest mingling. Then I changed to a long gown for the 1st march-in

My invite card was 7pm cocktail & 730pm dinner start. But dinner in Spore always late. Standard dinner starts 830pm so your guest will only come abt 7+ to 8pm.

My fren helped me with the gown train when I came out of the car. Besides that, nuthing major. The GS staff very good. They helped me tuck the gown under the seat once I sat down. Very fast & professional

OK. Summary of my AD. Hope it's not too long n bore you girls here:
1. Morning 9pm - hubby came fetch me. The usual jiemei play games n extort $ from him. Then went to in-law place for tea ceremony. Then back to my mum hse again for tea ceremony. End with lunch buffet. (order from Neo gardens. Food yummilicious!

2. Went hotel abt 3pm. Wash up and relax. Make-up at 5pm. Then went down mingle at 730pm. Dinner start 830pm, inbetween yum seng, take fotos, kena sabo by frens on stage.. ended at 11pm. Pack up and went back hotel 11.30pm.
3. Went zouk with frens for after dinner party!
Didnt sleep till 4am! Yes! Happy but relieve that AD finally over! phew

Hi flowerygal...
so long neber come into the forum. Been busy with my work and wedding stuff since my wedding date is less than a month from now. so mani things need to plan and do. we cant wait to get it over and done with it too.. more looking forward to my honeymood than wedding day... haha

ur angbao box look more nicer with more details.. gd work. I'm still lazy to do my angbao box... haha. will have to find time to do it soon. if not really running out of time.

Stefanie,
ur makeup was early. my mua can only come at 6:30 for my evening makeup so i dun think i have time to mingle around with my guests. i plan to go zouk afer that with my frens as well.. hehee.. hope i still have the energy.

ingsq,
when is ur AD? I made an ang pow boz for my cousin few mths ago. It can be done very fast
I got leftover lace from my BS then wrap ard the box so that it looks more complete. Then put sum ribbons n flower and a pair of bears ontop of box. Done! dun have to make urself too crazy over the ang pow box coz no1 really bother abt it too much..

My MUA even came and help my mum with her hair. I think ur MUA got few wedding to rush? Busy time of the year for them.. I thk u can mingle.. abt 30mins b4 your march-in.. how u intend to do ur march-in?

Surprisingly, I was still very awake after the wedding. Went zouk after that in full makeup and hairdo! ahhaha.. only changed to tshirt & jeans. Enjoy the day! It's your day!

Hi Stefanie,
AD on 16 Dec. i know is quite easy to do ang bao box. I have already bought all material but just to lazy to do it... haha...

mua said she need to do 1 at 5pm. so will reach my hotel at 6:30pm or slightly earlier. did ur mua charge u for doin ur mum hair? my mua is charging me... but forgot how much she is charging liao...

will try to get dry ice from GS if not will use bubble guns lor.. hope to creat a more romantic effect... did u get dry ice from GS? can share how u do ur march-in?

Hope i will be like u so that i can join my frens at zouk... haha...

Hi Stefanie,
Your short gown during e day made u easier to walk ard right? Did u plan the day according to chinese auspicious timing?

Hw was e hotel rm? Ur MUA came quite early at 5pm..still hv alot of time to relax n take many pics rite? i intend 2 ask MUA to do makeup for my "two mothers", but hvent inform yet. I am so surprised tat u had so much energy to party till 4am! wow!...shld i go ahead n party or rest after e dinner end?? will i be drained out?

Hi ingsq,
Glad 2 see u here again. tks 4 ur comments for my angpow box, hope urs be done up soon n rem 2 show us ur finished wrk. Hw 2 get those bubble guns? Hw u come up w the schedule for AD? u got ur PS pics yet?

