Grand Shanghai Restaurant

hi Stefanie,
yep. coz dec is often quite hot so better booked first n we can also concentrate on other stuff. =)

hi...im new here. i'm also considering to hold our wedding dinner @ grand shanghai. however, the location is quite inconvenient esp for guests who takes public transport. any recommendation?

hi all, i m interested to hold our wedding dinner @GS too. Any comments abt the food and service there? We are looking for good food at hotel.

Dear Gals,

Attached was my wedding day write up.
398628.jpg

Hi nemac, read from the previous threads that the food and service were good. I like the idea tt they have live jazz and singers...it's their selling point.

Hi Princess Wong...nice pics ;) read your article in the magazine earlier. how many tables u had? find that there are some tables that will be blocked from the stage. wld be a problem when allocating seats for the guests...

hi min,
thanks for ur reply. when is ur wedding? hv u decided where to hold ur wedding?

feel free, i will go down to take a look..

princess wong,
nice pics..any feedback from ur guests? atmosphere seemed not bad..

hi nemac...have made tentative booking on 15 april 07. still deciding between sichuan dou hua @ park royal hotel or GS.

when is ur wedding? have u shortlisted some restaurants or hotels?

Hi Min,

Yes, some tables will be blocked by stage. I have no problem allocating my guest. My guest tense to move around so the whole events was crowded, rowdy and warmth. Some of my relatives even go to the stage to have their songs delicated, my friends even sing along with the tune. It was a rather interesting & cool place to have our Shanghai wedding nite theme.

Two thumbs up for the place

Hi nemac,

Trust me, your guest will have an unforgettable night. This resturant has it own signature that other places might not have. We have no regrets choosing GS as my Wedding Venue. PS: It is also an idea place for all Pre wedding photography.

Cheerios

Tks for the reply, Princess Wong. Seems like you really had a great wedding dinner there.

Praise06, i did not ask for additional perks during my 1st meet up with Shirley. But read from previous threads that they r quite firm the package they offered. But no harm trying to negotiate for them.

Hi Min,
Thanks for the reply. Have you book with them already. mmm you finalise your AD on April 07? As for mine...i got a big headache liao...cos my mun insist of waiting after the seventh mth then chose the date for me.(Actuali me and hubby want 14 Feb 2007). Hai...so now everything have to delay. But never the less...i will still go to my BS first...mmm chose my grown first lor.
Have you start choseing the march in song?

Hi Min,
oh..we plan to have our wedding & ROM together next yr end, still have time to look ard..as looking for places have good food and memorable, GS is one of our choices..GCW, M Hotel seems not bad too. Just wonder whether GS can arrange the location for ROM solemnisation b4 dinner or we better look for hotel package. Any comment?

Hi Princess Wong,
Thanks for ur comments.Idea place for all Pre wedding photography? You mean for those wearing Kua or Cheong Shan?
still looking ard BS now..Any suggestion?

Hi Serene, i only made tentative booking with GS. Actually, my mum also believes in not doing the wedding plan during 7th mth and so we quickily went to see the geomancy before 7th mth comes. 14 Feb 07 should be a hot date, if your mum doesn't object you in searching the dinner venue during this period, think u shld start looking for one. some restaurants allow you to make tentative bookings and you do not need to give deposits until you are confirmed.

Hi nemac

I think you can have ROM solemnisation @ GS before the dinner. Just bought the style wedding magazine today and there's an article on Darryl David's wedding and he had his wedding dinner @ GS and soleminsation there too ;)

Hi Min and Princess Wong,
I facing problem chosing my grown to match GS. Any comment? I prefer sample grown. Did found one which is victoria style with long train(cream colour) for my first march in at GS. But i was afaid the big "Prom Prom" grown dun match the place at all...then it will be a big turn off liao. mm for evening grown, i found one full lace cheong sam at my BS, so no problem with that. mm Any idea for my first march in grown? Friend say Bustier cut with slim cut below and train will be nice for the location. Wat you all tink? Min, have you got your grown?
Ohya...i will be having sword barriers there too..mmm pls help to gave me idea on the grown i shd wear???

Hi Serene, I have not chosen my gowns yet, will pick the gowns in mid sept. For the evening gown, most likely i'll get one that has oriental style. Cheong sam is one of my consideration but also open to other designs that can bring out the oriental feel. for the bridal gown, i think the victoria style shld be fine since u hv found a full lace cheong sam as your evening gown. I don't think it's necessary to have all your gowns to fit into the shanghai theme. so you have confirmed your wedding dining venue @ GS? i hvn't confirmed mine yet. went there to hv dinner yesterday. the food was so so...maybe we didn't order the "right" food but the ambience was great. if were to hold wedding there, think wld be something different from the normal one esp with the live jazz and singers and the whole atmosphere is great!

Hi min,
i was there last sat evening...mmm didnt try the food but i went and ask the ladies there to play some songs to hear and to have a feel of everything. Not forgetting to tel you, there is one song(from the GS)title - Somebody. Not reali sure which singer as the dice belong to GS. mmm wen the song was first play...i reali fall in love with it. Reali romantic feeling. mmm you may consider too.
I have not book yet but these few days will finalise my AD then sat will go book. Tong su is out already.
oh your BS book already anot?

Min,
Which BS u book? my hubby aunty know how to check the tong su and she will be coming over dis sunday to help us. i think should be able to finalise by this sunday. mmm actuali she already gave me mar 10 but my mum disagree with it as it crash with chinese new yr.so i tink i will get a date that is late mar if not then april or may liao.
As for my gown, i m going to chose again and compare on the 9 Sept.hehe hope i be able to find one.