Mine still abt 2mths ahead...nw waitin 4 reno 2 be done up b4 xmas...anticipating.. 2 be frank, i m nt so busy leh...nt sure y. Bt i noe next mth alot of weddings n baby 1st mth to attend (me dun believe in pangdang) hw abt u gals?

ingsq,
haha,, i understand.. I only did my cousin's angpow box on the day before her wedding! ahaha..

luckily my MUA dun have other apptments that night so he was at my hotel at about 5pm. He charge $30 for my mum's hair. Ok lah.. save her the hassle of going hair salon and make her mei-mei for the night

I no request for dry ice. I think no need for the dry ice.. they will dim the lights when u do the march-in so with the lighting, I think very got mood oredy..

For our march-in, we arrive at GS entrance in the bridal car then I got out of the car and walk into GS. Quite grand coz everyone will be standing and looking at the car arrive
actually I too nervous n excited already, cant remember everything.. all a blur.. hahah...

I was quite surprised that I was so energetic that day! Woke up 630am then all the way.. no nap in afternn.. after zouk still have to wash up and take care of hubby who was half-drunk.. haha.. 2 of my frens slept on the sofa coz too late for them to drive home! ahha.. it was a great night!

flowerygal,
from the beginning, I wanted a short wedding gown. Felt that the long gown was so mafun to wlak around, too much cloth! The short gown was so easy to move ard! can run, can hop
I abit regret change to long gown for the 1st march-in coz every1 felt the short gown was so much spunky n special and it suits my personality more.. hehe..

I no plan the day according to chinese auspicious timing. Both side parents no request to check the lucky timing so we also no care. Jus plan to watever time we wanted..

We got a Junior suite room. It was ok. Had a small living area with sofa and dressing table. Only mafun thing is the rm is not connected to GS so u gotta walk abit to move around.

My MUA came at 5pm then did makeup n hair.. did my mum hair.. I went down at 730 to mingle with the guests, took lots of fotos and chat with frens. That is the only time thruout the whole nite that I had to chat with frens!
rest of nite was busy going round table take foto and yum seng n champagne..zzz..

Rem to inform your MUA in advance abt ur mums makeup coz they need to allocate time for it.

I also very surprise that I still had energy to go zouk party after dinner! ahha.. U see how u feel after the dinner, if too tired then go n rest. But still up for it, then party on!

I also no pangdang abt going other pple's wedding..

which area u staying? u moving into new hse b4 or after the wedding AD?

Hi flowerygal,
i will buy the bubble guns from toysru. my PIL told me to reach their place beofore 9am. so we just plan from there lor... Do a itenary for that day and things to bring and task by all jie mei and shiong di. I have shown ur my PS pic already wat... just that I have not collect my album... so slow hor.... sian

i only started to get busy now becos of guo da li. I try not to go for wedding and baby 1st month within the same month. how's ur renovation goin on?

Hi stefanie,
ur 1st march in sounded really grand to me. hope i can schedule the timing as gd as u...
u able to sleep well the night b4 ur AD? my place will have alot of relatives... i worry i will be too nervous until i cnt sleep den my eye will look puffy and tire for the day. hope i have the energy like u to go through the whole day and party after that... ^_^

Hi Stefanie,
Tks for so much useful advice..i better contact my MUA tml 2 book her early. As for AD itinerary, i heard my MIL wana chk e auspicious hrs n i nt so keen..beco i wan 2 plan my own timing which is mre flexible.
Btw, u looked reali lovely in short gown beco u r tall n slim(so envy)..mi opposite of u..thus long gown can cover my "fat legs"..haa.
Is 7.30pm-8pm enu time for u to mingle w guests? wun e duration be too short?
Did u managed 2 sleep well e night b4 e AD?? i wld be too excited n hard 2 force myself 2 sleep.

Hi ingsq,
Hw many jiemeis u will hv? Any bridesmaid (maid of honour)? Ya, mi tokin abt ur PS album. Bt nw its is alredi 21st Nov??? so close 2 ur AD.. Is ur guo da li veri detailed? my MIL said she wld give my family $6k n i can use e $$ watevr i wan. I tink i wun buy sidianjin since my mum will give mi jewellery drowry. mi cantonese so i probably try 2 go according to sme customs.

i heard tat 3mths b4 & after ADwedding cant attend any weddings, baby 1st mth or funerals.

Gals, care 2 share ur GuoDaLi procedures? my reno is 1/4 done onli beco hubby & MIL r elaborating on e reno, hacking walls 2 chng to glass n etc. hopefully b4 xmas can finish. my flat is at canberra link (sembawang). hw abt u gals? share ur hse pics decor

ingsq,
- dun worry abt timing. Shirley will keep track for you. If you wan to arrive on car for 1st march-in, u jus have to tally with your emcee so that he can give u the cue.
- the night before, i cannot sleep!!! toss n turn! mind too active, keep thinking abt wat will happen the next day.. i am the worry n think alot kind.. hehe.. remember do eye mask the night b4! Must enjoy your big day!

flowerygal,
- Book MUA first, jus incase. As for the auspicious hr, if your MIL wan to follow then u no choice loh.. jus hope its not funny timing like 4am!!
- mingling with guests time not enough!
no choice coz by the time I done with my hair & makeup oredy 730pm then shirley chase me go back hotel change gown at 8pm. I will suggest coming down earlier to mingle coz u wont have time during the dinner! I no chance to catch up with alot of old frens

- I couldnt sleep the night b4! haha.. toss n turn.. natural to be excited n nervous

flowerygal,
my GDL was very simple. Hubby brought the cakes, pig legs, wine & oranges to my house and present to my parents. No match-maker no nuthing so very straight forward and simple.

Me staying in Simei. Actually very funny coz i ROM for 4 years oredy and I been staying at simei with hubby for 4 years also! We only did our wedding dinner this year

hi flowerygal,
MY GDL on 2/12. is not simple but not veri complicated kind also.. 1 match-maker will come along with my MIL. we r having cakes, pig leg can, hard liquor, oranges, long feng candles, gold that she bought for me, n those ping jin and wash niao bu ang bao. my side will pass her the tea set for AD, orange juice, oranges... that all i cn remember... will let u know more when my GDL is over.

hi stefanie,
i'm like u. move into my lovenest after ROM. Been living there more than a yr from now. Doing AD is onli following parents instruction. wanna do simple wedding but yet things get more complicated as parents wan us to follow some customs.

ingsq,
wahh.. my GDL is even simpler than yours! ehehe.. mine only got the cakes, pig leg can, wine, oranges, candles & ping jin. And, I went GDL with my hubby! ahhaa.. MIL side very angmo, dunno these tradition stuff.. hehe

Initially, I also dun wan do AD coz so mafun. But I still did it coz parents wanted it but I am so glad that I did it coz it was so much fun and my parents were soooo happy. I am happy that they are happy
It's worth it!!

Hi Stefanie,
i tink i better try 2 go dwn 2 GS at 7pm to mingle w guests. Seems like Shirley is veri gd co-ordinator who helped u alot! Hw many bottles of wine n beer did ur guest consumed?
i ROMed in Jul tis yr n initially din intend 2 hv trad wedding bt later chng of mind beco eventually ppl will keep askin mah n its not considered "married" into the groom's family by nt serving the tea to the elders. haizz..my GDL will be more simpler than all of ya. MIL no time 2 buy stuffs. She said no need 2 buy cakes beco nwadays n1 give cakes liao..is it true? i "requested" for roasted pig beco i m cantonese.

Hi ingsq,
So next wk is ur GDL..will ur MIL be givin real cakes or cake redeemable cards?
i las min booked GS in sep tis yr n managed 2 get e slot in Jan 07. Luckily shd get married earlier instead of later or else GST go up n need 2 pay mre for banquet? Next time goin 2 stay alone w hubby..i tink hse abit too quiet..nt sure can get used 2 it? Hubby wana get a new dog bt i dun wan coz mafun to take care. Bt at least can be independent n create ur veri own living lifestyle. Will try 2 cook simple dinner evrydy if possible. Wkends go out n makan. i intend 2 plan 4 a baby nxt yr bt i tink PIL nt ready 2 be Grandparents...they seemed heck care. if tats e case, they better dun blame mi if i decided nt 2 hv any baby in future.

flowerygal,
Ask ur reception pple or jiemeis to call you and let u know situation at GS. If many guests arrive then u go down mingle. But if your guests all come late then no point loh.. most of my guests came ard 745pm so go down early also no use.. then 8pm I go change liao..zzz...