Hi praise

Tt's great ;) Happy that you can book with GS. I din manage to book with GS as i've changed my customary wedding to 21 Jan 07. My grandma is getting weak and not sure if she can make it till Apr...so bring forward our wedding and wanna "cong xi". Luckily we managed to book with Club Chinois.

hei min,
then your AD and mine very close lei...we can share and plan together. Club Chinois also not bad. i like the location too.

Hi Min and Praise,

i have booked GS for my wedding dinner too... my AD is on 27 oct 2007... =)

Hi Jessie, you can call them up and find out the day which they have wedding and u go b4 6pm, u will be able to see the setup... its nice... =)

hi Min...
my rom already over. hehe...so in the morning will go through the tea-session at both side, then go down to check in liao.
Ohya...i chosed my gown liao.
1st march in - Pain Cream Satine ballgown cos i will be having military wedding at GS. Plan to have 4 pairs sword barriers but i tink GS will be very cramp. Hai but military is something i cant forgo...so bare with it lor.
2nd march in - a lacey cheong sam.(silver colour)
i rent a kua from one of the shops at TP...reali love their kua there and now they having promo.
Mim, i m teochew lei...and my ahma wanted to follow some of the old teochew custom. wat about you?

Hi, Witty Monkey...
Welcome to GS Thread. mmm i will be going down to GS on the 24 Sept for food testing but i know there is a wedding going on 23 Sept. You may consider to go down? mmm did you ask for additional perks? As for me, i didnt reali ask alot...anyway they are also very hard and moreover my AD was Jan14. So must be luckly to have slot for me liao.

Thanks Min, for your advise.

But to my surprise, witty monkey had booked the date which i wanted too...
wondering if they still have space for me...

oh... Jessie, so coincident.. i have booked it ard jul'06 as one of the bride in forum sell me her package in GS...

i took their minimum 20 table to book the whole rest for my AD...

As for the perks, they dun really give us anything special.. their manager shirley told us tat for year 2006 is fully booked, they dun lack of booking so mayb they are in upper hands... =)

Hi Jessie, the date 27 oct 2007 is real hot... alot of bride in oct'07 choose this date for their AD... u can read the topic below..

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/358362.html?1157978431

Hi praise, i won't be gng down for food tasting so early as my AD will be next year oct.. let us noe in this forum on your food tasting... =)

Hi Praise

How much u paid for the kua rental? Yah, you are very lucky to book GS at this short period. GS is indeed a great place to hold the wedding ;) I'm hainanese and my fiance is teochew..heard tt teochew normally fetch their brides very early. is ur husband same dialect as u?

Hi Jessie...do u hv alternative dates? i just given up my tentative booking with GS on 15 Apr 07.

Hi Min,
my hubby also teochew hehe...hei your wedding follow teochew custom rite? haha...my husband must cum early in the morning,530am must reach my hm liao. That means i must wake up at 3am to bath and makeup and etc.....
Have you got the time you must leave your hm?
Ohya i rent my kua at S$260plus. mmm actuali i didnt want to spent this amt of money but then again...when i try onto the two different kua (one that i rent and one from my BS), i reali cant help myself. The kua that i rent was reali very fitting...grand and nice cutting.
ohya do you have msn? Jessie and witty monkey too? do you all have msn? can add me? then we can chat longer....hehe

Hi Praise

Yah, i think mine wld be a combination of hainanese and teochew custom. I haven't gotten the time yet. How did u know when is the auspicious time to fetch the bride? I hvn't tried on my tea-dress yet but also plan to wear kua for the tea ceremony coz this is the only chance to wear it and it's more meaningful and traditional

I prefer a chinese song for my 2nd march-in and i totally have no idea wat song to choose. Does anyone has any suggestion on the march-in song for grandshanghai? Thanks in Advance

hi ingsq,
ever thought of playing those chinese oldies in intrumental tunes? i thought it would be quite nice. juz my 2 cents worth. =)

Hi Joyz,

Thanks for ur suggestion. But i still dont know which song will suit the shanghai team n at the same time has a meaningful meaning behind the song.

Hi Princess,
May i know which song u choose for you march-in?

hi min,
my msn account is [email protected]
Haha...i so super blur, ask u all to add me but nv gave u all my account. hehe
i got my date and time by looking at the tong su. mmm my hubby aunty know and she does it as a living.
OHya, if you plan to rent kua from the tanjong pagar shop...pls remember to do it as early as possible cos i got a friend who went there,really like their kua but too bad dun have her size and she is slim...tink normal size is M kind. i heard from the shop owner that they have many customer and it depend on their size and if the kua is available anot. So must go early in order to get it. As for me, lucky my date not very hot kind..so manage to find.

Hi ingsq,
As for the chinese song,i also dun noe cos i also headache dun noe what song to play. But my hubby say ask the band and singer to play. Of course then again we have to chose the song that we like lor. mmm have u try "teng li qun" song?
As for the first song, i will play "Somebody". Very nice song that i tink can fit into the theme cos it quite oriental feel.

**ANY OF YOU GALS START CHOSING UR SI DIAN JIN ALREADY???*** As for me, i m very upsad cos my FATHER IN LAW say they are not paying for it and they want my hubby to pay. Like they dun care lor and dun love me lor...My father in law say that last time when he marry, he also pay for everything himself so now my hubby had to do so. As for my mother in law,she is a housewife, i tink she also dun really have money lah although she did say want to buy for me. (so sad over my Father in law)and he is rich one lor (got plenty of money in the bank....As for teochew, we do require it. All my relative will sure want to see it. Hai...no choice lor...have to buy.
mmm any idea the average price for a set is hw much??mmm gold better or white gold? i tink white gold can still wear after the wedding but then again gold value is better and can keep for the next generation. Moverover, i tink i will only buy gold dis once, if not i m sre i wont spent the money to buy any gold items unlike white gold. Any comments?