Shirley is very experienced but she can be abit fierce.. hehe.. but all the GS staff are very professional n good. Unlike hotel which use part-timers who can be quite blur-blur coz they students on holiday..

We consumed 37 bottles wine. Have u ordered your wine oredy?

haha... can u imagine pple have been asking me for 4 years on when i "getting married"? although I ROM 4 years ago!! ahahha... my MIL also dun wan buy cake, say give cake voucher easier. But I like real cake coz I thk more feeling.. so me n hubby went order those traditional sliced cake from Pine Garden for GDL. Relatives all love the cakes, say very nice
Anyway, the cakes are for your mum side so u shd ask ur mum if she need cake or not.. not ur MIL decision.. coz guy side no need give cake..

Hi, i'm one of the grand shanghai bride too...

btw, i will be going down for food tasting on 10 dec, my parent are so excited to go even my AD is oct '07.

gals, you know how much to pay for the food tasting? assume i have 8 person gng...

btw, you gals choose the $588 or $688 menu, i choose the $588 but father say the food is lousy type, ask me choose $688, for me i say dun want cos it is additional $100 per table. father like not happy... =(

Hi Stefanie
ai yo... seem like my GDL is not a simple wan... my mother requested 30 boxes of cake (fruit tart). my mother and MIL also said they dunno much but when come to actual buying, they all become veri prof... so my simple wedding beocme a complicated 1... abit sian on this part as mani things need to follow.

i think we just dun wan to have customary wedding cos is so mafan. so many things need to take care of and also heavy spending on wedding stuff. but if parents wan we also bo bian. they happy cn liao.. ^_^

Hi flowerygal,
agreed with u on the GST part. with GST increase, everything also increase... sian..

i think ur PIL will still help to take care for u if u really give them a grandchild. if not ur mother also cn help up on this part. dun worry too much.. ^_^ my mother also dun wanna to take care but after that she told me if really have baby, she no choice also have to help out mah... so have baby liao den plan.. hehee

i am super lazy in cooking and i cnt cook n lazy to learn aso.. haha... so MIL ask us to go back to her place for dinner on weekday and weekend, we just go out with my parents or have our own dinner.

Hi Witty monkey,
wah... is really early to have ur food tasting... haha~ i think $588+++ menu is good enough. they will change a few dishes on the menu for us even before we told them to. thump up for that. the actual food is much better than wat u just see on the menu. it doesnt look n taste cheap... just go there n try out 1st. i'm sure u will like it.. ^_^

witty moneky,
wahh.. u food tasting so early? is based on the $588+++ menu, they will charge u based on 8pax price so $58+++ x 8pax. I chose the $588 menu. I think $588 menu is good enough. The food is super yummy and dun look cheap or lousy. I am so glad I chose the $588 menu, if not sure lose money on the ang pow! Frankly, guests will not give more jus coz u chose expensive menu. Not much diff to the normal guest. You go food tasting first then decide lah. U still have alot of time! hehe

ingsq,
i thk that's the problem with alot of weddings. Start off simple then snow-ball into more n more complicated! All the aunties will help "teach" your mum n MIL, dats why they become experts suddenly! my mum also like dat.. hahaa.. nbermind loh.. jus let them be.. it's also their big day
Just stop them if they overboard and really blow ur budget! ;)
But, i can tell u.. all these mafun things now will prove to be VERY WORTH IT after u done with the AD! You will have a GREAT wedding!

Hi Stefanie,

Thanks for the encouragement. I hope i can enjoy my AD as well. ^_^

Hi Witty Monkey,
for food tasting, GS charge me 50% of $588+++ for 10 person. I nego for it b4 i sign up with them.

I received a pc of shocked news today. My MIL called me n said tat my trad wedding ceremony shall be held on 7 Jan 07 which is a very auspicious date for wedding then hold dinner as usual on 13Jan 07. i panicked n quickly informed BS, MUA, jiemeis, photographer and family..Tis kind of splitted wedding caused me additional costs n headaches!!! So las min..hw cme in e 1st plc she din check if she's so particular?? mi dun care abt such dates(unless its e lunar 7th mth)...reali feel like dun wana go ahead w all these preparation. ($$$$)

Hi Stefanie,
Gd advice, shall ask my jiemeis to call me dwn once there r alot of guests arrive. i called MUA and told her tat my 2 mums + 2 frens will need makeup n hairdo ($60 per pax-discounted). She ll hv another asst to help her. She got alot of students under her sia. U mentioned tat ur MUA onli did hairdo for ur mum at $30? No makeup? Nt yet buy wine. Actuali, since i do nt need 2 wake up so early on 13 Jan, ppl commented tat i shd look my best on tat nite.

Hi ingsq,
30bxs of fruit tart seemed alot? Will u be givin to colleagues? i intend to order cupcakes for colleagues and maybe trad cakes for relatives? although MIL & hubby dun wan bt i will say my mum insist. Hopefully no arguemt. When will u go dwn to GS to rehearse?
i will hv 5days of wedding lve entitlemt n i nt sure whether hubby wana go 4 honeymoon after our wedding. my fren advised mi 2 sign up package nw or else GST increase.

Hi Witty_Monkey,
Its too early for foodtasting nw. $588+++ is gd enu, especially nxt yr GST goes up.

For me, i nt intending 2 go 4 foodtasting beco eventuali most imptly is whether e food will taste gd on AD.

Hi Stephanie, so you were the bride I saw on 11 Nov with the short wedding gown? Hehe. I happened to pass by GS with my FH that night after our dinner at Miramar hotel. Wonder if you noticed two curious bypassers looking into the restaurant that night? We were surprised to see such a nice place with live singing and great ambience!! FH told me he likes the place very much we may even consider that as one of our dinner venues...hehe..=)

Dear gals,

My parent too excited to go there cos i have been telling them it is a nice place.. hehe.. so my dad's birthday coming so we tot of gng there to celebrate. =)

ingsq, flowerygal and stefanie, thanks for your ur advice & idea... think i will be firm on choosing the $588+++ cos i foresee i will lose $ even with the cheapest menu... =)

btw, how much you all plan to lose for the banquet? My parent will return us all the ang pow cos they dun want to take anything from us since we are the one paying all the expenses.. I plan to lose $5k for banquet, is it too little or alot?

Hi flowerygal,
dun get too upset. Old pple like auspicious date. so just let them be lor... ur wedding preparation is almost done up as well.. just dun think so much n enjoying ur planning for ur big day.

30boxes of tarts is purely for my relatives. We have alot of realtives that we didnt invite so mum say give them cake... she keep nagging me that GS is not big enough for her to invit her relatives. but i dun care cos i just like GS ambience so much. haha~

personally feel that going honeymood after wedding is a must... have to reward ourself and enjoy after all the planning on wedding. hubby n me lokking forward to our honeymood more than our customary wedding... haha~

hi witty monkey,

my parents also returning back all angbao as we r paying on our own. i never tot of gaining back from my banquet. cos is a hotel price restaurant. some pple see restaurant may give restaurant angbao rate. as for loosing how much, i haven think of it. 5k shld be more than enough ba...

flowerygal,
can u change the dinner date to the same as the ceremony? if cannot, then nevermind loh.. wat extra costs u have to incur? But, do separate days also can be good thing coz let u rest & relax, instead of rushing whole day, can be very tiring

flowerygal,
- ask your frens to keep u updated on situation downstairs then u can plan better. Same goes for the 1st march-in.
- standard rates: Makeup $30 & Hair $30. My mum do her own makeup so she only do hair.
- if need wine contact, let me know

cheekybee,
Yes! That would be me! I no see you.. maybe I dunno half of the guests who came also so I might have mistaken u for one of the parents frens.. hahaa... Yup! GS is a beautiful place to hold your wedding! Great ambience!

witty monkey,
I prepared to lose $ for the dinner but no idea how much. But, in the end, we managed to cover the dinner and even earn 5K!!
I thk the frens portion really helped alot.. most frens give abt $80-100. Relatives side sure lose, but no choice.. My MIL helped top-up her side coz she knows angpow sure cannot cover. Phew...

ingsq,
I wanted buy cupcakes also.. but abit costly and thk thk.. those relatives sure dunno how to appreciate! ahah.. then I went Pine Garden.. then I ordered half modern cakes (assortment of eclairs, cheesecake, green tea cake... ) & half traditional cakes. turned out great

Hi Stefanie,
GS fully booked for Jan on wkends, thus cant chng. Nvrmind lor, juz tink on e bright side tat i can rest more. My MUA will charge extra $100 and photographer charge extra $380 for splitting. i tink for customary wedding i will use e bridal car onli. For dinner, no need tpt. Go there by ourselves. btw, hw much is the red wine per bot tat u ordered? U earned $5k for wedding is quite alot! heng ah...smetimes its relatives who gave more.. depends on which type of guests u r inviting. i hope my guests r as generous as urs. i managed 2 search e website for Pine Garden.. hw much is roughly per box of ur choice of cakes?

Hi ingsq,
Nw i cant wait 4 evrythin 2 be ovr, its frustrating 2 plan all these. Perhaps gals r mre particular rite? Maybe its gd feeling 2 be a "glam bride" for the nite of ur life. Where u headin for ur honeymoon? Wow, u n hubby quite rich 2 pay for ur own wedding..For tea ceremony, since u got alot of relatives wun u be veri veri busy offering tea? i be counting on my PIL for finance for reno & wedding(loan). Din noe tat choz is so popular among mediacorp artists..can consider. i hope i can go australia for honeymoon. At least e weather is nt so cold there coz its summer. i m afraid of coldness. i like stayin in service apartments beco its usuali veri modernised n fully furnished w openconcept kitchen, washing m/c n dryer. So far e ones i stayed b4 are very new yet cheaper than hotels?

hi witty_monkey,
i hope i wun lose $$$. Otherwise next time return e same amt as wat they give me lor. Same rite?
No wonder u r planning 2 go GS for dinner coz u wan 2 celebrate dad's bd. Gd idea. Hw do u get 2 noe tis venue?

Hi Stefanie,

I'm new to this thread but understand that your wedding dinner at GS just over. I have just made a tentative booking with GS in Aug 07. Just wanna check with u how many guests have u invited? Coz I intend to squeeze 12 chairs to one table as the max is 26 tables which is not enough for me, just wondering would it be uncomfortable for my guests. Hope someone can help.

Hi Lizzy,
I hv checked with Sally, u can park your bridal car either outside the hotel or GS entrance.

flowerygal,
- having on 2 diff days will allow u to be more relax and less rushing
No nd bridal car for the dinner coz u will chkin hotel in afternn then no1 will see the car.. hehe... or jus borrow fren's car and decor it alittle then it become bridal car oredy!

- the wine i ordered i about $14/bottle. I ordered 3 cartons then consign another 3 cartons. Can return if no open after dinner.
- Pine garden www.pgcake.com Traditional is $7.20 per box of 8pcs cake. Modern is $7.80 for per box of 8pcs (if i rem correctly). It is more costly then those bengawan solo cake vouchers but Pine garden cakes r so yummy and it looks good! I only ordered 25 boxes so ok lah.. i also got the dragon candles from them

429924.gif
429925.gif

Evon,
I only had about 220 pax, meaning abt 22 tables. The table is quite big, bigger than the usual wedding dinner table but I'm not sure if 12 chairs will be too tight or nt.. hmm.. maybe u can down GS and try putting 12 chairs and test if it's alrite or not. Note: GS is quite small, not meant for too large crowd, too many tables will make the aisle very narrow and you might have difficulty moving ard, esp for the march-ins. So do factor these in!

Hi Flowerygal,

we not rich lah. we onli paying for wedding banquet and bridal shop. thinking that wedding banquet still got ang bao to cover most of it. so still manageable. ^_^
we will be goin hokkaido and seoul for our honeymood. Will be there for a white christmas. hehee ^_^...

I also wanna go Aust too. but 2 person go there abit bore. maybe next yr, will gather more frens to go there together...

Hi Evonlee,

I think put 11 chair still oki. cos their chairs are quite big as well... did u ask sally how's the serving like? will it be too little for the guests to have a 10person course to share among 12 persons.

ingsq,
Wahhhhh!!! u going Hokkaido for xmas? i love hokkaido!!! but never got chance to go!! wahhh.... sooooo niceeeee !!!!!!!!! I cant go honeymoon till Jan.. coz hubby got projects to clear now..zz..

btw: did u girls opt for the individual serving or the big plate sharing?

Hi stefanie,
u cn go there in Jan also. Hokkaido still having winter during Jan. anyway, where u plan to go?

i wanted individual serving. but u mentioned in ur earlier post that some of ur guests commented that the food is abit cold when serve individually rite? n our parents prefer 1 big plate sharing. so now still not yet decide to have wat kind of serving.

Hi Stefanie,

thanks for sharing... ya I will going to GS to take a look again before I finalise my guest list. Btw, tot of individual serving but my mum afraid food might be cold...

Ingsq,

I hv checked with Sally, no prob for the proportion of the food coz we will pay based on per head ie every 5 tables,GS will consider 1 table extra.Wow!!! u going to Hokkaido, that's great..

Hi flowerygal, i get to know GS from my colleague cos she attended wedding there and have good comments. So when i go down to checkout, i love the ambience immediately. =)

Hi gals, japan is a wonderful place... i've been there tis apr for their cherry blossom... still can't forget the place man! Now i'm planning my itinerary to cover hakone, mt fuji, osaka, hiroshima for my 3 weeks honeymoon... yeah! so excited n looking forward too... =)

for me, i will opt for the big plate sharing cos my dad dun like individual serving, he find it restricted cos ppl may not like certain part of the fish.. if he prefer tat, i dun really mind.. =) anyway tis customary is for parent to b hapi.. =)

Hi stefanie, i love pine garden cakes too.. have eaten fren wedding cake from pine, taste so soft, like melting in your mouth. hehe.. btw, think i won't ordered the creamy type cos my parent will need 40 to 50 cakes so creamy type more difficult to transport.. btw, you order your red wine from GS? they charge u $14 per bottle? i tot of getting from them cos can save trouble of sourcing also.. anyway i dun drink, can't differiate wat is gd n wat is bad wine. =)

Hi Stefanie,
Tks 4 showing e pics..i like e modern cakes. Mi still tinkin whether to order fr Sg or JB..i m nw enquiring those popular JB confectionery shops beco i hv a few relatives in JB, cheaper option. Pine Garden is one of my list for Sg.
I tink i will opt for big plate sharing coz sme ppl may eat more, sme eat less, take as they wish.
Btw, when r u expecting 2 get ur AD pics?

Hi ingsq,
Wow, hokkaido is a great destination..heard fr ppl tat u can reali enjoy e nice food n scenaries. Its a gd thing tat u can hv e best of japan & korea! At least u can go ovrseas 2 enjoy White xmas..hw nice! So u had done up your AD itinerary? Mi juz nw studied the chinese calendar use the auspicious hours n still tryin 2 plan. Haiz...